Harbor Springs cabin rental - Set back in the woods is this cozy log cabin.
Set back in the woods is this cozy log cabin.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
 

Harbor Springs Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Located seven miles from downtown Harbor Springs, high above 7 Mile Point, this cozy 750 sqft cedar log cabin is perfect for one or two couples, or a couple with up to two kids. It is situated on a small horse farm, with wonderful views of pastures and horses. Approximately 900 feet down the road past the main house you come to a clearing in the woods to find the cabin sitting on the edge of the bluff... A very tranquil spot. You'll love sitting out on the large deck, relaxing and enjoying the wildlife in the woods. Your nearest neighbor is a quarter mile away.

For bikers, this cabin is set in the middle of some of the most spectacular biking in Michigan. Park your car at the cabin, click in to your pedals and off you go for miles and miles of scenic and beautiful biking.

For hiking, the trails begin right outside your door.

The large upstairs loft has a queen-size bed, bureaus and closet; for a second bed the living room couch becomes a queen-size pullout. A propane fired cast iron stove in the living room can be adjusted thermostaticly to take the edge off a cool evening or heat the whole house if required. The kitchen comes fully equipped and has a dining table table that can accommodate 4 to 6 guests. A shower is in the bathroom (no tub).

The cabin is set on the back of our small farm, giving you complete privacy. Dogs allowed? Small dog(s) may be okay, please talk to us first. We have plenty of our own animals to keep you entertained!

Keywords: Cabin

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 144343 in Harbor Springs, Michigan

Secluded Log Cabin in the Woods
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 18 reviews
business
Secluded Log Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144343vbi
+1 231 526 5909
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
South Bend, In
5

Magical Winter Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband, 2 young children and I stayed at this cozy cabin over Christmas and my 40th birthday. I was hoping for a truly secluded experience--all we could see from any vantage point were trees, hills and snow. Not a road or building anywhere around. Perfect. The cabin had a fully equipped kitchen and very comfortable furniture. There is plenty of outdoor space for exploring, and friendly horses to visit down the driveway. We feel so lucky to have found such a special spot!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Log Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144343vbi
+1 231 526 5909
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
5

Perfect cozy getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I along with our 1 year old son stayed here over Thanksgiving. It could not have been more ideal! Bo was so kind and provided a pack and play so we wouldn't have to pack one. The cabin is perfect for a few people and to be out in the woods surrounded by snow was just IDEAL. It was close to downtown Harbor Springs and not too far from Petoskey…which is an amazing place to visit as well! It was one of the best vacations we have ever had and it couldn't have been in a cozier cabin!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Log Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144343vbi
+1 231 526 5909
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Batavia, IL -- USA
5

Charming Cabin in the Woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I stayed at the cabin for almost a week and loved it. The cabin is set back on the owner's horse farm and is secluded to ensure privacy and relaxation. The listing is accurate and the photos show how charming the cabin really is. The cabin was clean and had everything we needed to put our feet up as well as prepare our own food including paper towels, spices, tea, coffee, flour, sugar, etc. We spent a little time in the main town of Harbor Springs, and visited the General Store in nearby Good Hart for their delicious homemade pies (chicken pot pie, raspberry, fruits of the forest --- so yummy), Cross Village to eat at the wonderful Legs Inn overlooking Lake Michigan (delicious authentic Polish food), and Petoskey for groceries and beer. Petoskey Brewery's food was very fresh and the ale and cider were very, very good. We also stopped at Pond Hill Farm for lettuce, tomatoes and jam. We experienced no disappointments anywhere. Service and food were all wonderful. The cabin is close to bike paths (Little Traverse Wheelway), as well as Petoskey State Park, Fisherman's Island State Park (Charlevoix), and Wilderness State Park (Carp Lake). When we weren't out biking or visiting state parks, we hung out at the cabin reading the available books and relaxing on the deck and napping. We had a truly peaceful time. Sam & Ann were wonderful and were so very friendly and their pets were very sweet. We would definitely recommend the cabin to friends and hope to visit again, perhaps in the winter months.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Secluded Log Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144343vbi
+1 231 526 5909
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Orion, MI
5

Fabulous spot for a quite getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My husband and I just spend our honeymoon week at Bo and Ann's cabin and all we can say is FABULOUS!! The cabin is very private (even with no leaves on the trees) and secluded. The views of the surrounding property are positively stunning. We saw deer every day ~ they sleep on the hills near the cottage! The cottage was well equiped with everything we needed. The kitchen is well stocked with all of the essentials plus some convenient "extras". We enjoyed driving through the Tunnel of Trees, hiking the property, and visiting some of Michigan's best state parks that are nearby.

There is no TV (thank goodness!!), but very good cellular reception means you can still "connect" to the outside world if needed. The "fireplace" is charming and took the chill off immediately. Our hosts were gracious and have the most charming stories to tell about the property. We can't wait to go back!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Secluded Log Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144343vbi
+1 231 526 5909
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Chicago
5

A Great Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I stayed in this cabin for a "mini-moon" following our wedding, and we had a wonderful time. The cottage is idyllic, and had everything we needed to cook at home and just relax. The location is a very pleasant, quick drive from downtown Harbor Springs, and is close enough to the U.P. and Mackinac for easy day trips through the "Tunnel of Trees." Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, and the property was clean. Even in the heat, the air flow was good, and the fans provided kept us very comfortably cool.

We had great food in Harbor Springs. you pretty much can't go wrong, but we especially liked Cornichons for lunch, and American Spoon for gelato. And we definitely recommend a stop at the general store in Good Hart for one of their homemade chicken pot pies. They come frozen so you can cook at home at your convenience. Yum!

One thing to note for pet owners is that you can't leave your animals in the cabin if you're not there. It worked out okay for us, but definitely was something we wished we'd known ahead of time. Also, the stairs to the bedroom are more like a ladder, and too steep and shallow for our medium-sized dog to climb. He didn't like being alone on the first floor, so we had to haul him up at night. If you have a smaller (or less wimpy) dog, it's probably not a problem, but just something to consider.

Overall A+, we had a wonderful experience and would definitely recommend to others!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Log Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144343vbi
+1 231 526 5909
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Troy, MI
4

Charming Little Cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We were looking for a peaceful, quiet and private setting and we certainly found it! Just a short distance from downtown Harbor Springs this little gem is tucked away in a very wooded area but conveniently located to the local attractions. We enjoyed relaxing on the deck with morning coffee and an evening with a bottle of wine from the new winery down the road at Pond Hill Farm. We were surprised to find the kitchen stocked with coffee and tea as well as foil, baggies, etc. I was very concerned the first night we arrived--I was certain the monsoon type rain would wash out the dirt road to the cabin. We proceeded cautiously out late the next morning--no problem at all! We slept in the upstairs loft. Despite 90 degree weather and no air conditioning the room had great cross ventilation and we were quite comfortable on what appeared to be a newer bed with lots of pillows.I did find the stairs to the loft to be a bit frightening. I have never been fond of steep, open stairs, but as long as you take them slowly you should have no problem. Our overall experience was very close to perfect with the exception of one thing. We have stayed in many rustic cabins (more rustic than this one) as well as tent camping but never encountered so many flying and crawling insects. Nothing really disgusting, just a lot of house flies, moths, beetles. The cabin could probably use some cauk, new screens, weatherstrip around the doors, etc. Despite this one negative we would consider staying here again next time we visit Harbor Springs.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We really appreciate the kind words about the cabin and hope it gives prospective renters an idea of what to expect. We continually try to upgrade for comfort and efficiency as well as simply to make it more interesting.
The queen size bed is in fact new this year.
We've had in the past the odd issue with insects, often after a big rain, ie "monsoon type," where they may crawl out of the ground looking for dry land. We hope that a renter will let us know at the time so we can help improve the situation. We absolutely want to ensure that your stay is a comfortable and happy one.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Log Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144343vbi
+1 231 526 5909
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
5

Cabin In The Woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We came for some quiet time to watch it snow after the busy holiday season, and we got exactly what we came for! Relaxing by the fire, reading, watching it snow, hiking in the rolling woods... perfect! Comfortable space, warmth was not a problem. Comfortably furnished, well appointed kitchen for cooking and eating in. Ideal location with it's close proximity to Lake Michigan, Harbor Springs, Good Hart and skiing. The hosts were very helpful and attentive to ensure our comfort and the enjoyment of our stay. I'm sure we'll return in the near future. Thanks for letting us use the cabin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Secluded Log Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144343vbi
+1 231 526 5909
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Kalamazoo, MI
5

Wonderful spot - and just as described.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We spent four days here and had a great experience. The owners are really pleasant and the cabin was well equipped. Great location close to Harbor Springs or Petsokey - with trails and beaches nearby.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Log Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144343vbi
+1 231 526 5909
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
St. Louis
5

Cabin in the Woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Ann & Sam, My stay at your cabin was absolutely wonderful! It more than lived up to your description. I spent the week bicycling the many wonderful trails in the area, exploring MacKinac Island, and kayaking. The cabin was a terrific place to return every evening. Spent most evenings having cocktails on the deck, cooking dinner, and reading in front of the fireplace before falling to sleep. By the way, the pots and pans you provide are first class! I've been a satisfied VRBO renter for 10 years, but rarely have I experienced such wonderful cookware! A cordon blu chef would have been delighted! A friend joined me mid-week and kept raving about the cabin and the location. I hope to return next year-----so sorry I missed you when I left. Again, many thanks for providing an ideal private and peaceful hide-a -way and for your obvious concern to provide any help needed to make my stay enjoyable! Bill
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Log Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144343vbi
+1 231 526 5909
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
5

Wonderful, peaceful and scenic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We just spent three wonderful days at this secluded cabin in the woods. Bo and Ann were very personable, generous and accommodating. The cabin was beautifully rustic and had real character. The story of how it came to be built and the history of the surrounding land (involving an Indian princess) was fascinating. It was very comfortable and peaceful. Sitting on the deck and just enjoying the quiet sounds of the forest was very relaxing. We explored the area around Harbor Springs for three days and feel we only "scratched the surface" of all the attractions in the area. We especially enjoyed visiting the Three Pines Studio and the Legs Inn (great Polish food!) in Cross Village. We enjoyed a "famous" chicken pot pie and a strawberry-rubarb pie from the General Store in Good Hart. We had a wonderful hamburger at the Harbor Bar in Harbor Springs, and then bought some ground chuck and smoked whitefish spread from the Toski Sands store in Petoskey (the same store the Harbor Bar buys its ground chuck from). Overall, we had a very good time -- just what a vacation should be!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1