Wilmington house rental - Private Island home on Lake Raponda during Fall colors
Private Island home on Lake Raponda during Fall colors
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Wilmington House Rental Photos and Description
- 4 BR, 3 BA (whirlpool bath), sleeps 8

There is no place like it! Escape to your own private island on Lake Raponda, Wilmington, VT with 360 degree water views - lovely any time of year. Nestled among the foothills of the Green Mountains in Southern Vermont between Bennington and Brattleboro, the lake is approximately 1.5 miles long and a .5 mile wide, with boating, swimming and trout stocked fishing. Eight minutes to town, 15 minutes to Marlboro Music Festival and 14 minutes to Mount Snow ski slopes. In winter, conveniently located near several ski resorts and snowmobiling trails. Easily accessed by a 30' auto bridge. Cape-style home with well-equipped country kitchen, large fieldstone fireplace and spacious living room with dining area, lake views and sliding doors to 36' deck. Four bedrooms (queen, 2 full, 2 twin) and sleeps 8. In Summer/Fall enjoy your own sandy beach, boat landing stage, two docks, floating swim/sunbathing deck, 1 canoe and 2 sea kayaks.

History of The Island: In 1890-1920 the Island was originally the location of a dance pavilion for the Raponda House hotel located on the adjoining peninsula. Famous guests such as F. Scott Fitzgerald stayed at the hotel and enjoyed evenings listening to music and dancing in the pavilion. Photos and writings about this very special place adorn the walls to offer a look at the past. This Island is one of only two privately owned islands in Vermont.

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 140042 in Wilmington, Vermont

Private Island home on Lake Raponda near Mount Snow & Marlboro Music Festival
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews
business
Private Island home on Lake Raponda near Mount Snow & Marlboro Music Festival
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140042
+1 612 239-5876
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

"What a beautiful location"

"What a beautiful location"
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Melissa,
I sending you this e-mail to let you know how much we enjoyed your lake home at Lake Raponda. What a beautiful location for us to rest and relax. The stay was just great, the house, the views, the area. We loved having coffee on the deck in the mornings and looking out over the beautiful lake. We found Wilmington and the surrounding area full of history and great places to visit. We enjoyed the restaurants, especially the Anchor and Jezebel's. Jezebel's breakfast was terrific. You have such a great location for your house we couldn't have asked for more. Thanks again for making your home available to us, we hope to have the opportunity to visit again in the future.
business
Private Island home on Lake Raponda near Mount Snow & Marlboro Music Festival
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140042
+1 612 239-5876
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Puget Sound, Washington
5

Wonderful lake house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
If you ever stayed at a 'lake house' as a kid, coming here will bring it all rushing back. This house is utterly charming, and is roomier than it looks from the pictures. We went for a long weekend, with four adults, and found that the accommodations were perfect - clean, well-equipped, and nicely laid out.
We were too late for swimming but built a fire every evening in the fireplace, which made the living room wonderfully comfortable. The windows and decks make the house flow into the outdoors.
Directions and arrangements were perfect.
Wifi tended to be a bit cantankerous but that is the nature of a rural area. Cell phone connectivity (verizon) was fine so we were able to still get e-mail when the connection dropped.

We'll definitely come back again. The water looked so appealing, we've got to come back for a swim.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Private Island home on Lake Raponda near Mount Snow & Marlboro Music Festival
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140042
+1 612 239-5876
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Euclid, OH
5

Terrific respite!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had such a great time during our long weekend stay in Vermont. The Island House Rental was icing on the cake. For our group of 8 adults, it provided the perfect balance of common area for communal food, drinks and conversation with sleeping areas for quiet rejuvenation. The scenery was idyllic. A lovely, comfortable stay.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Private Island home on Lake Raponda near Mount Snow & Marlboro Music Festival
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140042
+1 612 239-5876
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Northern VT
4

Really great place! Will Revisit!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Had great long weekend with friends here. wonderful location. several docks great for lounging and fishing. house is a little dated and some cheaper finishes but really who cares its not the house your coming to see. very private and quite. we loved every minute. also there were board games, toys, and a kayak available. what the house left to be desired the location made up for in spades! jump on this place you wont regret it!!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Private Island home on Lake Raponda near Mount Snow & Marlboro Music Festival
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140042
+1 612 239-5876
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
New York
5

Family oriented

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Best place ever. Quite but not too far from civilization. Beautiful views. Very comfortable house with fire place and all amenities you need. You can not ask for more, just come and enjoy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you enjoyed the house and the Island. It is a very special place and loved by our family and the many people who come back year after year.

Melissa
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Private Island home on Lake Raponda near Mount Snow & Marlboro Music Festival
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140042
+1 612 239-5876
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
New Britain, CT
5

Perfect Private Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our experience at Lake Raponda was an excelent one. The Island was very clean and very spacious, plenty of room for my dogs to play, The house was very cozy. We were there June 11 through June 18 it just so happened to rain every day and was only 52 during the day but we did have 2 sunny mornings. Even with the rain we had a great time, we had fires every night in the fireplace, and there was plenty of games and puzzles to play.
I highly recomend this property for vacation. I will be coming back next year.....Hope it doesn't rain again....
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Private Island home on Lake Raponda near Mount Snow & Marlboro Music Festival
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140042
+1 612 239-5876
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Queens, NY
4

April at the Island

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Thank you for a wonderful stay. We had beautiful views and a wonderful experience!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Private Island home on Lake Raponda near Mount Snow & Marlboro Music Festival
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140042
+1 612 239-5876
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Charming home

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Hi Melissa,

I just wanted to write to say we had a wonderful time at your charming island house. I love that everything was so self explanatory throughout the process, and that you have been such an accommodating hostess even from far away. Having the firewood available was fantastic - we really enjoyed gathering around the fire. My siblings and I definitely want to come back in the summer or fall!

Thanks again,
Vy
business
Private Island home on Lake Raponda near Mount Snow & Marlboro Music Festival
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140042
+1 612 239-5876
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Hello Melissa,

We enjoyed staying at your house on Lake Raponda so much this year, that we’d like to reserve a week during next summer.
Helpful votes: 3/5