Cambria house rental - Side view of home
Side view of home
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Cambria House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Seaview on Burton: 'Step Into the Forest' This Tudor style home sits above a Monterey pine forest sweeping a half mile down to the ocean, the only vacation home in the area which borders a forest preserve. The quaint seaside village of Cambria is a leisurely five minute drive from the property.

You are within seconds of scenic walking trails through pine-forested Strawberry Canyon,' which lies directly behind the property. The beach is an easy 15-minute walk through the woods and along quiet residential streets. You can pick through the tide pools at nearby Lampton Cliffs park, or walk along the boardwalk bluff trail or on the miles of forest and marine terrace paths of the stunningly beautiful public Fiscalini Ranch Preserve.

Keywords: House

As writer and documentary filmmaker working in many areas of California, I moved with my family from Los Angeles to this spectacular part of the Central Coast in 1988, both as an inspirational retreat and a place with easy access to other areas of the Golden State.

The Owner purchased this house in 2000

We love back country hiking and mountain biking, particular in Big Sur, for which Cambria is the southern gateway, as well as kayaking in San Simeon Cove. The area is also rich in history, which is my area of expertise as a writer/producer, so that made it an equally good fit. Cultural and environmental attractions include Hearst Castle and the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. I work with both of these organizations on interpretive media projects.

My hope is that guests coming to this special house bordering the forest and the ocean will leave feeling refreshed and inspired.

57 Reviews of Property 92709 in Cambria, California

Cambria Ocean View Tudor on Forested Preserve
average rating of 4.9347825 based on 57 reviews
business
Cambria Ocean View Tudor on Forested Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92709vb
(805) 927-1719 (California, USA)
Cambria Central Coast California
San Diego
5

Seaview on Burton

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
It was our first stay at this lovely place and we hoped not the last one.
It was actually our first stay at a private residence and we especially appreciate the attention to detail by owner-managers like Seaview's as opposed to the agency type home rentals or hotel stay.
View of the ocean, the sound of ocean - great!!
Thank you Jim
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Cambria Ocean View Tudor on Forested Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92709vb
(805) 927-1719 (California, USA)
Cambria Central Coast California
Moorpark CA
5

PERFECT WEEKEND!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Thanks James..Everything was great. We had three couples for the weekend. The house was even better than than the photos. We went wine tasting and the location was ideal. The bedrooms and beds were very comfortable and large. The ocean views from the balconies were to die for! Kitchen well equipped and had everything we needed. Went for early morning walks, such a beautiful environment... Watch out for the wild turkey down the street. Cannot wait to visit again!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Cambria Ocean View Tudor on Forested Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92709vb
(805) 927-1719 (California, USA)
Cambria Central Coast California
Piedmont CA
5

Woodpeckers and deer in a forested sanctuary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This property is surrounded by a beautiful forest where we saw many gorgeous acorn woodpeckers and deer right from the house. The setting is serene and relaxing, and the home is beautiful and well equipped. October was a fun time to come because the Scarecrow Festival in town is really creative and wonderful--there were scarecrows dressed as everything from the Wizard of Oz characters to bicyclists that actually moved and "rode" bicycles! The house is very well equipped. It's close to town and convenient while being removed from the crowds and congestion. I couldn't imagine a more perfect getaway, and I'll definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cambria Ocean View Tudor on Forested Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92709vb
(805) 927-1719 (California, USA)
Cambria Central Coast California
Campbell, ca
5

Peaceful...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed three days at this lovely home. This pictures on this site do not do the home justice, this home is spacious, clean, and very peaceful. The decks look out to the forest reserve, lots of deer and birds! Bring your camera. We slept four in the home, and that was a perfect amount of people for this home to feel big and roomy with each party having their own bathroom. The weather was chilly, but we still could enjoy the deck. The town is a few miles away with great restaurants. We drove to all the towns on coast, last stop Pismo beach, don't miss it! Lastly, the elephant seals cove, was also a treat, don't miss that either. The "trail" in forest to beach was a dead end, so go street side. Great mini vacation here at the Tudor, highly recommend this home and area for a getaway. You will enjoy...oh,yes, the beds and pillows are comfy too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cambria Ocean View Tudor on Forested Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92709vb
(805) 927-1719 (California, USA)
Cambria Central Coast California
Santa Barbara, CA
4

Weekend Stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
A group of us rented this house over the weekend and although there was initially some issues, we found the owner to be very accommodating and corrected the few problems we had. The weekend was wonderful. The house is located is a lovely neighborhood bordering on the Cambria forest with a beautiful view of the ocean. We ended up spending most of our time on the deck. The kitchen is very large and was perfect for making meals for our group. All in all it was a very relaxing weekend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cambria Ocean View Tudor on Forested Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92709vb
(805) 927-1719 (California, USA)
Cambria Central Coast California
Shafter, CA
5

Loved!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our stay in this home was wonderful. Everything was well maintained and clean. We really enjoyed how quiet this area/street was. I made a small suggestion to the owner after our stay and he was very interested to hear my feedback. He wants to give his guests all of the comforts of home he explained. That is very much appreciated. We have stayed at several homes in Cambria over the years but this has to be the best fit for our family. We look forward to coming back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cambria Ocean View Tudor on Forested Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92709vb
(805) 927-1719 (California, USA)
Cambria Central Coast California
Playa Del Rey, California
5

Birthday stay at Seaview

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The home was more beautiful than the description & photos on line. It was gorgeous!! Sitting on the deck during the day, listening to nature was so healing as well as watching the deer out the window some mornings. The property was clean and very well maintained. The beach was easily accessible and we would walk the beach every morning. Many great places to visit from there including Hearst Castle and the wonderful elephant seals. We would recommend this place to anyone and look so forward to when we can return!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cambria Ocean View Tudor on Forested Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92709vb
(805) 927-1719 (California, USA)
Cambria Central Coast California
Mokelumne Hill California
5

Peaceful stay at the Tutor....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My qualifications for a great vacation rental were not disappointed. The tutor was spotless, bright and everything the pictures express. I would give it a 9 out of 10 rating....losing a point because of the fact it had no television in the living room, making it difficult to share a movie with my sister in the bedroom. That being said, the view, fireplace and comfortable beds were wonderful. Remote garage door opener was an added pleasure. Arrive before dark. . There are many twisty turns in the area and are much easier to navigate by daylight. Would definitely rent again. Floors are fabulous. Thanks James.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We have recently installed a large screen TV in the master bedroom on a swivel mount that allows the nook area to be used for seated viewing as well as the bed. Nevertheless it is the viewing experience out the windows onto the forest and ocean that we believe our guests come to this property to enjoy.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cambria Ocean View Tudor on Forested Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92709vb
(805) 927-1719 (California, USA)
Cambria Central Coast California
Thousand Oaks, CA
3

Family Birthday Reunion

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The location of this property is beautiful and very quiet. While we all appreciated the home with its location at the top of the forest, it was not a great choice for us as we were celebrating a milestone birthday with several generations of family. This seems to be a retirement community and voices and laughter after 9 pm are not appreciated! That said, we had a pleasant stay although there were quite a few limitations on the property as well. Many of the windows and/or blinds could not be opened, one cannot walk around the house to the forest below, and again, no noise. Also, this is not a home for the discerning traveler looking for an upgraded property; the marketing photos are certainly nicer than the property itself. Bathroom fixtures are old and difficult (we could not get one of the faucets to turn off and we were constantly adjusting toilets), window treatments cheap and flimsy, screens old and torn, kitchen outdated, many light fixtures did not work. That said, the decks were beautiful and when we were not shrouded in fog, the views were incredible. I would recommend this location, but only with careful consideration of its limitations. Great for a retired couple looking for a quiet getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: As our rental agreement states, the owner addresses repair issues immediately upon being informed of a problem. We regret that this guest failed to inform us that anything was out of order.
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
Cambria Ocean View Tudor on Forested Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p92709vb
(805) 927-1719 (California, USA)
Cambria Central Coast California
Morgan Hill, CA
5

Beautiful view, quiet neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We just returned from 6 nights in this wonderful house. I just wanted to leave a quick thank you for sharing your property with us. The back deck not only has a beautiful view of the ocean, but it is a bird watcher's dream. We spotted too many birds to list and other enjoyable creatures. Our 10 year old loved watching for the 2 mama deer and their 4 fawns each morning and night. We walked the bluff trail daily and did lots of tidepooling. The house location was a five minute drive to town and beach, but we found ourselves relaxing on the deck quite a bit. Very nice neighborhood and super quiet. We went fishing out of Morro Bay one day and took a trail ride from Outback which is about 5 minutes from the house. Also did a Hearst Castle tour. Would recommend all.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4