Niagara-on-the-Lake house rental - Avalon sits in a flagstone courtyard
Avalon sits in a flagstone courtyard
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Niagara-on-the-Lake House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

Historic English Country home, Circa 1820, located one block from

Queen Street in the heritage district. Avalon is less than a 2

mintue walk to the Shaw Theatres, fine shops, the lake, golf course and world class dining.

Avalon is near our other 3 vacation homes, Amberlea House,

Aylesbury Manor, and Simcoe Pines. They are also

featured on this site.

This charming house which is covered in trumpet vine and English roses, has been lovingly restored and features two

fireplaces, both with orignal antique mantles. The home has been

beautifully furnished and features hand knotted area rugs and many antiques from the area.

Large, bright principle rooms, fully equipped eat-in country

kitchen, 4 spacious bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms and a heated pool. The two large bedrooms upstairs have ensuite baths.

There are original wide plank pine floors throughout the home and exposed wooden beams dating back to when the

house was built in 1820. Although full of original charm,

respecting the homes history, it is well equipped with all modern

amenities such as 40 inch LCD HDTV with Blu-Ray player, wireless internet access, iPod docking station with CD sound system,washer and dryer, dishwasher, central air conditioning, jacuzzi tub and 2 fireplaces.

The house is approximately 2500 square feet.

From the foyer is the Dining Room with a large harvest pine table

and ladder back chairs. The wooden beams have been exposed and the brick fireplace has a huge hearth. There is a Canadiana pine writing desk over in the corner in front of the window which is partially covered by trumpet vine and roses.

The dining room leads into the eat-in country kitchen with antique

pine cupboards, sandstone counter tops, an island, wooden beams,wall oven built into a brick wall, gas cook top, and a Corian pastry counter.

It is completely equipped with dishwasher, microwave and all

amenities needed to prepare a gourmet meal at home.

The pine table in front of the window is great for breakfast or

casual dinners as an alternative to the elegant dining room.

The Family Room located off the kitchen is very spacious with plenty of comfortable seating and a fireplace. It features double French doors leading to the flagstone patio surrounded by an English garden and and the heated pool. There is a 40 inch LCD HDTV with Blu-Ray player and sound system

with CD, radio and iPod docking station.

The backyard is a private retreat behind wrought iron gates and

wisteria arbours. It features a flagstone patio, Dining table for

8 and a lounging area. The gas BBQ is connected to the house

eliminating the need for propane.

The small bistro table and chairs are there for the children if

needed.

The Master bedroom located on the 2nd floor(15X17 feet)has a Queen bed framed by the original wooden beams which adds a lot charm to the room.

It features a 3 pc ensuite bathroom with large shower,

pedestal sink and seperate antique vanity.

The bedroom also features a seating area with white wicker chairs.

The door leads to a walk out to the large deck overlooking the pool in the backyard. Outside on the deck is a wrought iron

table and chairs with unbrella which makes it a nice place for your morning coffee or a glass of wine before dinner.

The 2nd bedroom upstairs(17X13 feet) features 2 twin beds and a 4 piece ensuite bathroom with full bath, pedestal sink, and an antique tiled vanity. This bedroom is full of charm with original pine doors and wooden beams.

Bedroom #3(21 X 15 feet) on the main floor is very large with

several windows and features a Queen Sleigh bed, wrought iron day bed(twin size mattress) a LCD TV/DVD and antique

furnishings.

Bedroom# 4(15 X 9 feet) has a Queen wrought iron bed and is en suite to 4 piece bathroom with jacuzzi tub.

Alternatively, that bathroom can also be shared with bedroom #3.

On the flagstone patio sits the cast iron table, chairs and umbrella

for outdoor dining with the gas BBQ. There are also loungers for

sunning by the pool. The yard is very private with a wooden fence, black wrought iron gates and 2 mature arbours with wisteria and trumpet vine.

There is Central Air Conditioning, washer and dryer and parking for 3 cars.

Keywords: Historical home, circa 1820, fully restored, heated pool, mature garden, downtown,

More Details
Hide Details

We have always loved Nigara-on-the-Lake as we both grew up in this area and our family lives near by.

We wanted to find a heritage home in the historical district and had been looking for some time when we came across this charmer. We knew the minute we walked through the front door that we would be putting an offer on it!

Avalon was built in the late 1820's. We have the documentation showing the first sale of the property back in 1820 when it was first traded as land only for 600 GBP($1000 CAD). In those days the currency used was the GBP.

The house was in excellent shape. All we needed to do was a bit of decorating and we added the swimming pool and enhanced the landscaping. Before we purchased it in 2006, it was a successful B&B and the previous owner took great care of it.

We try to stay there ourselves when it is not being enjoyed by guests. We love the fact that the house is a half a block to Queen St and the car is never necessary except for arriving and leaving the town.

13 Reviews of Property 143160 in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario

Avalon, 1820's English Country Home, with Heated Pool in the Heritage District
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Avalon, 1820's English Country Home, with Heated Pool in the Heritage District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143160
(905) 639-8861 (Ontario, CAN)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Hong Kong
5

Wonderful Family Stay in Niagara on the Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We booked Avalon in Niagara on the Lake as part of a four week Canadian tour (we are Australians living in Hong Kong) - what a lovely place to spend a couple of days. Our party consisted of two families with four children total (ages 6 to 9) - Avalon was perfectly suited to our needs. The bed rooms were spacious & well appointed, the living room was large enough for all of us & the kitchen was very family friendly. The heated pool in the beautiful back garden was great, and we enjoyed BBQ with local wines each evening while the children swam happily. Avalon is very close to the main street on Niagara on the Lake & we walked & biked everywhere. Arranging our stay with Angelo was very easy & the house was well maintained & clean on arrival (we met the service staff upon arrival & they were super friendly & very helpful with area suggestions). I would highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Avalon, 1820's English Country Home, with Heated Pool in the Heritage District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143160
(905) 639-8861 (Ontario, CAN)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
5

Lovely home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This property was great! Very charming & quaint. The decor was lovely. Property well maintained.. We had 3 couples &plenty of room. NOTL is an awesome location. We biked in the mornings, wineries for lunch. The pool at the house provided the perfect afternoon to relax in the private backyard. Hoping to make it an annual trip.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Avalon, 1820's English Country Home, with Heated Pool in the Heritage District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143160
(905) 639-8861 (Ontario, CAN)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Toronto ON Canada
5

Perfect Relaxing Get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Avalon was the perfect weekend getaway from the city -- quiet relaxing and just a block away from the main street could walk to the grocery store, the lcbo, restaurants and theatres. All the amenities were better than the pictures! It was so nice to have the home base and so much more space and convenience than a hotel. We used the pool every day -- and the bbq too. We rented bicycles from Zoom Rentals and they delivered them to us --great bike ride along the river and to a couple of vineyards --private, relaxing and the ideal way to recharge. We will be going back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Avalon, 1820's English Country Home, with Heated Pool in the Heritage District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143160
(905) 639-8861 (Ontario, CAN)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
New York
5

Comfy, cozy, spacious house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My family's visit to the Avalon was wonderful. It was the perfect set up for three couples in that we all had our own rooms and bathrooms. (There are 4 bedrooms) The spacious kitchen and dining room were really great to have since we're a family of cooks and we wanted to eat together in a welcoming environment. Everything was clean, equipped with all the necessities, and was in a good location. We didn't need a car at all because we could walk to town and the lake. The only time we drove was to the wineries and the Falls. The fireplace also warmed things up on the cold days. Reservations were extremely simple as Angelo was easy to reach and answered all questions. We would definitely come back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Avalon, 1820's English Country Home, with Heated Pool in the Heritage District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143160
(905) 639-8861 (Ontario, CAN)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Delray Beach Florida USA
5

Location, location, location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
They say it's about location and this is as good as it gets. Arrive, park the car and forget about using it until you leave. Avalon is within easy walking distance of the entire central business district of the charming NOTL. Four couples from our yacht club in the US make an annual visit to Niagara on the Lake each year for a play and some serious culinary activity. It is an easy walk to many good restaurants and the galley in Avalon is perfect for group cooking. We've rented from Angelo for several years and his properties are always clean, well kept and charming. Avalon is no exception.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Avalon, 1820's English Country Home, with Heated Pool in the Heritage District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143160
(905) 639-8861 (Ontario, CAN)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Buffalo, New York
5

Internship Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We are a group of 9 friends that gather every two years for a reunion. Brought together in 1980 , we hail from 8 of the United States. New England to California, Florida to Buffalo,NY. Deciding to meet in Niagara Falls, we needed to find a place to stay that could accommodate all of us. Our on-line search brought us to the wonderful accommodiations of Angelo Molinaro. Avalion is a beautiful home with four bedrooms, three bathrooms, eat in kitchen, dining room, living room and outdoor yard that more than satisfied our needs. The home is well appointed, very comfortable, and just one block from downtown Niagara on the Lake. Most of us have never been to NOTL and we enjoyed EVERYTHING. The shopping,restaurants,specialty stores, the flowers, wineries and close proximimity to the lake. Would highly recommend Angelo's home if you are looking for comfortable, clean home that can accommodate a crowd in a quiet neighborhood just steps away from the activities of NOTL, and close enougn to Niagara Falls without all the hustle bustle. Loved our NOTL reunion! The listing photos of the home accurately reflect the appearance and amenities.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Avalon, 1820's English Country Home, with Heated Pool in the Heritage District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143160
(905) 639-8861 (Ontario, CAN)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
New Haven, CT, USA
5

Wonderful home base for exploring Niagara-on-the-Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We spent a fabulous week at the Avalon with our adult children and several of their friends, seeing plays, touring wineries, taking bike trips, exploring Niagara-on-the-Lake and the Falls - couldn't imagine a better place to stay! The house is lovely throughout, even better that it appears in the photos, with comfortable, quiet, bedrooms and generous large communal areas for all kinds of activities, from swimming and dining on the patio, to preparing meals, doing puzzles, watching movies, and catching up on emails indoors. It is equipped with everything you would have in your own home, including a full laundry, excellent internet service, and plenty of kitchen gear - lucky for us since our kids love to cook! The air conditioning was a great bonus, since it was in the 90'sF (35-40C) the whole week. The house is on a charming residential street within an easy walk of everything in NOTL - grocery store, post office, Shaw Festival theatres, Fort George, shopping, and of course many great restaurants, and you can bike to wineries, picnic areas, and the Falls along the gorgeous Niagara Parkway bike path. Best of all is the terrific owner and his staff, who provided excellent directions and intructions in advance, and responded with breath-taking speed to take care of any questions or problems that arose. This truly was one of the greatest vacations we have ever had - highest marks for the Avalon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Avalon, 1820's English Country Home, with Heated Pool in the Heritage District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143160
(905) 639-8861 (Ontario, CAN)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
5

Weekend of memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Firstly,compliments must go to the owners Angelo and Kerri who have put great effort in the decoration and furnishing of this 1820's home....the little touches seen all over make you feel instantly welcome as you arrive. We felt good energy in that home ...( A piece of Ontario history that has been thankfully kept). Angelo was so helpful and accommodating ...very hospitality- oriented and efficient in all correspondence . Thank you kindly.
Despite the heavy rain upon arrival, the home was so cosy and ever so spacious for a family of five adults and one quite active pre-teen that no one felt hemmed in. The location was perfect for the occasion of my mom's 80th birthday and it was a joy not to need the cars for all outings. Walking into town armed with umbrellas on a drizzly evening was quite relaxing , stopping for a delicious ice cream after dinner at the Olde Angel Inn and coming back to a family evening of games and chat.
The pool was not to be ignored since the sun came out in glory the next day and a BBQ was planned. Shopping was so handy at the Hendricks supermarket...the wine store and gourmet cheese shop provided all that was needed. The kitchen is quite spacious and has every amenity required ... Far better than mini fridges or room service from overrated hotels. The charm of the dining room made for a great family dinner. We loved the old beams,the creaky uneven floorboards , the angel sculpture from the ship , the cute little brass mice hidden in the nooks of the kitchen post.......
We met the very helpful David who got the pool ready after the rains from the previous days. We wished there was more time to enjoy the quiet atmosphere of the backyard, the roses were in full bloom!
For first time visitors to the area Avalon is well situated to seeing Niagara Falls , only about 20 minutes away and being back in NOTL for dinner at any of the many restaurants.
Avalon was perfect for our family especially since we were able to spend the time together ....highly recommended for families or reunions. The surrounding area is perfect to appreciate Ontario 's wine growing region, and there are bike routes along the river , and parks to picnic.
I am so happy to have found these homes in NOTL that I may never book a hotel here again ... And that goes as a recommendation to all the visitors we get from Europe. Well done to the owners for achieving the perfect balance between an historical dwelling and modern facilities.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Avalon, 1820's English Country Home, with Heated Pool in the Heritage District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143160
(905) 639-8861 (Ontario, CAN)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Glen Morris, On
5

Girls getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Our stay in Avalon this past April was beyond our expectations. The house exuded charm in every room and allowed us to feel instantly comfortable and "at home". From sitting and sipping wine on the stone patio to enjoying our meals in the lovely dining room, the weekend was all we had hoped for and more. Each bedroom was beautifully decorated with attention to detail and the large comfortable beds made for restful nights. We especially loved the location on the quiet tree-lined street just minutes from the business section and the Shaw. Being able to walk everywhere was a real treat. Being responsible for the booking was a little stressful, but within minutes of arrival, my fellow travellers had given the thumbs up. We are already planning next year's visit.
Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Avalon, 1820's English Country Home, with Heated Pool in the Heritage District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p143160
(905) 639-8861 (Ontario, CAN)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
5

Absolutely Delightful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This home is by far, the most enjoyable, beautiful, quaint and comfortable place my husband and I - regular home renters - have ever experienced.

The beautiful, historic house is a tasteful blend of the old and new. The owners have maintained the home's history (one bedroom, for example, features a large sleigh bed, and antiques in a soft, peaceful setting) while carefully tending to the needs of modern life. We enjoyed lovely candlelit dinners in the charming, historic diningroom, slept in the kind of comfort and peace that only older buildings deliver, and still had access to modern necessities, including updated, beautifully-designed bathrooms and a kitchen with plenty of dishware, cooking untensils and modern appliances. The generous family room is a marvelous place in which to relax, with a gas fireplace and large, flat-screen television. And the wireless connection was superb, so we were able to keep in touch with our families in a matter of seconds.

Because we rented in the winter, we were not able to take advantage if the beautiful pool and expansive outdoor dining area.But that's merely an excuse to return in summer!

One of the house's greatest assets is its proximity to town. It is located in a quiet, historic neighborhood only a block-and-a-half from the main thoroughfare in Niagara-on-the-Lake. After-theater dining in summer, enjoying one of the pubs or doing evening shopping are true options since the house is within walking distance to virtually everything. We thoroughly enjoyed this feature; going "to town" in a matter of a minute or so.

Summary? Charming. Beautifully tended. Historic. Elegant. Comfortable. User-friendly. Convenient to everything. And the owners are simply wonderful to deal with. They are friendly and very helpful.

I simply can't say enough about this house, except - Don't Miss It!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5