Governor's Harbour house rental - Lush landscaping surrounds beautiful home
Lush landscaping surrounds beautiful home
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Governor's Harbour House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 ½ baths, outside hot shower

Beautiful new home on spectacular pink-sand beach. Over 3000 square feet under roof, including 850 square feet of shaded porches overlooking the ocean. Breathtaking views. Inside, three bedrooms surround open-plan living area. Two queen bedrooms with ocean views on two sides. Third bedroom opens onto sun deck overlooking beautiful garden area. Fantastic great room provides 400 square feet of living space with views to ocean on three sides. Two seating areas, one facing ocean and other oriented toward entertainment center—all under vaulted cypress ceiling and wooden ceiling fans. Plush sofas, rattan occasional chairs, and double chair with ottoman provide comfortable spots for reading, listening to music, watching a movie, or just gazing out at the ocean. Spacious dining room, completely equipped kitchen with all new appliances, and fully equipped laundry room.. More pictures at http://picasaweb.google.com/salliebryant7597/CaresAwayPhotoAlbum#

Great Beach and Water: The pink sand beaches and clear waters of Eleuthera are world famous, and the beach at CaresAway is among the best on the island. The broad, gently sloping beach is a great play area for even young children. Nearby reefs provide varied snorkeling and diving opportunities. Hard packed sand is perfect for long walks.

If you would like to look at Google Earth to see the environs of the house, these are the coordinates: 25* 15' 34.77N by 76* 17' 59.50W. You will notice that the sandy beach in front of the house goes out quite a distance into the water for wonderful wading and swimming. This lovely beach is almost encircled by coral reefs, some so shallow that even small children can don a mask and see some lovely little fishies.

Casual Elegance: The house is beautifully decorated inside and out. We particularly enjoy:

• Outdoor dining set and lots of comfy porch furniture

• Unique wooden ceiling fans in every room

• Overstuffed upholstered great room furniture

* Island-style wooden blinds

• Large entertainment center with TV, DVD/CD, speakers for your MP3, lots of movie classics, games, and good books

• Shaded sea-grape grove overlooking ocean—steps down to beach begin here

Governors Harbour: The historic Bahamian settlement of Governor’s Harbour is a short drive from the house. As its name implies, the harbor is the focal point of the town. Freight and passenger docks occupy the end of Cupid’s Key, a 19th century library with internet room sits on the tree-lined street that hugs the harbor wall, and Victorian houses overlook the sea. Small shops and restaurants provide most anything you may need and a chance to enjoy conch salad, fresh grouper, peas-and-rice—or just a hamburger. Night life centers around Tippy’s or Beach House seaside bars and restaurants. Consult our Elusive Beaches of Eleuthera book and explore multiple beautiful beaches within minutes of our house. Or make a day trip to Harbour Island, stopping at the The Cove for breakfast before renting a golf cart to explore the lovely village of 'Briland.' Or head south to Lighthouse beach, near where Nassau cruise ships drop off passengers for a few hours at the beach--but you can spend all the time you want!

More Details
Hide Details

About the Owners and our Builders

We are Mike and Sallie. We decided we wanted to have a place in Eleuthera about seven years ago. We were determined to find a house where someone had already worked out the kinks and we could just move in and enjoy the beauty of Eleuthera. However, after about a year of looking, we gave up that quest and began to consider buying property and building—at least Mike did (Sallie was a harder sell!). We are retired business execs more at home with a briefcase in Manhattan than with a hammer in Eleuthera, a rather different island. Then while we were living in Oxford, England, our Eleuthera realtor called and said he had a beautiful property on a to-die-for beach. Mike flew back and checked things out in a grand total of five hours before being forced to get back on a plane to Miami to avoid a big hurricane that had rather suddenly changed course and was heading straight for Eleuthera. So much for due diligence.

We proceeded to get a local architect, John McCarty, to design a house based on Mike’s preliminary drawings of what we thought we wanted. John not only contributed to the final design but also gave us our first lesson in Bahamas-time. That Manhattan connection made us slow learners, but many months later we had plans that we could use to interview builders and an only slightly better notion of the island time thing.

Several builders talked with us about building the house. It was fun getting to meet them, and we learned a bit about building on the Bahamian “out islands.” Jason Thompson, Teddy Petty, and Mark Kemp all gave us time and ideas, and we really liked them all. However, in the end we chose Whels Construction. Whels is the brainchild of Wallace Sineus and his brothers Elain and Leslie. They are all really fine craftsmen—and great company.

Sallie Bryant purchased this house in 2007

'Why this property?' The almost deserted beach, the crystal clear water, the colorful and abundant corals and tropical fish, the lush vegetation. Close enough but not too close to Governor's Harbour. Close enough but not too close to the U.S. and good flights. Enough services (groceries, restaurants, etc.) but no too much bustle. Friendly locals and expats, but not too many. In other words, location location location. AND a great house!

We spend as much time as we can on the island, usually accompanied by family. There is nothing better than sharing a place you truly love with those you love. We built and furnished the house so that we have everything we need to be relaxed and comfortable. With the perfect beach and water right at our back door, there is no place we'd rather be. We very much hope that our guests feel the same way!

10 Reviews of Property 146000 in Governor's Harbour, Bahamas

CaresAway' Ocean-Front Home--Luxury, Privacy, Serenity
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
CaresAway' Ocean-Front Home--Luxury, Privacy, Serenity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146000
+1 7034810447
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Houston, Texas
5

Heaven on Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
So this is what they mean when they say "Heaven on Earth". I almost hate to write this review in fear that the next time we want to come back it will be booked. Truly one of the most amazing places we have been. Starting with the accomodations, absolutely perfect for our family. The owners have obviously put a lot of thought into the design and decor of the home. There was plenty of space inside and the multiple patios outback where the perfect location for our morning coffee and evening cocktail.
When we werent inside we were down at the most amazing beach. If you like to run or walk this is the perfect place. The beach goes for miles in both directions and the best part, you have the place to yourself. If you are looking for the most relaxing vacation of your life, look no further, Cares Away is your destination
Helpful votes: 12/19
business
CaresAway' Ocean-Front Home--Luxury, Privacy, Serenity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146000
+1 7034810447
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a perfect vacation at Cares Away. The breeze kept the main air conditioner off and the no seeums away. The house is large and comfortable. The beach is quite beautiful. My family hates sand but the Pink Sand is honestly like a day at the spa. It is really soft and washes away easily. I really thought I'd prefer the calm light blue Caribbean waters but the insistence of the Atlantic is mesmerizing, and much more fun to swim in. If Caribbean is the way to go, then Alabaster Bay is just about 3 minutes away. The location of this home is perfect. Our fondest memory is of sitting in the chairs under the palms and staring at the stars. Magnificent!
This home is everything you would want in an island vacation.Thank you so much for sharing it with us.
business
CaresAway' Ocean-Front Home--Luxury, Privacy, Serenity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146000
+1 7034810447
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Vacation Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We can’t believe our visit to CaresAway is over so soon. This was our fifth trip and it seemed like the first. There is so much to see and do and explore. Each sunrise (right from the lanai off the bedroom) and sunset is unique and breathtaking. The sandy beaches seem to change each day as the tides change. One thing that does not change is the crystal clear waters of the Atlantic that we can wade into right in front of the house. CaresAway is so homey and comfortable, with everything you could think that you need. The porches and lanais offer comfortable, cool places to sit to read a book or just watch and listen to the ocean. We are already counting the days until our trip to Paradise next year.
Barb from MD
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
CaresAway' Ocean-Front Home--Luxury, Privacy, Serenity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146000
+1 7034810447
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Staunton, VA
5

Pictures in no way do the property justice...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I scoured the pictures of CaresAway after the caretaker (Isreal Johnson) encouraged me to stay there. I just returned from a week there and can say for certain, that it is impossible to describe the house, or adequately do it justice with pictures and words. If Mike and Sallie were painters, no one would remember Van Sough.

A few notes about the house -

1. Don't pay for a Bonefish guide until check out the sandy flats in front of the house first - loaded with Bonefish. Oooops... LOADED I should say...
2. There is always the worry that something is not mentioned, or something missing from the house - do not worry - the best caretaker on the island and a VERY attentive owner are super responsive should anything come up. (Thanx Sallie!!)
3. Accommodations. We had 3 couples. Easy. Had room to spare.
4. No matter what you have planned, plan at least 2 days to scour the beach at CaresAway and do nothing but sit back and relax and enjoy the property and accommodations.
5. Lastly, Try and plan on cooking dinner at the house at least 1 night. The whole house is built around togetherness - whether family and/or friends travel with you, dine 1 time together. It'll be more memorable than the best restaurant on Eleuthera.

Mike and Sallie - thank you for your hospitality - We enjoyed your home immensely.

RR
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
CaresAway' Ocean-Front Home--Luxury, Privacy, Serenity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146000
+1 7034810447
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Doorn
5

Cares Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Cares Away is a great house on a great beach. Mij wife and I stayed 16 days after we rented another house on Club Med Beach in Eleuthera. We only saw six people during our stay.
The house is beautiful situated and is very clean. The beds are a little bit small, but the kitchen is well equipped. We didn't watch television (what's the point when staying in such a beautiful place?).
Eleuthera is a great island. We're from Europe, but the beaches and friendly people are unique in the world. After visiting Eleuthera and Harbour Island 14 times since 1998, we don't want to spend our vacation elsewhere.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
CaresAway' Ocean-Front Home--Luxury, Privacy, Serenity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146000
+1 7034810447
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

A Dream Becomes A Reality!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Once you leave the hustle and bustle of Nassau and take the short flight to Governour's Harbour......Peace awaits. As soon as you take the left into the driveway, you realize you made the right choice. Lizards await you as you make your way up the steps. Then it hits you, this house is PERFECT. From the layout to the decor. I was traveling with my wife, my 5 yr. old son, 2 yr. old daughter, sister in law, and both my parents, and we still had plenty of space to roam. But by far the best room in the house is the huge screened in porch. By day, a wonderful place to eat, read, or swing. By night, it became the center for many battles of Apples to Apples! The sound of the ocean and the wonderful breeze add a majical backdrop. The kitchen, laundry room and towel closet are all very well equipped. As was the dvd library, books, games, puzzles, snorkel gear..ect....Sallie and Mike have really thought of everything to make a family feel right at home the second they step through the door. I haven't even mentioned the best part yet, the beach. perfect for kids and still fun for adults. With an everpresent daily wind, we encountered perfect waves. Not too rough, yet keeps you entertained! My son LOVED the waves. During our nearly two week stay, we encountered a total of three people on the beach. The owner of the house next door, Da Villa, was one of them, and he is a wonderful guy. Other than that, we had the whole entire beach to ourselves all day, and for us...that was perfect!! We went on many little "adventures"....finding beaches, shelling, and just plain exploring. Yet everyday, we came back to the house always saying.."this is the best beach on the island". All the "towns" in eleuthera are quite charming, with grocery stores, shops and good restaraunts. Going out can get very pricey quickly,(especaily with 7 people) so If you don't mind cooking I suggest going to the north eleuthera "Shopping Center". It has everything you need at a reasonable price, no 11$ gallon of milk, like we got at the local stores. If you are looking for a good shelling spot, the spot Sallie suggest in her wonderful "guest guide" was the best spot!!, thanks Sallie, for the tip. Soooo. in conclusion, if you are looking to get away from it all and still have a great time, stop looking, this is the spot...and we will be back next year!! Zach, Linda, Xander, Cordelia Tufts. West Newbury, Ma
Owner's Response: Thanks, Zach. I am so pleased that you had a great time and loved the house!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
CaresAway' Ocean-Front Home--Luxury, Privacy, Serenity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146000
+1 7034810447
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Lewes, DE
5

A Wonderful, Relaxing Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
CaresAway, what a wonderful, beautiful, and, as the name implies, a carefree place to spend some time. We really enjoy the cool breezes that blow over the dune, the wide sandy beach and the crystal clear waters of the Atlantic, right in front of CaresAway. CaresAway is very inviting and peaceful, with all the comforts of home. We find it especially peaceful to go to bed with the windows open, listening to the sound of the ocean. We love waking up to beautiful sun rises that greet us from the porch or the beach in front of the house. There are numerous beaches on either side of the island where we enjoy swimming, snorkeling, searching for shells, sand dollars, and sea glass or just relaxing with a good book. After a day on the beach or a fun filled day of exploring the island, it is always a treat to take a short walk across the island to see the sunset over the Caribbean. And the best part, we get to do it again the next day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
CaresAway' Ocean-Front Home--Luxury, Privacy, Serenity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146000
+1 7034810447
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Houston, TX area
5

Paradise: Better than Chocolate!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
CaresAway island home was vacation perfect: Spacious, open with the casual elegance and 'comforts' for a real R&R week. The landscaping is extraordinary. The beach and view are spectacular, very accessible, and invites long walks. There is even a thatch cabana on the sand if one wants a break from the sun to read or nap or watch the surf.

Even though it was stormy part of the first several days, we were also able to snorkel and explore the many 'elusive' beaches on the island, both on the Atlantic and nearby Carribean sides. One of our favorite adventures was snorkeling around the shipwreck on the Atlantic nearby. We became mesmerized with the incredible underwater creatures and plants around the reefs at all the beaches we visited.

Beautiful and unusual pieces of coral and some quite large conch shells were along the water's edge. It was fun to check out the favorite island elusive beaches as noted in the guest's book. Then it was a quest to find a new one to add to the CaresAway guest's 'elusive' list.
Another 'extra' treat occurred when we bought giant freshly caught lobsters from a couple of the natives. We grilled these outside when we got back to the house.

When it was too stormy to be on the beach, the film and music DVDs, and books at the house were varied and most interesting and entertaining. There were plenty of restaurants to enjoy on the island, from the generous ice cream cones at Ida's, to elegant offerings at Tippy's and Dolce Vita, both with spectacular dining vistas. (They also had chocolate desserts.)

CaresAway was absolutely perfectly wonderful place for a very special week of paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
CaresAway' Ocean-Front Home--Luxury, Privacy, Serenity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146000
+1 7034810447
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Texas
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2007
  • Stayed: Jun 2007
This vacation exceeded all our expectations. The house is brand new--spacious, gorgeous, incredibly well-equipped. The kids woke up every morning ready to run out the door down to the beach--had to force them to wait just long enough for the sunscreen. The reef is so close to the shore, even the kids can snorkel and see all kinds of fish. Little hermit crabs and turquoise-colored lizards inhabit the grape arbor that keeps that back part of the house cool. Nothing can describe the way the pink in the sand picks up the light at sunset... I would recommend this to anyone. I know we'll be back.
Helpful votes: 8/16
business
CaresAway' Ocean-Front Home--Luxury, Privacy, Serenity
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146000
+1 7034810447
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Great house, beautiful beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2007
  • Stayed: Jun 2007
My family of five loved CaresAway. The house is wonderfully designed for a family get-together. The kids loved the "dorm room," and the grown-ups really enjoyed having the queen bedrooms overlooking the ocean. The living room is huge, and there are both screened and open porches with lots of comfy chairs--great for all kinds of groupings. The beach is perfect--great at high or low tide. We snorkeled every day on the reef right in front of the house. We also went for at least one long walk every day and almost never saw anyone at all on the pristne beaches. It was just the kind of get-away we wanted.
Helpful votes: 9/15