Branch Lake house rental - front of house, lake in background
front of house, lake in background
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Branch Lake House Rental Photos and Description
3 BR, 2 BA, Sleeps 6.

Branch Lake: New modern house on pristine, expansive lake (great fishing, boating, swimming). Quiet, wooded site. 3 bedrooms, 2 baths. Sleeps 6. Designed by award-winning architect Julio Salcedo. A rare opportunity to enjoy world-class modern design in the Maine woods! 30 minutes to Bangor and Acadia National Park.

If you like Maine and modern architecture, you will LOVE this house! (Don't take just our word for it -- read the Guest Comments, and you'll see how much our guests love this place.)

Airy, bright, sky lit layout, with an open living room and kitchen, and a separate dining area. High ceilings in living area and two bedrooms. Beautiful wood floors throughout. Very large master bedroom is located on the left side of the house and on the right side you will find 2 other bedrooms and one full bath. When not used for sleeping, the third bedroom easily becomes a very bright and welcoming extra living space. Two bedrooms have large windows facing the lake. Upper scale home with a beautiful wood-burning fireplace in the living area, large windows for views of the lake and tall trees, and tasteful decorations throughout. The house has a deck on the main living level and a partially covered patio area on the lower level. TV, stereo, DVD. Fully equipped kitchen. Dishwasher. Washer/Dryer. Towels and linens provided. Firewood provided.

Dock at lakeshore -- perfect for swimming, boating, fishing.

Outdoor tables on deck, on patio and at lakeside. Gas and charcoal grills.

Perfect spot from which to explore Downeast Maine. Branch Lake is one of Maine's premier

lakes -- 6 miles long, 120+ feet deep, clean and clear. Great swimming, fishing, boating. 30

minutes to Acadia National Park (great hiking). Close to several charming towns (Ellsworth,

Surry, Blue Hill, Bar Harbor, etc.). While close to all these places, the house itself is 4 miles off

the highway, via dirt roads.

Available year-round. Fall is for foliage and festivals. Winter is for quiet, exquisitely beautiful landscapes, and a host of winter sports. Spring is the great awakening -- fishing and birdwatching are both at their best -- a chance to savor the long days without the summer crowds. Summer hardly needs mentioning -- boating, swimming, hiking, fishing, relaxing -- classic Maine!

More Details
Hide Details

24 Reviews of Property 137681 in Branch Lake, Maine

Maine Goes Modern! Unbeatable Value.
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Maine Goes Modern! Unbeatable Value.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137681
+1 415 939-1509
Branch Lake Downeast and Acadia
Scarsdale, NY
5

Modernism in the wilderness!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We loved this house -- beautiful architecture, lovely views, wonderful lake. It's about a 30 minute drive to several nice nearby towns for antiquing and sightseeing, and less than 1 hour to Bar Harbor. Our two boys (7 and 5) loved fishing with nets off the private dock, kayaking around the lake (we saw a bald eagle overhead), and swimming at the nearby beach. Dirt road access and low tech a/v amenities may not be for everyone, but was for us. We would definitely like to return someday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Maine Goes Modern! Unbeatable Value.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137681
+1 415 939-1509
Branch Lake Downeast and Acadia
5

Peaceful and modern

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
One of the most peaceful vacations my wife and I have had. The inviting, comfortable, modern house seems to float in the pine trees while overlooking Branch Lake. Sunrises are beautiful and nights are accompanied by soothing sounds of the loon. We vacationed in the middle of August and the cool temperatures were a nice escape from the summer heat in Philadelphia.

Rooms are comfortable. The space plan is designed to allow natural light throughout and really make you feel connected to the outdoors. The house has a nice open floor plan. The kitchen, dining, living room (w/fireplace) area are all connected and share great natural views. The setting is quiet and secluded, and has a private access to the lake.

The house is fairly close to Acadia National Park (±40min) with miles of hiking trails and lots of overlooks. There are many lakes, streams, and trails to be enjoyed throughout the region as well.

As secluded as the property is, you're still within a fairly short driving distance to a few quaint small towns. It's only 15 minutes or so to the town of Ellsworth where you can enjoy a nice dinner or good cup of coffee.

Both the owner and the caretakers are very friendly and helpful.

We'll definitely stay here again.
business
Maine Goes Modern! Unbeatable Value.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137681
+1 415 939-1509
Branch Lake Downeast and Acadia
Cambridge MA
5

Great Property near Acadia National Park and by Branch Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This is an excellent house to stay in, especially if you are planning to visit Acadia National Park. It is just far enough to be good value, and yet near enough that you can drive to Acadia in time for sunrise without waking up way too early.

We went in the Fall, which means we can't use most of the facilities on the lake itself. But I can imagine it would be a wonderful place for a summer getaway.

The house itself is excellently maintained and modern. To be perfect, I think the mattresses could be better quality, a nicer and bigger TV with consistent reception, and internet connectivity would be nice.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Maine Goes Modern! Unbeatable Value.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137681
+1 415 939-1509
Branch Lake Downeast and Acadia
Manhattan, NYC
5

The perfect break from city life

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was our first trip to Maine and it provided the perfect escape from our busy lives in Manhattan. We loved the house, it's full of natural light, contemporary design and sits in a beautiful setting in the woods by Branch Lake. It's very private and quiet but also well designed and stocked with all modern conveniences. Our two year old son absolutely loved the space inside and also exploring outside down to the lake. The house is in a great location for exploring the local attractions of Acadia National Park, Blue Hill etc. Definitely recommended.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Maine Goes Modern! Unbeatable Value.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137681
+1 415 939-1509
Branch Lake Downeast and Acadia
5

Beautiful in May

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Even though we came a little early in the season and the weather was still cool, the house was a perfect, relaxing getaway for my husband and I right before the arrival of our first child. This is the kind of location and design where you can enjoy a rainy May day just as much as a sunny hot one because the views and house are so beautiful and compelling that each type of weather brings its own enjoyable experience. You can take advantage of the private close connection to the peaceful lake, explore Acadia, or even just stay in and snuggle by the fire. We highly recommend this also for people really looking for a well designed space-- we're both architects and loved it. It felt like being in Finland. We look forward to returning and experiencing it in another season, as I can imagine each offering a unique sensibility.
business
Maine Goes Modern! Unbeatable Value.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137681
+1 415 939-1509
Branch Lake Downeast and Acadia
Warsaw, NY
5

Everything we were looking for

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Outstanding! This was everything we were looking for. We spent one week in August here and it was one of the most enjoyable, peaceful and relaxing vacations I can remember. The house was very clean, open and roomy, modern and nestled amongst pines close to the lake. It was perfect for our family of five. There are three bedrooms, one of which has two beds. The lake is crystal clear and great for swimming. We rented kayaks which were delivered before our arrival and explored coves around the lake. Acadia National Park is less than an hour away and has beautiful scenery. The Town of Ellsworth is about 15-20 minutes from the lake and has everything you need. There are many small towns in the area with great restaurants. I highly recommend this location for a family. Such a good time and wonderful memories. The kids loved it.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Maine Goes Modern! Unbeatable Value.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137681
+1 415 939-1509
Branch Lake Downeast and Acadia
New York
5

Pristine Lakehouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This lakehouse is set on a beautiful site high amidst the trees. The windows open out as if in a treehouse and down below is a beautiful dock to enjoy the lake. Eagles fly above and loons call at night...The house is a wonderful space to share with family & friends. We felt instantly at home. The open kitchen and living area made for great conversations while the meal was being prepared. The property is private. I would recommend this cottage for family and friends! Both the owner and the caretakers were very helpful.
Thank you for a splendid vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Maine Goes Modern! Unbeatable Value.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137681
+1 415 939-1509
Branch Lake Downeast and Acadia
gaithersburg, md
5

that's it, we're moving to maine!

that's it, we're moving to maine!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
my boyfriend and i had a wonderful time at this rental - clean, modern, accomodating, well-stocked, and comfortable. the lake was huge, clean, and quiet - lots of swimming! (also, a lot of cannonballs off the dock; don't remember the last time i did one.) jonathan was responsive and professional. candice was sweet, generous, and very helpful. thanks so much for making this such a wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Maine Goes Modern! Unbeatable Value.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137681
+1 415 939-1509
Branch Lake Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
"We truly enjoyed our stay at your home. It is very spacious and light. We loved
going down to the lake and taking pictures of the sunrise. It must be hard for
you not to want to live there year round. Since it is very private, it was perfect
for our getaway. It helped that it was almost peak fall colors for us. We would
be happy to come back with our family.
Thanks for sharing."
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Maine Goes Modern! Unbeatable Value.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137681
+1 415 939-1509
Branch Lake Downeast and Acadia
new york
5

Terrific House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We had a fantastic time. The house is beautiful, full of light, clean, well located and the owner/caretakers very helpful. We rented cayaks for a week per recommendations from the owner and really enjoyed the lake. We also spent quite some time in Acadia and ejoyed that too.
Would definitely stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1