Hanalei house rental - Beautiful Hawaiian-style Home in Lovely Tropical Setting
Beautiful Hawaiian-style Home in Lovely Tropical Setting
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Hanalei House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Maluhia Hanalei is a beautiful Hawaiian-style home just one block from the magnificent two-mile crescent beach at world-renowned Hanalei Bay.

The furnishings, amenities, and setting make it a wonderful vacation home from which to enjoy the wonders of Kauai's North Shore.

Within a ten-minute drive you will find numerous beautiful beaches and a huge variety of activities to keep you busy. A two-minute walk from the house is magnificent Hanalei Bay and its famous, white-sand beach. A short stroll will bring you to quaint, historic, downtown Hanalei, with its wonderful array of restaurants, shops, and galleries.

The house is at the end of a cul-de-sac, set back off the road, and down a long driveway on a wonderfully-landscaped quarter acre adjacent to a conservation area. The setting is lush, green, private, quiet, very secluded, and yet only a block to the beach and a five-minute walk into town. An ideal location.

Maluhia Hanalei is a single-family home which will accommodate up to 10 guests. Groups of up to 6 can rent the spacious three- bedroom, two bath upstairs main part of the house. There is also a lovely garden level apartment with two more bedrooms, living room, full kitchen, and full bath for up to an additional 4 guests. This can be rented separately or with the rest of the house.

The house is beautifully decorated and fully equipped. Larger groups will find that the whole house combines to make an ideal vacation home for up to 10. The individual suites give the smaller groups within the large one their own separate spaces and the upstairs has a very open, spacious floor plan with plenty of room for everyone to gather for meals and visiting.

Guests will enjoy the wonderful outdoor shower, the myriad birds in the trees, the wonderful sunrises and sunsets, the lush foliage and flowers everywhere, and the lovely views from the extensive lanais and patios.

Please visit our webpage, for more information, virtual tours, photos and a video of this lovely home.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Like so many other visitors, I was entranced by the sheer beauty of the north shore of Kauai. It gives me so much pleasure to be able to share this paradise with others by opening my home to visitors from all over, so they too may experience the rare unspoiled nature of one of the most special places on earth.

Marney Craig purchased this house in 2000

My travels have taken me all over the world, but Kauai always drew me back. Hanalei and the north shore of Kauai will never change, never be developed, never have hotels, condos, or very much tourist infrastructure. This most beautiful spot is protected and secure in it's beauty and appeal. What better spot to have a home to come to and to share with others.

My home is not only beautiful, charming, comfortable and inviting, but also very private and secluded, surrounded by beautiful gardens, and adjacent to a tropical hardwood forest. The foliage, the flowers, the birds, the sunrise, the relaxation of this wonderful environment, combined with the beach at Hanalei Bay and Hanalei town both being a very short walk from the house make it the ideal spot for the ultimate getaway.

36 Reviews of Property 10087 in Hanalei, Hawaii

Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 36 reviews
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
San Diego, CA USA
5

Hanalei Gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My family spent five delightful days at this property, renting both Plumeria and Hibiscus. We had such a wonderful time there and could see the house has had a lot of love and good times over the years. It has a really nice vibe! So glad to be able to experience that too. The house came equipped with everything you could imagine....we had all that we needed and then some. The owner and local contact people were very responsive...no complaints. The location was also ideal, just a short walk to the beach and pier. We appreciated being on a quiet residential street in the middle of a tropical jungle! Also we had mostly good weather and were able to do many fun things with our family.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
5

Couldn't Have Been Better!

Couldn't Have Been Better!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My family just returned from a weeks vacation at this beautiful home. We had a large group (10) of extended family consisting of 3 adult children with spouses/girlfriends and boyfriends and two grandchildren ages 1 and 3. This home couldn't have fit our needs better. The home was very clean and comfortable for a family. It had everything we needed for the beach, including chairs, boogie boards, beach toys and umbrellas! The home was light and airy upstairs with plenty of room to be together in a large open space. Our family enjoyed having both the upstairs and the downstairs plumeria apt. We spent most of our time together upstairs but it was nice for couples to have there own area for some away time. We had several dinners on the lanai and just enjoyed hanging out on the porch watching the wide variety of birds and the beautiful jungle landscape. It felt private and very tropical! The kitchen had everything we needed for food preparation with lots of counter space. We appreciated the highchair, pack and play, games and books when we were not at the beach. The beach truly is a minute stroll away and is breathtaking! The town of Hanalei is just a few blocks away and was a fun afternoon jaunt for shave ice or dinner. This house really fit the needs of everyone in our family! We all were sad to leave and look forward to another Hanalei adventure in the future. Thank you for the use of your home!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
5

Wonderful vacation home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What a fabulous place with VERY close proximity to beautiful Hanalei Bay and Hanalei town. This was a long-planned family vacation and we rented the entire property - upstairs main house, downstairs 2-bdrm suite, and downstairs studio. It was perfect for our family of 14 (10 adults, 4 children) ranging in age from 4 months to 67 years. My entire family agreed that the location and amenities of this home couldn't be better. This was my first time renting a vacation home, and as other reviews have said, Marney was extremely responsive to all my inquiries. I would definitely recommend this property!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
ventura, ca
5

Beautiful home in a perfect location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
A TripAdvisor Member
“Beautiful home in a perfect location!”

I am delighted to say that I wholeheartedly agree with all of the glowing reviews of this property. My husband and I brought our 4 adult children and spouses, along with our 13year old, 4year old, and 10 month old grandsons. There are hardly words to express how perfect the home was for our family. We rented the entire house, so there was plenty of privacy when desired, but the common areas more than comfortably accommodated our entire group. The owner has thoughtfully stocked the house with literally everything a family needs to live for a week. From high chair, to beach equipment to every conceivable kitchen appliance or tool, we wanted for nothing! The home is light and airy with a sense of total privacy and lush views from every window. The location could not be more ideal. It really is only a 2 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to town. It offered us so many spontaneous moments to just drop everything and dash down to the beach for a sunrise or a sunset or a great rainbow. Hanalei is a magical place, and this home allows you to take full advantage of its beauty. We planned for our trip over several months, and Marney was at every turn, helpful and responsive to our questions and requests. Our family has rented several vacation homes, and this one, by far, is the best! We have beautiful memories to last a lifetime of this home in Hanal
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Seattle
5

A slice of heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We were two families (total of 10 people) renting the main house and the apartment below. It was absolutely perfect for us!

After nearly 5 years of planning, we were finally able to enjoy this wonderful home! Marney was incredibly accommodating, going above and beyond in the planning and procuring of our vacation rental.

The house and apartment were perfect for our 2 families. Having stayed in several VRBO homes before, I was incredibly impressed at how well it was stocked. One of my favorite family traditions while in Kauai is to go to the fish market and get fresh fish then make up new recipes on the spot, based on what we have on hand. We call it "kitchen cupboard fish". Marney had every single spice I could imagine. Combined with her excellent kitchen supplies and utensils, I made an utterly fabulous gourmet meal.

We had 5 children with us, ranging in age from 2-8 years of age. There was a toy or activity for every single age group!

For 7-10 days at a time, each new family feels like they live in a slice of paradise. It feels like your own home and for that short period, you are the exquisite owner in the most magical place on earth. Marney, thank you for creating such an inviting home to entertain our wildest daydreams!

We'll be back to make more precious memories!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
san francisco
5

AMAZING

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had the best time in Hanalei staying at this house. One block from the beach, couldn't be better.
Incredibly convenient, cozy and lush garden all around. Thank you Marney for eveything! We will return!
Pauline
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Novato, CA
5

Beautiful and Lush

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I spent 10 days in January at this beautiful house, and wish I could have stayed forever. If you want to truly feel Hawaii, and to get away for fun, rest, and relaxation in true Hawaiian style, this is the spot. It is is surrounded by lush gardens with beautiful flowers, lime, avocado, and banana trees. The house is very comfortable and has all the amenities you need, including beach equipment; chairs, boogie boards and snorkeling gear. It is a great place to go as a couple or as a group. I went with a group of friends we utilized the apartment and the house. The upstairs house was where we all gathered, shared meals, no one was ever on top of each other.

Hanalei Bay is just a block away; great for daily walks on the beach, swimming, and surfing. It is a very short walk to Hanalei town where you can eat out, shop or listen to music. We loved the Sushi at The Dolphin Fish Market, the Family style Luau at the Tahiti Nui and the Farmers Market on Saturday.

I highly recommend this place. The owner is very helpful and accommodating, great space, yard and overall proximity to all the beauty in Kauai.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
NH
5

An amazing, clean place within walking distance to town and beaches

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
First of all, Marney is very accomodating and responds to all requests and questions timely. We were 2 couples and we stayed at Marney's Hibiscus upstairs for about a week. It truly is paradise. Plenty of windows for sunlight and breezes. The wraparound porch is just perfect for morning coffee, dining or just having cocktails while looking out at the coconut, avocado and banana trees. The place is very clean with ceiling fans in every room. The location is a short walk to the beach and Hanalei Bay is the best I've seen. The water is good for swimming, but our most fun was boogey boarding. Oh, and Marney has a great supply of water toys so no need to bring your own. The town of Hanalei is within in walking distance. Be sure to check out the farmer's market and the local shops.
I am highly recommending Marney's place in Hanalei Bay. It is beautiful and we know we'll be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Salt Lake City, UT
5

Amazing place in Halalei

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This place was simply amazing! We rented the entire house: upstairs, downstairs, and attached studio. We mainly entertained upstairs, as it was very open, had access to the outdoor deck areas, and could accommodate all of our visiting friends, with plenty of room to mingle.

There's so many aspects to speak highly of, that made our stay comfortable. I'll start with the kitchen, which was spacious, with plenty of storage, cookware, and a very open floor plan for everyone to hang out. Off the kitchen area was the outside decks, which is where we spent most of our time. There's a picnic table, and seating for 4-6 others, and standing room to roam. Down the stairs below is the grill, which was used almost nightly for dinner.

The bedrooms and bathrooms were simple, but felt cozy and typical in the traditional island style. Specifically, the master bedroom was great, with the private bathroom and roomy deck overlooking the backyard, we loved it. Which

We got married during our stay and had the reception in the backyard. Let me tell you, it was gorgeous. Not having many neighbors in the back felt very private, and in a nice jungle-like setting. There's also lime and avocado tress with fruit, at least while we were there, which is nice for having fresh ingredients to pluck and use on-premisis.

There's a large closet full of beach stuff. Chairs, coolers, bodyboards, masks, snorkels, fins, umbrellas, etc. And, with a short walk to the beach, you can head out for the day, or any evening stroll, within a few minutes.

I'd highly recommend this rental. Plenty of space, a nice yard, and walking proximity to one of the nicest beaches on Kauai.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Los Angeles
5

Excellent Service

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The owner Marney went above and beyond to take care of our needs. We are grateful for her high level of customer service, and plan on staying at the Maluhia Hanalei during our next trip to Kauai.
Helpful votes: 2/3