Sanibel Island condo rental - Mabel, this ain't New Jersey
Mabel, this ain't New Jersey
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Sanibel Island Condo Rental Photos and Description
First floor Condo, 2 Bedrooms + queen sofa, (sleeps 4-6), Adjacent to the canal

Our condominium is a corner unit located on the ground floor of an eight unit building with easy and convenient access. The entire unit was restored in January 2006 after the devastation of hurricane Charley. We replaced the walls, baths, kitchen, flooring, cabinets, appliances, furniture, wall coverings..... Everything! The entire structure was brought up to current building codes. A washer and dryer are located in the unit for your convenience.

The interior d├ęcor was designed by a professional designer and reflects the 'Tommy Bahama' look....cool and comfortable. In addition to air conditioning, there are ceiling fans in both bedrooms. the living area, kitchen and lanai. You can enjoy the cool and refreshing Florida air on those nights between December and April when the air conditioning is not in use. TVs are located in both bedrooms as well as the living area. You can watch three different satellite channels at the same time. The large TV in the living area has a DVD/VCR player for your enjoyment.

We have a dedicated password controlled WiFi for your convenience and security. The password is provided in the rental contract.

The fishing and boat dock (you can dock your boat FREE!) is located just 50 feet from the side door of the screened in lanai. You can use the outdoor grill and tables to dine 'al fresco' watching the sunset and the boats passing by in the canal or fish to your hearts content. Fish cleaning stands are conveniently located on the dock. Boat trailer parking is available at The Bait Box on Perriwinkle Way. Telephone them for reservations at (239) 472 1618.

The screened in lanai with a comfortable chaise lounge is ideal for that afternoon siesta or a convenient place to entertain friends and guests at lunch around the glass topped table and chairs.

It is 150 steps to the heated pool and an additional 50 steps to the world renowned shelling beach of Sanibel Island. You can watch the dolphins play in the surf, bend over searching for sea shells...watch out for the 'Sanibel Stoop'...play in the surf, build castles in the sand, or lay back and enjoy the sunshine and warmth.

There are no high rise buildings to take away the ambiance of The Island. We take our responsibility to preserve the natural environment seriously as nearly two thirds of the Island is designated as a preserve. Don't miss the Ding Darling Natural Wildlife Refuge as it is remarkable. And don't miss the Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum on Sanibel-Captiva Road, especially great for kids.

Sanibel's natural beaches provide habitat for a number of listed and endangered species including least terns, snowy plovers, gopher tortoises and sea turtles. In addition to being maintained in a natural state, Sanibel Island is noted for receiving the following recognitions:

BEST DESTINATION IN THE WORLD: FODOR'S TRAVEL #1

2010 Trip Advisor Traveler's Choice Destination Awards - #6 Top 10 Beaches & Sun

CNN Travel - #1, Best Beaches for Shells

Travel & Leisure Magazine - Top Shelling Beach

Women's Health Magazine - Best Beachcombing

Florida Beaches Guide - Florida Best Beaches for Weddings

Sherman's Travel - #10. Top 10 Family Beaches

2008 Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award - #10, Island Destination - North America

BIKES ARE NOW AVAILABLE FOR CHECKOUT ON SITE! The Association now has a variety of bicycles for rent, including child sizes.

Great restaurants abound on Sanibel and Captiva, the adjoining island. Try the Mucky Duck for sunset libations on Captiva and don't miss the Bubble Room....a kid's delight also on Captiva. For dining on Sanibel we recommend Grama Dots at the Marina......the mesquite grilled grouper is great. Trader's, The Jackaranda, The Timbers and the Sanibel Steakhouse are great for a more formal dining experience. The Island Cow and the Over Easy Cafe are great for less formal dining as is Cip's Place.

Keywords: Condominium, Dockside, Sanibel Island, Condos, Boat Dock, Beach, Shelling, Fishing, kayaking

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I live on a farm in the 'Buckeye' state of Ohio. Ohio has been my home since birth. My husband Bob is a retired Air Force and commercial pilot who hails from all over the world. Bob and I, both widowed, met in Peru while traveling and have been married over nine years. Travel is a passion with us.

Bob Smith purchased this condo in 1999

After vacationing on Sanibel for more than 30 years, I chose to own a part of my most favorite place in the world. It is just steps to the Gulf of Mexico with facilities for docking a boat just outside your lanai, a bike trail within a few steps of the front door, a beautiful beach just across the street, a beautiful swimming pool......a perfect place to share with children and grandchildren. For me, the greatest attraction is a walk on the beach in the early morning watching the birds scramble after the sea life that washed ashore over night. I love lunch on the dock watching the fish jump with the changing of the tides and the boats silently passing by.

The canal just outside the condo allows for boat access to the deep waters of the Gulf of Mexico. And if you do not have a boat, rent a kayak and explore the canal system that winds its way through the east end of Sanibel. And don't miss the Ding Darling Nature Preseve......it is marvelous. Take an early morning walk and watch the sunrise while sipping your cup of coffee......sit on the beach with your favorite beverage and watch the sunset

16 Reviews of Property 143875 in Sanibel Island, Florida

Sanibel....America's Best Shelling Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Sanibel....America's Best Shelling Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143875vbi
(419) 566 8670
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We really enjoyed staying at this condo it was so self sufficient, could not think of anything we needed and was very clean. We enjoyed lounging out back on the canal side (loved seeing the manatee) and when we wanted to change our scenery it was just a minute walk across the street to the ocean. Bob was great to work with. Thanks again for letting us stay here!
business
Sanibel....America's Best Shelling Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143875vbi
(419) 566 8670
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Hutchinson, Minnesota
5

Sister Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This property was everything and more! The furnishings are beautiful and the kitchen is fully equipped with anything you could need. The location is wonderful. It is across the street from the Beach and has a canal running behind it. You can walk forever on the beach and find lots of shells. Sanibel has many great eating places and great bike trails. It is a true paradise. It made a wonderful place for a great sister vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sanibel....America's Best Shelling Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143875vbi
(419) 566 8670
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Cashtown PA
5

Wonderful Unit...Wonderful Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is our forth October in a row renting this condo. It is a wonderful, clean, well equipped home away from home. Everything is there that you may need to be comfortable. We had two couples visit us this year and they also want to come back to this same place. They were both very impressed with the unit. We're already counting down to next October for our fifth year in a row. Dave & Sue
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Sanibel....America's Best Shelling Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143875vbi
(419) 566 8670
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Fabulous!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We spent two weeks here in June and loved every minute! The condo is fully equipped, nicely furnished and clean. The owners were great to work with and very attentive when we needed to contact them to ask any questions at all. We've stayed in other condos in Sanibel Arms, but this is the one we will return to. We couldn't have had a better experience. Thank you!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sanibel....America's Best Shelling Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143875vbi
(419) 566 8670
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Coatesville, PA
5

Amazing, Amazing, Amazing!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
From the moment we stepped in the door it felt like home. The condo was comfortable and beautiful. It had everything we needed and then some. My 10 month old son loved crawling up and down the hallway and around the living room chasing everyone and everything. And when he went to bed at night, my husband and I were able to go out back to do a little fishing while he slept peacefully and quietly behind us. We used the grill a few times, very convienant. We even got to see a manatee swim by in the canal one night!!! Everything about this place was wonderful, none of us wanted to leave. Amazing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sanibel....America's Best Shelling Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143875vbi
(419) 566 8670
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Pewaukee, Wi
5

Beautiful as usual

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is my 6th year staying at Bob and Shirley's condo and what can I say. It was wonderful as usual. They have everything you need in their condo. We just love Sanibel. This year the weather was the best ever. In the 80's with very low dew point. The weather men werre saying it was a cold front but we thought it was geat. The best part of the trip was catching 6 ft 140# Tarpoon. It took 1 hour 25 minutes to reel it in. So exciting!!!! So many great places to go eat. We hopfully will be back next year.

Paula & Al
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Paula and Al. What great luck fishing! Hope every fisherman who stays at Sanibel Arms has the same luck....or is it skill? Me thinks Al has the majic tough.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sanibel....America's Best Shelling Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143875vbi
(419) 566 8670
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Chicago IL
5

Best Condo on Sanibel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I cannot say enough wonderful things about this condo and the owners Bob and Shirley. My husband and I have been vacationing on the island for close to 10 years now and this is by far our favorite place to stay. We have 2 children who are with us during our stay. Being on the first floor makes things much easier on us when handling all the beach and pool gear for our little guys. The kitchen in this unit is fully stocked down to the Brita water filter, pots and pans, glassware, serving dishes, wine opener etc... It makes it very easy to prepare meals in the condo and to entertain other friends and family while staying! I would recommend this unit to anyone looking for a clean, nicely decorated and good sized unit. It is a wonderful home away from home while you are on the island.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sanibel....America's Best Shelling Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143875vbi
(419) 566 8670
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Wisconsin
5

Great Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
The condo was everything stated and more! Beautifully decorated and fully furnished.
The Island was great and we are looking forward to coming back!! Very relaxing and fabulous accomodations! Loved walking the beach.
Highly recommend renting bikes to see the sights......even if you haven't biked in a while. Great paths!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sanibel....America's Best Shelling Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143875vbi
(419) 566 8670
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
New Prague, MN
5

Wonderful condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
My husband and I spent 6 days on Sanibel and stayed at this wonderful condo. The condo was beautifully decorated, extremely clean and quiet. It was nice to have all of the amenities of home; washer/dryer, dishwasher, full kitchen, WiFi and satellite TV. The beach chairs and sun umbrella were great for enjoying on the beach. We would recommend this condo to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay on Sanibel Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Jami. Your comments are sincerely appreciated. Shirley and I love Sanibel and our condo at Sanibel Arms.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sanibel....America's Best Shelling Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143875vbi
(419) 566 8670
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
I would recommend this condo to anyone. Everything that was listed was accurate with a beautiful well maintained place. The owners are very nice with all our questions being answered in a quick and helpful manner. Our family had a fun and relaxing time. We explored the island, swam and flew kites on the beach as well as sunbathed and collected shells, went swimming in the pool, watched movies, shopped for groceries and souvenirs, everything was great! Thank you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1