Townsend house rental - Little River
Little River
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Townsend House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 7

5 minutes from the entrance of the Smoky Mountain National Park. 30 minutes from Pigeon Forge - Dollywood, outlet shopping. 45 minutes from Gatlinburg. At the house:

Picnic on the deck with the sound of the river flowing below or take a bicycle ride on the 5 mile bicycle trail accessible at the end of your driveway. Rent a tube and float to the house . . .

Sit on the beautiful wraparound porch in a rocker and re-energize yourself. Grab a book and 'sit a spell. 'Take a dip in your own private 'swimmin' hole' or bring your fishing pole and nab a rainbow trout. Grill it for dinner on your deck by the water.

Walk to dinner at one of the local restaurants or cook your own in the kitchen. Bicycling, hiking, fishing, horseback riding, golf, tubing down the rapids of the Little River, shopping and sightseeing all await you in Townsend, Tennessee - the peaceful side of the Smokies.

10 Reviews of Property 145281 in Townsend, Tennessee

Charming home beside the river in the Smoky mountains - Townsend, TN
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
Charming home beside the river in the Smoky mountains - Townsend, TN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145281
865 201-8824
Townsend Tennessee
5

Awesome Choice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
From the moment that we walk into this rental it felt like home. The owners are very friendly and always ready to assist with anything that we might need. The house smelled clean and was clean. The location was great. You walk out the back door and on to the back deck for a wonder view of the river and then down the stairs from the deck and your at the river. We were just a couple of minutes from the store to pick up all our things we needed to cook. We were about 20 minutes from Cades Cove and that is a must see. We will return again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Charming home beside the river in the Smoky mountains - Townsend, TN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145281
865 201-8824
Townsend Tennessee
Hessmer, Louisiana USA
5

STAY HERE!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We just returned from a week stay in this beautiful house. Everything we needed was provided for by the thoughtful owner. It was such a pleasure to return "home" after a day in the park. The house is welcoming, clean, beautifully decorated an SMELLED GREAT! Thank you Donna for making our trip wonderful.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Charming home beside the river in the Smoky mountains - Townsend, TN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145281
865 201-8824
Townsend Tennessee
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
5

Fantastic house for our Tennessee vacation.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We were visiting from Australia for 10 nights with our family of 5 and discovered this gem via an internet search and I am glad we did. Eight years ago we lived pretty close by and so were visiting friends as well as enjoying the tourist attractions of the Smoky mountains. This was a much superior option than a hotel.

Communications with Donna were great in setting up the stay and when we arrived found the house sparkling clean and all as described with many extra little touches such as some necessities in the refrigerator and snacks on the bench.

My only concern during the stay were that the beds were too comfortable so we struggled to get everyone out of bed and on the road in the mornings.

When I booked I had visions of tubing in the river but the weather was too cool. However time proved too short anyway catching up with old friends in Maryville, outlet shopping in Pigeon Forge, Dollywood, Dixie Stampede, mountain biking around Townsend (bikes at the house) and biking the Virginia Creeper Trail (2 hour drive away but highly recommended).

I will not hesitate in forwarding details to anyone thinking of visiting the area.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Charming home beside the river in the Smoky mountains - Townsend, TN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145281
865 201-8824
Townsend Tennessee
Dora Al USA
5

Family Vacation #10

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
What a fabulous trip this was for me. The property is one I have always viewed on our trips to Townsend; never dreaming I would one day stay here. It is quaint, charming, old south. The river just a few steps away and down is something that draws us to this area. We were unable to play in the river this trip because the water was too high and now conducive to small children at this area at this time. Thank God for all the rain to fill the rivers again. Old soughern charm in the decor-makes you think of Grandmas house. The biscuits and apple preserves are a great touch for the hungry travellers. Nice yard for the kids to play and throw the baseball around. Comfortable front porch to sit on and watch the day passing by. Feels like home. Shaded road at back was great for the morning and evening strolls. They even thought of washing detergent for us. Owners called to make sure all was going well for us and offered good advice on area attractions. Wonderful vacation spot. Will definitely visit again and recommend to friends. Not a place for persons with knee problems since all bedrooms are up narrow stairs and bathrooms are downstairs.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Charming home beside the river in the Smoky mountains - Townsend, TN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145281
865 201-8824
Townsend Tennessee
Louisiana
5

PERFECT VACATION HOME!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We stayed here for a week and everything was wonderful! It is individually owned so it's not like dealing with a rental company. The house is right on the river with steps leading down. It is a great fishing and tubing spot. There are stores near-by which you can actually walk to. The lady and her mother who rent the home are so sweet! We arrived to biscuits in the fridge and they brought by a pie during our stay. They made us feel right at home! Wonderful experience we will be staying here again!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Charming home beside the river in the Smoky mountains - Townsend, TN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145281
865 201-8824
Townsend Tennessee
jacksonville, nc
4

our stay at Hollyberry

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Our stay here was wonderful. We had our boys ages 18 and 15, as well as a friend of our oldest son. When we arrived, there were snacks and biscuits in the fridge. The boys quickly devoured the biscuits. They really enjoyed the creek in the back. The interior of the home is tastefully decorated. There are books and games, A little bit of washing powder, coffee, and soap to help out a little. Certainly thankful for that. Townsend is a small town. Friendly. Convenient to Pigeon Forge and Cades Cove. Lots of places to sit back and relax. My favorite thing to do was sit in the rocker on the front porch. We packed a lot of kitchen supplies just in case, but it was not necessary. There are a couple of stores within a short walking distance if you should need anything. There is a journal in the living room area that has some good tips and ideas about the area. It is on the main road, but the town is very quiet at night. Our oldest son and his friend visited Cades Cove quite a bit. Beautiful place to visit as it seems untouched. I would definately recommend. They have done a lot of work to the home. It felt like staying at grandma's house. Nostalgic.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Charming home beside the river in the Smoky mountains - Townsend, TN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145281
865 201-8824
Townsend Tennessee
Joliet, Il
5

This was beyond our expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
The house was clean and cozy. We all felt very comfortable during our stay. All of the extra touches, including 2 bicycles, the homemade buscuits in the fridge, as well as the snacks were a very nice touch..As my step daughter said "THIS HOUSE AND THE LADY THAT OWNS IT IS AWSOME!"
When you add in the great view, river access, nearby activities, you have the perfect, relaxing vacation spot.
We plan on definately staying here again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Charming home beside the river in the Smoky mountains - Townsend, TN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145281
865 201-8824
Townsend Tennessee
Mount Juliet, TN, USA
5

Wonderful place in Townsend by the river

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
This is an old home that has been wonderfully restored/remodeled. I loved how they tried to keep as much original parts as possible. Modern new appliances with large fridge. We had every thing we needed to cook with. We only ate out one night of 6 and that was when we drove to Gatlinburg. Very, very.very clean. Extremely comfortable beds. Nice linens and thick towels. Beach towels provided. Wonderful riverside deck with table, chairs and grill and sturdy decking and steps down to river. The driveway is between the house and the deck. Nice place to play in river. Great place to fish away from the main tubing action (we did walk to swinging bridge and tube back to house). Biscuits, juice, butter, and honey for our breakfast the next morning awaited us in the fridge. Some snack crackers, popcorn, and soft drinks in the fridge were waiting for us. The 3 bedrooms are upstairs (one bedroom is open, like a loft). The two bathrooms are downstairs, but this was not a problem for us. We liked having the carport out back. Had 2 bikes for riding the Townsend trail. Lots of movies, magazines, local books. and other books for reading. Main living room with TV and then a separate sitting room also downstairs. Loved having the washer and dryer and dishwasher. We noticed a little traffic noise in the morning as we were waking up as the house is on the main road in Townsend, but I would not call it bothersome noise. The owner called to ask if we needed anything.
We have stayed a lot of places in Townsend and this is our favorite yet.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Charming home beside the river in the Smoky mountains - Townsend, TN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145281
865 201-8824
Townsend Tennessee
McMinnville
5

Wonderful Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
We chose Townsend to accomodate my husband's love of fly fishing. We were very happy with this property. We loved the welcoming and thoughtful touches of snacks, etc. upon arrival. We were worried about being to far away from the attractions for the kids but it was not a problem. There was a good road to take you very quickly into Pigeon Forge. The house was extemely clean and beautifully decorated. The only things that I could say that we found a little difficult were no upstairs bathrooms and only 1 TV. The kids enjoyed the Little River just behind the house and we loved the peace and quiet of Townsend.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Charming home beside the river in the Smoky mountains - Townsend, TN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p145281
865 201-8824
Townsend Tennessee
Kissimmee
5

Very lovely country home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
We were very impressed with this lovely country home. It was very clean, tastefully decorating and had a very "homey" feel. All the little "extras": biscuits, honey, drinks, and snacks were a warm welcoming treat. I would definately say if you are looking to stay at a peaceful, quiet, RELAXING, riverfront home, look no further, this home is perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7