Lowville property rental - Forest Pond Cottage~115 acres of privacy. Cottage is the only dwelling.
Forest Pond Cottage~115 acres of privacy. Cottage is the only dwelling.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Lowville Rental Photos and Description
Pets are welcomed.Sleeps 6/8 people.Only dwelling on 115 acres.Beautiful setting

'Forest Pond Cottage' is located in the Adirondack Park in Northern New York .Pets are welcome for a small fee per stay/per pet. Access to snowmobile & ATV trails are right from the cottage. It is situated on the edge of a seven acre beaver pond and surrounded by 115 acres of hardwood forest. The cottage is the only dwelling at the end of a town road which allows for easy year-round access yet ensures privacy. With every season there is a whole new variety of outdoor activities to enjoy. The cottage is an oasis from everyday living with all the comforts of home to re create from within. There are endless trails for hikers, bikers, cross country skiing, ATVs and snowmobiles. Very near by are lakes, streams, rivers, mountains and thousands of acres of State land that is yours to enjoy. Please refer to pictures to view what the cottage has to offer as far as sleeping arrangements go & furnishings provided. All linens for bed, bath & kitchen are provided as well as a fully equipped kitchen. We have had everything there from weddings, honeymoons, anniversarys, family reunions to private get aways. It's a great place for individuals to share time & space with loved ones. There is a canoe to use on the pond, picnic table & outdoor furniture. We just built a nice deck for the pond (see photos). A bon fire site for star gazing at night is always fun. There is an outdoor grill for BBQ. Off the upstairs bedroom is a balcony that makes you feel like you are right there within the trees as you look out into the forest and over the pond. I will try to list some of the amenities: full kitchen with full size refrigerator, full size gas stove, microwave, coffee pot all kitchen ware, nice pots & pans, crockpot, blender, toaster, storage (tupper)ware, cook ware, spices, Table, chairs in kitchen. One bathroom with all linens, shower stall, toilet, sink & very clean. Livingroom, gas heating stove, 3 recliners, an Etahn Allen couch that folds out to a queen size bed, very nice mattress pad in livingroom closet for fold out mattress (again, all linens provided & very nice). TV, VCR DVD, DISH satelite, BOSE music system, variety of DVD movies & VHS tapes, games, cards, round table to seat minimum of 4. Nice lighting. Off the livingroom is an enclosed, screened porch the length of the cottage to enjoy your morning brew and the wild life as you look out onto the pond. There are tables, chairs & a swing chair for your relaxation. Just down the stairs from the porch is the patio. Nice outdoor furnishings provided. Back inside & up the stairs is the second floor where there is a queen bed as well as 2 twin beds in one large room. The linens are very nice and the beds very comfortable. Air conditioning too. Off from the bedroom is the balcony where you become ONE with nature. If there is a 'little one' staying, there is a crib that can be provided as well as a high chair. Life preservers are there also for canoe ventures. We live 2 miles up Number Four Rd...I tell guests we are far enough away to stay out of your hair but close enough to always be available if & when needed.

We live 2 miles up from the cottage on Number Four Rd. We've been at that residence for almost 30 years. Dan is a forester and went to ESF at Syracuse University. He was the procurment forester for Ethan Allen until the company moved much of the production to China ('greener pastures'). Now, Dan has his realtor license and works for timberland realty, which is associated with Cabellatrophy properties also. The focus is on listing wooded parcels and some have camps, houses or other structures. To see his listings you can go to dempie@timberlandrealty.net .Dan,also, does private consulting for forestry & land management.

Carol has been an RN for over 30 years. She, also, had a wellness & fitness center in Lowville for 11 years. Currently she is focusing on the cottage and looking into other business ventures.

Carol or Dan purchased this in 2004

We took care of the property for the 'long distant' owner for years before it became available for sale almost to the day of Carol closing her fitness center. There was a 'land developer' that was interested in the property also. Dr Fritelli was the current owner & had purchased the cottage and pond from Minnie Peck previously, who raised 5 children there. Dr Fritelli loved the property & entrusted much of the care, maintenance and management to Carol & Dan. He had it for his own private use. The developer (whom shall remain nameless) offered Dr Fritelli a fair market price for the cottage & land. Since the Empies had 'first refusal' we were able to match his offer to Dr Fritelli. Of course, the developer came back with a much more substantial offer. We could not match that. Dr Fritelli decided to sell the property to us at the first price and refused the developers. As stated earlier, he loved the property & knew we would take good care of it & share it with others without exploiting it. So, love of the land won against development and 'greener (money) pastures. Way to go Dr Fritelli...if only Ethan Allen & other business used you as an example!

We fixed up the cottage to share with others and, also, so we could afford it. We keep the rent very reasonable because we believe everyone should be able to enjoy the serenity of nature.

It was a lot of work but we enjoy work (crazy, huh!). Dr Fritelli would be proud. In our guest book he has a portion dedicated to his saying 'good bye' to his much loved land.

Our belief is to keep it affordable and always give more than what is expected.

15 Reviews of Property 139416 in Lowville, New York

Forest pond cottage. Cozy,clean & private dwelling with all the comforts of home
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Forest pond cottage. Cozy,clean & private dwelling with all the comforts of home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139416
315 376-4433
Lowville Adirondacks
5

Snowmobilers Dream

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
What a perfect winter weekend get away. We enjoyed hundreds of miles of beautiful trails and came back to a cottage that was clean and comfortable.Carol and Dan loaned us some snowshoes to try. So much to do , so little time. A delightful weekend. Can't wait to return and make it a longer vacation. A terrific find! Thank you so much for the hospitality. I would highly recommend this cottage for a get away any time of year! I would image it's special during all 4 seasons. And how perfect that you can bring the whole family, including your pets!
Owner's Response: Tracey & Karin, Thank you, so much, for the nice review. So many snowmobilers don't realize how nice the trails are up here in the Adirondacks. The best part is you can go where the 'crowds' are and still have a nice quiet 'home' to come back to. We'll look forward to your next visit!
business
Forest pond cottage. Cozy,clean & private dwelling with all the comforts of home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139416
315 376-4433
Lowville Adirondacks
5

Went for the value, stayed for the beauty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My wife and I, along with our Jack Russell terrier, spent our Thanksgiving holiday here and were completely captivated by the beauty of the area. This was our first trip to the Adirondacks and we loved everything about this arrangement. Having traveled widely, staying in many cabins and cottages, we were thoroughly impressed by every facet of our experience: the mesmerizing scenery, the cleanliness of the cottage, the awesome scenery, the ease with which we secured the time, the gorgeous scenery, the incomparable value, the pleasantness of dealing with our hosts. Did I mention the scenery?

Literally, our only complaint was that it was over too soon. We seriously could not have asked for a better, more restful Thanksgiving, and we are truly thankful for the opportunity. When we return, we will definitely book this cottage.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Forest pond cottage. Cozy,clean & private dwelling with all the comforts of home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139416
315 376-4433
Lowville Adirondacks
5

Beautiful, relaxing, clean, perfect get away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I always love staying at forest pond cottage! There's not a thing I'd change about it! It's always clean and supplied with the basics ( towels, lotions, soaps, bedding) it makes the stay great knowing I can just pack my clothes and good and head there! Beautiful and peaceful as well! I'll be back soon!
Owner's Response: Thanks, Kelly & give my best to Mike. Looking forward to seeing you next time.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Forest pond cottage. Cozy,clean & private dwelling with all the comforts of home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139416
315 376-4433
Lowville Adirondacks
5

Peaceful, quiet & lovely setting

Peaceful, quiet & lovely setting
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our stay at Forest Pond Cottage was even better than described in the listing. The cottage was clean, the queen bed supremely comfortable, and we had everything we needed. We brought our food, clothes, kayaks, bikes and dogs, but there is a canoe on the property. Carol and Dan, who live 2 miles away, are kind, caring people, and we felt as though we were instantly among friends. Dawn over the private pond was a special memory that we'll cherish for a long time. We hiked every day, both on the property and on wilderness trails. We kayaked the pond and nearby larger lakes, and rode trail bikes on nearby snowmobile trails. We will be back and highly recommend this property if you need to get away from your busy life and avoid tourist traps.
Owner's Response: Cheryl & Geoff, Thanks for the nice review! We're looking forward to your next visit.Carol & Dan
business
Forest pond cottage. Cozy,clean & private dwelling with all the comforts of home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139416
315 376-4433
Lowville Adirondacks
5

There is no place like home....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our trip to New York and the Lowville area was very stressful. My son was deploying out of Ft. Drum and we needed to find a place to stay while we visited with our three, rather large, dogs. What we didn't need was any glitches!!

Forest Pond cottage was like a home away from home. It was peaceful, comfortable and clean. Dan and Carol were the perfect hosts. We almost got snowed in the fist night we were there and woke up to find the lane cleared and Carol pulling up to snow blow the drive. I misplaced my reading glasses, guess what?, there is a pair in the dresser drawer!! I loved the sheets and blankets. There is not one thing that you would need, besides food and drink, that is not provided.
We even found snowshoes in the entryway one day. Had we not been so busy with my son I believe Carol and Dan would have come down and showed us the proper way to wear them.
If what you are looking for is a peaceful, private, warm, well maintained cottage to stay in while visiting the area. This is the place!! I felt very safe here and was nearly in tears when we left. I couldn't have asked for more.
Thank you again Dan and Carol, for the wonderful visit to New York.
Pam and Ron Wolford
Owner's Response: Thanks Pam & Ron! It was a great pleasure to meet you both. I wish the best for your son overseas & hope you can come visit us again. Hope your pups have a long wonderful life. Best regards, Carol & Dan
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Forest pond cottage. Cozy,clean & private dwelling with all the comforts of home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139416
315 376-4433
Lowville Adirondacks
Valencia, PA
5

Peaceful Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a wonderful time at the Cottage. Late August, no bugs, full moon, perfect
weather for hiking and relaxing. The Cottage is so comfortable and cozy, quiet
and private, and we felt right at home. Everything we needed was there, from
towels and linens, to coffee filters and spices, with a well-equipped kitchen and bath; all we had to bring was our food and gear. Our three dogs loved the pond and trekking with us too! We are so grateful we could bring them on our adventure.
There are many small and large lakes to explore, and both easy and challenging hikes - close to the Cottage and within an hour's drive away.
Thanks again Carol and Dan for providing a very memorable vacation spot.
Owner's Response: Thanks Patti & Scott. It was very nice meeting & visiting with you. Glad you enjoyed your stay..& the pups too.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Forest pond cottage. Cozy,clean & private dwelling with all the comforts of home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139416
315 376-4433
Lowville Adirondacks
5

What a Nice Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The view of the pond outside of the front porch was so nice, absolutly beautiful!
The place is perfectly clean. They thought of everyting even had coffee filters.
Dan made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Nice guy!

One of the nicest places I have stayed.
Owner's Response: Thanks guys! We try to make everyone's stay at Forest Pond Cottage a memorable one.

Carol & Dan
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Forest pond cottage. Cozy,clean & private dwelling with all the comforts of home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139416
315 376-4433
Lowville Adirondacks
5

What a piece of heaven!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We had a lovely relaxing and refreshing time at your property. Thanks again Dan for all the helpful advice on hiking routes and your great knowledge of the area. We really enjoyed our stay and will defo be back in the near future. Still hoping to spot a bear!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Forest pond cottage. Cozy,clean & private dwelling with all the comforts of home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139416
315 376-4433
Lowville Adirondacks
Winchester, VA
5

Dubbed "The Adventure House"

Dubbed "The Adventure House"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Forest Pond Cottage turned out to be just what we were hoping for. The cottage itself was very clean, comfortable, and equipped with everything we could need (even oil lanterns, band aids, and bug suits!). The property was beautiful and offered a variety of diversions. The location is tucked out of the way with easy access to hiking and ATV trails but no interference from the clamor of a touristy scene. Dan was more then hospitable, treating us immediately as if we had lived as neigbors for years. We lived unplugged for our stay and found ourselves forgetting what day it was, what time it was. We ate when we were hungry and slept when we were tired, uninterrupted by any other schedule or demands. Our kids (ages 4 and 2) were referring to Forest Pond Cottage as "the Adventure House" by the second day. It was a dream come true for two outdoorsy boys. They fished, paddled the canoe, rode the 4-wheeler, ran like crazy, built campfires and hiked until we had to carry them home. We recommend Forest Pond Cottage to anyone looking for a quiet, serene getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Forest pond cottage. Cozy,clean & private dwelling with all the comforts of home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139416
315 376-4433
Lowville Adirondacks
Calcium, NY
5

My first stay at Forest Pond

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
"Honey, come and see this. Hurry!" "This is amazing!" Tim exclaimed. I walked out to the front porch to see. "Use these binoculars. You can see closer." He said. I peered through the lenses to see what he was so excited about. There they were, standing in the distance under the bright, foggy moonlight howling a beautiful song. Three coyotes were on the river bank looking as majestic as any horse. It was just breathtaking.
This happened on our second night. This vacation experience was unlike any other. It's the ideal place to stay for any lover of Nature. We hope to see alot more nature this summer. I can't wait to explore the trails and go hiking.
We were greeted with such friendly warmth. It was our 16th anniversary, and Dan provided us with a beautiful bottle of wine. That's wonderful hospitality! The cottage is just beautiful. You want for nothing there.
We loved watching the movies, we played games, and just sat and enjoyed each other's company without the interruption of modern devices! We are a couple with multiple children, so finding the ideal place is key. This is that place. It has such a rich, interesting history. I want to learn more. Even the curtains have a purpose!
Close by is a restaurant called Memories. The food was fabulous. I ordered steak Diane and was blown away! My husband had filet mignon and was just as impressed. The owner personally cooked my steak tableside. The staff was friendly, efficient, and the prices were very reasonable. We went back the next night for more. I highly recommend dining there.
When we return in July for one of our days' stay, we will be taking our children to Enchanted Forest Water Safari, which is also not far. We will also be fishing and would love to experience canoeing.
The owners, Dan and Carol, are amazing people. They have created a little piece of heaven right here in the Adirondacks! Thank you for such a memorable experience. Thank you, thank you.

Tim and Lorianne Ritter
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4