Ellijay cabin rental - Sunrise, looking east in late summer
Sunrise, looking east in late summer
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Ellijay Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

Call for last minute weekend special on weeekend of Mar 7 and weekday specials on weeknights in the month of Mar!

If you like what you see in these photo's you'll really like what you see when you get to our home! We have recently made substantial improvements & upgrades! Furniture,Electronics, Fixtures, Ceiling Fans, Mirrors have all been upgraded this Spring. New pics coming!

Located at the edge of the Chattahoochee National Forest halfway between Ellijay and Amicalola Falls, Paramount Place is an absolutely gorgeous, custom, executive home on three acres with a 200-degree mountain view that overlooks the Cartecay River Valley.

Paramount Place is very secluded and private, yet only 12 miles from the Ellijay town square. The Ellijay town square has antique shops, art galleries, specialty shops, and a variety of interesting eateries. Ellijay is also the apple capital of the North Georgia Mountains and has an Apple Festival every fall. Paramount Place is conveniently close to prime mountain bike trails, hiking trails, whitewater rafting and canoeing on the Cartecay and Toccoa rivers, Amicalola Falls, and the Appalachian Trail.

Paramount Place is a great mountain getaway with 2800 square feet. It has three bedrooms, three-and-one-half baths, with a wraparound deck to take full advantage of the magnificent mountain view. Fifty-one windows and four large sliding doors provide panoramic views from every room.

Ideal for two to three families, extended families, small reunion gatherings, or just a couple that likes a lot of space. Perfect for a small wedding, wedding reception, honeymoon, or all three!

IThe great room has 25-foot ceilings in white pine with three stories of windows, a stone fireplace, and a satellite-fed full home theater set up. Watch the football game, the fire, and the mountains from the leather couches. Enjoy the Dolby 5.1 surround sound system powered by a 100-watt per channel Yamaha Digital receiver and Samsung DVD player on the 36-inch JVC TV. All rooms have 27 inch satellite TV with Combo DVD/VCR. You will find a dining room and a large, well-designed, fully-equipped kitchen with upgraded appliances and maple cabinets. Master has a king-size bed with a double whirlpool tub with double shower with two valves. All plumbing fixtures are solid brass.

Second floor has two lofts with 17-foot ceilings with a connecting gangway. The North loft is home to an eight-foot solid maple Connelly pool table or cross over to the East loft and curl up on one of the two Lifestyle, queen-size futons with upgraded nine-layer mattresses and read a book. Each loft leads to its own bedroom with connecting full bath. The gangway between the lofts has a brand new Desk and Chair, Dell Pentium 4 computer, 17 inch monitor and printer. We have also just installed high speed internet access (DSL) and a wireless network. Bring your laptop and on the deck and enjoy the view while you work or play on the net.

Enjoy the Vita Spa, six-person, hot tub from the private deck, strategically placed to provide privacy and a panoramic view. For total comfort you will find a Carrier, four-zone, central heat and air system. Children will find a Creative Playthings play set with fort, rope ladder, slide, and a variety of swings for ALL ages the yard with a view second to none. Guests can enjoy a game of basketball on our 26-foot by 32-foot basketball court. A Foosball table is also provided for your enjoyment.

Try a fire under the stars at our outdoor fire pit on the lower terraced level with room for tents. Seasoned hardwood firewood is provided for both the fire pit and the fireplace in the Great Room. Parking for eight cars on the concrete driveway and a Bermuda-sodded front yard finish off the package. The Paramount Place is fully furnished with all linens, dishes, and appliances required for a hassle-free weekend in the mountains. Perfect getaway for someone who wants to enjoy the mountains without giving up the luxury of home.

A note from the owners...

We highly recommend you read the guestbook! (See link below with over 80 comments...) Our former guests are truly the best form of advertising we have. Many thanks to those who have left the very nice comments about our home, the view, and the area!!

We designed and built this home as our 'dream home' that we would spend the rest our lives in. Little did we realize how children can change your outlook on what is the 'perfect' place to live. The home took us three-and-a-half years to construct and we did most of the work, camping on the property while we built. It is truly a unique property like no other in the North Georgia Mountains and we have been unable to capture more than one quarter of our view in one photo image. The view is literally as far as you can turn your head from one direction to the other, year round.

In October of 2003, we decided to make it available for vacation rental use for the first time. It is a very large home with all the upgrades and attention to detail that we could afford. Many of our guests have been overwhelmed with the value they received for their vacation dollar. While we have done our best to make sure everything is just right for our new guests, we will continue to make improvements as time goes on. We hope you come to love it as much as we do...

Don't let the full moon's go to waste! They are truly awesome in this house!

Lastly, be wary of a listing that does not show pictures of the view, it likely means that they don't have one worth showing. This listing shows three of the five photos required to take in the full panoramic view from Paramount Place. We would show more, but they only give us 16 photos and as it is a large home with lots of amenities, we need the other 9 to properly show the home.

Warm Regards,

Frank and Tish

Keywords: 'Executive' Mountain Home

More Details
Hide Details

Tisha and Frank grew up in Northern Illinois and were married in 1993. Tisha is a high school teacher and Frank is a self employed Executive Recruiter. We have two children, Riley age 13 and Parker Age 11. We have two golden retrievers, Zeus and Percy. Paramount Place was our home when we first moved to Georgia and we live about an hour away, in the northern suburbs of Atlanta. We moved to Georgia after we completed the construction of Paramount Place in 1997. (we designed and built the home ourselves...) It was our primary residence for about 2 years. We moved closer to Atlanta to get our children into a neighborhood where there were more kids to play with.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 1994

Two Words..... The VIEW!

First, the view is incredible. Panoramic Mountain view as far as you can turn your head from one side to another, with 2-3 rooftops visable at most. Even when it rains it is beautiful! The sunrises are so pretty. The mountains to the northwest literally light up BEFORE the sun breaks the eastern horizon. Full moons on a clear night are fantastic, lighting up the hills and valleys and making all the ridgelines show up at night. Nights with no moon reveal so many stars it reminds you how much residual light there is in most places we live. The fall colors are just stunning and winter leaves the tops of the mountains white with snow and ice and it will snow 3-4 times a year at the house. From a location standpoint, it is a great place to 'base camp' for your exploration of the North Georgia region. Amicalola Falls is 10 minutes, the Appalacian Trail is 10 minutes, two major moutain lakes (Lake Blue Ridge and Carters Lake) are within a half hour. The mountian communities of Ellijay, Blue Ridge, Jasper, Dahlonega are all within a half hour. You can canoe, kayak and raft on the Cartecay River within 10 minutes. You are at the edge of the Chattahoochee National Forest and it can serve as your playground with trails, hatcheries, mountains to climb and streams to swin and fish in. Atlanta and all its attractions are within an hour and 15 minutes. The Ocoee River Oylmpic Whitewater facility is an hour. The Blue Ridge Scenic Railway can be picked up in Ellijay or Blue Ridge and is an open air train that takes you up a river valley all the way to Tennessee.

Lots to do. Lots of Places to see. Funny thing is when we stay there, we stay there. We just sit on the deck or in the home with friends and family and enjoy the mountains right from the house. We suspect many of our guests do the same...

100 Reviews of Property 31067 in Ellijay, Georgia

Awesome View/Pool Table/Home Theater/Hot Tub Call for last min. special Mar 7-9!
average rating of 4.75 based on 100 reviews
business
Awesome View/Pool Table/Home Theater/Hot Tub Call for last min. special Mar 7-9!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31067vb
+1 (404) 925-8900
Ellijay North Georgia Mountains
Indianapolis, IN
5

views, location, amenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
Just returned from 3 week stay at Paramount Place enjoying springtime full view. Location is ideal proximity to state parks, shopping in Ellijay or half hour to Blue Ridge. Hiking on rough terrain roads right off the property. Teenagers loved pool table/foosball, hot tub, basketball court, and the firepit. Home is clean and well-maintained. Kitchen is well-stocked so you can prepare any meal. Appliances/electronics/mattresses all newer condition. Plenty of linens/towels. Timely response by owner to home issues that came up. Don't miss both GA state parks in the area, $3.00 a carload, what a deal! Spacious rental for two small families to share. Enjoyed our visit.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Eric and Kam,

Thank you for your kind words about our home...

Frank and Tisha
business
Awesome View/Pool Table/Home Theater/Hot Tub Call for last min. special Mar 7-9!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31067vb
+1 (404) 925-8900
Ellijay North Georgia Mountains
5

Great Location And Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Just returned from our stay at Paramount Place during the week of September 8, 2013. The rental home far exceeded our expectations and we had a really relaxing and wonderful time. The place is very well maintained, stocked with cooking utensils for any meal imaginable and the entire house very clean. The directions to the rental home were "spot on" and we had absolutely no problems locating it. The town of Ellijay is a friendly place and there is a "local business" operating to fulfill any of your immediate needs. If you arrive in Ellijay a day earlier then your planned stay at Paramount Place, as we did, The Best Western, Mountain View Inn in East Ellijay is an outstanding place to stay. This hotel is "hands down", the best "Best Western" we have ever stayed in. Paramount Place, its view and amenities and our overall experience during our stay there is FIVE STARS.

Bill & Lydia,
Miami Beach, Florida
Owner's Response: Thank You for such a nice review. Glad you enjoyed our home, look forward to seeing you again. Bet you will be amazed at the view in the winter, plus we are having the tree contractor up there to clear our view that the forest has taken back over the last 5 years later this week!
business
Awesome View/Pool Table/Home Theater/Hot Tub Call for last min. special Mar 7-9!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31067vb
+1 (404) 925-8900
Ellijay North Georgia Mountains
5

Great Family Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The six of us really enjoyed our stay at Paramount Place this summer. It is in a great location for access to many attractions. While there we enjoyed riding the Blue Ridge Scenic Railroad, tubing on the Cartecay River, boating on Carter's Lake, hiking at the area parks, viewing Amicalola Falls and golfing at Whitepath golf course. The home is in good shape for a vacation rental, well-stocked and clean. Everything was as represented. It was easy to communicate with the owner. We would stay here again or recommend to others.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing our home and thanks for the nice review. Hope to see you again soon and don't forget to ask for a returning guest discount!
business
Awesome View/Pool Table/Home Theater/Hot Tub Call for last min. special Mar 7-9!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31067vb
+1 (404) 925-8900
Ellijay North Georgia Mountains
2

Beware.!!!! "Worst Maintained Property I've Ever Rented"

Beware.!!!! "Worst Maintained Property I've Ever Rented"
  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Property has one of the most beautiful views I have ever seen. (Beware very steep gravel road to property if you don’t have all wheel drive auto). He won’t let you know this till the day before you arrive.
Very nicely decorated, ample room for large families.
Very poorly maintained:
1) Front door wouldn’t stay closed (had to use dead bolt to keep closed)
2) Kitchen door didn’t fit proper (had cold air blowing in all the way around it, & door lock not operational had to use dead bolt).
3) Hot tub on deck was broken for 2 days till I complained & help him wire new breaker box in, on 3rd day had to purchase chemicals for tub (he didn’t furnish them) & had to change dirty Nasty filter.
4) Jacuzzi in main bath never worked, was told he’d fix it, but never was fixed
5) Home was very cold & drafty from kitchen door not fitting correctly, had to use fire place & space heater (along with homes heat) to keep it above 68 degrees
6) Glass on fireplace door broken, couldn’t close because of wrong screen (hangs out of front)
Not a good stress free Vacation experience.
With the proper maintenance could be a dream home.
Took over 30 days to get deposit returned, had to threaten legal action to get him to return it.
Beware.!!!!
Owner's Response: Not sure what to say to a review like this. Well over 200 guests have stayed at this home & I have never had a review like this. Guess I will just tell my side of the story.
I drove the 40 miles from my home to this home to check on the home prior to the guests arrival. Arrived at 10 AM. Housekeeping was there the day before &, I felt they had done a great job preparing the home. I went there to replace/upgrade 2 end tables in the great room, replace light bulbs I knew were out, & repair some blinds that needed work.

While checking on the home, I noticed the hot tub did'nt appear to have power. Determined that I needed a ladder to replace lightbulbs in 20 foot high cielings in the loft, & a carbon monoxide detector battery had died, causing it to beep. Immediately called housekeeping to ask if hot tub was working when they cleaned. They indicated it was working when they shut it off to drain it & refill & add chemicals the day before. Decided to attempt repair, assuming a fuse in control panel had blown. Replaced fuses, still no power. Checked electrical panel to see if it was shut off panel, no luck. Decided it had to be either circuit board failed or the Ground Fault Interupter Switch on the wall 8 feet away. Knew I wasn't going to get a circuit board on friday afternoon (they take 2-3 days to get, have to be ordered), decided to run to town to find new GFI breaker for the hot tub, buy ladder & battery for the detector. Ran into problems on the 50 amp GFI. It was 10 years old & manufacturer had changed the style, & visits to elec supply store where I bought it, Lowes, & Ace Hardware failed to produce breaker. Bought ladder, battery & went back to house. Told guest who had arrived that I needed to go back to Atlanta to find breaker, would be back in the morning. As search of more expansive electrical supply houses in Atlanta turned up no breaker on a saturday. Decided to replace the whole box breaker went in, was at home depot making purchase when guest called. Drove up to repair hot tub, which he helped me with and fixed it and it worked. (a releif since if it was the panel, the guest was not getting a working hot tub for days. Does this sound like a irresponsible homeowner not attending to the needs of a guest? Yes the kitchen door was a temporary door. Guests broke a window in the kitchen door, needed to replace it, door was old, put a temp door in, had already purchased new door and door jamb and painted both installed.
Helpful votes: 13/14
business
Awesome View/Pool Table/Home Theater/Hot Tub Call for last min. special Mar 7-9!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31067vb
+1 (404) 925-8900
Ellijay North Georgia Mountains
Florida
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Recently enjoyed several nights at Paramount Place. Wonderful house, AMAZING views, and beautiful area. We went on a couple's getaway, and the home was perfect (private, quiet, comfortable), but can easily see what a great spot for a big family (plenty of room, amenities for all ages). It's easy not to want to leave the house - scenery, hot tub, pool table, comfy couches). However, we found a lot of great day trips: Amicalola Falls, Fort Mountain State Park, Kangaroo Conservation Center (only open thurs - sat.), and the Ellijay Wildlife Rehabilitation Center (call 24 hrs in advance).

The house is set up with everything we needed: good kitchen, grill, computer with internet access, washing machine/dryer. Take the owner's advice about stopping on the way for the first night's provisions, and getting a phone card.

And, make sure you say hi to the neighbor's delightful dogs for us!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Awesome View/Pool Table/Home Theater/Hot Tub Call for last min. special Mar 7-9!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31067vb
+1 (404) 925-8900
Ellijay North Georgia Mountains
Appling GA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Awesome views! Very relaxing and great accomodations. Will be back with the rest of the family!
Owner's Response: Thanks!.. Don't forget to check out my other two homes if you are bringing a larger crew!
business
Awesome View/Pool Table/Home Theater/Hot Tub Call for last min. special Mar 7-9!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31067vb
+1 (404) 925-8900
Ellijay North Georgia Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
Hi Frank, I was wondering if the power ever returned to Paramount Place and hoping we had not left it an "impossible" job for your cleaning crew... we were a bit frazzled after 2 storms in one stay!!! We wanted to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for making our stay so comfortable and pleasurable. I've NEVER found so many creature comforts and supplies in any other place that we've stayed in! Our children, grandchild, and dog truly enjoyed the entertainment of the neighbors' dogs, fire pit, basketball goal, swings, foosball, and pool table provided. Once we returned to the flat "swamp" lands of Louisiana, we continued to look out the window, desperately hoping that the awesome view from YOUR windows had followed us home. Like everyone has stated in their reviews: the pictures do not give it enough justice! My husband's parents will never forget their 50th anniversary, thanks to your family sharing such a gem of a place. You are truly Blessed.... Thanks again! Jennifer Hano4th grade ELA teacherCentral Elementary
business
Awesome View/Pool Table/Home Theater/Hot Tub Call for last min. special Mar 7-9!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31067vb
+1 (404) 925-8900
Ellijay North Georgia Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
Hey Frank,We must tell you how much we enjoyed the time in your beautiful mountain home. There were several great places to find wonderful food in the area, and we took advantage of the very well equipped kitchen to enjoy many meals right there in the house or on the deck. The views are fabulous, the air so clean, and the house leaves nothing more to ask for. There were great hikes, and lots of time together with dear friends who all complimented the comforts of the house (including our own welcoming committee with wagging tails and happy smiles every time we came or went – we loved the neighbor’s dogs!). We were able to be together to discuss politics and football and also able to move away from each other for private time napping or just reading. One of our members is an avid fly fisherman. He was very happy with the streams he found. The big TV was a challenge, but thanks to you and your directions, we were able to enjoy college football and the Sunday morning news shows! We also watched a series of old Paul Newman movies that came on one of the channel stations. It was a great week-end and we want to come back again. Do you enjoy the beach? If you are interested, we own a condo at Amelia Island and would be happy to talk with you about that.Please know that we would like to call on you again. Thanks for making your beautiful mountain home available to old folks like us who really enjoyed our time there.Sincerely,Robin
business
Awesome View/Pool Table/Home Theater/Hot Tub Call for last min. special Mar 7-9!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31067vb
+1 (404) 925-8900
Ellijay North Georgia Mountains
Tallahassee, Florida
4

Beautiful home & view, disappointing amenities

Beautiful home & view, disappointing amenities
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
Home design and furnishings are striking, but there were problems with systems. AC/Heat - followed writtten instructions and set temp for 66, woke up and it was 77 in the house - then took 30 minutes to get it turned off. Home theater system instructions too vague - of the multiple remotes it needs to refer to them by name or color. Name of local contacts were not correct in instructions (old housekeeper, etc) - we got locked out and it took over 3 hours to get new housekeeper to unlock the house. Area for pool table doesn't allow normal position of cue stick due to inadequate space on one end of table. No charcoal was provided as indicated in instructions. The hot tub instructions state what product to use by the color of the cap on the containers, this was obviously out of date because the colors didn't match. Instructions should be updated, providing the product name. The owner has written some good instructions, but they need to be updated with current information. Beautiful, secluded spot. The hot water heater in a closet off the master bathroom is very noisy, may need replacing.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately this guest experienced a couple of issues that to some extent were beyond our control. It would be fair to ask that you visit our on line guest book for additional perspective on our home. (There is a link on this site...) We take great pride in our amenities & this is literally the first guest we have had complain about them. We do provide (at over $300 expense in hardware & programming costs) a Logitech Harmony all in one remote, in addition to device remotes. We believe that guests do want a digital home theater system with 5 speakers, subwoofer, satellite, DVD player and large screen TV. Unfortunately, you can't have these things without some level of complexity & it appears this may have been a little much for our guests.

Within 10 days of their visit, we did decide we needed to invest over $3000 in a new heating & air conditioning system, as another guest had issues & the computer board on the system needed to be replaced. Rather than repair at a cost of $800, we decided at 11 years old, it made sense to invest in a new system & gain the reliability & energy savings a new unit would provide. We do believe our guests want a four zone heating & air system that allows for control of individual areas in the house independently. This does require a thermostat with some complexity. We are pretty sure that an improper zone setting led to them waking up to warm & taking a half hour to turn the system down. (It was winter, they could've opened one or two of the 51 windows...)

In an effort to insure a high level of service for our guests we did change housekeepers within the last 2-3 months & we did forget to change the contact info on our instructions. We've made the proper adjustment.

As for the pool table, a photo of the room is provided. In this room, it is the loft wall, & you're able to tilt your full length stick up 12 inches & make your shot. A short stick is also provided....We did change chemical suppliers for the hot tub & the colors of the caps are now different. The instructions did clearly state orange cap with shock & blue cap with chlorine.... The color of the cap does not change the contents of the botttle...Charcoal is not provided, but we do try and have some around save our guests from having to go back to town.
Could it be these guests locked themselves out & were mad because they missed a flight to Florida? Remember, remote rural location, Sunday morning does not lend itself to instant response.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Awesome View/Pool Table/Home Theater/Hot Tub Call for last min. special Mar 7-9!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31067vb
+1 (404) 925-8900
Ellijay North Georgia Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2007
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
Frank,We absolutely loved Paramount Place! Our families had such a great time and the space and furnishings were great. I have already talked with numerous coworkers about the experience and gave high recomendations. We were planning on signing the guestbook, but it was completly full!Jeff Sprain