Clayton cabin rental - Mountains can be seen from porch off main room
Mountains can be seen from porch off main room
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps13
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Clayton Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full baths, sleeps 13

This luxury log cabin is part of a 25-acre farm nestled on a private mountainside in the Smoky Mountains of North Georgia, in Rabun County. It is only 7 miles from world-class white water rafting & kayaking on the Chatooga River and borders thousands of acres of US Forest Service land. Appalachian crafts & art can be found 3 miles away in downtown Clayton. Enjoy the view of North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee & the Great Smoky Mountains or the wide creek and covered bridges in the valley below. Explore the 3 barns and horse trails and enjoy total privacy upon entering the property via 3 electronic gates. The cabin has 2 downstairs bedrooms, a large loft bedroom that sleeps 9, 3 full bathrooms, one with a jacuzzi tub, central air and heat, new kitchen & appliances, fireplace & rock wall, 2 sets of washer/dryers, wireless fast DSL internet, a desktop computer, fax & satellite TV

Paved roads all the way to the front door.

2 Hammocks swing from porch beams overlooking the Great Smoky Mountains.

Drive-In Movie Theater nearby.

We are pet friendly and do not charge extra for your furry family member.

Mountain Creek Lodge; Mountain vacation rental; Mountain cabin rental; North Georgia mountains cabin rental; Appalachian Tail cabin rentals; Smoky Mountains vacation rental cabin; Rabun County, GA vacation rental; luxury log cabin; white water rafting; kayaking, horseback riding, golfing, golf courses, drive-in movie theater in nearby Tiger, GA; near North Carolina & South Carolina borders; 40 minute drive to Clemson University; 14 miles from Highlands, North Carolina; an alternative to Blue Ridge Mountain Cabin Rentals, Tennessee vacation rentals.

WEDDINGS and similar events involving non-residential guests are not allowed.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband Scott and I have owned & managed a landscape company in Palm Beach County, Florida for 35 years. We like to volunteer to help disaster survivors after hurricanes, earthquakes and other major events. In 1999 we formed a non-profit organization called The Eagles Wings Foundation which does this work around the world. We have a son and daughter who are grown now & launching their own careers.

Carol Lewis purchased this cabin in 2005

We developed the nearby Mountain Creek Estates subdivision and saved a wonderful 10-acre lot for ourselves. It borders a rushing creek and has fabulous views. All thoughts of developing our lot went out the window when we discovered this property which was being sold by Coca Cola heiress Frances (Tut) Woodruff - known locally as 'Mrs. Tut.' As a part-time realtor, I see a lot of properties, but the views from the porch of this cabin and the tranquility of the farm cannot be beat!

This property high up on Tut's Mountain used to be the petting zoo of Coca Cola heiress Frances Woodruff. Remnants of the bear den, eagles' lair and other artifacts still can be seen. Neighbors graze their horses and cows in our pastures. The nearby Town of Clayton has the feel of stepping into a Norman Rockwell painting of a quieter, gentler time when people had time to chat & share recipes in shops. There is still a soda fountain in the drugstore, a drive-in movie and a general store when you can buy everything from a housedress to hunting supplies.

70 Reviews of Property 142522 in Clayton, Georgia

Mountain Creek Lodge & Farm-25 Acres, Amazing Mountain Views
average rating of 4.970588 based on 70 reviews
business
Mountain Creek Lodge & Farm-25 Acres, Amazing Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142522
+ (561) 313-0226
Clayton North Georgia Mountains
Atlanta, Ga.
5

Such an amazing weekend!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2007
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
Mountain Creek Lodge was gorgeous!! It was so nice going to a rental cabin and getting just what you asked for. We were staying up there for a friend's wedding at Chota Falls. In all honesty, we wished we didn't have the wedding because we wanted to hang around the cabin the entire time. It had all the amenities you could possible need, I mean it even had bodywash. We didn't have to use the AC b/c the night air was cool and crisp. We just left our windows open. The view was unbelievable, mountains everywhere. There were 3 couples, all the ladies were in the wedding party and all of our husbands got to hang out at the cabin Saturday and watch football, grill burgers, and just relax. We had the best time and I would go back in a heartbeat. There was so much privacy--thank you!
Helpful votes: 43/47
business
Mountain Creek Lodge & Farm-25 Acres, Amazing Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142522
+ (561) 313-0226
Clayton North Georgia Mountains
5

PERFECT FOR US!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
MOUNTAIN CREEK LODGE was the perfect spot for our retreat. Two hostesses lodged there and 13 women attended a special retreat during the day. The open spaciousness of the living/dining room was perfect for our needs and the rockers and hammock on the porch overlooking the fabulous view of the maintains was the "icing on the cake."! We've already re-booked!
business
Mountain Creek Lodge & Farm-25 Acres, Amazing Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142522
+ (561) 313-0226
Clayton North Georgia Mountains
5

Amazing cabin! So much space for a large family.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is a great cabin to enjoy with a large group or large family. We had a great time preparing meals in the large open kitchen and never felt cramped. The house has everything you need and super walmart is only 2 miles away in case you need anything else. The owner has the place stocked with all the necessities and plenty of fire wood if the mood strikes you. Feeding the horses was a pleasure and the days seem to breeze by when your relaxing on the wrap around porch. The house was spotless and more than we expected. We will definitely stay here in the future! Thanks Carol!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain Creek Lodge & Farm-25 Acres, Amazing Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142522
+ (561) 313-0226
Clayton North Georgia Mountains
5

Great family fun!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Stay here! It's a beautiful cabin close to a great little town!! Clayton has cute shops and great places to eat. You may not want to venture out though this cabin is so nice!! There's plenty of room for a large group. And it's stocked with the nicest linens and lovely furniture. Not the typical type of most cabins. Thank you Carol for being so accommodating!! Our families had a wonderful time and made some lasting memories.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mountain Creek Lodge & Farm-25 Acres, Amazing Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142522
+ (561) 313-0226
Clayton North Georgia Mountains
5

Unbelievable!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
All I can say is wow! From the moment we drove up the driveway we were in awe! My wife and I stay and use homeaway/vrbo all over the country and this was by far are best overall experience. Walking up to the house and seeing the porch and the views for the first time was amazing! Upon entering the house was also an amazing experience! Everything was first class! Pictures really didn't do it justice for me or maybe I thought it was to good to be true. I could've stayed on the property the whole time but there was so many fun and adventurous things to do! Amazing hiking trails with beautiful waterfalls great golf course right around the corner(kingwood) also top notch restaurants as well! I would highly recommend going into the chamber of commerce and talking with Debbie to get any information you will need for things to do in clayton and Rabun county she was extremely knowledgeable and a pleasure to talk to! If there wasn't a family coming in right after us I would've extended our trip, I was bummed to leave mountain creek lodge! I hope to return soon! Also I would like to thank the Lewis family for sharing such a special place!!!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Mountain Creek Lodge & Farm-25 Acres, Amazing Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142522
+ (561) 313-0226
Clayton North Georgia Mountains
5

A week in the country for the "city slickers"!

A week in the country for the "city slickers"!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a wonderful time with our adult children and their significant others in this beautiful mountain lodge. The descriptions and pictures proved very accurate. The owner was very helpful in our planning. Hanging out at the house was special for us as we are scattered through the country. But we also enjoyed horseback riding, swimming in the Chatooga River and Lake Rabun. The area has a lot to offer. Although there are many restaurant options nearby, we enjoyed family meals at the huge harvest table. We have great memories from this trip and recommend that you make your own in this lovely home!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Mountain Creek Lodge & Farm-25 Acres, Amazing Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142522
+ (561) 313-0226
Clayton North Georgia Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

What A Gem!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Hello Carol,

This is our review. We tried to put it in the web site, but it asked us to sign in, but for some reason we were not able to. Please will you put this in for us.

Thanks Richard and Jean

If you like the idea of a beautiful mountain retreat with access to fabulous, challenging and fun facilities....a place with spectacular mountain views....a gorgeous sun rise....a secluded farm....inquisitive cows and friendly horses....a large and beautiful interior of natural pine and stone...spotlessly clean....fireflies in the dark from the veranda....and humming birds in the day....then this is the place for you! We were a party of three families and nine in total....six adults and three children....all traveling from SE Florida. We wanted a place in the mountains, with things to do, but we have done this before and stayed in cabins. But this was so different. It felt like we were privileged staying in such a grand place in such a terrific location....just have a look at the photos as they don't exaggerate! We used the lodge as a base having spent two nights previously at Stone Mountain. We walked to the top of Tut's mountain (at the back of the lodge) on one morning and headed for Tallulah Gorge the following day...how spectacular and challenging with six hundred and twenty steps down and six hundred and twenty steps back !!! We zip-lined and floated down the river, toured the local town and villages and museums showing local history and crafts. The three young lads had a great time with the farm animals and the mountain climbing, and activities, all of which got them away from video games and showed them that life has other things to offer! We had a great time...very active and full of fun, and the evening drinks were well deserved. This is a lodge and location we would recommend to anyone wanting a quality vacation. And we challenge anyone to complete the 3D jigsaw of London, which we just managed in time, and left for other guests to enjoy!! A wonderful vacation!!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Mountain Creek Lodge & Farm-25 Acres, Amazing Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142522
+ (561) 313-0226
Clayton North Georgia Mountains
5

What a view!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful stay at the lodge. The view from the front porch is unmatched for this area. The lodge itself is gorgeous and interesting. There was plenty of room for 10 (at times) and the beds and linens were comfortable. The kids had great fun feeding the cows and houses in the pasture. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mountain Creek Lodge & Farm-25 Acres, Amazing Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142522
+ (561) 313-0226
Clayton North Georgia Mountains
Flowood, Mississippi
5

Memorable visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We loved every minute we spent at Mountain Creek Lodge where we celebrated the May birthdays in our family. The lodge was spacious enough for all six of us, plus four dogs, to be comfortable yet cozy enough for us to gather when the spirit moved us. All the rooms and both porches were immaculately clean and well-stocked with supplies. Various members of our group explored the beautiful area around the lodge and all of us hiked in the nearby state park at Tallulah Falls but our favorite part of the trip by far was sitting on the marvelous porch, followed closely by hiking up and down Tut's Mountain every morning and again in the evening. The weather could not have been better, and we opened all the windows and enjoyed the cool fresh air, snuggling under quilts and comforters at night when the temperature dropped into the 40's. Sunrise over the mountains was indescribably beautiful. We cooked and ate, hiked, cooked and ate some more, and then resumed our position in the rocking chairs on the porch. Both afternoons we had happy hour with the farm animals. After discovering the horse and pony loved watermelon almost as much as we do, we fed them a snack, then retreated to the porch to watch the cows join them in the pasture directly below the porch. A turkey hen spent some time in that same pasture, as did rabbits and gophers (we think that's what they were) and a beautiful yellow pair of prothonotary warblers. A huge moth with what appeared to be eyes on its wings spent one afternoon with us and we all had our picture made holding it. Some of our dogs spent hours trying to catch the buzzing carpenter bees boring into the porch overhangs while others of them nosed through the brush close to the house before plopping back down on the porch with us. As we wandered the property, we couldn't help but wonder about the original purpose of some of the outbuildings. Stables, rabbit hutches, and chicken coops we could identify but some of the pens and cages stumped us completely (although it was fun to come up with possibilities, some far-fetched and sort of gruesome.) In short, we could not have enjoyed more our brief but memorable time at the lodge, although next time we will map a route that does not take us through Atlanta!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Mountain Creek Lodge & Farm-25 Acres, Amazing Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142522
+ (561) 313-0226
Clayton North Georgia Mountains
5

Wonderful & Relaxing

Wonderful & Relaxing
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We were in Clayton for a wedding reception and sure enjoyed our stay. Clayton is a fun little town with nice restuarants, bar type hangouts and shops to enjoy. The Cabin (if you can call a place so nice a cabin) was wonderful. Coffee on the porch in the morning and wine in the evening made for a relaxing stay. Having to go through 3 gates made the visit relaxing as we didn't have to worry about strange cars or unexpected visitors.The view overlooked a pasture with horses and cows with the great mountain views beyond. What made this stay even better was that, unlike a lot of cabins we stay in, the kitchen was well stocked with spices, garbage bags, dishwashing powder and things that you should not have to bring with you. Also leaving was a breeze since we didn't have to strip beds and all the stuff you have to do when leaving some cabins. Looking forward to my next visit to Clayton and the Mountain Lodge.
Helpful votes: 6/6