Wilmington chalet rental - Summer view from the lake
Summer view from the lake
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Wilmington Chalet Rental Photos and Description
- 3 bedrooms plus loft, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 12, 2200 sq ft

This new lakefront log cabin is available the rental season! Minutes away from Mount Snow and Stratton, winter activities include: skiing, ice skating and ice fishing. Also 2 miles from the center of Wilmington.

The property has 160 ft of water frontage on Spruce Lake. Fish for brook trout in this privately stocked lake. Take our 2 canoes out on the lake for a fishing or site-seeing trip. Swim from our private beach or canoe to a shared beach at the end of the lake. Fall asleep to the sound of the brook running just outside the cabin!

This is the perfect family vacation. The lake does not allow motor boats and the lake frontage has a shallow entry.

Wildlife abound!: The lake, brook and surrounding woods provide a perfect wildlife habitat.

This year we've seen: moose, black bear, deer, heron, beaver, otter, geese, ducks. The family of ducks ask to be fed at least twice a day. Moose tracks have been seen on our beach. And a pair of black bear are well known to the area (keep the trash cans lids latched!).

The brook has brook trout, frogs, turtles and crayfish. And of course the lake is loaded with perch, brook trout, rock bass, and mud puppies.

In the surrounding woods the kids will also enjoy catching salamanders, newts, and garter snakes.

Waterfront Fire Pit ! We have a burn pit on our private beach. We provide the firewood; you provide the marshmallows!

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family of 4 who love water and winter activities. So what could be better than a waterfront chalet 10 miles from Mount Snow!

Tim Ryan purchased this chalet in 2006

We built this cedar log home as a 4 season retreat. The lake provides: fishing, swimming, canoeing, and ice skating.

And great skiing and golf is within 10 miles of the house.

The smell of cedar greets you at the door.

The house has geothermal heat and CENTRAL AIR CONDITIONING! No hot muggy summer nights here.

The lake has been privately stocked with brook trout and rainbow trout for over 20 years

20 Reviews of Property 143599 in Wilmington, Vermont

New Lakefront Log Home
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 20 reviews
business
New Lakefront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143599
508 523-5439
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Atkinson, New Hampshire
5

Wonderful any season!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2007
  • Stayed: Feb 2007
We had such a fantastic visit over the winter that we had to come back in the summer. The ice skating was so much fun with my children. They spent the entire time outside sledding, skating, roasting marshmellows and building snow caves. When we went back in the summer, it was like a whole new vacation, between, the swimming, canoeing, and expolring in the woods. We took our bikes out for a ride into town as well. I love the house!! It feels like a luxury to be in a space that is so clean and comfortable. Having the movies and games for kids was great. Thank you for a wonderful vacation. We are going to be back for sure.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
New Lakefront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143599
508 523-5439
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
5

Very peaceful area and a beautiful view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was our 6th time here and we love it. We visit once in the fall and winter. The owner is easy and quick to communicate with and always very welcoming of us. The house itself is beautiful on the inside and you can't beat the view of the lake from sitting inside or on the back deck. It is minutes from a little coffee shop, town where you can walk around to restaurants and shops, and not too far from mini golfing and Mt. Snow for those who enjoy winter activities. It is very nice and quiet and there is a private road so you don't hear any cars or loud noise as in the city. The house comes equipped with everything-and there is a Shaw's market right up the road to get your groceries. We've always gone with friends however this is a great place for families too. We always feel right at home from the moment we arrive until we leave. We love it and it makes for a great long weekend stay! Always a fun experience, and always sad to go home!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Lakefront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143599
508 523-5439
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
5

Fall Comfort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Fall at Spruce Lake is so exciting... there's a ton of things to do and plenty of time to relax on top of this... as if days were made longer by the fresh and crisp air perfumed with leaves, pine and firewood!

The cabin is very comfortable and welcoming with its open areas and all-wood construction. More than everything you need is included.

Owners are quick to answer any questions and want to make sure we have a pleasant stay.

The only downside of our stay... was that we had to leave! :)
business
New Lakefront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143599
508 523-5439
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
3

Not a Secluded Cabin

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Since most reviews seem overwhelmingly positive, this focuses on some things that appear to have been left out. The reason there are so many pictures of the cabin from the lake is that they are not taken from the lake but from the road. The picture from the deck shows only the view to the right. To the left are several houses with a road running directly in front of them. It is a well traveled road and you can clearly see (and hear) the cars and trucks as they pass by. You can watch their reflection in the water. Needless to say, this detracts from the tranquility. There is also a very large house next door. Nothing separates you from your view of each other. Despite the proximity, (a stone's throw away) the neighbors will not wave hello or even acknowledge your presence. They will, however, watch you through binoculars from inside the house. No kidding! We took to keeping the blinds down on that side of the house.
You may have read an earlier review about feeding the ducks. Well, there is a consequence to all that feeding. The entire front of the property is completely covered in duck and goose droppings. We could not walk outside without shoes on. But I guess this would only be a problem if you were visiting in the summer. Inside, the cabin is pretty much as pictured. It is clean and well kept although I have never been to a rental where you had to make your own beds upon arrival. Kind of a drag after a long day of traveling. Although there is a basement, it is completely unusable. The cement floor was covered with dirt and the walls were covered with insulation. Construction materials were piled up in half of the space. The furniture that was there was for some reason upside down on top of each other. The access to outside was nailed shut with planks. We only had 5 in our group so not so much of a problem for us, but could be if you were with a larger group wanting to spread out. Also, the televisions are both small box sets so larger groups should not plan to watch the big game or a movie all together. The dining room table fits 6 comfortably, but the chairs at the island are not good for eating as the island hits a grown adult at chest level when seated. Again, not a deal breaker, just some things I wish I had known before renting.
Wilmington is a charming, quintessential Vermont town and Molly Stark State Park (five minutes away) is worth a visit.
Owner's Response: Not much of this is within the control of the owner. But I will add information where it might help.

• The website map clearly shows a road on the opposite side of the lake. Most people have found our home to be tranquil and relaxing, we certainly do.
• This is the only house that is available to rent, with lake access on Spruce Lake. We do not deem it appropriate to include pictures of neighboring homes on the website. Upon speaking to the neighbors, they deny the allegations made – not sure where to go with this one. I will add that half of the summer bookings are multi-year, repeat clients.
• While I have no control over the Vermont wildlife, I can - and do – provide rakes and shovels. You just need to decide if you want to use them. That said, the geese have been a problem this year, and we are currently working on a solution with the other owners.
• Not making the beds is standard for the area. Making the beds for 12 when 5 are staying at the house would be a waste of resources (i.e. excessive laundry). Also, we cannot be left to guess which beds will be used.
• The basement is not included as usable space quoted on the website. It holds the laundry area, ping-pong table and electronic dart board. The rest of the space is storage/overflow. There is access thru a side door.
• In addition to the kitchen table (seating 6), the porch table seats 6, a “kids” table next to the kitchen table has room enough for 4, and the island seats 4.
• The 2 TVs are 21 inch and include built-in DVD and VCR players. Basic cable and assorted DVDs and VCRs are also provided (but are by no means the focal point of this experience).

Obviously we cannot please everyone all of the time. This is our family’s vacation home - not a resort.
Helpful votes: 2/6
business
New Lakefront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143599
508 523-5439
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
5

Great Place!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
What a great time we had at this beautiful, super clean, log home. Tim was so helpful and accommodating. Our extended family was celebrating the holidays, after the fact. Tim offered to leave up the Christmas tree and all of the holiday trimming to make it feel more festive for the kids. They loved it. Nice and close to Mount Snow. The kids loved sledding next to the house. I would highly recommend this rental.
business
New Lakefront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143599
508 523-5439
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
5

Fantastic Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Myself and 11 other friends (ages 25-32) were looking for a weekend rental to relax, catch-up, and have a good time. This place was perfect. There are plenty of beds and sleeping spots for a large group. The place still looks practically new. There are lots of great hang-out spots both inside and outside for everyone to be together. Its a very quiet area and you truly feel like you have your own space. The lake is gorgeous to look at, especially from the porch in the morning. The owners were super easy to work with and very responsive to any emails and calls. I highly recommend this place for either families or just large groups of friends looking to have a fun week/end.
business
New Lakefront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143599
508 523-5439
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Queensland, Australia
5

Everything we expected....and so much more!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
As an Australian family who have never experienced a white Christmas we decided North America was a good option primarily on value for money reasons. I was made aware of VRBO through a friend who recently visited Hawaii. Our rental check-list included, large, comfortable, warm, fireplace, in the snow, close to decent skiing and available over Christmas. Hey, this place looks alright!!
I'm always a little apprehensive booking anything 'site unseen' but we did it! Tim was really helpful through the process and we were soon counting down the days until our white Xmas.
We arrived on Dec 17, from the moment we opened the door we we mesmerized. The aroma of the cedar, the warmth of the heating that was already on, the Christmas tree and decorations were all confirmation we had selected well. The girls (14&17) were relieved they saw they had their own bathroom (especially after two weeks of Hotels) and over the moon when they realized the house had WiFi. First impressions are important and Tim is obviously a host who knows this. He took the extra steps to make our stay a memorable experience. Our entire stay was perfect, even the snow! (I think Tim must have contacts in that department too)
Tomorrow we leave our new favorite holiday destination with sadness, we are however comforted by the great memories of our stay at Spruce Lake and the thought a new group will share the experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
New Lakefront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143599
508 523-5439
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
5

Fantastic Vacation House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We have been renting lake front vacation homes for many years. It was WOW from the time we walked in the door. Very clean and all the comforts of home. We enjoyed sitting on the huge deck and sitting in the yard around the firepit. We watched the ducks daily, saw a redheaded woodpecker outside the kitchen window and saw 10 turkeys near the woods. It was a little too cool for swimming but we had fun using the canoes provided. It was a great week. Highly recommend this rental.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Lakefront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143599
508 523-5439
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
5

YOU HAVE TO SEE THIS PLACE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My husband is an avid skier and had been to Mount Snow a number of times. This was my and our 2 son’s first time to the area and Vermont. I wanted the “cabin in the woods” experience and needed to be close to Mt. Snow, as I would be the family shuttle each day. This was THE PLACE!!!
The house was nothing short of amazing. Well appointed, very, very clean and even had toys up in the loft for the boys to play with. The house made such an impression on me that this summer we are looking to buy our own vacation home. They say that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. All I can say if that I hope my future cabin in the woods is just like Spruce Lake!

Thank You Tim & Sharon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Lakefront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143599
508 523-5439
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Belchertown, Massachusetts
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We had such a terrific time at this beautiful rental. We loved the proximity to services and to Mount Snow, where we visited twice for skiing and tubing. The house itself is very clean and cozy, and the open floorplan makes it very functional for families with young kids. During our downtime, we loved hanging out by the woodstove and just watching the snow fall over the lake through the picture windows. I'm sure it's equally beautiful in the summer and we look forward to coming back sometime very soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2