Unity cottage rental - Porch windows provide scenic view of pond
Porch windows provide scenic view of pond
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Unity Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, sleeping porch, loft, 1 bath, wireless internet

Expect to wake in the morning to the sound of songbirds and look up from your comfortable bed to see the mist rising off of the glassy pond, looking across to the undisturbed marsh and picturesque farmland across the pond. This cottage is the perfect peaceful getaway, with a comfortable, cozy interior, calm waters with a dock and float, and a two-person kayak and a canoe for your family to explore scenic Lovejoy Pond. Kayak past the uninhabited island, or enjoy picnics at the edge of the meadow just a short walk down a deserted wooded lane. The cottage is just 15 minutes from the historic town of Waterville with its theaters and restaurants, and just 25 minutes from the famed mid coast area. Belfast and Camden are renowned for their excellent restaurants, shops and antiquing--and Camden Hills State Park boasts some of the loveliest views and hiking in the State of Maine.

11 Reviews of Property 145651 in Unity, Maine

Peaceful, Cozy Cottage on Lovejoy Pond
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Peaceful, Cozy Cottage on Lovejoy Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145651
+1 7039382101
Unity MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Perfection !!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The property and cottage were very well maintained , every thing you would need or use was well thought out and provided . Acadia and other parks are all within a few hours drive , we went to Acadia twice , awesome adventure for all involved , mountains , forest , beaches all in one place .The fishing on the Lovejoy Pond was great , of the dock me and the kid' s caught many White Perch and a rather large Northern Pike , and some nice bass . An early morning canoe trip produced a few bass close to 5 pounds along with a lot of healthy looking 2-3 lb. bass . Mornings I was usually awakened by the girls yelling Bob , help we caught another one , the room on the porch is great , could see the sun rise , needed another week to really enjoy the area . At nite around the fire being sung to by the coyotes was magical . Thank you for a great place to stay , and sharing this piece of heaven . Bob
Owner's Response: Thank you! We love that your daughters had such success in fishing and that our cottage helped create these wonderful memories. We hope to see you back next year!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Peaceful, Cozy Cottage on Lovejoy Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145651
+1 7039382101
Unity MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Lovely Lovejoy: Birders/Fisherman's Paradise

Lovely Lovejoy: Birders/Fisherman's Paradise
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This cottage is quite a gem and I've stayed in some pretty spectacular places.(See Kapehu on Big Island). This is perfection in a compact package. I have never seen such a terrific renovation -- history with modern conveniences and homey touches. The kayaking, stargazing and yoga on the dock, hummingbirds less than inches from me feeding on the flowers on the deck and the biggest highlight -- eagles next door! And you might even share the dock with a heron! The fire pit overlooking the lake was divine. Everything has been thought of and provided here. The beds are comfy and the towels are plush. Sunrises from the bed on the sunporch are magical! The owners were a dream to deal with and the welcome email alone with all the recommendations was a planner's dream! But seriously, you will not want to leave the pond. Take my word, you'll wish you'd booked two weeks.
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage - we too think it's pretty special! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful, Cozy Cottage on Lovejoy Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145651
+1 7039382101
Unity MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Wonderful get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Everything was just as promised online. We enjoyed watching the eagles and were even able to get some amazing photos from our kayaks. The pond is a great place to kayak. It was so quiet it felt like we had it all to ourselves. The cottage was clean and comfortable and the wi-fi access was a great plus for my husband who unfortunately had to do a little work during our two week stay. We checked out nearby Big G's Deli for lunch a couple times and it was a great find. They had enormous sandwiches on their own fresh bread and giant whoopie pies that our children quite enjoyed. The deck was a favorite spot for all of us. All in all, the perfect get-away for our whole family.
Owner's Response: Thanks! We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy a relaxing family vacation at our cottage. We would love to see you again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful, Cozy Cottage on Lovejoy Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145651
+1 7039382101
Unity MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

The way l1fe should be in a cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is a jewel of a cottage. We will return! The wildlife was fantastic with eagles, beavers, kingfishers, osprey, as well a a litany of smaller birds. The rooms were clean, neat and well prepared for our stay. The porch bedroom is unbelievable so one could wake to the sound of the loons and frogs with the dawn streaming in. Caught bass within 5 minutes from dock. The kayak and canoe were great for fun and to visit the other parts of the lake, island, take pictures or to go fishing . Owners were a dream to communicate with and were readily available from cottage wireless. They obviously really care for their dream cottage and it shows.
Owner's Response: Thank you!! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful, Cozy Cottage on Lovejoy Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145651
+1 7039382101
Unity MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Cozy Cottage overlooking Lovejoy Pond in Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My stay at your cottage in early October was very enjoyable and totally fulfilling. The pictures online are beautiful, but seeing the cottage with my own eyes was even more stunning, both inside and outside. The coziness of your cottage was delightful and the decor was personable and charming, cottage was very clean and has everything one would need. I was truly amazed at the gorgeous view from the cottage of the fall foliage outlining Lovejoy Pond, the quietness and serenity of just being outside and overlooking nature's beauty, and of course watching the Bald Eagles fly in, perching atop the trees on both sides of the pond, and flying out. The location of the cottage is within driving distances to many beautiful lakes, ponds and coastal parks and towns, such as Bar Harbor, Belfast, Camden, Rockport and Rockland. Acadia National Park and the drive to Cadillac Mountain is magnificant. Camden Hills State Park and the drive to Mount Battie overlooking Camden, and Penobscot Bay -- truly worth the drives. This was my first time to the magnificent state of Maine. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative.
Elaine
from Louisiana
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Peaceful, Cozy Cottage on Lovejoy Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145651
+1 7039382101
Unity MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Stunning location, comfortable, quiet,

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We booked this from the UK, and felt a bit worried about booking somewhere for a whole month, for a 60th birthday celebration. But we need not have worried. It was everything we hoped for. We were lucky, and there was no one in any of the nearby cabins/cottages - so we had an unbelievably peaceful time, swimming most days, canoeing and kayaking up and down the lake. The bald eagle was a regular visitor, we saw loons, cormorants, a humming bird, osprey, chipmunks, heron and kingfisher. The bed was really comfortable, and the screens stopped any mosquitos or bugs from finding their way in. Sitting outside, overlooking the lake, and being able to go online to see what was available locally was a great plus for us.

We hope to come back.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful, Cozy Cottage on Lovejoy Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145651
+1 7039382101
Unity MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Serenity in a charming, comfortable cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our week-long stay on Lovejoy Pond was just what we expected -- a charming, well-kept cottage with peace and quiet the entire time we were there. While the location is a little bit out of the way for groceries, restaurants, etc., it is convenient for visiting many different coastal locations that are all within a reasonable distance from the lake for day trips. Our best day, however, was the one that we spent right at the cottage swimming, kayaking and napping. The screened porch was wonderful and we took advantage of it every morning and evening. Kayaking on the lake was the highlight of our trip. We found the eagles' favorite tree on the opposite side of the lake (when they weren't hanging out in the tree right at the cottage), and discovered the inlet/outlet at the north end of the pond that provided a fun adventure. There were plenty of clean towels, pillows and blankets, and the cottage itself was immaculate. We would definitely recommend this cottage to family and friends who are looking for a peaceful, relaxing vacation.
Owner's Response: Thank you - we are so glad you had a relaxing vacation! While the cottage is in a peaceful, secluded location, there are two convenience stores, one open 24/7, located only 5 minutes away in either direction which carry all the essentials. A larger Hannaford grocery store is located 15-20 minutes away, and the local China Dine-ah restaurant is a short 10 minute drive away. The historic town of Waterville, which features numerous restaurants, is just 15 minutes away. For those looking to escape big box stores and chain restaurants, this is the place!
Thanks,
Susan and Alan
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful, Cozy Cottage on Lovejoy Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145651
+1 7039382101
Unity MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Rocklin, CA
5

Lovejoy Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We loved the cottage...My husband and I loved waking up to the beautiful sunrise over the pond. The cottage has been remodeled recently with new cabinets, granite countertops and new appliances in the kitchen.. The bathroom was redone also. My husband and I like our computers and the internet was great.

You could not find a more beautiful setting for a vacation in Maine..
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words! We are so glad you enjoyed all the upgrades, including the wireless internet. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best,
Susan and Alan
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Peaceful, Cozy Cottage on Lovejoy Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145651
+1 7039382101
Unity MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

From the Guest Book

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We have enjoyed our stay in your cottage. The cottage is adorable and comfortable. The setting is beautiful and convenient to Belfast with many unique shops and restaurants. There is so much to see and enjoy in Maine. Had a lovely time.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful, Cozy Cottage on Lovejoy Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145651
+1 7039382101
Unity MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Fabulous Vacation!

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We enjoyed our stay at your cottage. Loved the peacefulness of the pond and the area. Cookouts, campfires, and fun was had by all. Fireworks and parade on the 4th in Winslow was fabulous. You have a lovely spot in the world. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Helpful votes: 2/2