Baldwin / Walhalla cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Baldwin / Walhalla Cottage Rental Photos and Description
- 3 BR, 1 1/2 baths Sleeps 8 easly,Like new built in 2002, Deck, and boats.

This lovely like new 2002 lake front home on Reed lake, and Rainbow Lake has just been landscaped and includes new fire pit area & oak wood supplied. The home sits on 3/4 of a wooded acre, has great lake and sunset views from many rooms and large deck over looking the yard/ lake. Located SW of Baldwin, Mich. NW of M-37 and 5 min. from Big Star Lake, 8 min. from Marquette Golf course and 15 min. from town. This crystal clear fishing and swimming lake is also part of a chain of lakes. Only 2 hours N W of Grand Rapids, and fully furnished with everything you can think of except food, fishing poles and bait.

We offer a pontoon with motor and gas, 4 kayaks, canoe, paddle board, pedal boat,boat dock and swim dock. The cottage also has a wood burning fire place that can be seen from the master loft.

In the fall & winter months the home offers just as much as it does in the summer including color tours, hunting, snowmobiling, cross country skiing, Ice fishing, snow shoeing, special get aways, holidays, and romantic weekends.

Booking Early to reserve you dates. We are booking rather fast right now 3/24/2014.

Fishing: This lake is connected to 2 others known as the chain of lakes and fishing is excellent, for bass, blue gill, perch, Lake trout & pike. All of the connecting lakes are great fishing as well. All in all there are at least 156 lakes in lake county. We also have several great fishing rivers and water rafting close by.

Hunting and Mushrooming. Snowmobiling: There is no better area to hunt turkey or deer than Baldwin. The mushroom hunting is also superb and is one of the best kept secrets about the area. Our home is very close to nicely groomed snowmobile trails or you can just go cross country through 1000's of acres of state and national forest. The snowmobiling and ATV trails are great and being in the snow belt we get plenty of snow evenwhen there is none down state.

Don't forget the kids sleds as we have hills and you can snowshoe or cross country right from the home and go for miles and miles during the winter months, usually right into april.

Refunds, if you have to cancel for any reason we refund all of the rent if paid in advance and we retain the secuirty deposit unless we can rent it out. Thus far we have never kept a rental deposit for not being able to rent. We actually turn away about 50 to 75 people every year.

Refunding Security Deposit to our guests: All of our guests get the security deposits back when the homes, boats and grounds are left just as taken. Neat, Clean and

Orderly and in excellent condition.

Book early to reserve your dates!! We are already booking up rather fast this year 3/24/2014.

No Pets and No Smoking allowed.

More Details
Hide Details

From the Grand Rapids area, and presently reside in Walker.

I spent 40 years in banking and own Western Michigan Realty and Precision Notary signing, My wife Martha is a Teacher and tutor and full time student in biblical counseling

Gene W. Riggs purchased this cottage in 2005

We chose this property is 2005 as it is so peaceful and beautiful up there. We love the Loons, Eagles and woods and water. We have private drives and the lakes are no wake so it is just awesome. Super safe for children. No fast boats or jet skies. We love it and hate to go home.

Beside the above comments we love the area and the fall colors, the Loons in the spring summer and fall, the many eagles and wide assortment of birds we just don't see in the city. The fishing and hunting are good and my wife like this cozy home and calls it the birds nest as when you are in the master suite you are up in the trees and you have an awesome view.

6 Reviews of Property 137748 in Baldwin / Walhalla, Michigan

Charming, Quiet, Beautiful Sandy Beach,Sunsets, Pontoon, Kayaks, pedal boat & mo
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Charming, Quiet, Beautiful Sandy Beach,Sunsets, Pontoon, Kayaks, pedal boat & mo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137748
+1 6163042557
Baldwin / Walhalla Western Michigan
Albion, Mi
5

A Restful Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Our family had a great time, just about everthing is furnished with this cottage. We enjoyed the pontoon raft and the Kayaks. Very clean and comfortable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review and for taking such great care of our home. You are marvelous guests and we hope to see you again soon. We have many great family's and they all enjoy the homes and the area. Even the youngest children to the teenagers go nuts over the water, swim dock, kayaks, volleyball and playing in the sand.

Thanks again and have a great year!
Gene & Martha
Riggs Retreat and the all new Loons' Ridge Retreat
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Charming, Quiet, Beautiful Sandy Beach,Sunsets, Pontoon, Kayaks, pedal boat & mo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137748
+1 6163042557
Baldwin / Walhalla Western Michigan
Otsego
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was a lucky get away for our family as it was spur of the moment. Gene met us at the beautiful home ( loon,s ridge) he gave us a tour and gave us a wonderful basket of goodies! They thought of everything plus some for this home. They even had a curl iron! Truly all you need are clothes and food. We use VRBO for all of our vacations and have never been let down but, this is the first time my family wants to go back to the same home! That should explain a lot. We will be back and Thank you!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thnaks so much for the great review. We try hard to make the retreats a great place to relax, have fun and we try hard to supply all of the creature comforts, amenaties and other items that many places do not offer. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next year.
business
Charming, Quiet, Beautiful Sandy Beach,Sunsets, Pontoon, Kayaks, pedal boat & mo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137748
+1 6163042557
Baldwin / Walhalla Western Michigan
Southeast Michigan
5

Peace and Quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We just returned home from our stay and had a wonderful time at Gene and Martha's place! The house has everything you could need (loved the wifi) and was very clean. We enjoyed reading in the hammocks, fishing on the pontoon, and kayaking too! My boys loved the swimming and catching frogs under the paddle boat. The lake is very quiet and is a no wake lake so you don't have boats racing around.
Martha left a basket of goodies for us to enjoy. The home made blueberry jam was quickly polished off by our family!
This location works well for a day trip to Lake Michigan as well:)
Thanks again!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for nice review. We are so glad you had a great time. We wish we had more time to use one of the homes ourselves once in awhile but with both of us working and owing our own business, and with Martha tutoring in the summer months we stay very busy. Anyway we are glad you like the homemade jam, Martha came up with that idea last year and we are close to running out, she had to go buy more jars and she just got $24 worth of blueberrys and she is making more. I thought it was better then anything I have ever pruchase for a store.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Gene & Martha
Riggs Lake & Trails Retreat and the all new Loons' Ridge Retreat
business
Charming, Quiet, Beautiful Sandy Beach,Sunsets, Pontoon, Kayaks, pedal boat & mo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137748
+1 6163042557
Baldwin / Walhalla Western Michigan
5

Peaceful Adventure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We have stayed here twice, and loved it both times! It is clean and roomy! The view of the lake is beautiful, and we had a wonderful time on the beach and on the pontoon boat! This place had everything you need, minus your toothbrush and food...couldn't ask for anything more (except maybe some wifi). ;) I have suggested this place to family members and friends! The owners were very pleasant and accommodating! If you're looking for tons of things to do outdoors (in any season), this is the place!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hello From Gene & Martha,

WiFi is on, but we only turn it on from June to Oct. sometimes Nov. Thanks for the great review and for mentioning our homes to your family and friends. It a lobor of love for us and we have a good deal of fun doing it.
I only wise we had more time to use it ourselves. We do rent all year long as we have many of the same fisherman, hunters, snowmobilers, color tour guests and of course the busy summer groups. Many quad and cycle people during the blessing of the bikes as well.

Thanks to all for you nice comments and we look forward to seeing you again. As always if you can think of something we could or should add please let us know.

Yours truly,
Gene & Martha
business
Charming, Quiet, Beautiful Sandy Beach,Sunsets, Pontoon, Kayaks, pedal boat & mo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137748
+1 6163042557
Baldwin / Walhalla Western Michigan
Lebanon, Illinois
5

Peaceful Haven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
My husband & I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary and the beginning of our official retirement at this retreat. We rented this lovely lake home for a month, which went by way too quickly. The home was fully stocked, clean and very welcoming. The owners are very nice people and were just a joy to deal with. They absolutely think of everything to make your stay enjoyable and stress free. There is a golf course a few miles away with a nice little restaurant that we enjoyed. Our only regret is we cannot make it back to "our" cottage in the woods this year, but hope you do!!!
Owner's Response: Dear Fred & Bonnie,
Thanks you for such a nice review and for taking such great care of our home. When we walked in after you left it was such a pleasant and wonderful surprise to see the nice gift and spotless condition of the home. Thank you, the both of you are wonderful. Our neighbors also liked having you there. We are so glad we could be part of sharing your 40th wedding anniversary and official retirement by having you stay at the Retreat. That's why we started this and we are looking at doing a third one just because it's so much fun especially when we get such nice people like you.

We do hope you can find the time in your busy retirement schedule to see us again. Bring the grand kid, they will have a blast.

Thanks so Much
Gene & Martha
Riggs Retreat and the all new Loons' Ridge Retreat
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Charming, Quiet, Beautiful Sandy Beach,Sunsets, Pontoon, Kayaks, pedal boat & mo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137748
+1 6163042557
Baldwin / Walhalla Western Michigan
Grand Rapids, MI
5

You couldn't ask for a nicer location.

You couldn't ask for a nicer location.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
I rented this cottage for a week and wish I had rented it for longer. The location is beautiful. It sets high on a hill. You can set out on the deck and look out over the trees and lake. The lake is a no wake lake so it is very quiet especially in the morning when everything is just waking. The pontoon boat that is included in the price is a terrific plus to the cottage. It was so much fun to just troll around the lake and either fish or bask in the sun. The accomodations were terrfic and everything was furnished all the way down to the toilet paper. It was very clean and the washer, dryer and dishwasher were very much appreciated. I believe that the only downside to this rental (if there is a down side) is that there are several steps to take down to the lake so you better remember everything on the first trip :) I would highly recommend this rental or any other rental that these owners have available. They are great people to deal with.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for staying with us, and we look forward to having you back with us this year. Your comments are very much appreciated and we have heard the same comments from everyone who has stayed with us. We have two wonderful guest books full of great comments such as yours. It's always a pleasure to have such wonderful guests. We try our hardest to keep everything like new and replace things when necessary. We love supplying all your needs from the linens, spices, washer, dryer, disposal, firewood to the gas for the boat. This year we are adding a sail boat, horse shoes and more. We find the children and the teenagers love the home and the area just as much as the adults. You just can't keep them out of the water. Our 6 year old grand son just love to kayak himself now that he has learned how.

Thanks again
Gene & Martha
Riggs Retreat and the all new Loon's Ridge retreat

Thanks again and Have a Happy Holiday Season!
Helpful votes: 12/12