Nice home, Needs some TLC
We had an extended family of 11 travelling to Vegas to watch our son play basketball. 3 couples, 1 20-something, 2 teens and 2 kiddos. The home was perfectly sized and accommodating for all of us - plenty of areas to hang out together, yet space to get away from each other. Great location as well. We loved being backed up to the mountains and took advantage by hiking to the top of the hill on 3 separate occasions! Joan and Assad were wonderful to work with! They were kind and full of information and suggestions prior to our visit, and available immediately by phone and email while we were in the house. Joan - we LOVED the local casino - The M - and enjoyed the buffet, as you said we would! Here's where our sticking point on this visit came in though - the house desperately needs either a more attentive property manager or needs it's owners to visit more often. There were issues throughout the house - not enough to ruin the stay, certainly, but enough to just be annoying. We drove up to the house, greeted by a HUGE pile of really stinky garbage. I know you have no control over when garbage is picked up, but it was such a disappointing turn off to drive up to - especially when we had to walk by it to get to the front door. The disposer was not working - my husband fixed it and pulled out 4 bottle caps. The kitchen faucet is broken and swings around without changing the water temperature. The dishwasher is so dirty and full of trapped food that we were not able to use it. The kitchen counters were covered in a sticky grease layer, so that we had to clean them before putting food on them. The kitchen chairs are quite wobbly, with pieces broken off at least 2 of them. My father in law fixed the pool table corner which was broken off. We installed light bulbs throughout the home. The front room couch needs to be replaced - the springs are really painful! The curtain rod in the casita was falling off the wall - my brother in law repaired it. The casita bathtub takes nearly an hour to drain - ick! The shower curtains are slimey... eeeew! The Master bath right sink faucet is broken - the handle comes off in your hand. The closet door is off track and is missing it's wheel so it couldn't be fixed. The exercise equip would be wonderful - there are no electric cords attached to actually make the equipment work! The pool was lovely and Asaad was on the phone immediately when we had questions on the hot tub. We thank you for your hospitality.
Owner's Response: Hello Cheri,
Thank you for visiting us and giving us a review. It is normal practice for us to check up on our guests during their stay. And we were very happy to learn during our several telephone contacts with you Cheri that other than the refuse left behind for curbside pickup, all was going great and that you were having a fantastic time.
The refuse was from the guests who departed the day just prior to your arrival (they had a tremendously fabulous time:))! Our capable cleaning and sanitizing crews had placed it at curbside for next day removal by the City of Las Vegas. We have a huge driveway and house frontage. Curbside is about a quarter of a football field away from the house and main entrance. We truly regret, that this unavoidable refuse, however distant, started your stay off on the wrong foot. And we are grateful that you made our future guests aware that yes, on occasion, refuse for next day pickup, may be visible at curbside.
As to the more avoidable issues, we would have been so happy to learn during our telephone contacts of inoperative lights, a clogged drain, or an unappealing shower curtain. Our committed house manager (Rosa) and handyman (Marco), will respond on very short notice to remedy almost any situation that arises.
Also, we have an ample supply of maintenance items, including light bulbs, readily available within the kitchen pantry, laundry room, and hallway cabinets. Although the light bulbs were determined to be good prior to your arrival, some of our lamps require that a wall switch be turned on so that they may operate. We apologize if that was overlooked.
Rosa has a quarterly replacement schedule for the shower curtains in our five full baths. We implore our guests to let us know if a drain clogs or a shower curtain is unappealing to them, or a sink faucet is malfunctioning. They will be resolved and replaced almost immediately. We were saddened to learn of these issues only after your departure Cheri.
Rosa's and Marco's checklist for our seven year old 3700 square foot home is enormous and detailed from large to small; from the regular carpet and upholstery shampooing, to acid cleaning of the pool and hot tub, to regular sanitizing and professional cleaning of the bed comforters, to making sure that all of the seven televisions and remote controls work, to dusting all of the window sills, to the detailed cleaning of the horizontal plastic vent at the bottom of the refrigerator.
Helpful votes: 3/4
Did you find this review helpful?