Fairplay cabin rental - Front of Retreat, garage, paved driveway
Front of Retreat, garage, paved driveway
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Fairplay Cabin Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms

The Willis Retreat sets the standard in Park County for comfort, seclusion, complete amenities, easy access, and all the beauty of the Colorado Rockies at an affordable price. We guarantee you cannot find another vacation rental property with our list of amenities and quality of location at this price anywhere in the South Park region.

Location, location, location: The Willis Retreat is located just 2 miles north of Fairplay, so if you need to head into town for groceries or gas its less than a 5 minute drive. Breckenridge is 19 miles to the North (about a 30 minute drive), and its just 65 miles to Denver. The Retreat sits on 8 acres of pine and aspen to give you plenty of privacy (there isn't another cabin in sight!), and its only one mile off Highway 9. The road leading to the cabin is maintained and plowed by the County so its easily accessible even when the snow falls. And because the Retreat is located North of Fairplay you'll find access to Breckenridge and Summit County to be quick and very convenient.

About the Retreat: There's plenty of room at the Retreat with its 2,500 square feet, four bedrooms, two bathrooms, giant two-car garage and carport, a paved driveway and two large storage sheds. The interior features a well-appointed kitchen attached to the huge Great Room that includes a 32 inch LCD HDTV with DirecTV service and ALL movie channels, CD/DVD player, and stereo system. A large deck sits off the Great Room for relaxing under the stars and viewing the wildlife that passes through the property.

Need to stay connected while you're on vacation? Feel free to bring your tablets/laptops and tap into our Wildblue Exede satellite internet wi-fi network to check your emails, surf the Net, etc. Cell phone signals are also good at the Retreat.

The lower deck features a 6-person hot tub that is protected from the elements and offers nice views of the backyard and our little meadow plus plenty of privacy. There are also outdoor speakers connected to a stereo and satellite dish so you can listen to commercial-free digital music.

You'll find a beautiful King-size log bed in the master bedroom and a queen log bed in the second bedroom. The kid's room includes bunk beds while the 'Game room' bedroom has a twin futon sleeper. There is also a queen-sized sofa sleeper in the Great Room. There are 20' HDTV's in the Master bedroom and the Gameroom bedroom both with DirecTV service. The Gameroom has a Sony PlayStation 2 plus a selection of video games and DVD movies ranging from kids to adults. The Kid's bedroom also has a 19' TV and a Wii game console with several games to keep the kids entertained.

The cabin is pet-friendly and has a large dog run in the backyard when you want to keep your dog secured outside. If you would like a little more room to walk your dog than our 8 acres offer, Pike National Forest is just two miles down the road.

So the next time you're in the area and you want privacy, accessibility, comfort and all the beauty of the mountains at a reasonable price, make your plans to stay at the Willis Retreat. Thank you and we look forward to having you as guests!

More Details
Hide Details

We are life-long Colorado residents, we love spending time in the mountains with our 2 kids and 2 dogs, and we are truly blessed to be able to share this wonderful property with others.

Randy Willis purchased this cabin in 2001

We choose the Fairplay area for a number of reasons. First, its a quick 90 minute drive from where we live in Denver, and you don't have to deal with the traffic gridlock on I-70! Second, its much less crowded than a lot of the tourist areas in the Mountains yet all the necessities are within 5 minutes of the cabin. We didn't want a property in a busy resort community but we did want to be near one. This area fits the bill because its just 19 miles to Breckenridge. And finally, its an absolutely gorgeous area throughout the year.

My favorite thing about the Willis Retreat is its location. While its only 5 minutes from town it is absolutely peaceful and secluded. There are other cabins in our area but you cannot see them so the privacy is wonderful. The upstairs patio is huge and is a great place to enjoy a beverage while overlooking a pretty meadow with South Park and the Mosquito Range in the background. Our kids love the treehouse in the backyard and the sledding hills in the Winter. Within just a few minutes of the cabin there are great hiking and 4-wheel drive trails, and if you like fishing there are tons of streams and lakes full of trout. Finally, at the end of a long day there's nothing like relaxing and unwinding in the hot tub. To me, this is the Rocky Mountains at its best.

84 Reviews of Property 146200 in Fairplay, Colorado

Private Cabin*8 Acres*Hot tub*Great Location*Unbeatable Value
average rating of 5.0 based on 84 reviews
business
Private Cabin*8 Acres*Hot tub*Great Location*Unbeatable Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146200
+1 303 956-3205
Fairplay South Central Colorado
5

Amanda

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
All of the VRBO places we have stayed- this is truly our favorite!! There is everything you could possible need or want at this house and more! The kids love the game room, hot tub, bunk beds, sleds, and snowshoes. The kitchen is huge and the property is so fun to explore on and sled in the winter and build forts on! We absolutely love that we can bring our 2 awesome dogs and they are safe when we leave the house since there is a 6 foot fence in the back yard-and stay outside safely. We never want to leave!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Cabin*8 Acres*Hot tub*Great Location*Unbeatable Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146200
+1 303 956-3205
Fairplay South Central Colorado
Arvada, CO
5

Loved it for a Spring Break get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Quiet, spacious, clean, and comfortable!!! We have spent the same per night on small, awkward, and uncomfortable vacation cabins in places like Estes Park. I will look to book the Willis Retreat, now, before I would ever do those small cabins again! Hot tub was great and I love a wood fire. I also love cooking and the kitchen was well appointed and roomy. Town is close, too, with a couple of restaurants, a grocery store, and a well stocked liquor store too......all less than 3 miles from The Willis Retreat!. Breckenridge is less than 25 miles away, you can bag several 14ers less than 10 miles away, and there are great mountain trout streams for some fly fishing if that is your thing. What a great spot, for sure!!! I am looking forward to spending a summer or autumn weekend here now.......
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Cabin*8 Acres*Hot tub*Great Location*Unbeatable Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146200
+1 303 956-3205
Fairplay South Central Colorado
Ft. Collins, Colorado
5

Cozy Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This cabin and grounds were in excellent condition. Our family enjoyed all things this retreat offered from the hot tub, tree house, swing, or just relaxing on the deck. The owner is very helpful, and you could tell he truly wants his guests to have a great time. Great location, a couple of minutes to Fairplay. Breckenridge is also a short drive. Our pet was also very comfortable. Overall the Willis Retreat is a great place to stay. We have vacationed at many cabins, and this is one of the gems.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Cabin*8 Acres*Hot tub*Great Location*Unbeatable Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146200
+1 303 956-3205
Fairplay South Central Colorado
Bozeman, Montana
5

Fabulous winter vacation house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I, along with our adult children and their friends, stayed three nights at the Willis Retreat so we could ski at Copper. There was plenty of room for us all to sleep comfortably. After long days of skiing we hung out in the living room and enjoyed each other's company. I was in heaven in the kitchen, cooking for the crowd. What a great kitchen to entertain in! Randy was so helpful and accommodating to us. We absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for an affordable, homey place to vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Cabin*8 Acres*Hot tub*Great Location*Unbeatable Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146200
+1 303 956-3205
Fairplay South Central Colorado
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Retreat and it was exactly what we needed. The home is bigger than we expected, everything was ready for our arrival and we were very comfortable. Although the super quiet location and hot tub helped us relax, the best thing was the fenced area for our dogs! They had a good amount of room to run around, could hang out while we used the hot tub and we didn't have to worry about their safety. We've always been able to find accommodations that allow dogs, but actually being pet friendly was special. Thanks so much, Randy! You were very easy to work with and we had a wonderful time.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Cabin*8 Acres*Hot tub*Great Location*Unbeatable Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146200
+1 303 956-3205
Fairplay South Central Colorado
Dallas, Tx
5

Fantastic cozy yet large cabin close to Breckinridge!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The cabin is easy to reach and Randy was great about making sure we could navigate in and out of the driveway with all the snow. The cabin has a great mud room to keep all your ski equipment, jackets etc. The whole place is very large and comfortable with an amazing view out all of the large windows. The fireplace in the middle of the living room kept us cozy. The kitchen was wonderfully stocked with all appliances and cookware. Overall we had a wonderful time and will definitely come back again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Cabin*8 Acres*Hot tub*Great Location*Unbeatable Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146200
+1 303 956-3205
Fairplay South Central Colorado
5

Winter vacation at Willis Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our family had a wonderful time at this retreat. The owner allowed us to use almost everything at the property. The house is very spacious, and we felt at home by the end of the first day. For us, staying in the country is the best way to go. You have about a 30 minute drive to the slopes, but the peace and quiet is well worth it. We went for the skiing, but wound up doing everything the country had to offer. The people of Fairplay were very kind and friendly and made us feel like locals.
The second night of our stay, we saw a bull elk about 1/4 mile from the house that must have been 1200lbs. It blew the kids away.
I would certainly recommend a stay at the Willis Retreat.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Cabin*8 Acres*Hot tub*Great Location*Unbeatable Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146200
+1 303 956-3205
Fairplay South Central Colorado
Highlands Ranch, CO
5

Perfect Private Home Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Wow! We've used VRBO may times and stayed at several homes over the past few years. The Willis Retreat was the best experience ever! The owner was easy to work with and was extremely flexible with all of our date changes. The house was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The property is huge with lots of activities (horseshoes, swing (loved this!), treehouse). We will definately be back! Thank you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Cabin*8 Acres*Hot tub*Great Location*Unbeatable Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146200
+1 303 956-3205
Fairplay South Central Colorado
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We really enjoyed our Fall break at the Willis Retreat. Kitchen is awesome, hot tube was fun, and all was very clean. Randy was great to deal with and all was just as he said in our emails. He was also helpful with suggestions of things to do while we were there. We have done lots of rentals through VRBO and this one is right at the top of the list.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Cabin*8 Acres*Hot tub*Great Location*Unbeatable Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146200
+1 303 956-3205
Fairplay South Central Colorado
5

The perfect choice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
All six of us adults(ages 30 to 65) really appreciated this roomy, warm retreat. My son is already planning to return with his friends from Denver: turns out that Fairplay is a strategic location for all sports and sightseeing. Excellent service. The retreat is more than promised.... Do not hesitate.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2