Bandera cabin rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Bandera Cabin Rental Photos and Description
4 BR, 2 BA, Sleeps 6 (actually sleeps 10 but we charge extra for more than 6)

This is a rustic stone riverfront lodge on a bluff above the crystal-clear Medina River, with steps winding down to the water. It sits on three picturesque acres overlooking the river; fireplaces in the kitchen and living room. This is an old house with quirks and character—if you want hotel perfection, this isn’t it. Awesome Hill Country atmosphere…swim, tube, canoe, fish, or sit on the patio or in the river and watch the water roll by. Near San Antonio, Austin, Fiesta Texas and Seaworld, Lost Maples State Park. Bandera is the 'cowboy capital of the world'...enjoy rodeos, horses, hayrides, and outdoor fun deep in the heart of the beautiful Hill Country.

We want all our guests to be happy! : Please read all the reviews before deciding to book, as they are quite enlightening. Most people love our place, but the ones who do not.....are typically expecting a more upscale, updated facility. It is quite comfortable, but it is an old house, and there will be 'issues' from time to time. So, we really love flexible people who will be cooperative and understanding when maintenance needs arise!

We lived in Houston when we bought the house, as we spent many weekends coming to the Hill Country canoeing and camping. It's on a spectacular stretch of the Medina River, and we feel very blessed to have been able to get this great fun place. Our kids have grown up loving it just as we do.

Cathy Dillon purchased this cabin in 1980

It is one of a kind! Like country houses were when you were a kid. Once you've visited, you won't have to ask.

Rustic, private, peaceful setting......perfect for families. Very very restful. The view out over the river is wonderful. There is no phone, no wireless, and no cable TV at the house.....but there are lots of books and games and inner tubes and wineglasses :) We encourage you to come to the country and live in the moment, divorcing yourself for just a little while....from electronics and fast-paced anything.

35 Reviews of Property 142673 in Bandera, Texas

Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
average rating of 4.3428574 based on 35 reviews
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
512 353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
5

Awesome private retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We needed some time away from the big city, and we found it at this property! The cabin is old, rustic, and full of charm. It reminded me of a simpler time when people actually enjoyed being around each other and nature. We put away our phones, logged off Facebook, and the closest thing to modern technology we used was the radio. The king size bed in the main house was quite comfortable. We did not have any king size sheets to bring with us, but there were some on hand at the house which we used but just had to pay $10 for the housekeeper to wash. The back porch and the river down below were my favorite parts of the property. We also sat on the front porch both nights and just stared at the bright stars above us. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook, but we didn't do much of that because we didn't want to have to clean. The shower is not built for a tall person, but it works well. I was worried about insects coming in the house but did not see one! There was an issue with the key not being where we could find it, but the owner was very responsive and told us where to find another key. And I want to add that Cathy, the owner is very nice. I would love to come back sometime! Thank you so much!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
512 353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
Crystal River, FL USA
5

Awesome place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
First off I want to say THANK YOU to the owner for sharing your home. Without folks like you we would not get the opportunity to stay in amazing places. I personally would not have come here to stay in a hotel.
A group of us (3 couples) came up here for the weekend looking for some much needed rest and relaxation and we found it. Just as all of the other folks say, yes, it is a rustic home but don't let that worry you. This home is so charming. It more than met all of our expectations.The peace and quiet were just what we were looking for. The hike down to the river and around the river was just beautiful.
Come here with no expectations just your sense of adventure and you won't be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
512 353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
5

BANDERA SUMMER 2012!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We returned to our favorite get away earlier this month and had a spectacular time! For those of you who are looking for something modern you need look elsewhere. This place is for people to get cozy and into nature. (This is not some fancy-smansy 5 star hotel, people) As I see everyone else wrote, there are plenty of deer in the front yard in the morning and afternoons. If you don't see them, I'm sure just a little corn in the yard will draw them out. This being our second trip to the Bandera house, we brought lots of people and had plenty of space. From the peaceful back porch view to the private river we had a much needed family vaca. And yes, I said private. This is the second year in a row we have came and seen no one else on the river. Very cool! Even with the rain almost non-existent, the river had plenty of water to splash around. If you walk a little while down to the left of the house, there is a great rope swing with safe, deep water. Our family grew up with weekends like this and now the newest addition to our family can. Amelia, 17 months, had the time of her life. The river right behind the house is heavily shaded so we could dip her in with no chance of a sunburn. Perfect! We highly recommend this place!!!!!!!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
512 353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
Houston, Texas
5

A Bit of Texas Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This property gets our vote for heaven. The natural beauty of the river is undeniable. We love the property because it is rustic and vintage, reflects the beauty of the Texas Hill Country, is pet-friendly, and supports a myriad out-door activities. It is as though we were transported to a simpler time when all we had to worry about was enjoying long summer days on the river. There is nothing better than a lazy morning at the house, followed by a day tubing the river and playing near the waterfalls and on the rope swings, simply walking up the stairs back to the house direct from the river, grilling for dinner, and sitting in the front yard watching the deer and stars come out. This house makes enjoying the river so much easier.

The main house was hand-built in the 1930s so electricity, running water, a/c, and propane stove are 'after-market' additions. The furnishings go well with the character of the house and are comfortable.

Bandera has many good restaurants, including China Bowl and OST, and entertainment venues, including the iconic Arkey Blue's Silver Dollar and the 11th Street Cowboy Bar. The Apple Store in Medina has great lunches and outstanding apple ice cream. Unfortunately for us, we didn't make it to the weekly local rodeo.

The owners are a delight to work with and are only interested in their guests' happiness. We are a multi-generation group from mid-teens to mid-60s and everyone had a stellar time. We can't wait to return and are considering returning this fall.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
512 353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
3

Mixed feelings

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Wow where do I begin???
I'm just gonna break it down to the good and the bad.
Pro's:
Owner is very nice
Beautiful river
Lots of deer in yard
Cute rustic house
CONS:
Fleas- owner bought a vaccumm and flea bombs, we had to pick up in town and bomb house then Clean up after that. Housekeeper couldn't come till next day to vaccumm and that wasn't an option cause they were bad. My husband lifted up bed and that carpet just needs to be thrown out in master bdrm, there was so much animal hair and dirt and things people had left behind. We do have pics by the way of all this.
Scorpions everywhere, there are holes in the rocks of the interior of home and we found 5 one found my husbands foot one night. And in the other home one found my son in his bed.
I know the hill country is windy at night but it was not cool enough for that annex bldg. I just don't understand you can buy a window unit for $350.
The comforters are withering away on back side, for the first couple days I was picking up pieces of the lineing till I went to town and bought blankets. I brought our own sheets, didn't know I needed blankets too.
The lvrm furniture is old and falling apart they had blankets on them to cover it up.
The stairs leading to river are not safe for anyone!! They are crumbling and falling apart. We received a $50 discount for our flea problem but to me it felt like a slap in the face. We should not have had to worry about putting all our food away and clothes and then bombing two house and then cleaning up after it. Last thing is you need a new cleaning lady, she half way cleans. She also text me the day before we were to check out to see when we would be leaving so she could come clean so she could spend time with her family for fathers day, understandable but rude the way she put it, mind all you renters check out is 1pm I think. Needless to say I text her back told we were already gone. Yep paid till Sunday but we left Sat morning, when I saw that we were only given a $50 discount for our troubles I was so upset I just wanted to leave. I did not call and talk to the owner to tell her we were upset and leaving because she is really nice and can only do so much from far away. This house is just very neglected but could be so much more!!
Owner's Response: It always feel awful when people have a hassle at our house! Especially when their problems are just bolts out of the blue, which Lana's certainly were. It is a huge year for fleas in the Hill Country because of all the rain. But we've taken preventive measures, and had seen no signs as recently as the day this family arrived. Departing guests that day had no problem, and in fact, are the ones who left the "Much Needed Escape" review just prior to this. Apparently the flea bloom happened 3 days into Lana's stay and only in the master bedroom which was why these poor people disassembled the pillowtop bed and found the conditions they describe. (they said fleas weren't an issue in the rest of the house). We bought them a vacuum because this was an emergency and the problem needed tackled immediately, without waiting for housekeeper and exterminators.

I really like our new housekeeper. She's a hard worker, and people who've been there repeatedly say the house is as clean as they've ever seen it. Excluding, it now appears, the underside of that one bed! The comments about the bedroom rug are timely because we have actually bought a new one, just hadn't made the time yet to put it down. Regarding the 2 quilts with the problem lining. I knew about them, and we juggled linens while Lana's family was there to make room for new ones. Fyi, she brought her own sheets because all are asked to do that. (This is an economical private house, not a hotel). But we have lots of blankets. The living room sofas are covered with loose throws so that we can wash them frequently....necessary in a house as busy as this.

Can't remember the last time we saw scorpions--literally years. The place is exterminated regularly and it was only done a couple of weeks ago so maybe they had just been flushed out of hiding.

We haven't put an AC in the annex for reasons I won't yammer about, but it's not to save $350. Maybe someday. And finally, as sweet as these poor people were when the fleas exploded on the scene, I confess to misreading their stress level. That day and the next, it was "oh, it's no big deal, we solved it and we're having fun, don't worry". It was a relief to have them be kind because I was so embarrassed.

Our place is charming and quaint and far from neglected, but it's 1930's vintage and things happen in the country. We always leap through hoops to solve problems. I only wish those bolts out of the blue would ask first.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
512 353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
Houston, Texas
5

Much needed escape!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I have been here once before and both times it was awesome! It is a very calming place its natrual beauty is outstanding!!!! I was able to invite my brother who is not an outdoors type, his definition of fun is being indoors in front of a computer, but he fell in love with it after the first day! I took him down by the river and he could not believe how clear and beautiful the river was!!! He will be back again for sure and we just loved it! The kitchen is fully stocked, the restroom gave us no problems, and everything else about the house was awesome!!!! Thanks again!!!!
Owner's Response: Thanks, Patricia, we loved having your group. Let's all just pray that the rains will keep blessing the Hill Country for 2012......you're right, the river really is just amazing right now. To those of you who may have read through prior years' reviews, please note that while nothing is guaranteed, both house and annex septic systems have now been replaced, so hopefully no more hassles in that department. That would be "hopefully" :) Cathy
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
512 353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
5

Great place on the Medina RIver

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
If you're looking for a great place in Hill county, you've found it! Stumbled upon the listing over the internet - the location was perfect for what we had in mind - 5 days in Texas. Easy drive from the San Antonio airport. Settled in and had dinner in town at Brick, a sweet little place back in Bandera. Next day we had a beautiful drive to Lost Maples and spent the better part of the day hiking and swimming. Had a great coffee on the way in in Core and visited the library there on our way back. We bought some floaties at the Dollar store in Bandera and the boys had a blast in the river as we could tell from the delirious shouting reaching up to us on the deck. Now we are in our hotel in Austin and missing the sprawling house, the visiting peacocks, and the sense that we are staying at our Grandma's where things are just slightly off kilter (Willie said the shower only reached to his navel in the annex but luckily my other guy is just 5 feet!) but oh so wonderful, full of love and happy memories. Spent mornings sipping coffee on the porch listening to the river, the evenings had a full moon spilling across the lawn. If you like to cook,the kitchen is well-stocked. For us with two teenagers, having a kitchen is a great plus as is the extra room. If you're looking for a place that your family can relax and enjoy themselves, right in the middle of some wonderful scenery and close to ther places to explore in Hill country, you've come to the right place.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
512 353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
4

Our stay at the Bandera House on Highland Drive

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I just wanted to send you a quick note to say "Thank you" for allowing us to rent your Bandera house this past weekend. The main house and the guest house were perfect for our small group and we really enjoyed staying there. I like the way you have both of the cottages decorated. It made us feel right at home. We can't wait to visit again!

My favorite part of the trip was waking up every morning and sitting outside to drink coffee while enjoying nature. There were so many deer in the yard. There is also a beautiful peacock that met us every afternoon as the sun started to go down. He would just sit on the back corner of the roof almost like he was waiting on someone to come home. This is not something we get to enjoy very often in Baytown. We left some extra supplies for whoever rents it next (Toilet paper in the guest cottage; a new package of paper plates, coffee creamer, and coffee filters in the main house)

Thanks again for allowing us to stay in your house. We will definitely refer our friends and family to you for their future Bandera trips.

Sincerely,
Dominic & Tonya Stewart
Chris Fisher
Robert & Stacie Rountree
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
512 353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
5

Beautiful, Rustin, Romantic and Fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My husband and I and our 2 awesome pooches wanted to take a little weekend vacation away from the city. We chose to go to Bandera, The Cowboy Capitol of the World, for some fun and yeeehawwin!

We were pleasantly surprised. :-) The cabin is beautiful, it's like time stood still in Texas. The cabin is built with materials that the land offers; limestone, cedar, oak, etc.... it's cozy but spacious and has a wonderful country charm to it. We spent the early mornings sitting by the fireplace, then headed out to Hill State Natural Area for some bike riding, came back to the cabin and just relaxed by the river. We had such a relaxing and wonderful experience and will be back.

Thank you for the much needed relax time :-)
Owner's Response: These sweet people went to the Bandera river house with the right attitude.......they wanted "country" and "rustic", not a condo on a golf course or thrills-a-minute entertainment! A little wine, a good book, some binoculars to watch the creatures, somebody fun to talk to when the spirit moves......doesn't get much more relaxing than that :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
512 353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
Austin
5

Great Time with Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We had a blast! My family and I (all 7 of us) had a wonderful time exploring the river, roasting marshmallows, and seeing all the wildlife. My 4 year old and 7 year old even went swimming.....in January! We rode into Bandera for the day on Saturday and did some shopping and saw the old west gun fights. The cabin was just what we were looking for, cozy and rustic, it was clean and the beds were super comfortable. We spent every night around the out door fire place enjoying the stars and sounds of the river. We will definitely be coming back this summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1