Cambridge condo rental - Comfortable queen-sized bed with built-in reading lights.
Comfortable queen-sized bed with built-in reading lights.
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Cambridge Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

A comfortable, restful little retreat, a few steps from Harvard Square, Harvard Law School, Lesley University, and the Longy School of Music. This soothing studio apartment (300 sq ft) is on the top (4th) floor of a prestigious elevator building on a quiet, tree-lined street. The windows look out to trees and, in the distance, ivy-covered brick buildings and the rooftops of Cambridge.

The apartment is comfortably furnished in clean, simple modern style. The kitchen is equipped with a full-sized refrigerator and gas stove and everything you need to prepare meals. There is a glass shower and a large window in the tiled bathroom. For sleeping, there is a space-saving 'Murphy bed' with a sofa in front. When folded up, the studio feels like a cozy sitting room. The queen-sized bed glides down on top of the sofa to create an exceptionally comfortable bedroom.

The building---the residence of Vladimir Nabokov shortly after the publication of Lolita---has a charming entrance and lobby and a lovely private garden in back, perfect for reading in the sun or shade.

Some of Cambridge’s best restaurants and shops are only a few steps away. The subway is a five-minute walk, and takes you to downtown Boston in 10 minutes. The Charles River, Harvard’s many museums, The American Rep Theater, and several movie theaters are all within easy walking distance. There are washers and dryers off the lobby.

There is a radio and an iPod docking station in the apartment, but no television. There are parking meters on nearby Mass Ave and garages in Harvard Square, but on-street parking in this neighborhood is a challenge for non-residents.

All in all, an excellent alternative to a hotel room for short-term visitors or scholars.

I only accept cash and checks.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 140088 in Cambridge, Massachusetts

Charming Harvard Square Studio
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Charming Harvard Square Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140088vbi
(617) 905-2533 (Massachusetts, USA)
Cambridge Greater Boston
-
5

Perfect Pied-a-terre!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our first visit to Cambridge was immeasurably enhanced by choosing to stay in this charming studio apartment. Ideally located just minutes from Harvard Square and public transportation, the studio is within walking distance to great restaurants and shops.
Located on the 4th floor of an immaculately maintained elevator building on a quiet, upscale street, the studio comes with an assortment of well chosen books, a few excellent art pieces and enough cooking supplies to get us started for cozy meals "at home." We slept like babies on the divinely comfortable murphy bed with its plush pillows and recessed reading lights.

This studio is a gem, as is Steve, the owner, who was generous and on target with his suggestions. We would absolutely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Harvard Square Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140088vbi
(617) 905-2533 (Massachusetts, USA)
Cambridge Greater Boston
Lexington Ky
5

Fabulous stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Lovely studio on quiet,leafy street near Harvard Law School. Impeccably clean, stylish with a mid-century IKEA vibe. 10 minute walk from T stop. Great restaurants and cool shops nearby. EO lavender toiletries in bath. Ecletic library, nice art, helpful notes on neighborhood from charming host. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Leesa. So happy you had a nice stay. Do come back.
business
Charming Harvard Square Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140088vbi
(617) 905-2533 (Massachusetts, USA)
Cambridge Greater Boston
5

Great place for visiting Harvard or MIT

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We really enjoyed staying here to visit with our son at Harvard. It is conveniently located, with several shops and restaurants nearby -- and many many more around Harvard Square, only about a ten-minute walk. The studio is not big, but it is clean, as well as simply and tastefully furnished, which made us feel comfortable and at home -- much more relaxing and personal than a hotel! The building is lovely, and the other residents we met were friendly and helpful. We especially appreciated the wide selection of excellent books available on the shelves. We were able to prepare meals, which was often nice before and after being out all day. The pull out bed is quite comfortable, and no hassle to make and stow away. The special treat was meeting the owner, Steve, who went out of his way to be hospitable and help us in every way possible. He gave us a warm welcome and lots of useful advice. We highly recommend this as a great place for a single person or a couple visiting Harvard or MIT.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Harvard Square Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140088vbi
(617) 905-2533 (Massachusetts, USA)
Cambridge Greater Boston
Seattle, WA
5

A Haven in a Storm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This charming studio apartment was as billed – clean, quiet, comfortable, conveniently located and with a truly hospitable host.

Our only concern prior to arrival was whether the bed would be comfortable. It met and exceeded our expectations - we awoke well rested and ready to explore the city… or deal with natural disasters.

When Hurricane Sandy arrived as we were getting ready to depart, our host, Stephen, graciously extended our stay. We stocked up on provisions at the neighborhood shops and hunkered down with selections from the apartment’s well-stocked bookshelf. We were able to produce satisfying meals in the kitchen and were cozy, safe and comfortable while the storm raged outside. Stephen checked in with us periodically, offering assistance and suggestions as well as shelter.

We would most definitely stay here again and highly recommend the property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Charming Harvard Square Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140088vbi
(617) 905-2533 (Massachusetts, USA)
Cambridge Greater Boston
Swarthmore, PA
5

Perfect alternative to a hotel room!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I stayed at this studio for a week in January while I attended an MFA residency at Lesley. The location could not have been better. The studio is just outside of Harvard Square (and an easy 10 min. walk from the T), close to Lesley, and right in the midst of excellent restaurants and shops. The building is set on a quiet street and even though there are other apartments nearby I never felt that it was too noisy or busy. In fact, it was a great place to work and write. Clean, well appointed, and comfortable, the studio a great alternative to a hotel room. The owner is thoughtful and attentive, making the experience of traveling, settling into a program, being away from home, etc. much less stressful than it could have been. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Charming Harvard Square Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140088vbi
(617) 905-2533 (Massachusetts, USA)
Cambridge Greater Boston
Somerville, MA
5

Excellent unit, as advertised, amazing location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Stephen was such a great host to my wife and I. He greeted us as we pulled up in our taxi and helped us bring our bags up to the unit. He was very kind and gave us some great tips for restaurants and bars.

The unit is great. Not the largest place, but for a single, or couple, it is perfect. We needed the place for a week as we had to wait before we were able to move into our apartment in Somerville and this apartment served us well.

Thank you Stephen!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Charming Harvard Square Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140088vbi
(617) 905-2533 (Massachusetts, USA)
Cambridge Greater Boston
Melbourne, Australia
5

A literary find in Cambridge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I needed a place to work on a novel and what better place than Nabokov's address. But this apartment has more than one literary connection, and part of the fun is discovering them on your stay. This intimate and light-drenched apartment is charmingly decorated, with excellent lounging and lightning for work or reading. There is free internet connection and an excellent library. The apartment is brilliantly located between Harvard Square and the more subtle delights of Porter Square (with its arcade of cheap and fabulous Japanese cafes). There is good coffee, Ethiopian restaurants, eclectic yoga schools, leafy streets and history at every turn.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Charming Harvard Square Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140088vbi
(617) 905-2533 (Massachusetts, USA)
Cambridge Greater Boston
Santa Monica, CA
5

wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Couldn't be happier with my stay here--the owner was extremely cordial and helpful, the studio was clean and beautifully decorated, and the location was outstanding (less than 10 minute walk to Harvard Square, directly adjacent to Harvard Law). This was the perfect spot to retreat to after working & exploring Cambridge. The a/c provided comfort during the hotter days, and the kitchen was nicely stocked and easy to use. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Charming Harvard Square Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140088vbi
(617) 905-2533 (Massachusetts, USA)
Cambridge Greater Boston
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
This place is a wonderful alternative to a hotel room. We were very comfortable here for five nights. The decor is tasteful and very charming, and the owner was very considerate and a pleasure to deal with.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Charming Harvard Square Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140088vbi
(617) 905-2533 (Massachusetts, USA)
Cambridge Greater Boston
Orlando, FL
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2007
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
The studio was absolutely lovely and Stephen was kind enough to have fresh flowers awaiting us. The condo was spotless and spacious (Stephen had me worried, he'd warned me it was small, but it was far superior to any hotel room!!!). The kitchen was well-equipped and perfect for breakfasts in or full meals if you like. It was an unseasonably warm Boston summer and the in-window A/C unit provided ample cooling for the entire condo (this from a Floridian used to having A/C blasting all year-round!). And the location was perfect in relation a STARBUCKS, a small grocery and many restaurants within two-three blocks. Harvard Square in easy walking distance as well, with tube stops on the redline into Boston. Stephen was also kind enought to give me some tips on in-Boston shopping.

I highly recommend the property.
Helpful votes: 6/6