Sandusky cottage rental - Outside View
Outside View
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Sandusky Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Water front 3-bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 8. Ask about our other p

Nature Retreat on the beautiful Sandusky River minutes from the bay. Ideal for birders, and the Biggest Week in birding, fishermen, boaters, water skiers or relaxing and enjoying nature. Enjoy this 3 bedroom 2 bathroom cottage, which has been completely remodeled and features a new kitchen with all new appliances including stove, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, washer and dryer. ASK US ABOUT OUR OTHER PROPERTIES ADVERTISED ON HOMEAWAY.COM.

Two docks are available for fishing or for your boat. Rural location on the banks of the Sandusky River minutes from Sandusky Bay. Close to Port Clinton, Sandusky, Cedar Point, the Islands and many other popular areas and activities. Water activities on-site. Docks available on site. Minutes from Memory Marina for launching of boat.

Eagles, herons, egrets, and ducks along with many other birds make this area their home. This unique area is surrounded by numerous wild life areas which are close by. MARK YOUR CALENDAR FOR THE BIGGEST WEEK IN AMERICAN BIRDING IN MAY.

Great Sandusky River Fishing & Events: Nature retreat on the banks of the beautiful Sandusky River minutes from the bay. Enjoy beautiful, restful sunsets and nature. Watch eagles soaring overhead. Lovely rural location on the banks of the Sandusky River minutes from Sandusky Bay. Close to Port Clinton, Sandusky, Cedar Point, Kelly's Island, Put-in-Bay, and East Harbor State Park. Other areas of interest include: African Safari Park, Monsoon Lagoon, Lagoon Deer Park, Jet Express, and Miller Ferry. Two on site docks are available for fishing or for your boat. Boating, water skiing, tubing, biking on site. Minutes from Memory Marina for launching of boat. White bass fishing in April, May, and June. Fish for pan fish such as crappie, blue gill, bass, catfish etc.

Spring/Fall Warbler Migration & Birding Activities: Magee Marsh Wildlife Area is located on the scenic shore of Lake Erie; Crane Creek State Park offers a vast freshwater marsh and spacious sandy beach for enjoyment. Crane Creek comprises 79 acres of beach and marshlands adjoining the 2,600 acre Magee Marsh Wildlife Area and Ottawa National Wildlife Refuge. This coastal environment is home to more than 300 species of birds. Herons, waterfowl, warblers, gulls and the magnificent bald eagle make this park one of the best bird watching areas in the country. The refuge is located on State Route 2 west of Sandusky. The refuge is adjacent to the state-operated Magee Marsh Wildlife Area. Early spring viewing includes waterfowl, while April & May usher in the warbler migration. Warblers pile in on these forested beach ridges in large numbers for rest and relaxation before crossing the lake to Canada.

The Fremont Speedway located at the fairgrounds in Fremont is popular with racing fans of all ages. Their schedule is posted in the cottage.

Flea markets are held at the fairgrounds throughout the year.

Cedar Point/Great Places to Visit & Eat: Cedar Point & Ferry Boats to the Islands: A 1/2 hour drive to Cedar Point and the Port Clinton or Sandusky ferry boats to the Islands. Pickerel Creek, Blue Heron Reserve, and Resthaven are close by. Other area activities include winery tours, caves, Marblehead Lighthouse, Castalia State Fish Hatchery, and many others to numerous to mention. Restaurants: Whitey’s Diner and Billy’s Restaurant in downtown Fremont both offer good old fashioned breakfasts and lunches guaranteed to fill you up. For dinner try Casa Fiesta or the 818 Club both located in Fremont. The Tackle Box in Fremont offers a great Friday night perch special. Cold Water Creek Cafe is located in Castalia, and Margaritaville is located on Route 6 west of Sandusky. Not only is Margaritaville a good place to eat, but it sits on one of the many cold creeks that run through the area. Many birds can be seen from the dining area. The Angry Trout is located in Bay View and overlooks the Sandusky Bay.

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 142069 in Sandusky, Ohio

Water's Edge/Cedar Point Ideal for Fishing, Water Sports & Birding
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
business
Water's Edge/Cedar Point Ideal for Fishing, Water Sports & Birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142069
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
Connersville, IN
5

A Perfect Mid Price Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2007
  • Stayed: Jun 2007
This cottage was perfect for my family vacation. We had Cedar Point Plans, Put In Bay Trip Planned, African Safari Park Plans and enjoy eating out at a variety of restaurants rather than something we can get at home in Indiana. We also had a wedding and reception to attend in Sandusky and planned trips to wineries in the area. This location was centrally located, within 25 minutes driving time to everything we had hoped for on vacation and was clean, well kept and comfortable to stay at. The owners were friendly and willing to make out stay enjoyable. We plan on coming back next year and who knows, maybe for years later. Stay here, you won't be sorry.
Helpful votes: 12/17
business
Water's Edge/Cedar Point Ideal for Fishing, Water Sports & Birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142069
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
5

The Huber Family...Great place to stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We absolutely loved staying here. Linda was super sweet to talk with about the house, and was more than willing to accomidate our needs. We had 7 people and never once felt over crowded. The pictures are exactly what you get. Clean and very "homey"!! I would recommend this home to anyone, and when we come back to visit Cedar Point....I will absolutely call and reserve this HOME!!
Owner's Response: We loved your review and thank you so much. We are so happy that we helped to make your vacation a great one.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Water's Edge/Cedar Point Ideal for Fishing, Water Sports & Birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142069
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
5

Very. Will book again.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Everything was as expected from reading previous reviews. The place was clean and comfortable. Close to Sandusky, Toledo, Put in Bay. Alot of stuff to do all about 1/2 hour away. Nice people to rent from. Comfortable beds, washer and dryer. It was basically a house, not a cottage. The river across the little road was very nice. The dock gave us a place to hang out and enjoy the quiet. There are bicicles and games available. Seating in the back yard. I enjoyed every second of this vacation. Thank you to the owners.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. We work hard to make it nice for guests and your comments are greatly appreciated. Thanks again.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Water's Edge/Cedar Point Ideal for Fishing, Water Sports & Birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142069
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
5

Dancer family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Great place to stay!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. We appreciate great guests too.
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Water's Edge/Cedar Point Ideal for Fishing, Water Sports & Birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142069
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
Bronx, New York
5

Great comfortable place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This cottage was perfect for my family to stay. The view from the sitting area overlooking the river was amazing at sunset! I was an ideal location to get to Cedar Point. My one recommendation is to ensure you bring GPS to navigate around town. The owners and caretaker were very nice also. My children enjoyed the convience of the bikes provided. We will def return to this cottage in the future
for family trips
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. We so appreciate guests who enjoy this little slice of heaven. The GPS is a good idea since we are in the country and surrounded by farms and wildlife preserves. Roads can be a little confusing until you get to know the area. Thanks and we look forward to your return visit.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Water's Edge/Cedar Point Ideal for Fishing, Water Sports & Birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142069
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
5

Dancer family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Great place to stay! Met the owners, Great people!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review and hope you will visit again. It was a joy to have you as guests.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Water's Edge/Cedar Point Ideal for Fishing, Water Sports & Birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142069
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
5

Dancer family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Great place to stay! Hope to return in the not-so-distant future!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review and we will look forward to your return visit.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Water's Edge/Cedar Point Ideal for Fishing, Water Sports & Birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142069
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
California
5

Awesome Stay - Great for Families and Cedar Point

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What an awesome stay, we had a great time keeping the boys active with fishing (3 boys 12 to 7). The house was in fine shape, everything as advertised and more. The owners are great, just an awesome stay. We highly recommend this location! This stay made our trip to Cedar Point one to remember, as it provides the excellent counterpoint to the hustle and bustle of the amusement park. Great to cook and enjoy time with the family outside of the hotel grind. Five Stars all around.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Water's Edge/Cedar Point Ideal for Fishing, Water Sports & Birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142069
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
5

Great House/ Great Location/ Great Owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our families had a wonderful time. We left the East Coast and local beaches to take a vacation in Ohio, it was a risk but well worth it. The house was great and spacious enough for two families of four, both with one tween and one teen. We stayed for 6 days 5 nights and didn't hear "I'm bored" from anyone. The house was close enough to everything but secluded enough to actually relax. The house was clean and well furnished. Located about 15 mins away from shopping centers and grocery stores. We were less than an hour away from Cedar Point Amusement Park and Lake Erie. This trip was enjoyed by all, we will return.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. We enjoyed hearing that we are doing a good job for our guests and that the cottage is a comfortable home away from home. Please do come back and also tell your family and friends about us as well. Thanks again from your new Ohio friends.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Water's Edge/Cedar Point Ideal for Fishing, Water Sports & Birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142069
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
Louisville ky
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our family had an amazing time! Everyone was extremely courteous. My fiance caught lots of fish. The kids enjoyed the books and water. They called it the 'other home'. But that's what it felt like. I would definitely stay there again! Thx Linda :)
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the very nice review. We really enjoy meeting guests from all over the country and have hosted guests from Germany on two different occasions. You can thank my grand children for the books and I will be sure to tell them they were enjoyed by others. Glad the fish were biting too. Please come back to visit us again when you can.
Helpful votes: 0/1