San Miguel de Allende house rental - Casa de las Ventanas....like a small hotel...5 rooms with their own bathrooms! Great roof deck! Great views....comfortable living room....great open kitchen... a house with style and warmth!!
Casa de las Ventanas....like a small hotel...5 rooms with their own bathrooms! Great roof deck! Great views....comfortable living room....great open kitchen... a house with style and warmth!!
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

San Miguel de Allende House Rental Photos and Description
- 5 BR, 5 BA, Sleeps 8 or ten if couples

For more information and photos check out our website, located under Further Details.

Beautiful San Miguel de Allende...Conde Nast did a recent survey of over one million travel readers on the BEST city to vacation and visit,,,,SMA came up number one in the world...My casa is in up-and-coming Mexiquito, a comfortable 20-minute walk from the Jardin. Great roof deck with a breathtaking view of San Miguel. Spacious, airy, high-ceiling rooms with wonderful light. Cool architectural details. Comfortably furnished. Near bus stops and taxi stations. Quiet, lush neighborhood. Hip, uncluttered decor with art and furniture from local artists. Perfect accommodations for cooking, fitness, shopping, and art groups. Ideal housing for photography or film crews. Extremely private. Modern conveniences and fully-working appliances. On-site laundry. High-speed wireless internet service. Telephone service. Electricity voltage comparable to U.S. voltage. Great place to hang out!

Overall design and style: Casa de las Ventanas is a 3-story, 4500-square foot house in the northwest section of San Miguel de Allende in an area called Colonial Mexiquito. The house was originally built in 2000 as the vision of an American architect and follows the style of a modern bed-and-breakfast. Comfortable and unpretentious, the overall effect of the house is of an airy, hip, international hotel. If you enjoy the Thames and Hudson series of 'Hip Hotel' books, you will appreciate the style and individuality of the Casa. For more photos, please click on the link below.

Tour of the Casa: You enter the property through a beautiful wrought-iron gate into a brick courtyard. The front door leads up a wide, inviting staircase to the guest level of the house. The guest floor features four large, well-appointed bedrooms each with their own attached bath and own private balcony with gorgeous views of the city of San Miguel. Guest bedrooms 2 and 3 have very unique bathroom setups, including open-style showers and poured-concrete, free-standing sinks. The guest floor hallway is filled with light from the floor-to-ceiling windows facing the front courtyard and the cobblestone street.

Tour of the Casa continued: Up an open staircase to the main floor, you will find a large, lofty, light-filled living room with an open kitchen on one end and a large brick-walled fireplace on the other. The entire length of the room has enormous picture windows giving you a sweeping view of the rolling hills, beautiful architecture, lush vegetation, and sometimes the midnight fireworks of the city. Fortunately you can enjoy the view without the noise, as the Casa is far enough away from the Centro to be quiet and private.

You will also find a large bedroom and adjoining large bathroom on the main floor, also with its own private balcony. Up one more open flight of stairs and you will reach the roof deck, the perfect place for margaritas at sunset. The roof terrace is a large, sun-drenched space that spans the space of the house and has the most expansive view of San Miguel to be found in the Casa. While on the roof deck at the Casa de Las Ventanas, you will feel close to the sky, the clouds, and the stars.

More Details
Hide Details

I am a stylist and producer for commercial photo shoots and videos.....www.katejoyceproductions.com

and I love san miguel...the house is less expensive for two people to rent....more as you add more people....i spend as much time as I can there...zing roof deck....I have a great cook...Teresa...so if you bring a group you can hire her to cook you and amzing mexican meal...Life is short....ENJOY!!

Kate Joyce purchased this house in 2005

The minute I saw this casa i wanted it....i did not need a house this big but the light in the house and the loft like living room did it....many houses in san miguel are dark...not mine!!

then there was the amazing roof deck and view of the Parroquia....love at first site....sight....lol

A bit away from downtown so quieter....san miguel is a noisy place....great views....good area...close to the Aurora Fabrico!!

9 Reviews of Property 143904 in San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico / Colonial Circuit

Loft-like, architectural, unique, comfortable home with amazing view
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Loft-like, architectural, unique, comfortable home with amazing view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143904
+1 619 846-4162
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
5

The Best "Home Away From Home" in SMA!

The Best "Home Away From Home" in SMA!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I had the opportunity to stay @ La Casa de Las Ventanas last fall. It is a very cool, loft-like home, with an amazing view to the Centro and of the La Parroquia (Main church on the Jardin) from the rooftop deck, (which is a great spot for morning coffee and yoga, or cocktails at sunset). The house is very comfortable and decorated in a cool and hip style. Each bedroom has its own bathroom. It's a great house for a group of friends and or family reunion.
The house is an easy walk down to the Jardin and the center of San Miguel.
There are nice restaurants, art galleries, a natural food store & cafe, and interesting shops within a 10-15 minute walk from the house. I can't wait to return to San Miguel and La Casa de Las Ventanas! A lovely City and a comfortable and cozy Casa!
Owner's Response: Thanks...the view is great and one of the reasons I bought the house. My yoga group from San Diego will be coming to visit the house in March this year and we plan to do yoga on the roof!
business
Loft-like, architectural, unique, comfortable home with amazing view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143904
+1 619 846-4162
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
5

What they do not tell you about San Miguel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Casa de la Ventanas is the Perfect distance from the center of San Miguel. Just far enough away from the traffic and noise and close enough to enjoy a delightful walk through side streets, observing the local inhabitants going about their daily lives , passing fresh fruit juice stands, bakeries, and peering through doorways to look at hidden courtyards . Exploring SMA is like opening an advent calendar each day. There seems to be some sort of law that anyone can open a business from their home , which means, that on some days a door is open and a small gallery or a sweet shop or a tailor appears. The next day, a door further down the block opens and another gem appears !
But what I did not know was just how fit and healthy I would be after a stay here ( two weeks recommended ) One forgets the time when wandering and exploring and the healthy food that abounds from the surrounding farms combined with all the walking in clean air makes for one heck of a fitness experience.
Kate is a fabulous hostess and the house has a comfortable, laid back, safe, welcoming vibe. There is plenty of space for privacy or joining friends on the roof top terrace overlooking the whole of San Miguel. If you have the opportunity ask for Teresa to come and cook for you......delicious!
Looking forward to my next visit
business
Loft-like, architectural, unique, comfortable home with amazing view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143904
+1 619 846-4162
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
5

San Miguel de Allende Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our neighbor recommended this delightful vacation base for our October trip to San Miguel de Allende. The owner, Kate Joyce, was very helpful in every way and was even at the site when we arrived. There were just two of us but she definitely has room for 3 to 6 more people. It's like staying at a friend's home. No need for a car because so much is within walking distance or taxi's and buses are easy and abundant. The food choices throughout the city and local neighbor are clearly discussed in the "Home Journal" Kate has for folks to write comments/suggestions. Just go and enjoy a relaxing week in SMA!
Owner's Response: thanks Diane...Just in case a couple or two friends are considering the house they still can rent just the main floor which includes ...kitchen....living area....large bedroom with two double beds and bathroom,,,,,renting just this floor is less expensive with only two people.....
Thanks for mentioning the "guest Book" at the house which gives guests tips from past visitors.....!!!
business
Loft-like, architectural, unique, comfortable home with amazing view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143904
+1 619 846-4162
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
5

Very comfortable and large spot for a large group

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The house was so comfortable that I loved being home we had a group of 6 women and we loved just hanging out and cooking together on the main part of the house! The housekeeper was an amazing cook and we hired her for two of our nights to cook for us and ended up having fabulous dinner parties both nights! The view from the rooftop patio is spectacular and a wonderful spot for morning coffee or happy hour at sunset! The house is well maintained, has everything you could want in the kitchen, great music, wonderful books and every bedroom is self contained with their own bathroom! I loved the neighborhood and found some great coffee shops for breakfast!
The walk to the main part of town is about 25 minutes and I enjoyed the exercise each day and did lots of exploring!
I highly recommend staying in this house and would come again!
business
Loft-like, architectural, unique, comfortable home with amazing view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143904
+1 619 846-4162
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
California
5

Great stay at Casa de las Ventanas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We spent a excellent week in this beautiful home with friends and had a wonderful time. The house is located in a very safe neighborhood with very friendly Mexican and Gringo neighbors.
Beautiful and spacious example of a Mexican villa; Teresa kept it clean and tidy not to mention was a great cook. The house was nicely decorated throughout with everything being unique and different with lots of light and color. There is a lot of space and privacy for larger group with 5 bedrooms. The rooftop garden is a great spot to relax with the two lounge beds or to have morning coffee or an afternoon margarita to take in the view of the town.
An easy15 minutes walk to El Jardin, shopping, restaurants along with a special organic market just a 10 minute walk away where you can shop for food & get a great organic meal. On occasion we took cabs into town in the evenings or when we didn’t feeling like walking and they are cheap and easy to find. Thank you for sharing your beautiful Casita with us it was very comfortable and private and Kate was a very accommodating host !
Owner's Response: Lea....I look forward to your coming back and staying at casa de las ventanas......thanks for the review.....the fact that you are a designer makes me appreciate your comments as I know you love nice environments.....thanks again ....Kate
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Loft-like, architectural, unique, comfortable home with amazing view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143904
+1 619 846-4162
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
5

Great house with great views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Hi Kate,

Just a quick note to let you know how much I enjoyed staying in your Casa last February. I really enjoyed the comfort and quietness of my bedroom with its private bathroom and absolutely loved the upstairs living room with its huge windows overlooking San Miguel. The sunsets and view of the Parroquia from your rooftop terrace were to die for. I loved the artistic decor too, the warm colors, fabrics, art, and furniture. I wished I had stayed much longer than a week and made use of your wonderful kitchen too but there were so many restaurants to sample in San Miguel I didn't get to use a single one of your hanging pots. Talking about cooking, I certainly plan to make good use of the wonderful health food market/restaurant (forgot the name) around the corner from your place next time. It was great meeting Teresa too who is obviously taking great care of the place while you are away. I can't wait to come back.
Owner's Response: Luc..thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Casa de las Ventanas....I have had fun making the house comfortable for guests .....for all my friends and for people who rent the house.......reunions of family,friends or small seminars are perfect venues for the house....look forward to you coming again and cooking up a storm....Kate
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Loft-like, architectural, unique, comfortable home with amazing view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143904
+1 619 846-4162
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
5

Dia de los Muertos was Magical!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
I came to San Miguel de Allende with a group of friends to celebrate the Day of the Dead and came away a week later with an experience of a lifetime. Rarely does one get the opportunity to get to know a place in such a short period of time, but because Casa de Ventanas is located just a short stroll to the center, we couldn't help but be immersed in the magic of the moment. From yoga on the roof top terrace, morning walks to the local health food restaurant, to cathedral bells ringing in sunset as we sipped wine before dinner, I was enthralled with the setting and personality of the place - a cacophony of sounds, scents and scenery I will long remember. The home is light, airy, and very comfortable. It entertains beautifully and we had a magnificent dinner party for 12 before joining the celebration in the streets. I would recommend this property and lovely, old city full of culture and creativity for anyone looking for a unique get-away in an unforgettable setting. Problem is, you may never want to leave............
Owner's Response: Peggy thank you for your review. Casa de las ventanas is good for a group of friends or a family gathering......and Teresa is a fantastic cook and can serve a wonderful mexican meal everyone will love!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Loft-like, architectural, unique, comfortable home with amazing view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143904
+1 619 846-4162
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
5

Wonderful, spacious house with amazing views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I come regularly to San Miguel de Allende with a group of women writers and we have stayed at Casa de las Ventanas four times over the years. The house is light and airy, spacious and well equipt. We enjoy the walk to downtown and the cozy neighborhood where it is located. You feel like you are part of a community. I highly recommend this house, especially if you have a larger group since there are five bedrooms and a very large living space with amazing views. The rooftop terrace has wonderful views.
Owner's Response: thanks for your great review! I am glad you mentioned the area as the neighborhood
is cozy and welcoming.I am not in a "gated: community. Also there is a bus that stops right outside if you prefer to catch the bus or have children with you......only 5 pesos!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Loft-like, architectural, unique, comfortable home with amazing view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143904
+1 619 846-4162
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
United States
5

Fabulous TIme

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My family and I stayed at Casa De Las Ventanas in November 2011. We were greated by Teresa who takes car of the house if Kate Joyce is not in residence, Teresa showed us everything and came back twice to cook us a fantastic breakfast and to clean up the house. The house is very comfie for a group, We all had privacy at night and enjoyed the large light filled living room in the morning....we were out and about during the days but loved being on the roof deck to wtch the sun go down.
comfortable,colorful home in a great area...close to Aurora Fabrico a place we went often!!
we will come back in a year...can not wait!!
Jeanne
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jeanne for your lovely review.I wish I had met you and your family.
Teresa told me you were a lot of fun to have at the house.Thanks again and look
forward to your return. Kate
Helpful votes: 2/2