Old Center apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Old Center Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Located in an historic canal house built in the mid 1700's, this three bedroom, two and one-half bath canal house offers the perfect Amsterdam experience. It is conveniently found between the Flower Market and the 'Negen Straatjes' (Nine Streets). This is the very heart of Amsterdam's famous canal belt with all major tourist sites within 10 minutes walking distance.

Situated on the first, second and third floors above the ground, the apartment is light and airy with large windows in every room. The first floor opens up into a comfortable living room with canal views, a fully equipped eat-in kitchen with a dining table that seats six guests and large windows that open onto the inviting garden terrace (there is also a door!). There is a half bath on this floor with a toilet and washbasin. Up the stairs to the second floor, you will find two bedrooms and a full bath. The first bedroom has a lovely canal view, a queen bed (160x200 cm), an armchair and antique dresser. The second bedroom also has a queen bed plus an antique armoire and an indonesian bench. The view is of the charming garden terrace one floor below. The bath is located on the landing between the two rooms and has a toilet, wash basin and a shower separate from the bathtub. Up the last staircase, you will find the third bedroom on the third floor. This room has a double bed (140x200 cm), a dresser and comfortable chair. The view is mostly of the sky (although you may also look down to see the garden terrace). A particular favorite for its sense of privacy and calm, this bedroom also has a small private bath with toilet, walk-in shower and washbasin. Also on the thrid floor is the laundry room with top quality washer and dryer.

Please remember that in Europe we count the floors as ground floor, then first, second, third, fourth, etc.

This apartment is within easy walking distance (2-20 minutes) of all attractions including: the Flower Market, the Spui, DamSquare, Rembrandtplein, Leidseplein, Rijksmusum, Van Gogh Museum, Hermitage Museum, the Anne Frank House and the Red Light District.

Tram lines are a 2-3 minute walk from the apartment.

Access to Centraal Station is via tram although it can be walked in about 20 minutes, without bags.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 141072 in Old Center, Netherlands

Lovely Canalside Apartment by Flower Market
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Lovely Canalside Apartment by Flower Market
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141072vbi
+31 6 41618527 (Netherlands)
Old Center Amsterdam
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
PERFECT! we took my parents to Amsterdam for the weekend for my fathers 80th birthday,the apartment was great and central for everything and walking distance to some great restaurants.
The apartment was clean and very comfortable and Franklyn was very helpful on our arrival, hopefully we will be back, Gina.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely Canalside Apartment by Flower Market
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141072vbi
+31 6 41618527 (Netherlands)
Old Center Amsterdam
5

No surprises

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We LOVED this apartment. Our family of 4 (2 grown sons) immediately felt at home. Without a doubt we recommend Susan's 'typical Dutch' apartment. It was bright, airy and convienently located to the hub.....but still far enough away to be able to sleep with our windows open. If we could go back tomorrow, we would....and this time stay longer. Although we did not us the kitchen or the cute patio we found the kitchen to be fully functionaly and cozy. The beds and the linens were inviting after a long day of sight seeing and shopping.
Treat youself, treat your family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely Canalside Apartment by Flower Market
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141072vbi
+31 6 41618527 (Netherlands)
Old Center Amsterdam
Reno, NV
5

Fantastic Location, Beautiful View!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This home was much more than we expected - and much larger. The living room is spacious with beautiful canal views; it opens into a very large and open kitchen that opens onto a lovely peaceful private back deck. We walked or took the tram everywhere. After busy days in the noisier parts of Amsterdam this home is a wonderful respite to walk home to, with a plethora of restaurants to dine in!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely Canalside Apartment by Flower Market
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141072vbi
+31 6 41618527 (Netherlands)
Old Center Amsterdam
Canada
5

I want to stay here again soon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I have such good memories of staying here! The location can't be beat; close to shopping, restaurants etc. We spent lots of time watching pedestrians and cyclists out the front window. A very relaxed atmosphere for us older folk but the young adults with us found tons to see and do. We had everything we could have possibly needed in this house. Bathrooms, bedrooms and a lovely living room and kitchen made this the perfect spot for my adult kids, my husband and I to stay. I honestly want to stay again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely Canalside Apartment by Flower Market
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141072vbi
+31 6 41618527 (Netherlands)
Old Center Amsterdam
New York
5

A Fantastic 3-Generation Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We decided to make a 3 generation family trip to Amsterdam, it was amazing. We stayed at this house on the Canal - it was perfect! Close enough to the center of Amsterdam (4 minutes from Dam Square), yet a few canals away from the nightlife and commercial centers. We were able to walk and bike the length and breadth of Amsterdam. Our accommodations were ideal - room for everyone, a fully equipped kitchen and enough staples (tea, coffee, sugar, oil) to get us started, laundry, Wi-Fi - allowed us to eat-in, eat out, and have quiet time. The photos and email communication were true and reliable, the descriptions and expectations were accurate. Amsterdam is ideal for walking, touring, art museums, historical explorations, biking, etc. The Museumkaart and 7 day tram pass made our excursions hassle-free. Our best recommendation is that the visitor identify their touring styles first, so that they don't miss their highlights. The information VVV centers were very helpful. We would certainly use this house on any return visits to Amsterdam.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely Canalside Apartment by Flower Market
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141072vbi
+31 6 41618527 (Netherlands)
Old Center Amsterdam
Victoria, BC, Canada
5

Family Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family of five spent 5 nights in this wonderful home in late July. We found the apartment perfect for our needs. Our greeting and settling in was flawless. We enjoyed the three bedroom-three bathroom space and the perfect location right on the Canal. We found the unit to be spotlessly clean and very well maintained and equipped. The value was great. We could not have arranged two centrally located hotel rooms for the same price. Susan, our contact was very professional and helpful in finalizing our booking and in providing the necessary instructions. We look forward to a repeat booking in future years.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely Canalside Apartment by Flower Market
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141072vbi
+31 6 41618527 (Netherlands)
Old Center Amsterdam
Crown Point, IN
5

Great location and great apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
I was one of 4 women traveling in Europe who stayed at this apartment in October, 2010 for a 3-night stay. What a great place! Location is terrific, easy walk to many cafes, bars, etc. Beautiful canal out the front window is what you hope to be looking at, but many times are not, when you visit Amsterdam. Lucky to have patio to enjoy when weather is decent. Winding staircase up to bedrooms may be tricky for some but we enjoyed its authenticity due to the small widths of places in the city. We will surely return to this apartment next time we are lucky enough to be in Amsterdam.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Lovely Canalside Apartment by Flower Market
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p141072vbi
+31 6 41618527 (Netherlands)
Old Center Amsterdam
seattle
5

Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We recently stayed here during out Summer Vacation in July. This apartment is located in a great part of the city and it reflects all the old world charm that you would imagine in Amsterdam. Located on the 2nd to 4th floor, you have great views of the canal, and the crossroads filled with bikes. The hoyse has all the amenties you could ask for, and it also had its own private outdoor courtyard in the back.

It really made it feel like we had a new home...in a beautiful little city in Europe. We would highly recommend this place if your going to be in Town

Erick
Seattle, WA USA
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Erick! I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the apartment and Amsterdam. I would just like to clarify that the apartment is on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors. In Europe the ground floor is the ground floor and you start counting as you go up. (Ground, 1st, 2nd, 3rd) The beauty of this is you know exactly how many flights of stairs you have to climb. It's actually this way in many high-rise office buildings in the US but no one thinks about it because they just puch a button to go up. Why it's different in US housing, I'm not certain (and yes, I am an American so it was one of many adaptations made for living in Europe!)
Helpful votes: 4/4