St. Joseph house rental - front of McNeil House
front of McNeil House
 
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps17
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

St. Joseph House Rental Photos and Description
Six bedrooms (with extra bonus rooom) 2 1/2 baths, sleeps 17

Location, Location, Location. On historic, brick lined, State Street right in downtown St. Joseph. An easy walk to Silver Beach, SJ Library, Krasl Art Museum and more. The house is classic, spacious and lovingly restored. Available for family reunions, weddings, retreats, workshops, etc. The house offers six bedrooms including a bonus adjoined room with a queen futon off the bedroom with two queens. There are two bedrooms on the first floor, and four (plus extra room) on the second floor. The downstairs bedrooms offers a twin bed and the other bedroom has a queen and twin bed. Upstairs offers a suite with a queen futon and two queens. Another bedroom offers a trundle (two twins). There is a large master bedroom with a queen and two twins and another bedroom with a desk and a queen bed. This pre-civil war home is nicely furnished with art and antiques, yet cozy and comfortable. There are two very large bathrooms and a brand new half bath. There is a formal dining room (with piano!) & eat-in kitchen. The living/dinning room are large and perfect for large gatherings.

Weeks and weekends available!: This house is large and available off-season for weekend getaways, reunions, small weddings, retreats and football games, etc. Very conveniently located to downtown and the beach. Closest house to town on brick lined street.

Please see our other houses on homeaway.com.

Sand Rabbit (6 bedrooms, sleeps 14) www.homeaway.com/309683

Emma's (3 bedrooms, sleeps up to 8) www.homeaway.com/317736

Sunflower (2 bedrooms, sleeps up to 6) www.homeaway.com/315880

More Details
Hide Details

I grew up in Michigan and discovered St. Joe on my way back home to Chicago. I purchased my first rental the Sand Rabbit about eight years ago. After renovating that house and a smaller house up on State St, I needed a break! One day, however, while walking downtown I noticed a 'for sale' sign at the McNeil House and it was love at first sight. I'm a social worker, yoga instructor, freelance writer and mother of two kids and a big, lovable chocolate lab. I really didn't want another 'project,' but I loved the historic (pre-civil war) home and, like a stray puppy, I couldn't help myself. The grand dame has come back to life!

I have so many dreams for this huge house. I think it could be a bed and breakfast or a salon where cultural events are held. I love the idea of a tea house or selling artist work. I have lots of art and antiques (including my mother's piano) in the house and yet it's not stuffy or formal. It an AWESOME place for families to gather because of it's size and the location is the best. I'm the closest (and biggest) house to downtown St. Joe and the beach is a couple blocks away. Come check it out and fall in love for yourself!

Location, location, location.

16 Reviews of Property 141154 in St. Joseph, Michigan

HISTORIC & LARGEST HOUSE -Downtown--NOW AVAILABLE for 2nd week of August 2014!
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews
business
HISTORIC & LARGEST HOUSE -Downtown--NOW AVAILABLE for 2nd week of August 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141154
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Tiskilwa
4

McNeil House-where memories are made.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
McNeil House suited our requirements perfect. Four families stayed here for a wedding weekend (& longer for some) & the room layout was great for each family to have their own space. Loved being close to 'Historic Old St. Joe' and able to walk downtown & to the parks and beach. I'd stay again in a minute.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for celebrating such a special time together at the McNeil House! I'm delighted that you found the house roomy and perfect for four families. We also love the location and being so close to quaint, downtown St. Joe, different parks and the beach. Please come back and visit anytime! Jennifer
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
HISTORIC & LARGEST HOUSE -Downtown--NOW AVAILABLE for 2nd week of August 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141154
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
5

Wonderful wedding weekend house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was a truly wonderful place to house our wedding party for an early summer wedding. Perfectly situated, spacious, and with a lovely porch, the house really has it all. Highly recommended!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
HISTORIC & LARGEST HOUSE -Downtown--NOW AVAILABLE for 2nd week of August 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141154
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
5

Perfect for active groups

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Location, Location, Location. That is exactly right. Even in the cold and wind of late December 2012, we had no problem making the short walks to the beach to see the natural ice sculptures or into town for shopping and eating. The house is clean and comfortable and I would imagine a summer stay would be just that much better for active families.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
HISTORIC & LARGEST HOUSE -Downtown--NOW AVAILABLE for 2nd week of August 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141154
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Chicago, Illinois
5

Bride/Groom/Wedding Party enjoyed time together.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
You cannot beat the location of this St. Joseph gem. You can walk anywhere you'd want to be in St. Joseph. Within two blocks you can pick up your marriage license, sip a latte, have a wine tasting, drink some cold schooners or eat fried pickles at Silver Beach pizza, play in the giant fountain, ride the carousel, hit the beach, buy some Spanx at a boutique, or pick up a tchotchke at an old school General Store, you get the idea.... :)
Many of our wedding guests stayed at the Boulevard Inn and since it is right across the street, guests were coming and going throughout the weekend. They didn't even have to use the doorbell to alert us of their arrival because someone was enjoying the porch at all times. We even played baggo in the front yard (we brought it, not provided by owner).
If your goal is to have a casual, comfortable environment where you can make the kind of memories that can only be made in a home, this is the place. If you have a group over 4 adults and each want private room/bathroom with turn-down service (and prefer not to laugh, talk, sip on libations, and enjoy some good times)...you should choose another place. Do it. You know you want to.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
HISTORIC & LARGEST HOUSE -Downtown--NOW AVAILABLE for 2nd week of August 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141154
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Fort Wayne, Inidana
5

Wedding week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We spent the week of our daughter's St. Joseph wedding in the McNeil house. (second week of April 2011)

We loved the "shabby chic" feel of the home....found it to be comfortable and a perfect place to soak up some very special time with our family.
The kitchen was very well stocked and we found that we had everything we needed to cook and enjoy time with our kids.

The wedding was at Shadowland Pavillion on Silver Beach....the location of the McNeil house was perfect for our family.

We so enjoyed the close proximity to downtown shopping. We took total advantage of coffee at Cafe Tosi's.....some wine tasting at White Pine winery...my daughters and I had a pamper day at Twin City Nails....my parents from Ohio loved the touristy shopping of Edgewater gifts. We even walked to our tux fitting at Landis!!

It was very nice to have the option of the downstairs bedroom(s)s...perfect for my "young at heart" parents...they didn't have to navigate stairs.

Just an overall fantastic week was had....the McNeil house suited us very well!! We can't wait to come back again!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
HISTORIC & LARGEST HOUSE -Downtown--NOW AVAILABLE for 2nd week of August 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141154
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Chicago
5

New Year

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We spent New Year Eve in this house. Nice location, enough space for 5 families, warm, all utilities you need for cooking, plus it's a historic house. We liked it and can recommend it.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
HISTORIC & LARGEST HOUSE -Downtown--NOW AVAILABLE for 2nd week of August 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141154
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Evanston, IL
5

a wonderful vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at MacNeil House. The house itself is beautiful and comfortable, filled with an eclectic array of lovely vintage furniture and art, as well as games, toys, and videos. Just like staying at the summer home of your favorite relative. The house is comfortable and clean, and would make a great spot for a family vacation or a romantic getaway. Close to the beautiful beach, and even closer to great art galleries, shops, restaurants and bars. St. Joe itself is a great town with plenty to do, including lots of sports and other outdoor activities. And Jennifer, the owner, was very nice and responsive. The only problem with my stay there was that it was simply not long enough. I look forward to coming back soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
HISTORIC & LARGEST HOUSE -Downtown--NOW AVAILABLE for 2nd week of August 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141154
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
St. Louis, Missouri
5

McNeil House July 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
WOW!! My favorite thing is when I am expecting something good and I get something FANTASTIC instead! The McNeil house was a fantastic surprise. It was comfortable, clean and inviting. Every room is tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished. The dining room allowed our large group to eat meals together at the same table and play games late into the night. We spent evenings on the front porch reading and talking following a short walk to the beach to watch the sunset.

Ken and Jennifer were great and provided great service while we were in St. Joseph.

This was a great place to reconnect with old friends and watch our children (ages 8-20) having fun together at the beach, hanging out on the front porch, or eating icecream at Kilwins.

Silver Beach is amazing and beautiful. St. Joseph is our new favorite vacation spot and I will stay at McNeil House again and again!!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
HISTORIC & LARGEST HOUSE -Downtown--NOW AVAILABLE for 2nd week of August 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141154
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Chicago
5

Last minute getaway was perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
My husband and I decided we need to get out of town over memorial day. When I called Jennifer on short notice, she immediately got back to me and made our last minute idea a reality. She was prompt and accommodating. The McNeil house was located steps from the downtown and beach--a perfect location in this adorable little town. We were also so glad to be able to bring our dog. St. Joe's is totally dog friendly! The house was clean and spacious. The weather was perfect. We will definitely contact Jennifer in the future to book this with our friends!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the McNeil House and discovered how close we are to the beach and our "adorable little town." St Joe is definitely a dog and people friendly kind of place (this year art and dogs can be found on every block!). We look forward to you staying with us next time!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
HISTORIC & LARGEST HOUSE -Downtown--NOW AVAILABLE for 2nd week of August 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141154
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Belleville, Illinois, USA
5

Great Location, Lots to do in the area.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Our mid July week was super for all 17 of us. A fun get together for us with our children and grandchildren. Walk to beautiful Silver Beach, downtown for shopping, ice cream and Chicago Style hot dogs. Lots of people watching on the front porch. Great weather, plenty of room in this big historic home. We all loved it and we will be back in 2010. Thanks Jennifer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at the McNeil House. Glad you found it spacious enough for your clan of 17! We are delighted that you want to come back and look forward to your return! Yeah, love that front porch. Jennifer