Lutsen house rental - Great Room
Great Room
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps21
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lutsen House Rental Photos and Description
House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 16-21)

Cedar Cliff is located on a dead-end road that runs along the Lake Superior shore. From the moment you walk through the doors of this incredible home, you will feel transformed.

The magnificent great room with a massive Carlton Peak fireplace has an antique dining room table that seats 12 and a drop-leaf English table that can seat 6 more. Two large screened-in porches flank this room and the windows that run its length have window seats for bird watching and reading or lake gazing. French doors in the middle open to the stairway that leads down to the water. The north shore is known for its craggy rocks and vistas and our shoreline offers a private experience of this magnificent place.

A fully-equipped kitchen has a six-burner, professional restaurant stove and connects to a charming breakfast nook and pantry. The six bedrooms are comfortably furnished with antiques, fine linens and local artwork. The bedrooms are set to the back of the house affording privacy and separation from group activities in the great room.

Cedar Cliff is a unique environment for your north shore vacation, combining old fashioned relaxation with modern amenities and many local attractions.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

My name is Kathy and I have a boutique in Minneapols where we live. Doug is a musician and a software engineer. We have 5 children and 3 grandchildren . We enjoy being involved in the care and maintenence of Cedar Cliff and watching it bring such pleasure to its visitors.

The Owner purchased this house in 2002

Doug and I love the North Shore and wanted to share the magic with others and this was the perfect way to do it! We love the community and wanted to help support the local economy and bring more awareness of this incredible wilderness in our own back yard. We chose this large historic Craftsman because we love the quality and simplicity of the architecture and the ability to house large groups comfortably and most of all because we love the Lake! Being on a dead end road is a big plus and the location makes it easy to get to outdoor activies , shops and restaurants.

Cedar Cliff offers a truly unique North Shore experience. You have an entire house that was on the historic homes tour with an amazing Carlton Peak fireplace, a fully equipped kitchen, organic coffee, tea and cocoa, wonderful bedding and quilts plus lots of character and lots of privacy.

We have hosted family reunions, yoga retreats, weddings, birthday celebrations, craft weekends, girlfriends weekends and workshops to name a few.

The Great Room is perfect for the group activities and the bedrooms are set to the back of the house for more peaceful quiet time. The two large screened porches give even more great relaxing lake time opportunities and you can even sleep out there on an air bed if you want!

We are a Green facility and use recycled and environmentally friendly products and high quality natural fibers in our linens, towels and rugs.

The biggest plus, of course, is the Lake. The feeling you get looking out over that vast expanse of water just has to be experienced.

17 Reviews of Property 145553 in Lutsen, Minnesota

Stunning 1920's Craftsman on Lake Superior Shore
average rating of 4.923077 based on 17 reviews
business
Stunning 1920's Craftsman on Lake Superior Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145553vbi
(612) 382-9503 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Deephaven, MN
5

Spring Skiing Getaway with Friends!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Kathy - Just wanted to say thanks for the great weekend at your place. We had four families with young kids (ages 3-9) and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. Given the make up of the families, we had to do some creative room sharing due to the abundance of twin beds, but that didn't take away from the whole experience. Great dining space for a large group and the main great/family room was awesome! The kitchen was fully stocked with all necessities. Views of the lake were magnificent! Would love to come back in the summer when we could spend time on the porches and have the windows open. It was an easy drive to Lutsen for a couple days of excellent Spring skiing! Thanks again, we definitely hope to be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are adding another double bed and have some double air beds tucked away to make it easier next time. Thanks so much!
business
Stunning 1920's Craftsman on Lake Superior Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145553vbi
(612) 382-9503 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
5

Perfect weekend on Lake Superior

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
I just wanted to send a note saying how much we loved your place. It is beautiful and we all had such a great relaxing weekend.
By Saturday night people began saying things like, "When we come back next year..."
The house is truly a treasure and it is great that you share it with others.
All the best,
business
Stunning 1920's Craftsman on Lake Superior Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145553vbi
(612) 382-9503 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Washington, DC, USA
5

Beautiful setting with intimate feel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had our wedding at Cedar Cliff and couldn't be happier with how everything turned out. The location on Lake Superior is astounding, with incredible views and adventurous folks can climb the rocks right down to the water's edge. The cabin comfortably held our 40 guests for the event and about half of our guests even stayed with us overnight, easily finding room to sleep. We are so grateful to have found this place for our very special day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning 1920's Craftsman on Lake Superior Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145553vbi
(612) 382-9503 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
dodge ctr,mn
5

North Shore family - "Get-away"

North Shore family - "Get-away"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Hi Kathy,
Got home late Friday eve. We had a wonderful time.
Thanks for sharing your house!
Everything exceeded our expectations!
Warren
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning 1920's Craftsman on Lake Superior Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145553vbi
(612) 382-9503 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Hastings, MN
5

Charming Vintage Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
> Hello Kathy,
> Just a quick note to let you know our family truly enjoyed staying at your
> beautiful home. The rooms are all so cozy and comfortable. Of course, the
> dramatic fireplace impressed all of us! There was more than enough room for
> the 12 members of our family who were able to join us for the get-away. The
> cooking and dining supplies were amazing!
> We were fortunate with a fresh snowfall on Friday as we arrived. That
> made for 2 great days of skiing at Lutsen. Monday was quite cold so we
> stayed off the downhill skis. Some of us went for scenic walks while others
> snowshoed and cross-country skied. With the 2pm check out you so kindly
> arranged for us, we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast before packing up to
> leave. One of our sons said "I'm going to miss this house!"
> Thank you,
> Judy
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning 1920's Craftsman on Lake Superior Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145553vbi
(612) 382-9503 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Minneapolis Mn
5

family reunion in a superb setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
For over fifty years we're rented places along this stretch of North Shore. None have worked better than this house of history, good art and ample space to do all of what three generations might wish. The views, shady screen porches, smells of the pines and waves, lake side perches, wild flowers in the naturalized yard are just right without feeling staged for consumer approval. Good little coffee shops are close enough for those need those luxuries. Everything you need is there and done with values of low impact living.One of our party was in a power chair and once over one entry step, found accessibility good.(a piece of plywood 48x30x5/8" works fine) If you want to read, bring a book light: lighting in the great room is dim. Don't miss Cedar Cliff!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning 1920's Craftsman on Lake Superior Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145553vbi
(612) 382-9503 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
St. Paul, MN
5

Four-generation reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We absolutely loved Cedar Cliff. My older son is a potter, so his kids were very respectful of all the treasures (pottery and otherwise). He built a cairn out on the point, but the last night's storm took it down. My other son is a Buddhist and did some serious meditation out on the point. The 4 and 5 year old boys spent hours rearranging the flow at the water fall. My daughter has a 7 week old baby, so she was assigned the bedroom with private bath. My mother (93 and on oxygen) complained that the place needed a rocking chair, though I would not have allowed her to rock the baby if there had been one. All the furnishings and kitchen worked perfectly. The quilts, down comforters, art work, fire wood, games, videos: everything was so thoughtfully done. It rained half the time we were there, but being inside was such a delight that we did not suffer at all. Everyone will long remember this very, very special place.

Thank you for sharing it with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review!
Kathy
business
Stunning 1920's Craftsman on Lake Superior Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145553vbi
(612) 382-9503 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Rochester, Minnesota, USA
5

Rest and relaxation in a stunning location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Cedar Cliff retreat is a very special place. I can't remember the last time I cried when I had to leave a holiday home but I shed a few tears last Friday. We spent New Year here with family from England and made lots of precious memories, from sitting around the vast dining table, to playing games and watching DVDs by a log fire, to listening to the waves breaking on the shore round the firepit. I agree with a previous reviewer that the photos don't do it justice. The whole house is charming and comfortable, with beautiful quilts and fascinating original artwork. The beds are wonderfully comfortable. This is also the best equiped house I have ever stayed in - we cooked some wonderful meals. Two bedrooms on the ground floor meant that my elderly parents (in their 80s) didn't have to cope with stairs. Don't expect too many mod cons - I was dreading the lack of a dish-washer, but in fact it was fun to wash up together with a beautiful view of Lake Superior from the kitchen window. It was also wonderful to be without cable TV (although Wifi is available and works beautifully). The heating system is effective but noisy - make sure you take dressing gowns and slippers in the Winter as the mornings can be chilly. The location is stunning. We arrived in the dark so to watch the sun come up and see the lake 30 feet below the window was amazing. The house is easily accessible (just off 61) but set back from the main road. Lutsen (great skiiing!) is five minutes away and Grand Marais (lovely shops and harbor plus good supermarkets) about 20 minutes drive. Cathy and Doug were helpful and informative and responded to our questions fully and promptly. I can't wait to go back in the Summer with my girlfriends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning 1920's Craftsman on Lake Superior Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145553vbi
(612) 382-9503 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Los Angeles
4

The ultimate getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Make no mistake, this is a huge and rustic home. It's like going back in time.

You are secluded in a wonderful craftsman house surrounded by trees and the lake. The house is built around the "great room" and its massive stone fireplace. It is perfect for a family reunion!

There is no air conditioning, no microwave, no washer/dryer, no dishwasher, no cable TV. Cell service is spotty. (Ironically, there is wi-fi!) This is not a 2010 home. And that's the whole point.

It harkens back to a simpler era when people passed time by reading books on the porches and sitting by the lake listening to the water and sipping wine by the fireplace. It is for seclusion. It is for conversation. It is for sleeping late in luxurious beds. At night, the darkness is total and deep sleep is virtually guaranteed.

The dishes and glasses are plentiful. So, too, will be the food you make and the laughter shared around the huge dining room table.

You are minutes from virtually every kind of business you could imagine in a lakeside setting like restaurants, markets and bike rentals. There are numerous hiking trails a short drive away.

This home is where you go to get away from the turmoil and noise of modern life.

We can't recommend it enough!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning 1920's Craftsman on Lake Superior Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145553vbi
(612) 382-9503 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Mankato, MN
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
We spent New Years at Cedar Cliff along with 3 other families. It was a wonderful way to welcome 2010. The view of Lake Superior was mesmerizing. The steam whisps and towers were facinating to watch and the sunsets were spectacular. Even with 20 of us, we slept comfortably and had a great time making meals together and playing games. It was a relaxing adventure and we hope to return next winter or maybe before!
Helpful votes: 1/1