Lexington chateau / country house rental - Bush House in the Bluegrass country
Bush House in the Bluegrass country
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps11
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lexington Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
Chateau / Country House, 5 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 11)

Heading south for sun? Heading north, east or west for snow? Stop here on the way, meet friends or family in this central location. Take a travel break. Relax at Bush House, a bluegrass country home just minutes from I-64 & I-75. Enjoy country privacy with great shopping and dining only 16 minutes away at Lexington's big box Hamburg Mall. While here at Bush House, visit the KY Horse Park, catch a UK or EKU ballgame or travel the Bourbon Trail.

Beautiful restored country home offers inviting rural setting with 5 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, modern kitchen, dining room seating 10+, cozy living room with wood burning stove/fireplace, central hall, laundry room and more - only two bedrooms upstairs! Acres of land with hiking trails and great birdwatching. Generous deck under wonderful Maple with seating to unwind or grill your favorite dinner. There are local golf and dining opportunities as well.

Keywords: Country House

Barbara and I have lived behind Bush House for 30+ years on a 90 acre family farm. Barbara is the gardener, and constantly works to improve and maintain her flowers and trees. I usually do what I am told.

Charles and Barbara Morgan purchased this chateau / country house in 2007

When the house became available from wonderful neighbors, we couldn't resist it because it touches our property, compliments it, and was in the family several generations ago. It is such a comfortable place, we thought others might enjoy it too.

At Bush House, you are completely in the country. We encourage birds to feed near the house and there is a cattle farm across the road with pond the cattle swim in, in view from the front rooms of the house. During the day you can hear typical farm noises (plowing, mowing, cattle calling, ect.) Night is quiet and the deck behind the house is a great place to spend time reading or visiting with other guests. Yet, a grocery is nearby and Hamburg Mall is 16 minutes away.

35 Reviews of Property 144944 in Lexington, Kentucky

Bush House, a Bluegrass Country Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 35 reviews
business
Bush House, a Bluegrass Country Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144944vb
(859) 509-0628
Lexington Kentucky
Lansing MI
5

Denise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This house is amazing! Our family came from 4 states to have a Christmas Celebration. We made the right decision to stay there. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer! The bedrooms are very spacious, the dining room was perfect for our meals and many games we played. We are excited about renting again for our summer vacation.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words. We try! Bush House should be even more fun in the summer with the grounds around the house in bloom and the many events and beautiful scenery here in the bluegrass.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bush House, a Bluegrass Country Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144944vb
(859) 509-0628
Lexington Kentucky
-
5

Bush House- Perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Five couples set out for an adventurous vacation in Kentucky and we chose Bush House.
We needed "roomy space" for bedrooms; plenty of dinning area; and room to work in the kitchen. Bush House had it all! We fell in love with the spacious parlor area where we gathered each evening after a day at the races or touring the horse country or sipping bourbon on tour!! The days were full but coming "home" to Bush House made the days complete! You provided everything we needed.
Thank you for opening this fine historic setting to us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bush House, a Bluegrass Country Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144944vb
(859) 509-0628
Lexington Kentucky
Staunton, Va.
5

Wonderful trip to Kentucky!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We recently stayed at the Bush House and were pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness of all the rooms, particularly the bedrooms. It was such a warm and inviting house and the surroundings were beautiful. Our stay was wonderful and I would highly recommend it for anyone who travels to this beautiful state.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bush House, a Bluegrass Country Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144944vb
(859) 509-0628
Lexington Kentucky
5

Salazar

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our family and friends had such a wonderful time at the Bush House. The owner was also great to work with and even mailed an item we left behind a day after we left. We are all looking forward to being to stay there again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are amazed that there are so many ways guests can appreciate Bush House, and for so many different reasons. We do what we can to make everyone welcome, but there are so many different approaches to Bush House appreciation, we just keep thanking our customers for so many different reasons!
business
Bush House, a Bluegrass Country Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144944vb
(859) 509-0628
Lexington Kentucky
Texas
5

Bush house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Very good accommodations. Upstairs bath would be helpful but we managed as we all were senior citizens. A gas grill would have been useful.
business
Bush House, a Bluegrass Country Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144944vb
(859) 509-0628
Lexington Kentucky
Cincinnati OH
5

Spring vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Chuck & Barbara
We want to thank you for sharing your lovely country home with our three generation family. Our usual summer vacation was moved to spring break this year because two of our daughters are expecting new babies in May & July. We wanted a close-to-home (Cincinnati) mini vacation, and have always loved Lexington, so we began a search and found you online.

Your home is so charming--a real country treat. We hiked the perimeter of your property, and the view from the back is picture-perfect, as was our time spent inside the house. We cooked most every meal, and the kitchen had everything we needed. As others have commented, the large dining room table was the gathering place for meals, games and conversation. The bedrooms are restful, and the beds very comfortable. We loved the quilts!

We took side trips to Keeneland, Claiborne and Old Friends at Dream Chase Farm--all tours arranged ahead, and all equally fun. We watched several horse-y movies at night (and of course a little March Madness!).

We will treasure the time we all had together, and your home provided the perfect backdrop for lots of laughs, good conversation and great eats! It is so important to slow down and cherish the things and people most important in our lives. We only pass this way once. Family is tops on our list of priorities and we have wonderful memories created together--with our Lexington trip being among the best. Our annual vacations hold a special place in our hearts. Thank you so much for your vision for what your house could be. It became a reality once again this week. God Bless!!

Mark & Margaret
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bush House, a Bluegrass Country Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144944vb
(859) 509-0628
Lexington Kentucky
Fayetteville, NC
5

Perfect stop for a Military Family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We are active duty military family and everytime we move we try to find really unique places to stay during our moves. This summer we were traveling from Kansas to North Carolina and stopped at the Bush House for a few nights. Wow! We absolutely loved it! The house and decor took us back many decades in a cool and comfortable way. Each room was unique and inviting. We did some hiking in the backyard and our kids chased fireflys until they fell asleep. Seriously a neat place that we would not hesitate to visit again. The hosts were also wonderful and had the place fully stocked with food when we arrived. Lovely, lovely home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Bush House, a Bluegrass Country Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144944vb
(859) 509-0628
Lexington Kentucky
Battle Creek, MI
5

Jones Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Half of our family lives in Michigan and the other half lives in North Carolina and the Bush House is the same distance for all of us to travel. What a beautiful home! The pictures shown on the web site represent the house perfectly. We all enjoyed grilling out and having true family meals together. This house felt like home to all of us and we will be back in the fall.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Bush House, a Bluegrass Country Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144944vb
(859) 509-0628
Lexington Kentucky
Colorado Springs, Co
5

Great Lexington living

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Bush House is a wonderful relaxing home.We traveled from Colorado to escape the every day busy life and we found a warm home stacked with basics, a fridge loaded with first day breakfast basics and tastefully decorated bedrooms. The house so much reminded us of our childhood, while spending summers at or grandparents houses in Romania (Eastern Europe) thirty years back. The back porch offers a great breakfast or dinner location whilst the trails surrounding the property were long enough to wear off our six year old twins ! Lots of brochures waiting for you in the house,a full library of books and fine china for dinner. We had a great stay at the Bush house . We'll try to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. We have tried to keep Bush House a low key return-to-the-country experience. The house takes you back to earlier, relaxing times. Yet our location makes it easy to reach most anything in the bluegrass area here.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Bush House, a Bluegrass Country Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144944vb
(859) 509-0628
Lexington Kentucky
Wabasha, MN
5

Vacation of a Lifetime

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Dear Busch House Thank you, We had a wonderful time. The house was cozy and our family loved it. We really enjoyed the Three Chimneys Horse Farm, The Bourbon Trail venues as well as the Kentucky Horse Park, Keeneland Race Track, The Natural Bridge State Park and the Red River Gorge Area. We also had a great time at the Claireborn Farms. So much history it was so much fun. Thanks again we had a great time and lots of family fun.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: As you can tell from reading this review, there is a lot to see and do here. That means your party may not get to spend as much time at Bush House, but any time you have to spend there is worthwhile.