Lake Algonquin - Wells house rental - Lake house from lake
Lake house from lake
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Lake Algonquin - Wells House Rental Photos and Description
Features 3 BR, 1BA, Sleeps 7

This home is located on Lake Algonquin in the town of Wells, NY. The home features 3 BR, 1BA, kitchen, dining area that seats 6, living Room with a twenty foot glass wall looking out at this lovely lake with gorgeous, breathtaking view of the mountains. You will find this lovely paradise setting to be everything you imagined and more! It is great for family get-a-ways and to enjoy scenic views and to relax and also enjoy water sports. This specific location is, in my family's opinion, the best view on the lake. At night you can enjoy yourself on the screened porch or start a fire in the fire pit at the edge of the lake and look out at a thousand of stares at night. The home is very clean, freshly renovated, and we are looking for kind and considerate guests who would appreciate the home, lake and mountain views as much as our family.

Lake George: is a short but beauitful drive. It's approx. 35 miles away with beauitful lakes and mountain views. Stop off and have a picnic along the Hudson river and spend the rest of the day in beauitful Lake George.

Speculator: is approx. ten miles to the north. Enjoy a selection of fine restarants, golf, sking and clubs

Northville: is approx. 10 to the south and offers good resturants, golf, sking, Pubs and clubs.

Gore Mt. Ski area is located 35min. north off of rt.8

More Details
Hide Details

I built the lake house in 1980 and finished in 1983. I studied architecture and decided to go into construction. I love working with wood. I love to ride motorcycles, swimming and boating.

Richard Worthington purchased this house in 1984

I purchased this property for the view of the lake and the mountains .

VIEWS VIEWS and more VIEWS Sitting out buy the fire pit looking up at the thousands of stares on a clear night cooking marshmellows and telling stories. If your your really lucky you may have the oppertunity to watch the northern lights

16 Reviews of Property 139715 in Lake Algonquin - Wells, New York

Beautiful Home on Lake Algonquin-Book Now for prime weeks tiis summer
average rating of 4.6875 based on 16 reviews
business
Beautiful Home on Lake Algonquin-Book Now for prime weeks tiis summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139715
+1 9142133842
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Iselin, NJ
5

Perfect Labor Day Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
I have stayed at this house for Labor Day Weekend '09 and it was great. The weather was beautiful so we were able to enjoy the canoe, rowboat and the kayak that comes with the house. The house is lakefront and offers great views especially in the morning. The inside of the house was clean and well maintained. We have enjoyed the wonderful firepit outside and the views. Overall I am very happy with this house and would definately stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Beautiful Home on Lake Algonquin-Book Now for prime weeks tiis summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139715
+1 9142133842
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Nice getaway from busy life

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I have rented this quaint and lovely home several times over the last few years, and must say, that it has been one of the most welcoming, beautiful, and peaceful locations my spouse and I have stayed. As you can see, the home is right on Lake Algonquin, and from the living room area, you can sit with a nice cup of hot coffee in the early morning and totally immerse and connect with nature. In the evening, one can enjoy sitting outside or from the living room with a glass of wine, and experience the most wonderful feeling just back looking out on the calm lake and majestic mountains. This home is great for all seasons, and offers such in terms of activities, restaurants, bicycle riding, and walking around the lake. IF YOU'VE NEVER RENTED THIS HOME, DO SO - YOU WILL LOVE IT!

Susan & Michael Dardano
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Home on Lake Algonquin-Book Now for prime weeks tiis summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139715
+1 9142133842
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Manchester, CT
5

A great week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We had a wonderfull time at the lake house. It was clean, lacked nothing, and quite private despite some other homes close by. The canoe, kyack, and boat were enjoyed by all. Richard called to make sure everything was going well. No cell phone coverage, but who needs it for a week. I highly recommend this property and we plan to go back next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Home on Lake Algonquin-Book Now for prime weeks tiis summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139715
+1 9142133842
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Jamestown, NY
5

Better than we imagined!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
For once a description that didn't let us down! A clean, beautiful & comfortable home rain or shine our stay was perfect. Algonquin Lake is great for kayaking and added adventure is the ability to kayak further north in the river which feeds the lake. Up Griffin Road is the neatest little used book shop. Auger and Griffin Falls were fun to hike and if you love pine trees you have to hike up to the Pine Grove. There are many well kept snowmobile trails worth exploring, we saw amazing rocks, itty bitty frogs & toads and some amazingly beautiful fungus growths as big as a serving platter, with ruffles on the edges; their color was bright orange on the top and soft cream color on the under side. There wasn't a day that went by which we didn't see half a dozen or more monarch butterflies. We enjoyed lunch at the Memories Cafe and gift shop--if you ever wanted to sit on the porch of a log cabin this is a must stop & see place. We have stayed in all the sections of the Adirondacks and found Richard Worthington's Lake House to be one of the best. On our second day there, Richard even called to make certain we found everything to be okay--never had that happen before!! We have already scheduled a week for next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Home on Lake Algonquin-Book Now for prime weeks tiis summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139715
+1 9142133842
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Bergen County, New Jersey
5

Great escape from reality with friends and family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My husband, daughter and I went up to this beautiful lake house with friends. The house being situated right on the lake had the most breathtaking views one could really appreciate. My husband and his friend really enjoyed catching many fish from the lake and we all enjoyed eating them. The firewood that was provided made for a great evening making smores. We all enjoyed swimming in the lake especially our 3 year old daughter! The house was beautifully decorated and had all the amenities of home. I totally would recommend this place and look foward to going back in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beautiful Home on Lake Algonquin-Book Now for prime weeks tiis summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139715
+1 9142133842
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Emerson, NJ
5

Much needed R&R

Much needed R&R
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
I wanted to write this when I first got back, but as we all know, life can be hectic! I have been going to this lake house for many years and love it!! This time I was with other people and being that it was their first time here, got to fall in love with it all over again! We decided to just stay around town and get some well deserved r&r and I am soo happy that we did!
As always, the house was clean and tidy. (I have never seen it any other way!) When we first arrived it was quite cold but we made a fire in the wood-burning-stove and it heated the place up very nicely. The trees were just starting to change colors and it makes everything look amazing. I loved just sitting in the screened-in porch and looking out at the lake.
The view from the living room is breathtaking..especially in the early mornings as the mist rises from the lake..a must see! We made a fire outside and roasted marshmallows, which we all enjoyed!
I can honestly say that this is the only place I make sure I go to at least once a year..my own home away from home!!

I recommend this to everyone that needs a getaway, whether they want lots to do or nothing at all!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Beautiful Home on Lake Algonquin-Book Now for prime weeks tiis summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139715
+1 9142133842
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Niskayuna
5

Wishing we had more vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
My husband and I (and our dog) would like to thank you for sharing your home with others. This home is a great place to vacation. The house is very nice, well taken care of, and the owner is very friendly and helpful. It felt like a home, not your typical rental. Just our style! The home is clean and comfortable and lots of room. Such a lovely, peaceful place. Mist rising from the lake in the early morning. The sounds of civilization mostly erased by the trees and the water. Perfect place to kayak or canoe or fish. We watched a Blue Heron fly in one morning and saw a beaver swim by the dock. We even saw a loon. The lake is beautiful and quiet as is all of the surrounding area of the Adirondack mountains. We had a very relaxing time and plan to come back again next year.

The lake home is not far from a couple of well stocked general stores, and just a short drive to Speculator and Northville. Also close to the town boat launch and beach, and many, many hiking opportunities. I'd recommend this place to anyone who wants a great week at the lake without the rustic aspect that most "camps" have.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Beautiful Home on Lake Algonquin-Book Now for prime weeks tiis summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139715
+1 9142133842
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
New Jersey
5

Long Weekend Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
I spent three days here with my wife and three children. We had a great time. The house is perfect for this type of getaway. Generally speaking, we spent most of our time outside by the lake, in the boat, or exploring the local areas. The general area is very nice and quiet, with access to so many exciting adventures including rivers, gorges, hiking trails, and Lake George is not far off. The owner was even nice enough to allow us use of his boat, canoe and kayak. I would recommend this rental for people who love the outdoors but are not satisfied with tent living. The bedrooms, kitchen, bathroom and beautiful views from the sitting area were more than we needed for a comfortable stay in the Adirondacks.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Beautiful Home on Lake Algonquin-Book Now for prime weeks tiis summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139715
+1 9142133842
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Rotterdam, NY
3

Camping Trip - August 2009

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Hello, I would like to write a brief review of what me and my group experienced at this location. Although a cute and quant location nestled in the heart of the Adirondack Park, it did not "stand up" to certain expectations. Let me explain.

For a few years now me and a few of my friends have continued on a tradition that we had started, through tent camping. However, this year people who normally did not attend the annual camp wanted to go. So we said o.k. We decided to rent a cabin instead of tenting the trip due to the fact that children were coming, which in the long run would be easier.

Ok, upon arriving at the said cabin we discovered through looking around that the cabin was not in good shape. First off, the bathroom has a severe water leak problem behind the toliet, which in turn molded and remains moldy smelling to this day. Second, I was cooking one evening in the kitchen when I noticed a cockroach run across the stove! Gross! It begs to question if the maids clean properly. Lastly, it would have been nice if the web site listed that the state was dredging Lake Algonquin and that there was a load machine that was turned on at 5:30 am and turned back off at 4:00 pm everyday but weekends.

Overall it was a great experience, but in the future you should be honest about what is to be expected. Thank you.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: in regards to the statement about the bathroom having a severe water leak is totally incorrect. in january 2009, i had a pipe freeze, and the plummer was notified immediately and repaired all of the copper pipes. in may 2009, the same plummer came in and replaced all copper pipes with the newest technology of expandable piping. as far as moldy smell is concerned, this could have been due to the fact that someone in the party flushed a hand wash cloth down the toilet.

i find it funny that this article was written after i emailed the rentors and asked her exactly how many people were in the cabin. it was stated on the contract that there would be a total of 4 adults and 2 children. our cleaning lady, who lives two houses up from my home is not only an excellent house cleaner, but also keeps an eye on the home. she along with another neighbor, contacted me to inform me that there were at least 7 cars in the drive way along with a camper. they also stated that there were approximately 12 to 15 people at my home. this is totally unacceptable and a breach of contract.

as far as roaches are concerned, since we built this home in 1980, there has never been roaches in the home at any time viewed by myself or any rentor. we have electronic devices in all the rooms to ward off any pests that exist in the adirondacks. if there was in fact a roach, it was most likely that it was brought in by one of the dozen people staying at my home.

in summation, the rentors and the party of 12 to 15 wrote in and signed a comment book stating that they had a wonderful time and the cottage was beautiful.

i take great pride in maintaining this home and you can see by reading the other comments. you can be assured that this home has been cared for on a high level.

rw
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful Home on Lake Algonquin-Book Now for prime weeks tiis summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139715
+1 9142133842
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Tuckahoe, NY
5

Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
The house is exactly as it is pictured and it was nice and clean. The view from the house is just beautiful. The owner was very helpful and gave us some great suggestions as to where to go and what to see while we were there. I would and already have referred this to friends. We are planning on going back in August and are going to take full advantage of the lake.(It was a bit too cold to go swimming when we were there.) For breakfast we went to King of the Frosties in Speculator on Saturday and Adirondeck Diner in Wells on Sunday. Both had great home cooked food. For entertainment there is the Melodie Lounge in Speculator and Sports Bar on Rte 30. The only downside was that we could not stay longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2