Franklin house rental - NW view as seen from most everywhere in the great room and kitchen. This view from 30' wide covered deck
NW view as seen from most everywhere in the great room and kitchen. This view from 30' wide covered deck
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Franklin House Rental Photos and Description
- 3 BR, 2 BA, Sleeps 8, No pets please

This beautifully remodeled 1658 sq ft home is a short paved road up the Cowee Mountain 5 miles north of Franklin, NC. From the covered deck facing the west you have a spectacular view of the Nantahala Mountains and Little Tennessee River. The mountain views are also visible from anywhere in the great room. A short paved access road goes directly into our paved drive and parking area. A motorcyclist's dream. Very fast internet free wifi. The great room, recently re-floored with solid hardwood has a dining room at one end and a relaxing sitting area in front of a fireplace at the other. FreeWiFi.

Centrally located to fly fishing and trout fishing on the Tuckaseegee River, The Nantahala River, The Pigeon River, The Ravens Fork, in the Smoky Mountain National Park. The owner is a Western NC fly fishing guide on the Tuckaseegee River and other local mountain streams and fly fishing instructor. Reserve today for a wonderful experienc

Motorcycle Friendly: All access roads and driveway and parking at the home are paved asphalt. Plenty of room to park 8 or more motorcycles. Facilities for washing bikes, is near parking area. Tail of the Dragon is about 45+ minutes away...and the drive to the Tail is absolutely beautiful along the Little Tennessee River on beautiful winding Hwy 28.

Local Fishing Information: The owner of the property is a popular fly fishing guide and fly fishing/fly tying instructor. You can make reservations for a charter or for local information with Tom Hopkins for these areas: fly fish the Tuckaseegee River; fly fish the Oconoluftee River; fly fish the Pigeon River; fly fish Cherokee; fly fish Waynesville; fly fish Sylva; fly fish Highlands; fly fish Cashiers; fly fish Maggie Valley; fly fish Nantahala; fly fish the Cullasaja River; fly fish Franklin, NC.

If you are a beginner or need help with your casting, fishing techniques, how to read the stream, sign up for a 1/2 day casting instruction/trout fishing trip on one of the local trout streams. Fly rod and flies provided.Go to the website: www.westernncflyfishingguide.com or http://westernncflyfishingguide.blogspot.com.

More Details
Hide Details

We purchased this property for a vacation home rental. We totally remodeled the home from the roof down and throughout, including the kitchen and bath with granite and stainless, plus a paved drive and large parking area.

Tom Hopkins purchased this house in 2006

Our home is central to just about everything in the mountains. Gem mines just down the road and all around us. Fishing across the road plus streams all around. Hiking trails close by and Applacian Trail about 20 minutes away. Restaurants and shopping just 5 miles into town. So comfortable in the home and on outside covered deck, many guests stay real close to home.

42' flat screen TV in great room to watch movies, cable, ball games. Extensive reading library. Easy paved road to home from Bryson City Road. Toll free land line for incoming and outgoing calls when your phone doesn't have good coverage. Huge paved parking for motorcyclists. Surrounded by beautiful drives through the mountains.

11 Reviews of Property 144429 in Franklin, North Carolina

Luxury 3/2 + Mountain/Riverview+ Lowest Rate $525
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Luxury 3/2 + Mountain/Riverview+ Lowest Rate $525
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144429
(828) 342-6480 (North Carolina, USA)
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Port Washington, WI USA
5

"Gem" of a Home

"Gem" of a Home
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
This home was everything we were expecting (and More!) We came for the Gem mining, but found so much more. Each evening we came home, we actually Felt at Home! The place was CLEAN, roomy, quiet neighborhood, just beautiful! Beside gem mining, we went White Water Rafting(our first time), and took an overnite trip to Wilmington to see the Battleship North Carolina (Awesome!!). Each nite we sat on the deck and watched the sun set over the mountains, then we had the Ping Pong Competitions (the youngsters won). This was our first vacation rental, and if all other owners are as Friendly, Helpful, Gracious, and Considerate as Tom & Carol, we will definitly rent again! If we are ever back in NC we would surely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: These folks, as well as some others, were kind enough to respond to my request write a review for us......a year after their stay. I hadn't asked any one until recently to leave comments on their stay. Our Guest Log at the house is full of this type of comment.
That Guest Log is the greatest joy of owning a vacation home for others. Tom and Carol
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Luxury 3/2 + Mountain/Riverview+ Lowest Rate $525
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144429
(828) 342-6480 (North Carolina, USA)
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
5

Tom Hopkins Fishing Guide

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Tom was our guide to my family's introduction to North Carolina Fly Fishing. Actually it was our first time fly fishing and we couldn't have enjoyed it more. Tom was very knowledgeable in the local area and put us on fish right away. My wife and 9 year old son was part of our group so he suggested we go to where there were more fish but they might not be as big as we would like. This worked out perfect since we caught plenty and it kept my son's attention. We thoroughly enjoyed Tom and can't wait to go back next year. Thanks for the experience Tom!
business
Luxury 3/2 + Mountain/Riverview+ Lowest Rate $525
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144429
(828) 342-6480 (North Carolina, USA)
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
5

Cfjax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Had the pleasure of staying with Tom and Carol with my 3 kids this year in their lovely home. Their pictures completely say it all. Upstairs even has a little loft area with even more books to choose from. Wifi and satellite for those who can't do without. Close to gem mining and we went Carolina Outfitters for white water rafting and horse back riding. Even a day of fly fishing with Tom. The house itself was well stocked with cookware and basic essentials like spices and the views were amazing. Tom and Carol were excellent hosts and we would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Luxury 3/2 + Mountain/Riverview+ Lowest Rate $525
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144429
(828) 342-6480 (North Carolina, USA)
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
5

Great view, very clean & close to everything

Great view, very clean & close to everything
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We enjoyed our stay at the vacation home. After driving around the Franklin area it was great to come home to a well supplied kitchen and comfortable beds. The owner, Tom, was very helpful & always easy to contact if things were needed.
We hope to be able to visit again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury 3/2 + Mountain/Riverview+ Lowest Rate $525
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144429
(828) 342-6480 (North Carolina, USA)
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Jacksonville, Florida
5

Wonderful home and owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We stayed at the vacation home June 2011. The home was 'as advertised' and more! It was very clean, it had all the amenities we needed, and then some. Tom and Carols hospitality was an added bonus. And, we plan to stay there again.
You won't find a cleaner home, and the price was outstanding. I would recommend their home to anyone looking for a get away.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury 3/2 + Mountain/Riverview+ Lowest Rate $525
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144429
(828) 342-6480 (North Carolina, USA)
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Thank you Tom for making us feel at home. This property was exactly what was shown on the web page -no suprises, and were understated.
Spacious interior, comfortable bed, quiet with pleanty of parking space and privacy. The owners were honest made us feel welcome. It was perfect. Our view was breathtaking. The first night we arrived we could hear the river but seeing it the next morning was awesome.View of the mountains was great. We really enjoyed the back porch for relaxing.
If we return to this area I would defintely stay again without question.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a nice review. We do understate it because it seems to make our guests feel even better about choosing our vacation home. Tom & Carol
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Luxury 3/2 + Mountain/Riverview+ Lowest Rate $525
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144429
(828) 342-6480 (North Carolina, USA)
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
5

WOW! Excellent Location, Excellent Owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
I usually stay at several cabins throughout Georgia, North Carolina and Tennessee but I think we may have found our "one"!

Tom is by far one of the professional, courteous and laid back owner there is!

As for the house it is excellent! The rooms are large, beds are about as comfortable as you will ever come across! The showers and baths are large and nice! Living room is wonderful! Nice assortment of books, games and music! Kitchen is amazing! Where we spent most of our time actually! This is a cooks kitchen!

The view from the back deck is amazing! We woke up Saturday to a dusting of snow! You could not have painted a better picture if you tried! We saw a few deer in the field across the river. The river was amazing too. You forget there is even a road in between you two because you can't even see it!

Over all this is well worth the money and is a safe investment!

Tom - Thank you so much! We enjoyed the house and the weekend! You made the weekend exactly what we had hoped!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Ben, the pleasure was ours for sure. We look forward to your return. Thanks for the kind words. Tom
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Luxury 3/2 + Mountain/Riverview+ Lowest Rate $525
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144429
(828) 342-6480 (North Carolina, USA)
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Florida
5

Beautiful and cozy.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
We were so pleasantly surprised with the charming and very tastefully decorated home. We felt really at home.It is very clean and comfortable. The back porch was a treat in the evenings. We could hear the river rushing by.Tom,the owner, was very helpful and made sure we had ererything we needed. Thank you for making our visit to Franklin even more memorable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury 3/2 + Mountain/Riverview+ Lowest Rate $525
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144429
(828) 342-6480 (North Carolina, USA)
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Debary, Florida
5

Beautiful, Family Friendly Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We loved our stay at Tom and Carol's home. They are very accommodating hosts! Thanks Tom for letting me use your computer! We enjoyed Franklin so much. The town and the people in the area are exceptional. We enjoyed the mining, picking vegetables, fresh flowers, going to eat mexican food and just enjoying the surrounding mountain views. It was so nice to come "home" at night and be able to relax and refresh for the next day. The deck is beautiful with the sound of the river early in the morning and at night. The kids loved their room. The beds were very comfortable. I really don't want to stay in an hotel anymore!! We really wanted to stay longer but the house was already booked!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury 3/2 + Mountain/Riverview+ Lowest Rate $525
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144429
(828) 342-6480 (North Carolina, USA)
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Port Orange, FL.
5

Absolutely Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
This home is beautiful and everything you need for a fun filled vacation or just a week away from it all. From the granite countertops to the cozy throws on almost every chair, we were amazed at the beauty of this home, and yet, its simplicity. We had two young boys with us, and there was never a worry about them breaking anything or damaging anything. Tom & Carol have done everything to make sure you enjoy your stay here. Extra blankets, extra pillows, plenty of cookware and dishes, this home has it all. The views are wonderful, and the home is nestled nicely in the woods in a quiet area, yet only 5 minutes from town. There is a basket with a lot of brochures for the local and surrounding area's, a map book, Tom & Carol's recipe book, and the phone book lists several dining options with menu's listed. Plenty of counter space for cooking, the dining room table more than enough for a family of four to eat and play games at night at (it has seating for 6, and the kitchen also has 2 barstools with counter area), full size washer and dryer, and the bedrooms were nice in size to not feel confined. We went to many places, enjoying gem mining at Jackson Hole, the drive to Wayah Bald, the museums in Cherokee, Fun Factory in Franklin (the kids loved the laser tag and bowling), and also a drive into Gatlinburg, TN, where there are many things to do for almost any interest. We had the pleasure of meeting Tom & Carol while staying at their home, and my only complaint is that one time while they were cooking dinner, we could smell it, and they didn't bring any to share :) They are wonderful people, very helpful, and extremely attentive. One night when really cold and after some rain/snow, Tom put a sign out for us to find in the morning to let us know to be careful, that the roads might be icy. You can't go wrong for staying in such a beautiful home, one that is well maintained, extremely clean, and comfortable as this one is. My son cried when we left, he fell in love with it there, both the house and the town, and we are already planning a trip for the summer. He loved the scenery, as we all did, and really enjoyed that every person we came in contact with, from grocery store to gas station, was friendly. Thank you Tom & Carol for the wonderful experience. Our return vacations there will now be planned around when your home is available. Richard and Brandon say thank you for not minding the snow tracks or snow angels they left on the driveway :)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4