Sanibel Island house rental - The elevated screened-in Lanai is the perfect place for viewing lake wildlife
The elevated screened-in Lanai is the perfect place for viewing lake wildlife
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 28 nights
 

Sanibel Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

--- Check out the Mango House video to see more photos of Mango House!

(click on the video link above the picture to the left....)

Mango House is an absolutely gorgeous, recently remodeled 2BR 2BA stilt house duplex with an open floor plan, located on its own private lake. The view East from the front of the house is into a protected wildlife refuge owned by the Sanibel/Captiva Conservation Foundation (SCCF). The view West from the backyard screened-in lanai is across our beautiful lake into another protected wildlife refuge owned by the 'Ding' Darling Wildlife Sanctuary. Sunsets viewed from the Mango House lanai are absolutely breathtaking.

The spacious Mango House master bedroom has a king-sized bed, private bathroom and a private balcony. The Mango House guest bedroom has a queen-sized bed, separate bathroom and a private balcony. With a large desk area, the guest bedroom can also double as an office. Both bedrooms are light and airy, with plenty of window space and sliding glass doors leading to each balcony.

Mango House is configured with a large living area where the kitchen, dining room, and living room are all open to each other - with four sliding glass doors that access the large Mango House Lanai.

The Mango House Beach is unspoiled and secluded. Only private homes have access to our beach - No condominiums or resorts - so it is never crowded. The sand is clean and pure. The shelling is spectacular! Share the beach with osprey, pelicans, herons, egrets, sandpipers, dolphins, sea turtles and more...

Leave all of your beach gear and bikes behind (!) as Mango House comes with all the beach and recreation equipment (chairs, umbrellas, coolers, shovels, pails, mask/fins/snorkels, noodles, tennis rackets, frisbees, etc....) as well as 5 aluminum beach cruiser bicycles and a 'Schwinn Twinn' Tandem bicycle. Bikes have baskets, helmets and locks. There is also a bicycle trailer. We also provide numerous books (a full library with over 350 titles in three bookcases), numerous puzzles, games, 80+ DVD's, and an IPod docking station to help you enjoy your stay. New this season is an additional Hot/Cold outdoor shower.

Mango House is centrally located to island shopping and restaurants with easy access to bike paths that cover the entire island. Our secluded beach with private access is 1/2 mile away. The Ding Darling Wildlife Sanctuary entrance is even closer. Both the San-Cap Conservation Foundation and Sanibel Recreation Center are less than 1 mile away.

Mango House has high-speed Wireless Internet. Email your friends or conduct business wireless from anywhere you wish - including the Mango House Lanai! We also have premium TV cable as well as three flat-screen panel TVs, each with their own DVD players.

Mango house sits atop a huge garage with ample room for car or boat storage. We have several mature coconut palms, numerous saw palms, and mature orange, grapefruit, and mango trees. Help yourself!

Note: Another (longer) 5 minute 59 second Mango House video is located on the YouTube website. If you wish to view it, go to the YouTube website and search using the keywords 'mango house'

Mango House will truly be a memorable experience.....

Keywords:

More Details
Hide Details

Welcome from Jay and Laura Cerny - the owners of Mango House.

Laura and I were married in 1986 (& 20 year 'renewed' on Sanibel in 2006 above). We have three wonderful children, Austin, Madison, and Garret. Laura is a Colorado gal and I'm a Florida guy. We live the Vail, CO area where I am a school principal and Laura is an interior designer. We met in Dallas back in 1983 while at SMU for grad school. While Laura grew up in Boulder, CO, I lived in Boca Raton and Fort Myers during my childhood. I went to Fort Myers High before college in New York, and have fond memories of skipping school to go to Sanibel in 1975-79. I also worked college summers at South Seas Plantation on Captiva as a waiter at Chadwicks (sadly closed in 2004, but recently reopened as Doc Fords Captiva)

Laura and I have been going to Sanibel together since 1984, and we also own two timeshares at CasaYbel for weeks 51/52. About five years ago, we reached the (obvious for us) conclusion that we wanted to retire on Sanibel and set out to find a house that would suit our needs. We fell in love with and bought the house you see in the pictures - Mango House. Then, we spent the next year or so remodeling it and making it our own, adding everything we could think of to make it the perfect vacation home. Since we're not set to retire for at least another 10 years, we rent out Mango House for most of the year.

Jay Cerny purchased this house in 2007

What more can we say..... We just love Sanibel. Some people travel the world. We travel to Sanibel. It is everything we want in a vacation - and more! The beach access for Mango House is very secluded with no big resorts nearby, and being centrally located with respect to other fantastic private West Gulf Drive beaches, Ding Darling, SCCF, etc. is a huge bonus. When we bought Mango House, we also factored in the uncrowded beach for better shelling and beach strolling. Being on a fresh water lake also has great advantages. We love to look West out across the lake at all of the wildlife, and enjoy the year-round breezes and perfect sunsets.

We provide just about everything you'd want or need for the perfect vacation! Since we were always ferrying umbrellas and chairs, etc. back and forth from Colorado before we bought Mango House - and realized how much of a hassle that was - we decided to make them available for our guests. The same is true for cruiser bikes, DVD's, books, puzzles, games, binoculars, shelling/birding guides, tennis rackets, and other beach gear. We want you to use ours!

Mango House is newly remodeled and has a very clean look - mostly furnished with IKEA, Crate & Barrel, Pottery Barn, & West Elm. We have high-speed wireless (works great on the Lanai) and have done our best not to skimp on anything.

For those new to Sanibel/Captiva, we also have a large organizer notebook that lists all of our favorite things to do and places to eat on Sanibel and Captiva. We have menus from most every local restaurant along with our favorite selections at each... Enjoy!

23 Reviews of Property 145492 in Sanibel Island, Florida

Mango House - 35% off May (now $2205 - recent cancel) - A Rare Gem - New Remodel
average rating of 4.818182 based on 23 reviews
business
Mango House - 35% off May (now $2205 - recent cancel) - A Rare Gem - New Remodel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145492vbi
(970) 977-6284 (Colorado, USA)
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Colorado
5

Marvelous Mango House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What a wonderful "home away from home"! Mango House had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable: well equipped kitchen, comfy beds, bikes, beach toys, and a wonderful lanai to sit on and watch the neighborhood wildlife. The house was a short bike ride to the beach and to a wonderful restaurant, Doc Fords. The owners were extremely helpful, and provided us with tons of suggestions of things to do, restaurants to try, and stores to shop at. We jokingly said many times during our stay, "Did Jay recommend that?" because the few times we veered off of his list, we regretted it! We ate fresh mango and coconut from trees in the yard, enjoyed shelling (and tossing back all the live critters we found in the tidal pools), had a friendly bird identifying competition, and were thrilled at the schools of rays, the sweet manatees, and especially the once in a lifetime opportunity to watch a momma loggerhead, head in to shore to lay her eggs! Definitely a vacation to remember! Thanks Jay and Laura!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mango House - 35% off May (now $2205 - recent cancel) - A Rare Gem - New Remodel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145492vbi
(970) 977-6284 (Colorado, USA)
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Best place ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Mango house is tucked away down a quiet lane. It is the perfect place to get away from it all and enjoy a magical island time! We all enjoyed taking out the fun beach cruiser bikes and riding them to the. Each or to the grocery store or just all around the island. There are wonderful bike paths all over the island.
The house is beautiful! It is clean and comfortably furnished. The owners have thought about everything we might want while we are there. We have a wonderful experience with the owners! They went out of their way to think of ways to make our trip better. We loved our beach access and we Re looking forward to returning again and again!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Karen. We are also looking forward to having you back. I'm so pleased you and your family were able to ride the bikes so much and all over Sanibel. We appreciate the feedback. Jay and Laura
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mango House - 35% off May (now $2205 - recent cancel) - A Rare Gem - New Remodel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145492vbi
(970) 977-6284 (Colorado, USA)
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Morristown, NY
5

A perfect vacation once again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Jay and Laura,
Thank you once again for allowing us to share your Mango House. It's been a great month for us to get away from the 'polar vortex' and we've enjoyed almost perfect weather. Thanks for always being available via phone or internet when we have questions. Your attention to detail is outstanding and we certainly appreciate it. We look forward to getting back to 'our' winter getaway next March.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Michele and Val. 5 years now!!! We can't wait to have you back next March 2015! Jay and Laura
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mango House - 35% off May (now $2205 - recent cancel) - A Rare Gem - New Remodel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145492vbi
(970) 977-6284 (Colorado, USA)
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
3

Nice House and Great vacation spot !

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My wife and I stay in this house for the month of February. Great weather and great shelling on the beach.
Riding a bike on Rabbit rd is very dangerous at times and you really need to be careful.
The worst part was dealing with the owners since they were not very honest with us. We still had a great time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: The issue was that our guests became frustrated that they could not re-rent for the same month during the next year. Our guests typically inquire about re-renting during the month of their stay. Unfortunately, these guests emailed their request three weeks after the end of their stay and by that time, we assumed they were not interested in re-renting and we already had another contract. We regret that we could not accommodate these guests for a return stay due to their late notification. Laura and I take tremendous pride in our customer service, integrity, and relationships with our guests. We feel very sorry about this unfortunate situation.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mango House - 35% off May (now $2205 - recent cancel) - A Rare Gem - New Remodel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145492vbi
(970) 977-6284 (Colorado, USA)
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Great Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family loved this house. It was clean, nicely decorated, and very accomodating for our family of 6. The beds were comfortable (even the sofa bed!), kitchen was fabulous, and the screened in porch delightful. The ammenities were great too...bikes, toys for the kids, games, etc. Owners were easy to work with, and honestly, it was a FABULOUS place for our family!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mango House - 35% off May (now $2205 - recent cancel) - A Rare Gem - New Remodel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145492vbi
(970) 977-6284 (Colorado, USA)
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Minnesota
5

Love, Love, Love Mango House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We spent the month of April 2013 at Mango House. We were comfortable and happy every day. We loved the lanai and bird watching. We loved riding the bikes everywhere. We loved taste testing oysters at restaurants all over Sanibel and Captiva Island. There is so much to see and do that you should come down and try it all for yourself. Thanks to Jay for sharing his wonderful home and making our stay a pleasant one.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Pam and Ray for your kind words. We were thrilled to have you at Mango House!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mango House - 35% off May (now $2205 - recent cancel) - A Rare Gem - New Remodel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145492vbi
(970) 977-6284 (Colorado, USA)
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Copied from Mango Guest Book - Nov & Dec 2012

Copied from Mango Guest Book - Nov & Dec 2012
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Visiting from: London, UK

Purpose of your trip: Returning to our winter "home"

Comments: Thanks so much for everything Jay and Laura. We're counting the days until next November - can't wait to be back again. Wishing you and the family a very happy and successful 2013.

How we traveled: Air

The weather was: November was perfect - not a drop of rain. December was cool at first, then very warm. Still great!

What we did: Pretty much what we did last year

People we met: Lovely to meet up again with neighbors next door and across the road. Plus, Dee at SCCF

Places we would recommend: The same as last year. Plus, we had a couple of very nice meals at Grandma Dots and the Green Flash.

Favorite moments / special highlights: Fantastic shelling in November (but sadly not a Junonia) and spectacular views of dolphins this year.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Mango House - 35% off May (now $2205 - recent cancel) - A Rare Gem - New Remodel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145492vbi
(970) 977-6284 (Colorado, USA)
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Copied from Mango Guest Book - May 2012

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2012
Visiting from: Sanford, NC

Comments: Jay and Laura. Thank you so much for letting us rent from you. We had a great trip. It is June so it's getting pretty warm here. We'll head back to N.C. where it is also hot. I told Jay we'd leave a picture of The Junonia that C found at Mango beach, straight our from Rabbit Road. The Shells Were Amazing ! Go Junonia ! (guests had a picture of their Junonia shell taped into the guest book)

Purpose of your trip: Get away from "the usual" daily grind.

How we traveled: Car

What we did: Biked, swam a lot, shelled, read a lot, ate, slept more than usual, caught lizards and let them go. Fishing good in the am on beach - pompano, whiting

People we met: Next door neighbor, handyman Jack, Captain Bill and Summer

Places we would recommend: SCCF, CROW, Mango Beach!, Pinochio's ice cream, R.C. Otters in Captiva, shopping at Publix on mainland!, Mad Hatters in Captiva, Shell Museum, Island Pizza has good pizza.

Favorite moments / special highlights: Swimming for hours, shelling, sunsets .... saw a small alligator in the lake
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Mango House - 35% off May (now $2205 - recent cancel) - A Rare Gem - New Remodel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145492vbi
(970) 977-6284 (Colorado, USA)
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Copied from Mango Guest Book - March 2012

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Visiting from: Morristown, NY

Comments: Jay and Laura - Mango House is outfitted so nicely and the location is good with the river/lake in the back. We saw what we think is the same little alligator out back past the fence. He/she is a foot longer this year. Saw another one floating by too. We will be back again next March God willing. It's always good to feel the warmth and humidity we lack in the North! Thank you SO much for adding hot water to the outdoor shower. It's my new favorite thing !!!

Purpose of your trip: Return to "our island home" Mango House to escape winter weather.

The weather was: 75 - 85 degrees F. Sunny with a little extra wind.

What we did: Rode bikes every day, fished at Blind Pass and on the beach.

People we met: Larry from New Jersey was back this year fishing at Blind Pass. Dee at the SCCF and another woman from Burlington, VT

Places I would recommend: Farmer's market on Sunday, Sanibel Bean for paninis and frozen latte

Favorite moments / special highlights: Seeing a big fiddler crab on the beach and (2) gopher tortoises on the path. Sunsets with margaritas. Helping an elderly man get an 18 1/2" sheepshead in to shore.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mango House - 35% off May (now $2205 - recent cancel) - A Rare Gem - New Remodel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145492vbi
(970) 977-6284 (Colorado, USA)
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Copied from Mango Guest Book - February 2012

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Visiting from: Liverpool, England

Comments: Jay and Laura - Enjoyed peace and quiet and daily osprey visit to wash it's feet in the Mango lake. The position of Mango House was easy for quick access to Ding Darling. Being able to bike everyday has been good. We've been very comfortable and relaxed here.

Purpose of your trip: Return to favourite holiday destination

How we traveled: Air

The weather was: Good. High 70s and low 80s with one cold 50's day to remind us of home.

What we did: Biking, birding, beaches, SCCF talks, arts festival, farmers market, beach walking, Ding Darling many times, Sanibel Gardens, Bailey's Tract

People we met: Old friends and helpful guides

Places I would recommend: Farmer's market, Mucky Duck, Green Flash, Jerry's, and CAfe Marsden !

Favorite moments / Special Highlights: Ding Darling, low tide shelling and dolphins, bobcat at Bailey's Tract and first sighting of wild otter eagle on Island road.