Middletown estate rental - Bike to 3rd beach
Bike to 3rd beach
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps7
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Middletown Estate Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, sleeps 7

French Normandy stone house set in a private park-like setting, bordering onto 1000 acres of open space.5 minute walk to undeveloped Second Beach and 'Surfers End.' a place that Yankee magazine rated ' THE 'BEST BEACH IN RHODE ISLAND' and TOP 10 PLACES TO VISIT IN NEW ENGLAND. Also nearby is Third Beach, set in a gentle cove, a great place for small children where you can rent d kayaks and paddle-boards.WALK to coastal National wildlife sanctuary, ' Sachuest Point,' and paths along 2 large reservoirs. Hike through the Norman Bird Sanctuary. Newport is a 5 minute drive away for night life, shopping, film festivals, restaurants, museums, art galleries and Newport's famous series of summer music festivals. There are several public golf courses on the Island. Visit vineyards, preservation society mansions, botanical gardens.

House has 4 bedrms, 3 full baths. A blue-stone patio faces a pretty yard. Comfortable and artistically furnished with French furniture and fine art. Romantic walled garden courtyard with gas grill and patio dining table and chairs. State of art air systems; Central AC, Heppa filter fans, WIFI connected. Two bedrooms on first floor, (one twin, one queen) two on second floor.(one queen, set of twins) 3 full baths.

Rental for one family or 7 people @ $7,000 per week, June 21st through September 6th. June 6th to June 21st, $5,500

More Details
Hide Details

I've had a long career in the decorative arts and historic buildings preservation. I'm an author of nonfiction and a restorer of antique furniture and objects.

Maryalice Huggins purchased this estate in 2005

I've always been interested in historical architecture and grew up in an 18th century house in Rhode Island. 'Owls Cote,' built in 1924, was designed by one of my favorite American architects, Harrie T. Lindeberg., who's buildings are recognized for his references to both England and France. The house, modest size with pleasing proportions and superb hand craftsmanship is rare to find. The steep pitched roof with the original handmade terracotta tiles ,the inner walled garden courtyard, the vast species of birds nesting in surrounding mature trees, make life here a unique experience. It very much like staying in a National Trust house in England. The house is not visible from the main road,Paradise Avenue. The approach to the property is long and winding, It's a pleasant 5 minute walk to Second Beach and Sachuest Point National Wildlife Refuge. There are many interesting things to do in the city of Newport, a 7 minute drive away to the center of town.

LOCATION!

Perfect renovated house.

Property boardering on The Norman Bird Sanctuary. Private and quiet. Five minute walk to sandy swimming beach.

5 Reviews of Property 139838 in Middletown, Rhode Island

Estate setting. Walk to beach. $5,500 to $6,500 per wk
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Estate setting. Walk to beach. $5,500 to $6,500 per wk
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139838
+1 917.583-7450
Middletown Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

Stone cottage near the sea

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Accommodations for the discriminating traveler! We loved the 2 mile scenic drive from the heart of Newport to this architecturally historic & beautiful home. An impressive park like entrance between stacked stone columns heralds your arrival. A long wide drive dotted with old growth hardwood and willow trees was simply gorgeous in the approach to this home. The house is nestled behind neatly trimmed hedges, mature hydrangea bushes, and a host of other professionally landscaped trees and stone walls. Inside we loved the hardwood floors, tasteful furnishings, antiquities and interesting art throughout. The home offered a true cooks kitchen but husbands offered restaurants which we took instead-ha! Comfortable beds, well appointed baths, and all the comforts of home, what more could we have asked for?
We enjoyed all the details of this delightful stone cottage near the sea. At the end of our stay, we felt we had just left the home of a good friend. Highly recommend!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Estate setting. Walk to beach. $5,500 to $6,500 per wk
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139838
+1 917.583-7450
Middletown Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

The Perfect Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This house is large, magnificent and immaculate! It is also surrounded by wonderful grounds and gorgeous plantings - the ideal setting for a walk to the beach or just exploring. The look may be old but the interior is as modern as you can get. It is very close to Newport and all the attractions, but far more luxurious and comfotable than staying in town or a hotel. The pictures are so accurate they bring back wonderful memories.

We were a group of 5 mature ladies who agree that our stay was simply too short. If we had just one more day, we would have spent the whole time just enjoying the house and grounds. The owner is always available, always helpful, and certainly knows the area well. She steered us to some wonderful restaurant experiences - and, more importantly, steered us away from some others.

You simply can't go wrong. It is the ideal rental!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Estate setting. Walk to beach. $5,500 to $6,500 per wk
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139838
+1 917.583-7450
Middletown Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

French villa in Newport

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
After considerable on-line review our group of six booked for a week in June, 2011. This house, which is more like a French villa, turned out to be far better than expected. The grounds leading to the house are beautifully manicured with giant shade trees. The main entrance is through an enclosed courtyard that is surrounded by a high rock retaining wall, providing complete privacy. (We ate as many meals as possible in the courtyard which is landscaped with flowers and creeping vines and visiting humming birds.) The house was immaculate and thoughtfully equipped--from the quality appliances to the lobster pot. Although the house has been recently renovated, the craftsmanship and style still remain. It is warm and cozy while addressing all the amenities necessary for the 21st century vacationer.
The beach is within walking distance and just a few miles away you can find a major grocery store, liquor store and a number of restaurants on First Beach. (Be sure to visit Sweet Berry Farm for pies and ice cream.) Maryalice has decorated with an ecletic mix of art. Great fun to view and absorb.
The memories of this house and this trip remain a topic of conversation when our group is together. I look forward to our next visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Estate setting. Walk to beach. $5,500 to $6,500 per wk
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139838
+1 917.583-7450
Middletown Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

Return to Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We just returned from our fifth year of vacationing at this beautiful
home that caters to all ages. The park-like setting is relaxing and
offers privacy. Sachuest Point, 2nd and 3rd beaches are just
minutes away, and the proximity to downtown Newport is ideal, or
grab the day's "fresh catch" and grill at the house.

Hopefully we can return for more memorable escapes to a house
that fulfills our needs.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Estate setting. Walk to beach. $5,500 to $6,500 per wk
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139838
+1 917.583-7450
Middletown Newport and Aquidneck Island
Jamaica
5

Paradise in Rhode Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
I would highly recommend this gorgeous rental property to anyone planning to visit Middletown or Newport. It is a pleasant walk to second beach, the courtyard and gardens are absolutely beautiful and very private. You enjoy every aspect of the rental propery. The kitchen is well designed and highly functional for those who enjoy cooking and there is a barbecue in the courtyard. Every detail has been well thought out and it is furnished with impeccable taste.

The property is gorgeous and well cared for and the house is very clean. It is an idyllic spot to gather with friends or family. There are two bedrooms with bathrooms on the main floor for anyone who has trouble climbing the stairs.

We enjoyed seafood from Anthony's, dessert from Fatuli's, dining at the restaurant Pasta Beach as well as lunch at the Castle Inn. We also enjoyed going for bike rides, cliff walks, boat watching, exploring Newport, walks on the beach and swimming in the ocean.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/12