Milolii house rental - Hale Kai Sunset
Hale Kai Sunset
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Milolii House Rental Photos and Description
1 king, 2 queens, 1 futon, 2.5 baths, sleeps 1-8

Hale Kai means 'Home by the Sea' and sits only 20' from the sea. Step outside this home onto your own private white sand under the shade of your palm tree garden. Hale Kai sits 32' above the water on a pali and within a few minutes of the house, one can snorkel, swim, scuba dive, hike, surf and kayak and enjoy the pristine beauty of a quiet, serene and romantic ocean side setting. You will love lounging on the shaded and tiled lanai overlooking the Pacific Ocean entertained by the locals...Spinner Dolphins, Green Sea Turtles and Humpback Whales.

The Plantation style home has 3000 square feet of breathtaking views from any part of the house and is surrounded by water in three directions and some of the most pristine coral reefs in all the islands. Located conveniently halfway between kona and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Hale Kai makes a great base from which to explore the Hilo and Kona side of the island.

Lulled to sleep by moonlight on the water, Hale Kai will flow into yo

Beaches near the Home: 3 beaches lie close to the house. Sea Cave Beach is a 15 minute walk South & hosts a cool sea cave where one can swim. Beyond the sea cave, the beach is about two hundred yards wide & deep. It is a sand & pebble beach & provides great swimming, sunbathing & snorkeling unless there is a large winter swell.

The second beach is at Milolii Beach Park where sand pockets are surrounded by lava & coral to form a very quiet wading area for kids with great swimming, snorkeling & scuba further out. Great place for kids to play in the tidepools. Milolii Beach Park is about a 5 minute drive from the house.

The third & by far the most spectacular beach is located at Honamolino Bay, a 5 minute drive & then a 20 minute walk from the house. It has been touted as one of the most beautiful beaches in all the islands. A true tropical paradise, the water is almost always very calm with many coconuts palms along a crescent of black sand. A white sand beach can be found on the S. side of the bay.

Location, Location Location: Located conveniently between Kona and Volcano's National Park, this home is a great base from which to explore the island. The lushness of Hilo Town (The City of Orchids) is a beautiful drive through the rain forests of Hawaii Volcano's National Park. The nightlife and restaurants of Kona are less than an hour's drive from the house.

The area is quiet and serene with stunning sunsets and lots of room to explore. The Kings Trail runs through here and can be walked for many miles. The kayaks that come with the house can also be used to explore miles and miles of coastline. Secret beaches, sea caves and lots of marine life can be discovered with a trip either up or down the coast. You will see parts of Hawaii that very few visitors ever see. If you are lucky, the local Spinner Dolphins, Grees Sea Turtles and Humpback Whales may choose to swim with you. A once in a lifetime experience!

National Parks Near Hale Kai: Haunaunau National Historical Monument is North of the house about half an hour and features a comprehensive look back into the ancient Hawaiian culture with a reconstruction of the 'City of Refuge'. Watch an outrigger canoe be carved from a single log as well as sea turtles haul out of the bay. Lots of great info in a beautiful setting. A short walk North at a site called 'Two Step' also hosts some of the islands best snorkeling and diving and a chance to swim with dolphins.

Hawaii Volcano National Park is located about an hour's drive away and features one of the only places in the world where one can hike and watch fresh red hot lava waterfall into the sea. Petroglyghs, rainforests, lava caves, a world class visitor center, Hawaii Volcano National Park should not be missed. Guests should easily plan on spending at least a full day here exploring the park and another full day in Hilo hunting out waterfalls and enjoying the Tsunami Museum among other attractions.

More Details
Hide Details

25 Reviews of Property 142129 in Milolii, Hawaii

Spectacular Oceanfront Home
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 25 reviews
business
Spectacular Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142129
775 849-9294
Milolii Kona Coast
5

Spectacular!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Simply put, Hale Kai is definitely one of my favorite places! I first stayed there in the summer of 2010, and since then I've been there two more times, and I'm already booked for early 2015. I think that says it all. With 3000 sq ft, the house has multiple "living areas" on two levels, so lack of privacy is never an issue. The location is perfect; on a cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, which is maybe 20 feet away. The view is unbelievable! On this last trip we saw a pod of dolphins, at least 25, no more than 30-40 yards off the coast, and 8-10 whales at about the same distance. Seeing these majestic beasts against the background of the nearly infinite Pacific Ocean was breathtaking, and that alone was worth the trip!

I travel frequently, and I've found nothing that fits my definition of vacation enjoyment as well as Hale Kai. I love it there, and I will be back frequently!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142129
775 849-9294
Milolii Kona Coast
Camano Island, WA
5

Magical Christmas Week at Hale Kai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Little did we know that as we sat is Seattle and awaited de-icing of our plane, that in just 7 hours we would be watching an amazing sunset in our shorts and tank tops, toasting the spectacular waves, warmth and house that would make the most memorable holiday ever! The pictures of Hale Kai are accurate, but the real thing is even better. The house was well supplied with linens, kitchenware, and some basic cooking supplies. As I am sure previous guests did, we left behind some cooking oils (didn't have to pry the coconut oil out of the jar here), coffee filters, seasonings and such in the kitchen. One of my passions is searching Thrift Stores for needed items. I hope the large coffee cups I found are still there when we get back to Hale Kai! Also, the travel sized toiletries in the bathroom were fun and I hope the guests after us enjoy the shampoo/conditioner packets we left. My parents taught me that when you stay at someone's house, leave it nicer than when you arrived. Because Hale Kai is so incredibly well furnished, located and serenaded by nature, extra coffee cups and bathroom supplies were the best I could do.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142129
775 849-9294
Milolii Kona Coast
5

Great Owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The home is as beautiful and secluded as it appears on the website...no surprises. The owners are the real deal and honorable people. They worked hard and dilligently to assure we recieved our deposit back through a cumbersome VRBO process.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142129
775 849-9294
Milolii Kona Coast
5

Paradise indeed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
a five-star rating is truly warranted for this property. Nothing is lacking; from the cache of condiments and spices to the adequate supply of laundry,cleaning and household supplies.The kitchen has about every conceivable item one would need to prepare meals.
As they say--location,location, location! I don't think you could find a better spot on the Big Island for a vacation rental. To this day my wife and I long for the sound of the waves breaking on the cliffs just outside the house--truly serene.
If we ever return to the Big Island, we will try to make Halekai our destination. Mahalo
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Richard,

Thanks so much for your kind and thoughtful review. We strive to make Hale Kai a Five Star experience for all of our guests and we just love it when guests like you appreciate it. We fell deeply in love with this piece of paradise right on the ocean as soon as we swam with Spinner Dolphins in the sea below. We built the house with our children and our grand children in mind so that they all might enjoy the sunset into the ocean and watching the fish and whales frolic from the lanai. Hope you make it back someday.

Mahalo nui

Mike
business
Spectacular Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142129
775 849-9294
Milolii Kona Coast
4

Hale Kai

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Awesome House! We loved our stay. The house looked exactly like the pictures. Everything was very clean and well taken care of. The view was unbelievable. Nothing can beat falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks.

The only bad thing was some people were camping in pick up trucks on the rock next to us. All of Hawaii beaches are public beaches so there is nothing you can do about it.

It's kind of out of the way, but that can be good and bad. About an 2 hours from Hilo, hour and half from the Volcanoes, and 1 hour Kona. Very nice to come home to a quiet, out-of-the-way place and just grill and have some time to yourself.

Loved it
Owner's Response: Yes... "out of the way" is just how we like it!

In terms of campers... they are actually fisherman who come to fish off the point and generally do not stay long. We haven't had any problems with them with the exception of some trash that we pick up when we have a chance. Glad you had a great time. We love Hale Kai as much as you do! Once there we have to sadly count down the number of days until we have to leave... and the leaving is always followed by tear laden eyes for us and our kids!

-Mike and Jamie
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Spectacular Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142129
775 849-9294
Milolii Kona Coast
Lancaster, PA
5

A Great Find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Hale Kai is a spacious clean well-stuctured house on the edge of the town of Milolii. There is a fishing point right outside of the house and every bedroom has an ocean view. Also, the house is well-designed: the bedrooms afforded us privacy, but the living room was a great gathering place for socializing. We are happy that we stopped at a supermarket before arrival because the nearest store is miles away. We found everything we needed at Hale Kai. We had a sense of privacy, yet never felt too isolated. The scenery around the house is amazing. The house is surrounded by lava, and we enjoyed looking at the sunset from the lanai every evening. We will definitely be back!
Owner's Response: We feel the same way whenever we get to go over and enjoy Hale Kai. It makes us happy that folks enjoy the magic of being that close to the ocean. It truly is an amazing place!

-Mike
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Spectacular Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142129
775 849-9294
Milolii Kona Coast
Lancaster, PA
5

A Great Find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Hale Kai is a spacious clean well-stuctured house on the edge of the town of Milolii. There is a fishing point right outside of the house and every bedroom has an ocean view. Also, the house is well-designed: the bedrooms afforded us privacy, but the living room was a great gathering place for socializing. We are happy that we stopped at a supermarket before arrival because the nearest store is miles away. We found everything we needed at Hale Kai. We had a sense of privacy, yet never felt too isolated. The scenery around the house is amazing. The house is surrounded by lava, and we enjoyed looking at the sunset from the lanai every evening. We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Spectacular Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142129
775 849-9294
Milolii Kona Coast
5

Serene and beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
This was my second stay at Hale Kai, and it certainly won't be my last. If you like crowds, traffic, and congestion, this house is not for you, but if you enjoy peace and quiet, privacy and relaxation, and nature's beauty, check it out, and I know you won't be disappointed. The house is literally on a cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and you fall asleep each night listening to the waves. On the most recent trip, we saw many whales close to shore. Nice sunsets too. The house is on the end of the road, so traffic is minimal, and privacy is ensured. The location allows access to other Big Island sites (e.g. Volcanos National Park, Waipio Valley) with reasonable-length day trips. It's also fully equipped with most anything you might ever need, and overall space is more than ample. That includes a lanai/porch around the entire house. My two trips were two of the best vacations I've ever had: Seriously. No exaggeration.
Owner's Response: We love having repeat guests like Don and his family come and and stay with us! We know its a good match and feel so happy when our hard work at making Hale Kai an incredible rental pays off for our guests. He loves it as much as we do!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142129
775 849-9294
Milolii Kona Coast
Camarillo,CA
5

There are NO words.....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
10-18-11---10-28-11
There are NO words...

Jamie,Mike & Robert,
We sit here sadly with bags packed and ready to step out the door for the final time.
There are no words that explain how grateful we are to you for allowing us to stay at Hale Kai.
As many have said I am sure. We didnt want to leave. You may want to look around. We MAY still be in a closet or some where. : )

To walk out front while heading out and about and be met by a guy on a bycycle. Then he says my name is Robert. What a joy to meet and for him to take the time a couple days later and take us down to the village with the kayaks then take us over to Honomalino Bay & snorkeling What MORE could anyone ask for. Thank you Robert. Sorry about zipping away in the Kayak on the way back.

We have GOT to get a place here before they are snatched up. What a joy Milolii Lots are to be in. Until then? We hope to be back. Either 2012 or 2013 latest.

We wish you SO much Aloha and Mahalo again for allowing us into your home.

Much love
Don & Debbie
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142129
775 849-9294
Milolii Kona Coast
Phoenix, Az
5

Wonderful week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We had a great vacation at Hale Kai the week of June 4th through the 12th. There were 5 of us in our party including our 10 year old daughter. We arrived to find Robert, one of the owners, to greet us and show us around. He was very accommodating and friendly and offered his help with any problems or questions we might have about the house, area or things to do. The house is situated on a cliff above the ocean which provides for great views of the water from the balcony, we actually saw some dolphins, many fish and a shark. We spent the week experiencing the activities that were on the house "Top 10 list" and we really enjoyed all of them. We hiked to the beach closest to the house (Honomalino) which is a pretty good hike over slightly rough terrain (20 min.) but worth it as we excountered the Spinner dolphins who swam with us! We also hiked to another beach that was recommended (Makalawena) but we preferred Honomolino as it had calmer waters and a much shorter and less strenuous hike! The house is clean, well stocked and has everything you need, but be sure to buy groceries before you head out to the property because the nearest grocery is a 30-40 min. drive into Oceanside or back into Kona. We had a lovely time, felt very relaxed and appreciate the opportunity to share this home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10