Coral Bay villa rental - The pool is one of the most inviting on St. John.
The pool is one of the most inviting on St. John.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights
 

Coral Bay Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa, 4 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, Sleeps 8

Villa Agel is a spacious and elegant villa set on a knoll overlooking Coral Bay, Drake's Passage, and the British Virgin Islands. Though it is only minutes from the best beaches and restaurants in the Caribbean, guests enjoy complete privacy, whether sunning by the large pool or dining outside in the shade of palm trees and flowering bougainvillea. You'll fall asleep to the gentle lapping of waves on the nearby shore.

Exceptional design, craftsmanship, and landscaping set Villa Agel apart. Traditional West Indian stone walls and arches are complemented by rich mahogany woodwork. You will enjoy the well-equipped spacious granite and mahogany kitchen. A formal dining area and living room wrap around the central stone tower, and a separate wet bar is great for entertaining.

At the heart of this remarkable compound is a generous and very private pool, bordered by terra cotta tile decks to delight sun worshippers. If you prefer shade, two pergolas, mature palms, and lush tropical gardens offer several quiet retreats from the sun. Antique brick arches surround an expansive covered gallery overlooking the pool and Coral Bay. Each of the three master bedroom suites on the main level opens onto a different view of the pool and gardens and each also has views of Coral Bay and beyond. All are carefully appointed with traditional Caribbean mahogany furniture, are air-conditioned, and boast vaulted ceilings.

If your party requires a fourth bedroom, an additional elegant master bedroom suite is available on the lower level. Stone walls and arched windows frame views of Coral Bay and historic Fortsberg making this suite especially romantic. The largest of all the bedroom suites, it features a beautiful stone bathroom and shower, and is appointed with traditional mahogany furniture.

Privacy is given very high priority at Villa Agel. All four bedrooms (3 have AC) are well-separated by public rooms, patios, and gardens.

Guests have the personal attention of our onsite managers. Schedules permitting, we will meet you at the villa to acquaint you with everything. You may never want to leave.

Villa Agel is especially well-suited for small weddings. A small surcharge will apply, depending on the number of guests. We can offer advice on caterers, cakes, officiators and photographers.

Keywords: Luxury Villa

More Details
Hide Details

27 Reviews of Property 104599 in Coral Bay, Virgin Islands

Luxury 3-4 BR Stone Villa with Pool - Privacy and 180° Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 27 reviews
business
Luxury 3-4 BR Stone Villa with Pool - Privacy and 180° Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104599vb
(340) 776-6580 (US Virgin Islands, Caribbean)
Coral Bay St John
Not Specified
5

Guestbook Comment

Where do I begin? My husband and I chose to have a beach -barefoot- wedding in St. John. Selecting the island was easy as it was my mother's fa...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
Where do I begin? My husband and I chose to have a beach -barefoot- wedding in St. John. Selecting the island was easy as it was my mother's favorite island of all the Caribbean. She passed away 4 1/2 years before our wedding day. Knowing how hard that day would be without her being there, I searched for a villa that would accommodate for my family. My dad gets the credit for finding Villa Agel. It was the perfect setting for the entire week! Mike & Patrick were fabulous! They graciously allowed us to hold the reception at the villa. I think having 3 active preachers in our families helped them understand our wedding wasn't going to be the typical beach wedding that could easily get out of control. :) Our families have never experienced any home as breathtaking as Villa Agel. Our wedding planner, Shea of KatiLady Katering, did a phenomenal job decorating the villa and providing for our guests. Everyone was thrilled to have been able to 'experience' Villa Agel. I could easily elaborate more on this!

The views, kitchen, and decorations are mentioned well in the other comments. What hasn't been mentioned yet are the beautiful birds, caterpillars, fabulous location, and vegetation! The plants are unbelievably lush! Mike and Patrick have done a fabulous job with all the landscaping details! There is honestly not one detail that has been overlooked. Even the contents of the welcome basket are perfectly selected! My husband and I returned to the States with some fabulous ideas for our ideal home we plan on building in the upcoming months. We are grateful and appreciative of Mike & Patrick for opening their home to visitors like us! One last item, if you make Villa Agel your place to stay once, beware as you will never want to stay anywhere else in St. John ever again. :) We are obviously planning a return trip!
Helpful votes: 12/13
business
Luxury 3-4 BR Stone Villa with Pool - Privacy and 180° Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104599vb
(340) 776-6580 (US Virgin Islands, Caribbean)
Coral Bay St John
5

Villa Agel, St John

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a lovely, relaxing vacation on St. John, at the beautiful Villa Agel. Sandy & Bob welcomed us with a basket of pasta, sauce and chips, which was really helpful given how late we arrived.

The house was beautifully maintained and laid out and there was ample and private room for the 6 of us - my husband & me, our college-aged daughters and my parents.We loved eating outside at all of the tables and had perfect weather for looking at the constellations on the roof of the poolhouse. The pool was perfect and the views were spectacular. We enjoyed the beaches and just hanging around at the house.

We still miss having breakfast overlooking Coral Bay!

Laura
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us at Villa Agel. We're really glad you're family enjoyed your vacation.
business
Luxury 3-4 BR Stone Villa with Pool - Privacy and 180° Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104599vb
(340) 776-6580 (US Virgin Islands, Caribbean)
Coral Bay St John
5

Klilly

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The villa was everything we expected and more! Each bedroom was wonderful and accommodating to our party of an all female getaway of 8. The pool offered relaxation after a busy day. A car rental is a must for this location. We loved experiencing the private setting, traversing the curvy roads to get there, and exploring the island. We thought the location suited our needs to truly experience island life! The kitchen was well stocked with essentials, as was the house with towels, beach towels, chairs, etc. The only complaint - very minor and not a huge problem - was that the 4 bathrooms were all adjoining bedrooms - did not have a community bath facility. Overall, would stay here again and recommend for large families and group getaways.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
business
Luxury 3-4 BR Stone Villa with Pool - Privacy and 180° Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104599vb
(340) 776-6580 (US Virgin Islands, Caribbean)
Coral Bay St John
5

Amazing place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We forgot our directions to the house so we stopped at Lily's Market and the owner let us use his phone to call the caretakers so that we could get directions. Sandy gave us directions and met us at the end of the driveway so that we wouldn't miss it.
Sandy & Bob have a wealth of information about the island. They told us the best places to snorkel, great places to eat, where to get snorkel gear, & etc.
We returned to the house late one afternoon and was greeted by Sandy who showed us, and our teen daughter, a big old turtle that hung around the place. She had also baked a batch of brownies for us. A few mornings previous she delivered a fresh batch of scones.
The pictures of the house are beautiful but they don't do it justice. It is a beautiful property that is well cared for.
Sandy & Bob treated us like family while we were there & we would absolutely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for all the kind comments. You guys were great guests and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope we get to see you all again and be part of your next adventure!
business
Luxury 3-4 BR Stone Villa with Pool - Privacy and 180° Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104599vb
(340) 776-6580 (US Virgin Islands, Caribbean)
Coral Bay St John
5

Great spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Exceeded all expectations. Beautiful home, and nice friendly hosts. We had 4 couples and found there was plenty of room for visiting together, or spending time in smaller groups or alone for reading or napping. The pool and garden were great, and watching stars up on the roof deck is hard to beat.
business
Luxury 3-4 BR Stone Villa with Pool - Privacy and 180° Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104599vb
(340) 776-6580 (US Virgin Islands, Caribbean)
Coral Bay St John
5

Better than the photos!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our group of eight arrived and Villa Agel was everything we hoped it would be. Each of the bedrooms were beautiful and privately placed to provide enough privacy for couples in a group vacation. The views were fantastic both on the front porch and the roof terrace. The pool was beautiful and allowed for either sun or shade as did the porch off the pool area where we enjoyed congregating in the morning and evening. It was also good for yoga. We rented two 4 wheel drive vehicles and there was plenty of room for both for parking. Our group ended up cooking most of our meals in the beautiful kitchen so that we could enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Starfish Market was our first choice for groceries and the wine and beer store across from the Starfish Market was great as well. However, the Calabash Market near the Villa was also a great place for groceries on the Coral Bay side which hadn't been open when we last visited St. John. Love City Market's prices for wine, beer and booze was competitive with Cruz Bay prices. We really enjoyed snorkling and hiking at Salt Pond Bay, Blue Cobblestone Beach and Rams Head. Our best snorkling was probably along the eastern side of Lamshure Bay where we hiked for about a quarter mile to a small beach before getting in the water to explore the former site of the Tectite underwater lab. One of our sightseeing books mentioned this and it was worth the walk and the swim to enjoy the beautiful fish and coral along the steep drop off areas. Waterlemon Bay was another great snorkle area with turtles, rays and dolphins. Some of our group also enjoyed snorkling in Hansen Bay one afternoon. Having the Tarheels beat Duke in basketball during the trip was just icing on the cake. Thanks to Bob and Sandy for being great hosts and we loved the brownies. We also appreciated the tip on taking the Bordeaux Mountain Road to the main road due to the road closures to allow for the 8 Tuff Mile Race the Saturday we were needing to head back to Cruz Bay to catch the ferry. St. John never disappoints and returning and first time guests in our group had a wonderful trip in large part due to the beautiful accommodations of Villa Agel. Thanks again Bob and Sandy for making us feel welcome and at home. We hope to see you again on a return trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you all for your kind comments and for being such great guests. It was fantastic to see you at the top of Bordeaux Mountain cheering on the runners in the 8Tuff. We'd be thrilled to have you guys visit with us again!
business
Luxury 3-4 BR Stone Villa with Pool - Privacy and 180° Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104599vb
(340) 776-6580 (US Virgin Islands, Caribbean)
Coral Bay St John
-
5

Wonderful time at Villa Agel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
What an amazing house and location! Stunning views, immaculate and beautiful house and grounds, and great property managers Bob and Sandy! Our group of 7 had an amazing time - just wish we had lingered at the property more instead of running off to the beach every day!
Owner's Response: We're really glad you enjoyed St John and Villa Agel. Please come back again! Sandy & Bob
business
Luxury 3-4 BR Stone Villa with Pool - Privacy and 180° Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104599vb
(340) 776-6580 (US Virgin Islands, Caribbean)
Coral Bay St John
Denver, CO
5

Always 80 and BREEZY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I have visited St. John many times, mostly staying in condominiums and resorts. This year, as his parents were vacationing with us, we chose a ‘house’ rental. What we found was a ‘home’ rental with plenty of room for everyone. Villa Agel is a well-maintained and obviously loved property. Pictures online are beautiful but do not fully capture the magic of the property. The grounds and home were immaculate and well-appointed with an attention to detail and quality. What a wonderful surprise from other properties we have visited in the past. Everything was first class from the 180° view to the well-equipped kitchen to the quality linens. The outdoor showers were also an unexpected treat. Villa Agel has to be one of the best properties on the island.
Sandy and Bob were wonderful hosts; always cheerful and very attentive when we needed anything. We look forward to spending more time soon at Villa Agel.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was really great to get to know you both and we appreciate your comments. Looking forward to the next time we see you! Sandy & Bob
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury 3-4 BR Stone Villa with Pool - Privacy and 180° Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104599vb
(340) 776-6580 (US Virgin Islands, Caribbean)
Coral Bay St John
Hopkinton, MA
5

Spectacular!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What a exceptionaly maintained spectacular living space with exceptional views.
All the amenities were clean & well kept.
The entire space was very welcoming, very elegant & much more than we anticipated.
Showers were out of this world, attention to detail of craftmanship of walls, sinks, everything.
Breakfasts on deck, Pool house, in the garden area & rooftop deck area all spectacular.
The setting is most spectacular with harbour & Island views, we could see the distant Indians & the Caves (on Norman) sitting at breakfast, bring binoculars for even better looks at boats/views.
Pool & pool area just spectacular!
My wife & I loved our suite as did our daughters 12 & 14.
So much to see & do.
We love all the beaches we visited, SUP'ing & snorkeling.
The ribs @ Joe's in Cruz bay r out of this world.
Thanksgiving diner @ Concordia was the best.
Hike up to Rams head with beach swim was awesome.
Robert & Sandy were very informative & guided us around without hesitation, it would not of been the same without their input, Thank you two!
We loved our Jeep rental & would suggest it as roads are curvy & steep.
We simply did not want to leave.
All we can say is "WOW"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your wonderful comments and for being such great guests. Sandy & Bob
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury 3-4 BR Stone Villa with Pool - Privacy and 180° Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104599vb
(340) 776-6580 (US Virgin Islands, Caribbean)
Coral Bay St John
-
5

Kowabunga. . . what a villa!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This is a magnificent house overlooking one of the world's great views on the Caribbeans's most beautiful island. It simply doesn't get any better than this! The house is beautifully designed and appointed with geat care and attention to detail. The gardens surroundin the villa are stunning with many flowering trees and plantings. It feels like a true paradise. We loved the large, light-filled, open interior spaces, wrap around deck with views of rolling green mountains and the turquoise sea, and the pool area with two outside dining areas. Even when visiting some of St. John's most beautiful beaches, we eagerly awaited returning to the villa and its gorgeous pool area. The bungalow's rooftop deck was a favorite gathering place at night to view the millions of stars so visible and clear. The bedrooms are very large, private and luxurious with ensuite bathrooms and showers open to the sky. And the kitchen was so inviting and complete that we opted to cook in most evenings so we wouldn't have to leave our heavenly perch.
Thank you Patrick and Carlos for everything you did to make our stay incredibly special and memorable. Your thoughtfulness and consideration added so much to our experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway