Acadia National Park apartment rental - Autumn sunrise at 'Ferncrest' (2013).
Autumn sunrise at 'Ferncrest' (2013).
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Acadia National Park Apartment Rental Photos and Description
National park entrance; Park Ranger owner; 2 bedrooms that sleep 3.

This guest apartment is the second floor of an extended New England Cape Cod house. Enjoy views from the windows of open fields and the mountains of Acadia National Park. There is a private entrance and off-street parking. You will find lots of extra detailing and an attractive, compact layout. Lithographs and prints of local scenes from Mount Desert Island are featured on the walls. A washer and dryer are adjacent to kitchen. The library includes classic fiction, mysteries, and nature books. Current tourist materials will help with planning your visit. The linen closet has all the sheets and towels you will need during your stay. The kitchen is stocked with dishes, flatware, cookware, and some basic condiments.

I will greet you upon arrival and give you an orientation to the apartment and the area. As a former Acadia National Park Ranger, I will provide first-hand information about visiting Mount Desert Island and other area attractions (Seal Cove Auto Museum is just around the bend). I will even tell you about my favorite walks: one for a foggy morning, another for that crystal-clear, blue-sky afternoon.

I have been helping public and private landowners protect New England's special places since 1974. Positions with The Nature Conservancy, Maine Coast Heritage Trust, and National Park Service support my conservation services for land trusts and park agencies. I also offer facilitation and interpretive planning services For more, please visit: www.linkedin.com/in/profile4bruce

Bruce Jacobson purchased this apartment in 1984

The quiet dead-end road and view of Acadia National Park are what drew me to 'Ferncrest.' I have spent the past 30 years making it my own.

This residence is gay friendly. Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island merchants do not particularly cater to gay and lesbian tourists. However, there are some gay-owned businesses and welcoming congregations on the island. I offer my local knowledge to help gay visitors find their way.

10 Reviews of Property 141438 in Acadia National Park, Maine

Overlooking Quiet Field and Mountains of Acadia National Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Overlooking Quiet Field and Mountains of Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141438
+1 617-263-2233
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Seattle, WA
5

Wonderland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
Off the beaten path of Acadia, we found this cute appartment, a great way to explore the subtle treasures of Acadia. While this place is on the quiet side of Desert Island, most attractions were very easy to reach within a thirty minutes drive.
Bruce, the owner, was very helpful with maps and tips, also provided us with a flashlight in the middle of the night, when a storm cut the electricity. And we would definitely come back as soon as possible!
Helpful votes: 35/35
business
Overlooking Quiet Field and Mountains of Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141438
+1 617-263-2233
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Super all around. All amenities. Good location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Super location and super place to stay.
Spotlessly maintained with all amenities.
Absolutely recommend it.
Bruce is a great host with the best suggestions for activities, sites to visit in the area and restaurants to dine at.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Overlooking Quiet Field and Mountains of Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141438
+1 617-263-2233
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

A magical, quiet place close to nature.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We were simply thrilled with our stay at Ferncrest. If you are looking to get away from it all and enjoy nature's beauty and quiet in a wonderful location right next to Acadia, this is the place for you.

Bruce is a wonderful and kind host and provided us with advice and information prior to the booking. He gave us some excellent hiking tips and made every effort to ensure we were comfortable. And how could we not be? Bruce has a lovely home and the apartment, which he rents is just so cozy and homely that one struggles to leave. The descriptions provided are absolutely accurate. The only thing one cannot 'read' from the website is the charm of the place although photos are telltale signs of it. The location is perfect for exploring the island although we much preferred staying on the Quiet Side than the busy area in the east. We very much enjoyed Thurston's lobster in Bernard and highly recommend it. There are many interesting and varied trails right on the doorstep too! We hope to return and have already recommended the place to relatives and friends. Thank you, Bruce!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Overlooking Quiet Field and Mountains of Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141438
+1 617-263-2233
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

The perfect place to stay on Mt Desert Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
What an amazing place and great find. Bruce has created the perfect getaway on the "quiet side " of the island. It was clean and just as described. Bruce offered us so many suggestions of great hikes and places to see that it took us three days to get to Acadia! Beautiful night skies from his back yard and great views of the mountain from your window Close to great hikes and good food. Cadillac Mtn is less than 30 minutes away. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is the place for you!
Owner's Response: The night skies are amazing here. So much so, there is an annual night sky festival at Acadia National Park.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Overlooking Quiet Field and Mountains of Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141438
+1 617-263-2233
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Lovely property in an idyllic setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Ferncrest is ideally situated on the quiet side of MDI, a perfect spot for a quiet vacation away from city life. The property is nicely laid out with a private entrance and well-maintained. Bruce is an accommodating host and knowledgeable about Mount Desert. The view of Western Mountain from the second floor apartment is an adjunct to that of gentle fields and apple trees immediately below. I recommend a hike across Western, really three separate peaks, for an adventure in mystery and tranquility on an infrequently visited spot in Acadia National Park. No need to go early to avoid crowds. For those not accustomed to climbing, venture over to Seawall for the sound of surf pounding Maine granite or to inspect tide pools. Nesting ducks in season may be seen nearby. There is always Bar Harbor, Jordan Pond, Cadillac Mountain, Ocean Drive, Mail Boat to the Cranberries, so much to do in this very special area, an existence not duplicated anywhere else that I have ever been. After a busy day hiking and photographing, I found Ferncrest the perfect respite for recharging I hope to visit again.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Overlooking Quiet Field and Mountains of Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141438
+1 617-263-2233
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Cambridge, MA
5

Already Dreaming of Our Return

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Even before we left Ferncrest, we were already dreaming of our return. This idyllic retreat, located on Mt. Desert's "quiet side" was a perfect place from which to launch adventures across the island and a homey, though well-appointed, place to return to each night. We loved the games and books that lined the shelves, the full kitchen, comfortable beds and small artistic details that made every room feel personal and personally connected to the island. Most of all we loved the view of the meadows and mountains from our window. Bruce was a knowledgeable and generous host whose suggestions led us to swimming and hiking adventures we would not likely have discovered otherwise. With Ferncrest as our home away from home we plan to return to enjoy this beautiful island's many treasures.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Overlooking Quiet Field and Mountains of Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141438
+1 617-263-2233
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Tallahassee
5

Mount Desert Island Suite bordering Acadia Park

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Very comfortable suite within a short distance to Acadia National Park. The rooms are spacious and comfortable offering three levels of pillow firmness with a well stocked library. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils and the washer and dryer are very accessible. We had a wonderful time in the park as Bruce was able to direct us locations we had not heard about. Some great swimming holes nearby and several hiking trails. The place is very comfortable, clean and well located. We hope to fit this into our travel plans in the future. I highly recommend this property!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Overlooking Quiet Field and Mountains of Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141438
+1 617-263-2233
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

A Fantastic Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My husband and I spent the entire summer of 2011 at Ferncrest on Mount Desert Island and for many reasons truly enjoyed it. If anyone is looking for a quiet location with a beautiful view, it's found here. Within walking or biking distance of national park land and trails, and located on the quiet side of the island, Ferncrest is ideal. The upstairs windows and downstairs deck look out onto the mountains. A quick five minute ride will take you to the ocean.
The apartment is nicely furnished and the kitchen well equipped. All is kept very clean and neat. The washer and dryer are on the same level as the apartment...a big added convenience. Parking is in front of the house and easily accessed.
Bruce, the owner, is very accommodating and since he's been both a ranger at Acadia and has lived there for many years, he can give invaluable advice about what to do and where to go.
I highly recommend Ferncrest
Owner's Response: My guest suite is again available by the week. (It was unusual to have one couple stay the entire summer.)
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Overlooking Quiet Field and Mountains of Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141438
+1 617-263-2233
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Cozy nest for nature lovers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Really comfortable queen sized bed (we used one room), great views, the sun floods the breakfast table, perfectly private, and a great staging area for exploring Acadia National Park's east and west sides. Bruce is very friendly and had great suggestions for hikes, tide pooling, bird watching, and biking (he's a former Acadia National Park Ranger - it was like having our own tour guide!). New washer/dryer are nice amenities, and the little kitchen was perfect for our week's stay. The listing was very helpful and accurate, and the place is clean. We definitely recommend this relaxing, cozy suite!
Owner's Response: I'm always happy to share local knowledge with guests---I love this place!
Helpful votes: 15/15
business
Overlooking Quiet Field and Mountains of Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141438
+1 617-263-2233
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Charming vacation stop

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This lovely apartment was the perfect place for us as we explored the beauty of Acadia. It is nicely furnished, and the central location made it easy for us to find our way around. The owner, Bruce, is accommodating and friendly, very knowledgeable and helpful when asked for suggestions. Our Acadia stay was much more pleasant than a typical hotel visit because we chose to stay here. Highly recommended.
Helpful votes: 18/18