Cambridge house rental - New Construction Classic Style
New Construction Classic Style
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps16
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Cambridge House Rental Photos and Description
6 Bedrooms + Loft - 5 Baths - (Sleeps 16 easily) 5300sf incl Covered Porches

Looking for a vacation rental that feels like a new resort? With acres of secluded waterfront, this luxury property is just 10 minutes from Cambridge, close to Easton, & St. Michaels. Also close to the Hyatt Chesapeake Bay Spa & Resort, it sits on a stretch of unspoiled land between the Choptank & Little Choptank rivers (we have two identical homes avail).

This huge home includes 6 bedrooms & 5 baths; a grand eat-in kitchen, 3 living rooms, a study & a 3rd-floor rec room. Gorgeous wraparound porches include a screened eating area overlooking the water.

This home is 'Eastern Shore mixed w/ a little 'Nantucket' ... The interior is modern & open, w/ large rooms, columns, new fine furnishings & extensive custom mill work. The exterior brings you back to the early part of the century with massive, open porches, wide steps & dormers.

This property is designed for the discriminating visitor looking for a true, outstanding getaway. 14' Carolina Skiff (boat) available for rent.

Exterior: +-3 Acres; private setting: Note The neighborhood is quiet and beautiful; a cul-de-sac of newer homes with water on one side. A gravel drive takes you through pine trees and grasses to a traditional 'Farm House' styled-home on the water, with lap siding and columned porches. A wide, staircases transitions the porch to the grand entrance, the pool and to the river. An expansive lawn is in the front of the house for entertaining; along with the large pool and deck on the side.

The house has gorgeous water behind it; Hudson Creek is only 100 feet from the rear steps. The pool and deck are located just off the kitchen. The house sits on three acres so you can take long walks through the pines or down the lane. The porches are huge, and provide a wonderful space for any weather. They have extensive seating for up to 14 in the 21 x 14 screened porch. The slanted porch ceilings are 12 feet high and expose the framing in a casual manner reminiscent of Nantucket. **NOTE WE HAVE TWO HOUSES**

INTERIOR: 4200+ sf; 5000+ under roof: The exterior is traditional; the interior a striking, open floorplan. Ceilings are tall. The kitchen, dining, family and sunroom combine for 1000 sf - yet it's a warm house. Custom millwork provides amazing detail.

1st floor includes a den and a full bath with slate floors for easy access to the pool. The living room is elegant and comfortable. Custom millwork including archways, beadboard walls and massive casement trim for craftsman-quality accents. The Kitchen: granite, oak and state-of-the-art appliances. There is a granite Island for food prep and eating space. There is a large pantry available to guests.

2nd floor has 4 bedrooms, 3 are suites. All bedrooms have water views, wide trim and Berber-style carpets. All baths have custom ceramic or slate tile, and brushed-nickel fixtures. The master bath has a Jacuzzi and floor-to-ceiling shower. Closet space is ample.

The 3rd floor: 1000 sf, including 2 bedrooms, a bath and large sitting area.

The Cambridge area: Cambridge Maryland:

Since its foundation in 1684, Cambridge has drawn those who love the water. Once a harbor for trading ships taking tobacco to England and later a deepwater port for 20th-century freighters, Cambridge was also a shipbuilding town. Skipjacks, bugeyes, and log canoes were made here. The town still draws boaters -- but now they are pleasure boaters.

High Street leads to the Choptank -- a lovely stroll with a great water view at the end. History buffs, especially those interested in the Civil War era, take interest in the town's connections with the Underground Railroad. Nature-lovers find it a nice stop on their way to Blackwater Refuge or to a hunting or fishing trip. Visitors planning a Mid-Shore visit to Easton or St. Michaels may prefer this quiet place as a base.

More Details
Hide Details

Built new in 2006. Our family owns two, almost identical homes in the area; both for rent year-round. We love our guests - almost all families making their own memories in all seasons and especially Summer, Spring and Fall.

John purchased this house in 2006

It's just the perft house and property for family vacations and memorable weekends.

16 Reviews of Property 141837 in Cambridge, Maryland

Almost new, private waterfront - dock, beach, private pool & more
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews
business
Almost new, private waterfront - dock, beach, private pool & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141837
+1 3019808436
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
Lancaster, PA
5

A wonderful place to reconnect with family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Our family of five including 3 teenagers had one of the most relaxing and fun vacation we've had in a long time. The house itself is well maintained, very clean with a nice "Pottery Barn" feel to it. I loved the fact that the kitchen opens to the family room which is huge. Families with young children will appreciate that the pool is gated. We spent our days by the pool, canoeing on the bay, enjoying appetizers on the dock, and grilling our dinners. There was no need for us to look elsewhere for entertainment. This house had everything we were looking for - a place to enjoy some great family time. I definitely recommend it to anyone who needs to reconnect with family and/or friends.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We almost exclusively cater to families such as this one; providing a place for generations to reconnect, have fun and explore. We appreciate the wonderful review and hope to see this family along with so many others again next year.
Helpful votes: 36/39
business
Almost new, private waterfront - dock, beach, private pool & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141837
+1 3019808436
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
5

We enthusiastically recommended this house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Loved our stay! Visited with 9 girlfriends for my birthday in October. From the moment we walked in, we we knew we picked the right house. We took advantage of everything - bikes, canoe, fire pit. The house is furnished like a home, not a vacation property. So when we weren't outside, we were sprawled out in the living room and kitchen, eating and sipping hot chocolate while we caught up. This is the perfect house for a family gathering, girls weekend, or couples get away. The kitchen and living room are large so your whole group can gather, but there are plenty of private spaces if you want your quiet time. (One I recommend is the end of the dock.) You feel like you are a world away, but if you forget anything, a Walmart is just 15 minutes away.
(Fall/Winter visitors - you can find firewood at Ace hardware.)
The weekend was just what everyone needed and the house played a central role. I enthusiastically recommended this house!
business
Almost new, private waterfront - dock, beach, private pool & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141837
+1 3019808436
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
Salem, VA
5

Great Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family of 8 adults and 7 children ages 1-16 just spent a week at the house and since all of the reviews on the property are several years old we wanted to provide some current information on the property. This was a GREAT house for our family. The pictures and descriptions are accurate and the house was spotless. The furnishings were obviously chosen with children in mind since it is comfortable and looks good but virtually indestructible. The ground floor is open and the dining table seated all of us. The kitchen is well stocked with pots and pans, serving platters, dishes etc All of the bedrooms are seperate and provide lots of privacy. Additionally the comforters on the beds were obviously new. The top floor provided lots of space for the tweens while the open bottom floor was great for the younger ones to run around and play. While there we did a fishing charter out of Cambridge and went to Ocean City which was 1 hour away (hint: research parking before you go) for a day. Otherwise we couldn't get the kids to leave the house because they were having so much fun. Don't be afraid to call or text the owner if you have a question or issue while at the house. He is amazing. When we had a question about the pool chemical levels he had the pool service there within 12 hours. The only downside to the property was the internet, Dish and phone accessability. It was spotty and down most of the time we were there. The owner tried to get it fixed but no one could come out until the following week. His warning about cell service is accurate. Between our famillies had 4 differant cell service providers and all of them had the same connection issues. Overall, aside from this problem we were very happy that we rented this house for our family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much to this lovely family for the gracious review.

We agree about the Dish service; Waterfront areas are remote and satellite service can be spotty and sensitive to the storms that occurred before their stay. We did send a private technician out for the Internet and it was OK for a time. TV Service is generally fine 99% of the time; Internet is more sensitive. We are looking into switching Internet providers.

As the review suggests the house, property and amenities were designed for large, multi-generation family stays, and we are very proud to contribute to so many great family vacations these past few years!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Almost new, private waterfront - dock, beach, private pool & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141837
+1 3019808436
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
5

The big family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
This house was the perfect destination for our family reunion. We had three generations of family together ranging in age from 1 year to 60+. Everyone had a fantastic time. We went crabbing, kayaking and canoeing along the river. At night, we had a campfire and then strolled down to the dock to see thousands of stars in the sky. Although cold, the kids all swam in the large pool. (we forgot to ask in advance to have the heat turned on in the pool - don't forget to do that!) We picked up crabs from a local vendor and had a huge crab feast on the back porch. After dinner, we'd all congregate into the large living room to play Catch Phrase and other board games. The kids were thrilled to have their own space, so they all slept on the third floor, where they all could share a bathroom and TV. Each set of grown-ups had their own room on the second floor. The cute little local country store sold delicious coffee and the morning walks around the neighborhood were wonderful. We had plans to go into town to be entertained, but ended up having so much fun at the house that we never left! The front porch also made for a great backdrop for a huge family reunion photo.
Owner's Response: We just loved this review and always love playing even a small part in a family's reunion. It's wonderful to host so many multifamily guests each year, and we're thrilled they had an excellent time!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Almost new, private waterfront - dock, beach, private pool & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141837
+1 3019808436
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
United States
5

Stunning Water Views, Gorgeous Home, Great Time!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
What a fun house on the water! Room after room for gathering together and playing cards and games, or going solo and reading a book or snoozing. Fabulous gourmet kitchen suitable even for our large family reunion full of great chefs. Beautiful property with cool pool, suite deck, all the amenities we could ever desire! It was great that everyone had a separate bathroom, and we could do a quick load of laundry after a day of hiking. We truly enjoyed this mellow setting, and took long walks, biked all over, walked to the little store right up the road for fresh eggs. Also took advantage of the grill, the front porch and the awesome dock and kayaks!
Is there anything better than sitting by the dock with a beverage watching the sun go down? Not from where we were hanging!
We had an absolutely wonderful time and will most certainly be back next year...save us a week, pretty please!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for such kind words.... ! We are fortunate to be a part of so many family gatherings - memories for several generations of families each time. Thank you again for being our guest!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Almost new, private waterfront - dock, beach, private pool & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141837
+1 3019808436
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
Portland, Maine
5

Business Retreat in Mid-October 2009

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
I am a travel agent in southern Maine and feel fortunate to have found The Cambridge Beach House thru HomeAway for a client who wanted to bring his managers from stores across the country together in the Maryland Shore area. The group totalled 15-20 people and the home very comfortably accomodated the whole group...spacious living areas including screened in porch, beautiful kitchen connected with large living and dining area, family room/den and 6 bedrooms. Even though there were 13 physical beds, the homeowner advised me during early discussions that he could rent air matresses that were bed height. Everyone loved the home and their weekend retreat at Cambridge Beach House.

The website for this home has great information for planning your visit...restaurants, activities, transportation options to name a few. I was able to accommodate all my clients requests either by reviewing this information or contacting the homeowner who was very gracious in answering all my calls!

Given the spaciousness of this home, it is perfect for a large family...even a family reunion. I found it to be very financially attractive for a large group after looking at hotel/inn prices in the area and it was much more conducive to connecting on a personal level than separate hotel rooms would be. Again, I am so thankful I found this home thru HomeAway...it was perfect for my group!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We do get groups; most often in Spring, Fall and Winter and as the guest said the house can be perfect for a close, uncrowded experience. They cooked crabs and went fishing (everyone caught a fish!) This group was great and the travel agent was excellent to work with.
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Almost new, private waterfront - dock, beach, private pool & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141837
+1 3019808436
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
Baltimore, MD
5

Perfect place for an Eastern Shore Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We were looking for a comfortable place that would be suitable for 8 adults and 6 children to relax and have fun during a long 3 day weekend. This house is exactly what we were hoping for. It is very large and spacious with all of the amenities provided to ensure a wonderful stay. There was plenty of room for the kids to play and for the adults to relax. Everyone was pleasantly surprised at what this home had to offer.

The views of the water were wonderful and put us in touch with nature and local wildlife. We used the kayak and canoe as well as the bikes. It was too late in the season to take advantage of the pool but it would have been perfect during the summer season.

We took the opportunity to visit the nearby Spocott windmill with a colonial tenant farmhouse, one-room schoolhouse and general store. This provided an educational experience for the kids as well as the adults.

Our entire stay was perfect and one we will fondly remember. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone interested in a stay in the Cambridge area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Spring and Fall are very popular seasons for us, with families and small groups staying for the week, or for a long weekend. Frequent Eastern Shore visitors know that the Fall and Spring holds much to do, with great fishing and crabbing and some of the most enjoyable events and festivals.... all with less traffic and less crowds!
Helpful votes: 20/21
business
Almost new, private waterfront - dock, beach, private pool & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141837
+1 3019808436
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
Baltimore and New York
5

Excellent choice (!) for our summer vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We were looking for a great place for a five day stay at the end of season – a chance to get the family together before the weather got too cool. There were fifteen of us total; eight adults and seven kids ranging from 3 to 15 and one well-behaved cocker spaniel. When our family meets, we look for a casual but very nice facility. The house was everything we hoped it would be, and the owner was really gracious and helpful. We’ve rented four homes in the past three years and this was possibly the best.

What we liked most was the layout which was very, very open downstairs so we were never crowded; the furnishings which someone else called “pottery barn” and that sounds right; the easy access to the beach and dock and pool. The house has a third floor with bedrooms a bath and play room which became “kid central” and that alone is worth the money!

To get to the house you take a very pretty two-lane road 10 miles out of Cambridge towards the Bay – a very pretty drive past farms and old waterfront homes. The neighborhood is quiet and the property is large. You can see the houses next door but we rarely saw any people. The pool is great; we liked having the bikes and boats and had plenty to do on the property which was key. The older kids virtually lived at the general store at the end of the lane. We used the fire pit almost every night. The house is 10-15 minutes from town and we took advantage of the short drive for a movie, a few meals out, Golf at the Hyatt and trips to the local gym which was surprisingly well-equipped.

Any suggestions we had were minor. The propane grill ran out but the owner paid us back for getting new gas at the end of the street. We needed to bring games for the kids but the games at most houses are always missing pieces. We would like to have seen additional place settings (they had, maybe 20?) so we could have two large meals without running the dishwasher, but that was it.

This house is perfect for a large family, it's very well maintained and it’s clear they cater to families like us all summer long. The area is beautiful. We had a great time and if we come to the Chesapeake Bay area we’ll absolutely book this house again!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for a very thorough and wonderful review! We've had a few guests tell us this is their favorite house and it's always wonderful to hear.

We designed the house to be two things at once; a place where a very large family can gather for meals and more, and also a house where kids or adults can get away without being isolated. Three floors and five shared living room/spaces do that very well.

They're right about providing games. We tried to provide them in the past but pieces always end up missing... we don't want to disappoint anyone.

The Lewis Country Store at the end of the street is famous; President Jimmie Carter visits there almost every year, and it's a legendary spot for the old-time locals to gather. Strangely enough it's also known for it's selection of wines and an amazing prix-fixe dinner two nights each week in the attached restaurant.

This was a great guest and we welcome them back any time.
Helpful votes: 26/27
business
Almost new, private waterfront - dock, beach, private pool & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141837
+1 3019808436
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
2

Definitely not luxury

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Sadly, this is definitely not what you would expect from a “luxury” house rental. Upon arrival, we spent our first hours of vacation cleaning this place. Ants had invaded the kitchen and the counter tops, sinks, floors were all filthy. Stagnant water had to be removed from both the front and back porches while dodging the massive horseflies that plague this region (expect many screams from your wives and kids!). The porches (including the screened in porch!) are infested with spiders and wasps so you can forget about a peaceful evening on the deck. We don’t consider a short road with 6 houses off a busy highway a “neighborhood” so don’t expect any “long walks through the pines”. And, sorry, no bike rides because 4 of the 5 are broken and rusted. The private waterfront luxury beach is more like a 10ft mud pit and I wouldn’t swim in that shallow murky water if you paid me. The pool was nice but was cold (you pay to heat the pool!) and algae had invaded by the end of the week. Although we would have used the boat, the puny 7HP engine was dead. Alas, we rented a boat to fish but despite using the locally recommended “peelers” for bait we spent days fishing without even a bite. We never saw another fishing boat so I’m very skeptical there are fish in the area. The bedrooms were missing vital furniture like dressers and nightstands and the kitchen lacked basic cooking tools. Contrary to the advertisement, this rental is also NOT pet friendly. On a positive note, we liked the layout of the house and the large living room for hanging out with our family. If maintained and properly cleaned, this house could be much improved. In the end, we felt manipulated by his misleading advertising and were ultimately very disappointed. The rate for this house far exceeds the value and, considering the number of rentals in the area, we strongly urge you to look elsewhere. When we expressed our complaints to the owner, he listened and was courteous but no reimbursement was offered and we didn’t sense much remorse.
Owner's Response: Will Rogers once said "A remark generally hurts in proportion to its truth". We hope it's obvious that this isn't a fair or truthful review as much as it is about a challenging, generally angry guest.
The guest was profane and belligerent even before his stay, and was profane, sarcastic and demeaning to our staff after his stay. Everything was an "intentional insult" (i.e., he was furious there was water on the porches, even though it rained the day he arrived). The list of concerns is even longer, including: that we had a sideboard in the den, the lack of measuring cups (there are four), the size of the toaster openings, the height of the shower soap ledge, the type of ceiling fan speed control, the size of a nightstand, and so on… Even more odd was that he told us he was very happy during his stay (we kept the emails).
We book full every summer, have many overwhelmingly happy and return guests, including those immediately before and after his stay. A review should be about the house, and not about the guest; but in this case there was no way to make this fellow happy. Will Rogers also once said "People who fly into a rage always make a bad landing". So... we will continue to channel our efforts into keeping our future guests happy.
-J&A
Helpful votes: 7/39
business
Almost new, private waterfront - dock, beach, private pool & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141837
+1 3019808436
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
Elkton, MD
5

Spring 2009 Weekend Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
I was in charge of seeking out a house that would fit up to 12 adults comfortably, with most of those adults being couples and 2 singles. So I needed a home that had multiple bedrooms, not just a home that had a lot of bunk beds! And boy, did I find it! The virtual tours were very helpful, and true to life. Everyone loved the house. It couldn't have been more perfect. We only wished we had come during a different season to enjoy this house to its full potential. We did get to visit briefly in town, where we found some cute and one of a kind shops. We also visited the Suicide Bridge Restaurant for dinner one evening, which was a good recommendation. Overall, everyone really enjoyed themselves, the house, it's quiet location and the views! We will definitely keep this house in mind for our next retreat, and will recommend it to others, as well.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Spring, Fall and even Winter stays are more popular than ever before. It's a beautiful, quiet getaway *any* time of year for friends, families and small groups. And; there's plenty to do in Cambridge, St, Michael's and other nearby attractions. We have a great website of our own with loads of "to do" ideas for vacationers.
These as always were lovely guests; we're very pleased they had a great time.
Helpful votes: 26/29