Vashon Island house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Vashon Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This jewel of an island is located a quick 20 minute ferry boat ride from Seattle but is a paradise getaway from the bustle of life. The house, comfortable but elegant, has a truly breathtaking panoramic view of the Puget Sound and a private deck where you can sit back and watch the sun rise or set.

A private hot tub is located in a garden with a view of the water. Follow the 50 stairs down to the beach where a gazebo and charcoal grill are the perfect place for an outdoor meal and bird watching. Take the kayak out into the Sound as dusk settles on the water. A two acre garden is filled with trees and plants that thrill the most ardent gardeners.

Identified as one of the top summer vacation spots, Vashon Island has fishing, biking, kayaking, horse back riding and hiking for the athletes and art galleries, book stores, free concerts and a movie house. Hunt for shells on your beach walks or just sit back and enjoy the quiet, the solitude, the view of water and sunsets. This island is a hidden secret that will have you coming back year after year...

Keywords: Home

More Details
Hide Details

My parents loved to garden. We lived in Yakima, Washington but as my Dad neared retirement, he and mom wanted a place where they could garden year round and where plenty of rain made growing easier. They bought 2 and 1/2 acres in 1976, built a lovely small house that looks out over the water and created magnificent gardens. We live in Denver but came to Vashon every summer for family reunions and vacations. I see my parents' love for gardens from every room in the house. My brother said that the new kitchen (2010) brought my parent's gardens indoors.

The Owner purchased this house in 1976

My parents are gone now but they have created a place that is unique in its beauty. We love sharing this magical place with renters who like to watch the sun setting from the deck at night, explore the beach, have morning coffee in the hot tub, roam the gardens and pick vases of roses or curl up in the living room with a fire and a good book on a rainy day. A gourmet kitchen fully stocked with utensils, appliances, spices and everything any cook could need was added in 2010.

This is a very private home with a spectacular view of the Puget Sound. A perfect place for rest, retreat and restoration.

21 Reviews of Property 215432 in Vashon Island, Washington

Beachfront, Luxury home with amazing panoramic view.
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
Beachfront, Luxury home with amazing panoramic view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215432vb
(303) 807-0822
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Mpls
5

Beautiful and peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The photos don't do justice to this beautiful house. Set in the midst of gardens (wish I could have seen them all in bloom) with views of the water, this house is a wonderful vacation getaway. The house was very clean and filled with light. Because of the surrounding gardens, it felt secluded and peaceful. My two adult sons had a great time cooking in the well-stocked kitchen. I could have stayed on the deck and relaxed the whole time, but since the owner thoughtfully provided lots on brochures with information on things to do on Vashon, and in Seattle, Tacoma and the Olympic Peninsula, we went exploring instead. Working with Madie was a pleasure and very easy, especially considering the short notice we gave her. This is possible the best vacation house I've ever stayed in!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront, Luxury home with amazing panoramic view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215432vb
(303) 807-0822
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Olympia, WA
5

Birthday Get-a-way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The water view captures you as soon as you step inside! We were so fortunate to have a location that was an easy drive for all three of us - from Olympia, Granite Falls and Ferndale and what a wonderful house and grounds to celebrate my birthday with friends. We so enjoyed walking on the beach, watching an eagle in a tree close by, exploring the island, and the super hot tub at the end of the day. The beds are very comfy and the kitchen is a dream to cook in. I also loved the fact that any questions you would ask are provided for you in hard copy - it so worked to have the answers available when you needed them! We look forward to returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront, Luxury home with amazing panoramic view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215432vb
(303) 807-0822
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Vancouver WA
5

What a Gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This was my first trip to Vashon Island and I wasn't disappointed. The island was totally quaint however my problem was after arriving at this gorgeous house it was hard to leave! What a beautiful and well appointed home. This owner really goes the extra mile with all the little extras and thought to detail. The kitchen was amazing and had everything you could ever want and I mean everything. The views were outstanding, you could sit and watch that view forever. Great for bird watching and I am not even a bird watcher but I spotted some really cool birds. The beds were super comfy with their excellent sheets and comforters. There is nothing that hasn't been thought of in this lovely home. I just returned yesterday and already planning my next trip for a summertime visit. If your thinking of renting a home in Vashon look no further, this home has lots of room to spread out and just relax. Oh I can't forget to mention the hot tub, huge bonus, such a pretty garden setting even in winter I can only imagine how beautiful it is in the spring and summer when everything is blooming. The wood fireplace was really nice and cozy with wood supplied. This home may have been built in the 70's but there isn't a dated feeling about this house very updated but the bones of the house are classic. One of my favorite features were the beautiful hanging Ceiling lamps over the stairwell, talk about creating an ambience! I could go on and on but just want anyone that is looking at this house to really consider it, you won't be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beachfront, Luxury home with amazing panoramic view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215432vb
(303) 807-0822
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Gold River, CA
5

Beachfront, Luxury Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our family stayed here the last two Christmas weeks. We throughly enjoyed the entire home with all the wonderful upgrades and many outstanding features such as beautiful view of Puget Sound, hot tub, gourmet kitchen, large decks, spacious rooms, fireplace, etc. Having bedrooms on two floors offers privacy. The owner, Madie, is very responsive and delightful to work with.

We thoroughly enjoyed our times there and would fully recommend it. It felt like home
away from home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront, Luxury home with amazing panoramic view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215432vb
(303) 807-0822
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Seattle
5

Weekend in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The home beautiful and fully stocked with everything you could possibly need.
The view gorgeous & covered balcony a big plus.
Location private and seems like no neighbors are close by.
Beach is a little hard to get to if you don't like a lot of stairs.
You have to go down to the beach when the tide is way out if you want to get a walk in.
Bed in den not that great but not bad either. I slept well.
I would suggest removing personal pictures.
I would definitely recommend to friends, in fact, already have!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront, Luxury home with amazing panoramic view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215432vb
(303) 807-0822
Vashon Island Puget Sound
5

Girls Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a girls weekend at this wonderful property. What a beautiful view!! There were 6 of us and there was plenty of room. The kitchen was well stocked - it had everything we needed to prepare great meals. The house was very clean and the owner was very helpful and promptly responded to any questions.
I would recommend this property to anyone.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront, Luxury home with amazing panoramic view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215432vb
(303) 807-0822
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Seattle
5

a triumphant return!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is our second time staying with friends at this lovely home for a quiet, recharging, getaway. The owners are simply some of the nicest people we have ever rented from and the home, which has personal family touches, feels like you are simply staying at a family getaway.The view is incredible 24/7, the kayaking peaceful and easy, and every detail is accounted for making cooking with friends a real delight. The only thing wrong is having to leave. But we'll be back, again and again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront, Luxury home with amazing panoramic view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215432vb
(303) 807-0822
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Oregon
5

A wonderful family vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family enjoyed a wonderful, restful, peaceful week here at this beautiful home. Honestly, we could not have asked for more. The home sits above the water with beautiful views from morning 'til night, and with a trip down the steps to the beach, the water is at your feet. We walked the beach and sunbathed for hours by the tea house and picked up more shells and sand dollars than we could count. The kayaks were equally as fun and the gentle water made for some great sightseeing - even for us beginners. With beautiful gardens all around the house, the privacy was perfect - and beautiful! The roses and hydrangeas were in full bloom, the strawberries and blackberries were almost ready to eat. There is a self-service farmer's market at the end of the long driveway and we visited it almost every morning for fresh fruit and vegetables, awesome! With 2 teenage girls to entertain, we took the water taxi from the top of the island over to Seattle to shop, walk the waterfront and explore Pike Place Market a couple days... but staying at the house and relaxing is really the best place to be. The beautifully appointed cook's kitchen had everything we needed, even an espresso machine which was a nice treat. The master suite has it's own private patio and hot tub which we enjoyed every night watching the stars. It was hard to leave this home, but it will be something to look forward to next year, our whole family agrees that this is the place for the perfect vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront, Luxury home with amazing panoramic view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215432vb
(303) 807-0822
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Vancouver WA
5

So Many Pluses

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Yes, even in winter, our family group found this place very inviting and comfortable; we'd like to return in any season! You couldn't find a rental with a kitchen so well stocked. We loved the paintings and art objects which added to the ambiance of the home. Having attractive and comfortable furnishings yet not being afraid to use them was great. The furniture and beds are really comfortable and there are inside rooms and outdoor areas where you could be off by yourself if you wish. The deck and patio have room and seating for large groups and the views are beautiful. It is such a peaceful and very private setting. Although there are neighbors, you cannot see them from the house. A great place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront, Luxury home with amazing panoramic view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215432vb
(303) 807-0822
Vashon Island Puget Sound
5

Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This was our 3rd trip to V ashon and staying at this beautiful home - the view from the deck was awesome and the home has everything you could ask for including a fenced area for our family pet. The property is surrounded by trees and glorius gardens - I loved picking the strawberries and tomatoes for our meals and right across the street is a vegetable farm stand. Bar-b-quing every night with fresh fish and vegetables and a fabulous sunset. I love the privacy of the home and it includes Kayaks for enjoying the quiet waters of the bay. The location could not be better 20minutes from Seattle or Tacoma by Ferry. The weekly farmers markets, the Hardware Store Restaurant, the hiking trails, great lavender coffee all added to our enjoyment of this beautiful island - I will be planning my trip for next year at this wonderful home and island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway