Captain Cook cottage rental - Covered parking and entry to your drive
Covered parking and entry to your drive
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
Minimum Stay nights
 

Captain Cook Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Aloha and Welcome.

The Pali Hale (Cliff House) is located over looking Kealakekua Bay. There is off street parking with a beautiful gated entry. With coast line views for miles! Located at the 1200 foot elevation we need only ceiling fans for comfort.

There is mango,papaya ,pineapples,citrus,bananas all for the picking. Fresh flowers abound! Spinner dolphins and exquisite snorkeling in a marine preserve at the bottom of road. We are only 90 miles from Hawaii Volcano Park.The Historical Coffee Museum is 3 miles away.

All guest are met with an Aloha basket filled with Kona coffee, Punaluu sweet bread, fresh fruits, chocolate mac-nuts,juice,milk. The property is secluded and safe. Guest's are given soap, dish liquid, Paper towels, toilet paper to start off the stay in your own vacation home.

If you are looking for a peaceful and quiet, rural place this is for you. With 5 acres to yourself it is ideal. It is only 20 minutes to Kailua Town. All places to visit are within a 1 -3 hour drive.

The cottage comes with beach cooler, chairs, towels, it is stocked to feel like home. All you need to enjoy Hawaii.

E KOMO MAI Welcome to Paradise

It is not ok the solicit this page

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

Aloha! We are Michael & Candi . We caretakers of Maka Nui on which Pali Hale is located . We have lived on this property since 1993. Being Big Island residents for over 22 years this is now home forever. The new owners have enlisted our help to make this a peaceful retreat from their busy life in the mainland. To that end we are always trying!

We love meeting new guests & giving clues as to the best way to enjoy the island while here. There have been many return's , so must be doing something right!

So we hope to hear from all of you & treat you to our slice of paradise.

Mahalo Candi & Michael

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2005

The property is on a cliff over looking Kealakeakua Bay , which is a marine preserve & offers wonderful kayaking -snokeling. The quiet rural area is perfect for enjoying the birds & smells of Hawaii . But is a short 15-20 minute drive to Kailua town for night life.

Maka Nui means eye veiw which is obvious when you enter the gated property.

First is the coast line veiw, then the fresh fruits & flowers which are yours for the picking.The security of your own resort type setting.There are 2 mascots ( dogs)named Happy & Bamboo which love to meet you also. We also 5 cats and we are their staff! The peace & quiet is a plus for all.

81 Reviews of Property 141871 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Quaint Hawaiian Cottage on 5 Acres
average rating of 4.975 based on 81 reviews
business
Quaint Hawaiian Cottage on 5 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141871vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Salem, OR
5

Relaxing Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
When we arrived "home", we had a wonderful basket of goodies and the basics to get us through the night. Candi and Michael provided us with all of the information we needed and helped to make our vacation perfect. Great caretakers. It was the quiet getaway with a wonderful view. We look forward to going back.
Owner's Response: Aloha! It is so nice when our guests call the cottage "home" . Makes us know we are doing something right. And for you to relax & enjoy your time here on the Big Island was great to hear. Hope to see you again in the future.
Mahalo Candi & Michael
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quaint Hawaiian Cottage on 5 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141871vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Sunnyvale, CA
5

Simply the Best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
What a beautiful place this is! Like everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian locale we scrutinized many offerings and clicked through even more photos. Luck was on our side when we discovered Pali Hale! Wow! The views are incredible! 1200 ft above the coastline makes for spectacular and ever-changing scenery as the view changes with sun, fog, clouds, storms and sunsets.

The hospitality is second to none from the moment you are welcomed by a wonderful Aloha Basket, 2 sweet dogs and hosts extraordinaire, Candi and Michael! Candi and Michael are happy to offer tips and recommendations on beaches, restaurants and all the best sights and activities on the Island.

The cottage is perfect for two with all the comforts of home. We enjoyed our 5 night stay and regretted that it was not longer; we hope to return.

Just to let you know, Candi, we discovered a stowaway on the way to the airport. One of the gekkos decided to hop a ride. We pulled over and let him out of the car so I hope he's back on the lanai relaxing!

Mahalo nui loa!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: First off I am sure he has found the way home or has found another perfect place! And we sure enjoy hearing that Pali Hale was all you wanted & more . We do try to provide guests with the best that the Big Island has to offer.
WE do hope to see you again so you can finish hiking all the places you ran out of time for. Aloha Candi
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quaint Hawaiian Cottage on 5 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141871vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Denver,Colorado
5

Pat Peterson

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Aloha Candi & Michael;
Just wanted to share a review with future guests, because my stay at the cottage far exceded my expectations. You both were such wonderful hosts, and I so enjoyed the visists from the dogs, made me not miss mine so much. The cottage was so quaint and clean, and felt like a home away from home to me. I still think about the beautiful views from the front lanai, and it takes me back, if only for a moment. The location was excellent, and close enough to town and sights, but far enough away for a little solitude.
I look forward to staying again with you soon!
Mahalo
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quaint Hawaiian Cottage on 5 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141871vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
NE WI
5

Glamping on the Big Island!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Had a great time staying at the cottage on the Maka Nui Estate! I put "Glamping" in the title because that's what it was like…Camping with luxury. The cottage had everything we needed and felt absolutely safe and comfortable. No need to lock the doors or even shut them, just close the screen and let the sea breezes and the sound of the ocean drift through. The way the cottage is situated you can't see the main estate or the caretakers home just the magnificent view! … Except for that avocado tree Candi! Ha!

Our favorite spot was to sit in the Adirondack Chairs in the morning enjoying the wonderful coffee grown right on the property. We bought several bags of it for souvenirs to take home to family and friends.

The caretakers Candi and Michael are fantastic and are always available to give you great advice about where to go on the whole island for the best adventures! They were a blast to chat with!

The location was great if you want to get away from all the tourist chaos in Kona, but it its close enough to get right in the middle of it all within 15 – 20 minutes.

We had a great time on Hawaii! Some things not to miss are the Volcano National Park at Sunset (you can see the glow of Kilaeua from the Jaggar Museum), Green Sands on South Point (Ka Lea), Waipio’ Valley with it’s black sand beach, Waimea (beautiful alpine town on the way to Wapio’), Kealakehe Bay (best snorkeling anywhere!), Mauna Kea (Sunset at 13850’! Awesome!), a snorkeling cruise on the Hula Kai, and of course, I can’t forget “Quinn’s almost by the Sea” (the Kona Packer Bar flying the big green G!).

We were 4000 miles away and felt right at home. We’ll be back, but with reinforcements to fill up the big house! Great time!

Mahalo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you liked our slice of life! And yes we hope to deal w/avocado tree soon! Looking forward to having you back w/family & friends to enjoy the main home. You will REALLY enjoy that!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quaint Hawaiian Cottage on 5 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141871vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Springfield, Manitoba, Canada
5

7 days in Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
As first time visitors to the Hawaiian Islands, Big Island was the second stop on our journey. After reviewing all the suitable VRBO listings for a couple, we kept coming back to this site in the Captain Cook area and were extremely happy that we did. Maka Nui Cottage and the 5 acre property offered us a great deal, open space on the mountain slope with a beautiful view of the Kealakekua Bay (snorkelled here), a panoramic view of the west coast shoreline and ideal location to tour the entire island. There were many fruit, coffee and Mac trees which not only were supplied in our Welcome Gift Basket but the coffee and Mac nuts are available for purchase. We waited until our return home to enjoy the Mac nuts we bought from Candi and are very sorry we did. They were fantastic, we should have bought more....!

Candi and Michael were excellent hosts providing us many hours of seclusion but available when asked to provide info on a snorkel tour (FairWind AM tour was excellent), dining for lunch & dinner (Sam Choy's was a great suggestion..thank you), visiting the Punalu'u Bake Shop in Na'alehu on our way to Volcano Park and travelling from Hilo to Kona across the island. The new highway thru the mountains and above the clouds saved us lots of time.

Our week on the island wasn't long enough but Thanks to Candi and Michael, we will certainly return for a longer stay. Keep up the good work, you both are excellent ambassadors for this VRBO listing and the island. Future visitors of this heavenly property will not be disappointed.

Aloha & Mahalo from Vange & Bill - Springfield, Manitoba, Canada
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You are to kind! We are happy that you enjoyed yourselves here. When guests come for a week we try to help them see the most of this island. And to take the time to relax here at the cottage.
We look forward to seeing you here again & hope that the rest of your Hawaiian trip was grand.
Mahalo Candi & Michael
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quaint Hawaiian Cottage on 5 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141871vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
saskatoon sask canada
5

good times at guest cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My wife and I spent 3 weeks at cottage for our 25th, it was great. The property was very clean and well maintained, fresh fruit for the picking, as soon as we got there we felt at home. Every thing that they said was there, was, and in good working order. Candi and Michael were very helpful, anytime we had questions they were able to help us out, and the restaurants they recommend were all 5 star. The coffee that they grow and have roasted is the best, there was samples to try when we got there. This property is very private and quiet, centrally located on the Kona Coast and easy driving to all attractions. Candi and Michael really made this trip the best for us. Will be going back next year. We would highly recommend this cottage
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are always happy to meet & have new guests. For us they all end up being good friends for ;ife! We certainly look forward to seeing you next Jan/Feb.
Until then stay warm & be safe!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quaint Hawaiian Cottage on 5 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141871vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Boerne, Texas
5

Perfect Big Island Headquarters

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed for a week in October '12. We found the cottage to be exactly what we were hoping for, private, safe, secluded and quiet, but centrally located to all of our planned activities. Kona is a bit to the north, and Volacanoes National Park is about a 2hr. drive. Candi is a perfect hostess, there when you need her but invisible the rest of the time. She was a pleasure to deal with. The cottage itself is cozy and welcoming and the grounds of the property are very beautiful. We enjoyed fresh picked fruit every morning on the lanai with our new gecko friends. The view of the ocean from the cottage is awesome. Do yourself a favor, skip the cookie-cutter resorts and experience a little of the real Hawaii.Great trip, can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Quaint Hawaiian Cottage on 5 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141871vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Louisville KY
5

SO UPSET...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
That we had to come home! We had such a wonderful time at the cottage. We read the reviews before we booked and had high expectations-- believe the hype. Candi and Mike are great- they even invited us to Thanksgiving dinner which we enjoyed tremendously. The cottage was the perfect getaway for us- quiet, comfortable and had everything we needed for a perfect vacation in paradise. Candi recommended a massage therapist who came to the cottage and gave us wonderful massages. We are planning our next trip to Maka Nui - bringing the whole family next time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you posting here! We too had a great time on Thanksgiving.Your pumpkin pies were very tasty! And so glad that you enjoyed all that we have to offer.Can't wait for you & all the family to return. Mahalo again Candi & Michael
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quaint Hawaiian Cottage on 5 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141871vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Carmichael, CA
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My husband and I just returned from a stay at this beautiful cottage. During our 2 weeks on the Big Island, we stayed in 2 other vacation rentals on the island, but this was by far the best! It's a beautiful place in a convenient location with views to die for. There was great energy present. We were greeted/hosted by a wonderful person who will leave you alone if you like but who knows all of the places to go/things to do, she was awesome. We will go back and stay only here, can't wait to see the people again and the geckos! Mahalo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I will say your stay was pretty eventful!! Glad we made the top of the list for your return trip. Look forward to seeing you here soon! Take care
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quaint Hawaiian Cottage on 5 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141871vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Brooklyn, NY
5

If you're looking for simplicity, beauty and privacy, this is the place for you!

If you're looking for simplicity, beauty and privacy, this is the place for you!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We absolutely loved our stay at this wonderful cottage. As great as the photos are, they truly don't do justice to the property. The view from the lanai was stunning. The pool area was gorgeous and private with the surrounding lush garden. And several fantastic snorkeling coves are a lovely, short drive away. Candi and Michael were very knowledgeable and generous with their time and suggestions. They were very responsive to our needs and were as available as we wanted. The days we spent here left us with many fantastic memories and photos!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha you too!
I am glad that it all worked out for you. And hope your home & are area not to badly damaged during Storm Sandy. We look forward to having you again here in Hawaii Mahalo Nui Loa