Pacifica villa rental - View of house from street
View of house from street
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Pacifica Villa Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, lofts, office, guest kitchen, more

Offering beautiful views of the ocean, beach, and hills, this showpiece home is surrounded by towering trees and open space, all just 18-20 minutes from downtown San Francisco. The perfect combination of city and country, this non-smoking gem is tucked away on a wooded hillside, set high on a large lot. A lovely beach park is a 5-10 minute walk away through this quiet, semi-rural neighborhood. You will see deer, birds, and other wildlife while just minutes from San Francisco and many other Bay Area destinations.

The home is a large, spectacular, and modern seven-level, twelve-room, three-bath beauty, with many lofts, bonus rooms, hideaways, and decks, spread out over 4000 square feet. The innovative design features over 50 windows, glass doors, and large skylights; soaring beamed ceilings to 20 feet high; two spiral staircases; jetted bathtub; and ample use of wood throughout. Views of the ocean, beach, forest, and hills surround the house, through every window and from every deck.

65 Reviews of Property 140575 in Pacifica, California

Stunning Large Coastal Home: Views, Elegance, Privacy, Location
average rating of 4.9692307 based on 65 reviews
business
Stunning Large Coastal Home: Views, Elegance, Privacy, Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140575
+1 415 272-9100
Pacifica The Bay Area
California
5

Great house, we loved it, excellent location and great views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Very happy with this home. The pictures don't do it justice. Very warm and beautiful feeling, views, very convenient to everything, just a short drive to downtown SF. Lots of room for all the kids to spread out, we had three different families and it worked out perfect. Would gladly stay again next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Large Coastal Home: Views, Elegance, Privacy, Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140575
+1 415 272-9100
Pacifica The Bay Area
5

chris is the best

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
while, we didn't wind up staying at this location due to it's distance from the venue of our wedding Chris was awesome to communicate with and incredibly helpful. he always got back to us in a timely manner and was very helpful. we were super disappointed we didn't get to stay here, but he was so great to interact with that i felt i should write a review.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Large Coastal Home: Views, Elegance, Privacy, Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140575
+1 415 272-9100
Pacifica The Bay Area
Sacramento, California
5

Last minute stay was a success

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We made a last minute call on Friday afternoon to go away for the weekend. Chris was super responsive and helpful and got us set up right away. The house is beautiful. Great ocean view. It has lots of stairs, random doors, ladders and lofts that our daughter loved. The beds and the bedding were comfortable. The kitchen was stocked with the things we needed. There was a grocery store and semi-private beach a short walk down the hill from the house. It's not on the beach but it's beach adjacent. The price was great too. It looks like the house used to be a duplex. On the far right, there's a separate suite with its own kitchen, small living room, loft bedroom and two little areas with ladders with two more twin beds. We will def go back with a bigger group.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Large Coastal Home: Views, Elegance, Privacy, Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140575
+1 415 272-9100
Pacifica The Bay Area
St. Louis, Missouri
5

Lovely home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The home was very lovely, very nice and exactly as described. Great views too. Beautiful wood ceilings and floors, very classy look to the place. Beach very close and the weather was great! Lots of "nooks and crannies" for the kids, they loved it. Would stay again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Large Coastal Home: Views, Elegance, Privacy, Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140575
+1 415 272-9100
Pacifica The Bay Area
Denver, Colorado
5

Whole family loved the place, beautiful and convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Really pretty house, great location, beautiful beach! Very spacious and well-kept. Very well-equipped (kitchen items, chairs, etc.), casual but comfortable furnishings, works really well for large families or large groups. Would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Large Coastal Home: Views, Elegance, Privacy, Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140575
+1 415 272-9100
Pacifica The Bay Area
Sacramento, Ca.
4

Very good rental, beautiful house, beautiful view, good location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Very good rental, highly recommended. Large and spacious, lovely beach views, easy access to downtown and airport and other amenities. Decor and furnishings are fine, nothing fancy, with a casual feel, but worked great for us. Service always responsive and accommodating. Would come again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Large Coastal Home: Views, Elegance, Privacy, Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140575
+1 415 272-9100
Pacifica The Bay Area
Portland, OR
4

UNCONVENTIONAL: Great location & views, little private space, not for seniors or toddlers

UNCONVENTIONAL: Great location & views, little private space, not for seniors or toddlers
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This house has an excellent location and great views of beach and hillsides and is very idiosyncratic. It's really easy to get to this house from the airport and from downtown, and it's an easy walk down to a scenic overlook, to the beach and to the grocery store. But our family found the lack of privacy and safety hazards problematic.

While the house is clean, spacious, and well-equipped, most of the sleeping spaces are interconnected without audio or visual privacy. There is only one private bedroom whose door closes, a second bedroom has a large wall opening for the view that also admits sound from the living room. The master suite has a loft and an alcove which children could enjoy - but every cough can be heard in all three areas. There are two more double beds on lofts that interconnect with spiral stairs and ladders, again without doors that close. Those sleeping in the top loft can access a bathroom only by going down a ladder, crossing through the other sleeping loft and down a spiral staircase OR by passing through an exterior deck and another bedroom OR by going down an exterior spiral stair. So it sleeps 4 couples comfortably, and has tons of unconventional spaces for the adventurous with sleeping bags.

The split level house has two spiral staircases, two trapdoors and special compartments that make it fun for school-age children. But the interior central stairs without handrails are hazardous for toddlers and seniors. The beautiful wood floor planks have different colors of stain that make the dropoff of the stair treads hard to perceive in dim light (we had a scary fall). The stairs are a little steep and the exterior stairs could use more enclosed handrails. The special light switches are a bit cryptic to decode, meaning that it is easy to shut off all the lights in the house accidentally.

On the plus side, the owner was very gracious, and is eager to make guests comfortable. The house has an open layout with dramatic cathedral ceilings and is generally attractive. It is fitted out with good kitchenware, lots of towels and linens, and a convenient washer-dryer. This house would work best for those who are all on the same schedule, who are comfortable sharing sleeping spaces and who like spiral stairs.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback, Dr. Cheng; I appreciate your kind words! And it's nice to hear a physician's perspective on safety issues.

You'll be glad to hear that we have installed additional railings on the stairs, to enhance safety. We have also labeled the light switches better, to avoid any confusion. And we installed four night-lights in the hallways.

Also, to clarify the bedroom-privacy issue for prospective renters: Dr. Cheng is right; the house has nine sleeping areas (as detailed on the website), and these nine areas are not all private from each other. For example, the large master-bedroom suite has two additional areas someone could sleep in, including a sleeping loft up a ladder...yet none of those areas are truly private from the other two areas. This applies to the main-floor bedroom and the large mezzanine-style bedroom as well. Therefore, for groups of about 15 (or more), privacy suffers...because those sleeping lofts are located above "private" bedrooms. Prospective renters should be aware that for large groups, it does not serve as a nine-bedroom house. (For groups of 12 or less who do not use the sleeping lofts, this would be less of a problem.)
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Stunning Large Coastal Home: Views, Elegance, Privacy, Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140575
+1 415 272-9100
Pacifica The Bay Area
Houston
5

The perfect location for a coastal get away.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What an amazing home! Very well equipped and comfortable. The views were stunning and the neighborhood well maintained.

Perfect location along a beautiful coast line that is a short drive to all San Fran has to offer without the crowds of the city.

We will definitely stay here on future trips.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Stunning Large Coastal Home: Views, Elegance, Privacy, Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140575
+1 415 272-9100
Pacifica The Bay Area
Springfield, Illinois
5

Lovely place, even better than advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Truly a lovely accommodation. Very convenient location, and a great house that's both beautiful and casual. Well cared for and great customer service. The views are amazing. Would definitely come again, an excellent experience all around.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the comments Marvin. It was truly a pleasure dealing with both you and your wife.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Stunning Large Coastal Home: Views, Elegance, Privacy, Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140575
+1 415 272-9100
Pacifica The Bay Area
Phoenix, AZ
5

Wonderful break for our whole family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My son is currently serving in Afghanistan and we spent his recent time stateside in this lovely home. It was the most wonderful break any of us could imagine! Having the woods and the ocean and the views surrounding us was a perfect and beautiful contrast to his time in the war. The quiet was enchanting, especially at night, and the house itself is really something special, just beautiful inside. Very good and thoughtful layout too, the grandchildren especially loved all the extra rooms and lofts and play areas. We spent many nice days on the decks just watching the ocean, reading, and so on. We all loved the place. My son is back in Afghanistan now but we were able to provide him with wonderful memories of home and family, thanks to our very special stay in this house. We are hoping to stay there next time as well.
Owner's Response: Thank you Martha for your generous comments. And thank you again to Robert Jr. for his service to our country. You should be very proud of him.
Helpful votes: 12/12