Reliance cabin rental - The Anglers Hideaway Cabin
The Anglers Hideaway Cabin
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Reliance Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, Loft, 2 BA, sleeps 8-10

The name of our cabin says it all 'Anglers Hideaway'. Purchased and managed by two college buddies who have been fly fishing together over fifteen years, this property is the perfect place to get away from it all and do some fishing. Located on the beautiful Hiwassee River in southeastern Tennessee, this cabin is close to all the action. Twenty minutes south and you can be rafting on the Ocoee River. Thirty minutes north you can fish the famous Tellico river in Tellico Plains, TN. Or you can just stay on the Hiwassee River while rafting and fishing! Whatever your daily activities entail, you can rely on one thing; the evening at the cabin will be unforgettable. Enjoy relaxing in a rocking chair on the porch, or plan a cookout using the grill. Inside you will find a full kitchen, laundry room, dining room, large loft area upstairs, and a comfortable living room for relaxing inside. Check out our pictures and come see our Hideaway.

Rafting: We have information on rafting the world class Ocoee River which is only minutes away from the cabin. We also have information on rafting the Hiwassee River which is where the cabin is located. You will find class 5 rapids on the Ocoee while the Hiwassee is a class 2.

Trout Fishing: Fish the Hiwassee River. Several miles of trout fishing, guides are available with the Hiwassee Outfitters. Or fish the Tellico River just minutes up the road in Tellico Plains.

Sight Seeing: Motorcycles are welcome and encouraged to come and enjoy the beautiful scenery around the Cherokee National Forest. There is a winery on Hwy 411 and a many areas for a Sunday drive for the leaves of the fall.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 140598 in Reliance, Tennessee

Anglers Hideaway at Hiwassee River
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews
business
Anglers Hideaway at Hiwassee River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140598
205 281-9028
Reliance Tennessee
Corinth, MS
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Couldn't have been nicer. Much roomier that the pictures indicate. Location is prime with little creek running right by cabin and surrounded by hills. Owners were very accommodating. Lots to do nearby--beautiful fall foliage, hikes in the woods, angling for trout in the Hiawasee, antiquing in Etowah and Tellico Plains. You won't be bored---this is a bargain and well worth the money. We are going to come again we hope in the Spring.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Anglers Hideaway at Hiwassee River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140598
205 281-9028
Reliance Tennessee
4

Retreat in the woods

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This cabin is a wonderful retreat in the woods beside a clear creek. Beautiful location. However, it rained non stop the 3 days we were there. Dark house due to no sunlight. No cell service. Gas grill was very low on propane even though we asked owners to fill it before our stay. Overall, a beautiful, functional place with good location and full amenities.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Anglers Hideaway at Hiwassee River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140598
205 281-9028
Reliance Tennessee
Washington DC
5

No Place Like It!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We spent a week at the Angler's Hideaway. 6 adults and 5 kids (ages 2 - 10). Plenty of room for everyone. The pictures on the VRBO website don't really do it justice. This place is so peaceful! The sound of the running creek, the foliage, the railroad tracks and the river is all within walking distance. If you are looking for the typical "Big City" TN experience, than this may not be for you. This place is for people who want to fish, spend time catching up with loved ones and enjoy the outdoors. We had really crappy weather while we were there (cold temps, rain and snow) but that didn't slow us down. Kids stayed entertained the entire time. And when it got too wet outside for them to play, we sent them up to the loft to play games and build tents. Even better is the level of care taken by the owners. Our oven quit working at 5 pm on Friday night. Within 20 minutes someone showed up to repair it. Unfortunately it couldn't be repaired so he left. Although we were bummed about not having an oven...we figured given the time (it was now 6:30 pm on a Friday night) and the location of the cabin to any major town we assumed they would just would maybe prorate the rent (or something). Were we ever surprised when the guy came back 2 hours later with a brand new oven! He drove all the way to Lowes in Athens where the owners had already purchased a new oven and had it waiting on him. We actually chatted up the maintenance guy about the area and enjoyed talking with him. I I can't say enough about this place. But I do want to be clear that it's rustic (not to be confused with primitive) all you need for an outdoor adventure and all the creature comforts on the inside. But there is no over the top decorations, hot tubs and gourmet kitchens you find in so many of the TN rentals. This place is for the adventurous types who like to get outside and have fun. Take to heart that there is no internet (which for me was difficult but for my husband it made the place that much better!) And there is no cell service. When the oven broke we had to drive off the mountain to make the call. Do yourself a favor a pick up a calling card at Dollar General (located about 10 miles away) just in case. We are looking forward to booking it again in the summer so we can enjoy the rafting provided by the Hiwassee Outfitters (which is 2 minute walk) and get a better shot at the fishing. Loved this place and would rent it again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Anglers Hideaway at Hiwassee River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140598
205 281-9028
Reliance Tennessee
childersburg, al.
4

renter

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
House and location was great and met all of our expectations. Check in time was 4:00 pm and we arrived at 4:45 pm and the lady was still cleaning. She stopped and we tidety up some more. Overall a great place and we plan on using again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Anglers Hideaway at Hiwassee River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140598
205 281-9028
Reliance Tennessee
United States
5

Unforgettable Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My husband and I, having never been to Tennessee, decided to make a trip out to visit his mother and sister who recently moved to the Chattanooga area. Gathering old friends I haven't seen her years, family members traveling in from Boston and Cleveland, Ohio, we had an amazing stay at the Anglers Hideaway that I will treasure always. The cabin is set away from the road, opening out to a beautiful tributary of the Hiwassee, with porches on three sides perfect for just relaxing on and sipping a little sweet tea (loved that stuff!) As a biologist, I was enchanted with the beautiful deciduous forests of Tennessee and enjoyed several hikes right outside the cabin door. The owners are amazing guys to work with and were so accommodating and friendly, we felt at home immediately. Thank you for a truly wonderful stay and the best introduction to the beauty of Tennessee I can possibly imagine!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Anglers Hideaway at Hiwassee River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140598
205 281-9028
Reliance Tennessee
Nashville, Tennessee
5

Great place to stay for the Hiwassie River

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Great cabin that is close to the Hiwassie and Ocoee! Right next to Hiwassie Outfitters but with lots of privacy! Set up for a whole group to stay there with lots of room for all. All the appliances you need to feel at home! Will definitely stay there again! Owners are great folks and will make your stay enjoyable!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Anglers Hideaway at Hiwassee River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140598
205 281-9028
Reliance Tennessee
Carrollton, GA
5

July 4th weekend 2011, awesome cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We so enjoyed our stay. The cabin is cozy and loaded with conveniences and amenities. It was very clean. The setting is beautiful and peaceful. Secluded enough that you can just lay back, relax and enjoy the peace & quiet. And close enough to other activities that you can easily join in the fun. The owners were wonderful & went the extra mile for me when I left some belongings in the cabin. Will definitely visit again & would highly recommend a stay here. Do follow the owners directions and not the GPS directions that took us down a one land mountain road, path really...it got a little scary for a few minutes. The owners directions were right, but we were using the GPS. Great adventure though!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Anglers Hideaway at Hiwassee River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140598
205 281-9028
Reliance Tennessee
Atlanta
5

Location, Location, Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
What a great place. Everything was perfect. We had 4 adults and 5 kids (ages 11-22). We had plenty of room. The cabin is very private, but you are right next to Hiwassee Outfitters. There you can rent rafts to go down the river. The Ocoee is 15-20 minutes down the road if you want some raging water. The kids had a great time exploring and fishing. The creek in front of the cabin is perfect for any age kid to explore and the river is just a short walk down the creek for fishing. We will rent this place again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Anglers Hideaway at Hiwassee River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140598
205 281-9028
Reliance Tennessee
Atlanta
5

Location, location, location!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This place was perfect. The small creek on the property is perfect for any age child to play in. Hiwassee Outfitters is at the end of the driveway. Hiwassee Outfitters has a small store and you can rent rafts to go down the river. The Hiwasse River is very gentle. We saw a family with a 3 year old on our trip down the river. My 11 and 13 year old navigated the river on an inflatable raft with no problem.

The cabin is very private, yet you are right where you want to be. If the raging waters of the Ocoee are more your style, it is just 20 minutes down the road.

The kids were never bored. They played in the creek, fished and explored the area from dusk until dawn. At night they went down like logs.

The cabin itself is very comfortable. We slept 4 adults and 5 children (aged 11-22). The kitchen was well stocked with kitchenware. We will denfinitly rent this place again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Anglers Hideaway at Hiwassee River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140598
205 281-9028
Reliance Tennessee
Gadsden, Alabama
5

Super place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This cabin was way more than I expected! The description and pictures just doesn't do it justice. For starters, it is VERY spacious. We were there with 4 adults and three teenage kids and never got in each other's way.
Secondly, the suclusion was a huge surprise. I am used to Gatlinburg and other locations where the cabins are practically side by side. Once you pass the campground and cross the picturesque covered bridge, it is just you and nature nestled in between two ridges and a crystal clear creek.
There was one little problem with the water when we first arrived, but Rusty, the owner, bent over backwards to make everything right. He was genuinely concerned over our comfort. He contacted someone there and they came out and fixed the problem right away.
Rusty even called during our stay to make sure everyone was having a good time and were enjoying the cabin.
The cabin is walking distance to Hiwassee Outfitters which has a small store and sits right by the Hiwassee river. It is also about 9 miles to the Ocoee River.
So if you are looking to spend time at either of these places, I highly recomend staying at the Angler's Hideaway.
Thanks guys for sharing your little slice of paradise. We will definately be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4