North Palmetto Point villa rental - Dune Deck at Waters Edge
Dune Deck at Waters Edge
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

North Palmetto Point Villa Rental Photos and Description
January Special- $1275 Per Week

Waters Edge is a beach front villa overlooking a calm turquoise sea. A sandy, landscaped path leads to the gorgeous pink sand beach where sandpipers and sand crabs outnumber people. Snorkeling and swimming are perfect in the clear blue waters teeming with coral reefs and brilliantly colored tropical fish. There are miles of coral reefs up and down the beach for snorkeling all day. Shellers can spend their time combing the beach for all types of exotic shells and the elusive sea beans that float over from Africa and are rumored to bring good luck to their finder.

The Waters Edge House: It is a casual and extraordinarily comfortable beach house, filled with tropical artwork, and all the comforts of home at the beach

Take a walk along the miles of deserted beaches in front of Waters Edge where there are plenty of sea shells for collecting. Search for the magical sea bean, a treasure that floats across the Atlantic and promises the finder good luck for many years!

Spend time relaxing or dining alfresco on the large, partially covered front deck that faces the ocean. Watch the hummingbirds, butterflies and bananaquis flit around the gardens below. It is a birders paradise watching the many different types of birds fly around the tropical flowers. There is a giant osprey that visits the beach in the morning. In the back of the house, herons, egrets and ducks float in a salt water pond.

We invite you to come and enjoy this wonderful bit of paradise -- its dazzling beaches, romantic sunsets, crystal clear waters and the friendly people of Eleuthera.

The Kitchen: CALLING ALL COOKS! The house is perfect for the gourmet cook. We have provided stainless steel cookware, gourmet knives and sharpeners, as well as all the utensils needed to make a wonderful stay at home dinner in a cozy home. For those who like to cook, you will not be disappointed. There are spices, wisks, several types of spatulas. We have instantread thermometers.

OH!!! COFFEE LOVERS!!! There is a GRINDER. Bring your BEANS!!

SPICES GALORE!!

There is a new Weber gas grill.

Dining: For those who want to dine out, the best restaurants on the island are all within 10-20 minutes away

We also will

make reservations for our guests.

Please ask about the restaurants, as they do change.

Tippys is great and written up in the NY Times. Cocodimamas, Sunset Inn, The Beach House, Buccanneer Club and More!

We will provide you with a 'Welcome to Water's Edge' guide with all the info about restaurants and the island.

More Details
Hide Details

We take great pride in making sure that our guests have the most enjoyable vacation possible. From the moment a reservation is made until our guests return home, we are available for questions and are here to help. Once vacationers are on the island, our caretakers, Ada and Doyle will see to all needs. We can be reached via phone or internet.

Holly and Jim Waters purchased this villa in 2005

Waters Edge is meant to be a home away from home at the beach. We have tried to provide guests with all the amenities we wanted in houses when we vacationed throughout the Caribbean. t

It is at the end of a 2.5 mile road, yet close enough to restaurants to go out and enjoy.

Waters Edge has lovely flowers and birds to watch from the porch. You can watch sunrises and sunsets.

7 Reviews of Property 143790 in North Palmetto Point, Bahamas

Stunning Villa on Beautiful Pink Sand Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Stunning Villa on Beautiful Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143790
(847) 272-9725 (Illinois, USA)
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
5

WATER'S EDGE, PALMETTO POINT, ELEUTHERA, BAHAMAS

WATER'S EDGE, PALMETTO POINT, ELEUTHERA, BAHAMAS
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2008
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
Water's Edge was all it was described by it's Home Away description, and so much more. The Villa is comfortable and equipped with everything you could ever need in a vacation, and included amenities that are never present in rentals along the East Coast of the U.S. For example, the cottage included thick beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, and snorkeling equipment. These beach items were greatly appreciated as we traveled to a different beach on Eleuthera each and every day, and often needed shade. The bedrooms were large and comfortable, and the bathrooms were modern and spotless. Linens, blankets, and pillows for the beds (and pull-out sofa bed) were abundantly provided, and the washer and dryer were new, and performed flawlessly. Each bathroom was supplied with a hair blow dryer, and large, new bottle of shampoo, conditioner, and body wash.
The Water's Edge kitchen is equipped not only with dishes and glasses, but with all of the necessary pots, pans, knives, serving utensils, and serving platters to make your own gourmet meals. This was especially important to our family of five: we traveled with two soft sided coolers filled with frozen meat, chicken, pork loin, ham etc. The pantry area of the kitchen was generously supplied with coffee filters, tea bags, sugar, salt, etc. There was a large number of spices for cooking as well.
Finally, the location is ideal. The ocean can be viewed from the lovely large front porch, and the Andarondak chairs on top of the dune were perfect for reading and watching the cruise ships pass by Eleuthera in the distance in the evenings. It is well worth visiting some of the nearby beaches; the coves provide sheltered, gentle, warm water for young children, and with the coral reefs at arms length, the underwater life is a joy to watch. The water temperature was in the high 70sF, and the air temperature was in the low 80sF our entire two week trip. We only experienced one vday in which the no-see-ums were biting, but moving our beach gear close to the water avoided any bites (on all other days, a nice, warm breeze kept the biting bugs away). The beach at Water's Edge is on the Atlantic side, which can be rough in some spots, but our children had no difficulty playing in the relatively low waves. Our children also had great fun catching (and releasing) small lizards and hermit crabs that lived in the sand and plants of the Water's Edge colorful garden.
Overall, Water's Edge was a truly wonderful place to spend a restful, fun, and restorative holiday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 45/47
business
Stunning Villa on Beautiful Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143790
(847) 272-9725 (Illinois, USA)
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
5

Quiet Retreat and stocked with all the necessities.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Jim and Holly's home provided me and my family with the PERFECT place to get away from it all (ages from 19-67). Prior to our arrival, Jim and Holly were in contact with us to make sure that we had everything that we needed. They are very organized and had everything under control (even after we changed our mind several times about arrangements). The house is well equipped, well maintained, and Doyle the caretaker is but a phone call away if anything goes wrong. We toured the island and several beaches and found that the beach right out front of the house was by far, our favorite. Not only for the snorkeling, but for the privacy. Definitely need a rental car to get out and about but you feel like this is your private oasis.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Villa on Beautiful Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143790
(847) 272-9725 (Illinois, USA)
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
North Carolina
5

Wonderful Villa on Eleuthera Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
It was our first trip to the Bahamas and we were looking for a warm place to relax and have fun with our son and his girl friend. Waters Edge was the perfect place for us to enjoy time together and to "meet the Bahamas." We went to the beaches during the day and in the evenings we enjoyed dinner at the local restaurants (very nice!), played board games, and watched the stars (lots of stars!)

The Villa is well equipped with a complete kitchen, barbecue outside, board games, cable tv, dvd players in each bedroom, and air conditioners in each room. The Villa was very clean and well furnished, excellently maintained. Its locations is great, with easy access to both the Atlantic and Caribbean waters.

Villa caretakers Ada and Doyle were friendly and always helpful. We recommend a stop at Ada's gift shop at the Green Thumb Nursery on Banks Road. Ada is a talented artist whose pieces range from the whimsical to the absolutely beautiful and are all very reasonably priced.

We also recommend a short walk at the nearby Leon Levy Preserve with its tropical flowers and fascinating information about the local ecology.

We had a great vacation at Waters Edge and highly recommend it!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Villa on Beautiful Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143790
(847) 272-9725 (Illinois, USA)
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
5

Perfect Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We loved Water's Edge and had a spectacular vacation. First, the location is perfect - down a nice sand road, very peaceful and North Palmetto is an adorable hamlet, more low key than Governor's Harbor but still close enough to take advantage of GH stores etc. Also, very close to Banks Road and Tippys, French Leave beach (stunning) etc.

Holly and Jim were very easy to communicate and work with - a real pleasure. No issues at all.

The house was IMMACULATE when we got there. We also had requested some food so we wouldn't have to cook on arrival - highly recommend doing this, it was delicious.

Also, the housekeepers (we never met Ada but we ate her food!) were wonderful - Doyle even drove over one night b/c we couldn't figure out the DVD player! So nice!

More than anything - you can wake up in the morning, have tea on the porch, take a dip in the ocean 50 yards away or hop in your car and drive 5 minutes to possibly the most beautiful beaches in the world!

Great value for the money. We would return in an instant if it were just 4 of us again (but we have a larger family so might not be able to....).

Highly recommend this property.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We take great pride in our home and want our guests to have a wonderful experience. Jim and I love Eleuthera and it gives us great pleasure to share our home and the island with everyone. Please do come back!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Stunning Villa on Beautiful Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143790
(847) 272-9725 (Illinois, USA)
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
5

Waters Edge Villa – Our 3rd Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My wife and I stayed at Waters Edge Villa for 8 nights in May 2012. This was our 4th trip to Eleuthera and we have stayed at Waters Edge Villa 3 times. Our other visit to Eleuthera included several family members and we needed a larger home.

There is a reason we continue to book Waters Edge on our trips to Eleuthera. It is a beautiful home, well maintained, and a great value. Jim and Holly, who own Waters Edge, have provided everything necessary for wonderful vacation. The house itself is located on one of the best beaches in Eleuthera. It is a short walk over the dune to access the beach. On the dune is a deck with chairs that affords one an awesome view of the Atlantic. This area of the beach is also a great place to snorkel. The coral is still pristine and the reef fish are abundant. If you prefer the Caribbean beaches they are a short drive away. Ten Bay Beach is a beautiful Caribbean beach and it is a 7 minute drive from Waters Edge. It is a great beach to check out the sand dollars, starfish, and a few bonefish. Bring your camera!

Waters Edge is also centrally located in North Palmetto Point. Governors Harbour is 15 minutes away. In Governors Harbour you can get groceries and they also have several liquor stores. Tippy’s Restaurant and Sunset’s Restaurant are also located in this area and they have delicious dinners. Don’t forget to try the conch fritters at Tippy’s – yummy! Both these restaurants are located on the beach.

If you prefer to cook your own meals, Waters Edge has all the amenities that you will need to prepare your dinner. The new gas grill is a wonderful addition. The house itself is perfectly set up for 2 couples, a family, or just the two of you. On one visit we brought our 14 year grandson and he had his own bedroom and bath. The kitchen opens up to the living area and all the rooms look out to the Atlantic. In the summer months the AC is a welcome addition. The outdoor shower to wash off the beach sand is also a great feature. Doyle and Ada, the caretakers for Waters Edge, are there if you need them. Doyle will meet you at the airport with your car rental and give you any information that you may need to make your visit to Eleuthera an enjoyable one.

My wife and I have been very fortunate to have made many trips to the Caribbean and to the Bahamas. We have had the opportunity to stay at several different island villas. Waters Edge Villa has become one of our favorite destinations and we would highl
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Stunning Villa on Beautiful Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143790
(847) 272-9725 (Illinois, USA)
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
Katy, Texas
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We stayed at this lovely home June 12-22. We can not say enough about how perfect this cottage is. The place is very equipted with everything you need. Even down to a fully stocked spice rack in the kitchen which came in handy when cooking dinners nightly. The beds were comfy and we slept like rocks every night. The best part of the house I would say is the endless reefs that run along the beach. By far the snorkeling at the house was the best that we experienced anywhere on the island. Can not wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your compliments. We try hard to make sure our house is a "home at the beach" for our guests. Please come and visit us again soon.

Holly and Jim
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Stunning Villa on Beautiful Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143790
(847) 272-9725 (Illinois, USA)
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
Illinois
5

Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
Highly recommend this location for your stay on Eleuthera but make sure you rent a 4 wheel drive as the roads are rough (but fun for kids). Waters Edge is centrally located so you can easily adverture off to other parts of the island. House is very well maintained and has all the necessary amenities for a fun filled vacation. Beach in front of Waters Edge is a snorkel haven. Highly recommended it at low tide when the sea is calm. Also recommend the tidal pools closer to shore for younger kids.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Since you visited, the road to our house was partially paved!!!! It is smooth as glass almost all the way and then it turns to sand. Nothing like before. No need for a 4wd unless you want to go exploring everywhere. Of course that is the beauty of Eleuthera.

Please come back and see all the changes to the house and the roads.

Holly and Jim
Helpful votes: 19/19