South Hero house rental - View from the lake
View from the lake
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 - 212 nights
 

South Hero House Rental Photos and Description
- 3 BR, 2 BA, Sleeps 8.

Beautiful home directly on Lake Champlain with private beach and dock. Sleeps 8. 3+ bedrooms, 2 full baths, one with jacuzzi. 25 minutes to Burlington, 90 minutes to Montreal. Walls of windows open onto amazing views. Unforgettable sunsets over the lake and Adirondacks! Well furnished deck and ample lawn furniture for outdoor dining, TV with VCR/DVD, pool table, washer/dryer. Gas heat and fireplace. Large (1 acre plus) flat yard for lawn games. Set far back from road for quiet and privacy. No smoking, pets negotiable with surcharge.

Saturday to Saturday rentals:

11 Reviews of Property 137403 in South Hero, Vermont

Beautiful Lakefront Home with Spectacular Views
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 11 reviews
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137403
+011 8025981753
South Hero Lake Champlain Islands
Westchester, NY
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2007
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
I stayed at the lakehouse on South Hero for my honeymoon in September. It is a beautiful property in a beautiful location, right on the water.

The house has 3 bedrooms, including a phenomenal master bedroom with a deck, and is located in a perfect spot. Away from it all, yet easily accessible are Burlington VT and Montreal if you want more excitement.
There are plentiful farms and grocers that carry locally grown produce, and it is 1/2 hour drive to dozens of attractions.

This is the most peaceful place I've ever stayed and I was heartbroken to leave. In fact, I'm almost afraid to review it and let the secret out!

The owner is responsive and friendly and maintains the place beautifully.

I recommend it highly!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 21/22
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137403
+011 8025981753
South Hero Lake Champlain Islands
Northeast
5

Great Place to get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
20 minutes to Burlington and the NY ferry about 1/2 mile away...although you would never know it from inside the house. Location is great and provides plenty of peace and quiet. The kids and dog loved it. I would definitely go back.
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137403
+011 8025981753
South Hero Lake Champlain Islands
5

An amazing getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
When I booked a stay for my family and I at this idyllic spot, I had no idea we'd be staying in such a serene setting. The view is spectacular, the dock is an amazing place to spend the day sunning and watching the kids swim in the water. The sunsets are stunning to look at while either swinging in the hammock which hangs between the tress (pictured in the ad), or lounging on the deck in one of the Adirondack chairs. The house is both homey and roomy.The furnishings were comfortable, but not so new that I was stressed out worrying whether or not my four kids would muss them. The game room was an incredible spot for the kids to hang-out, play pool, and chat. The beautiful wood dining table suits the natural environment and wall of windows adds to one's enjoyment of the backdrop of foliage, mountains, and sky.And the spot is far enough from Burlington to make one believe he/she is far away from city life and close enough to Burlington to find whatever you may need or be looking for from a New England shopping spree. I will definitely return to this peaceful setting, either with family or a group of friends.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137403
+011 8025981753
South Hero Lake Champlain Islands
Arnold, Md/ Mid-Atlantic
2

Great location, but little else

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This house was once a great vacation house, but sadly no more. While the location was great, it's condition & cleanliness made me feel cheated. The photos on the website are very misleading when compared to the current conditions. In its day, the house & furnishings were top notch. Good quality & suited to the style. But currently it's very tired & worn. We arrived as the cleaner was leaving, but we should have left & he stayed to make it acceptable. Cobwebs, dust, overgrown shrubs, vines & weeds, dirty windows & carpet. Charcoal grill with no where for more ashes, but the ground. Clogged pipes in the master bathroom. Thread bare furniture, deck railings that are falling down, deck floor boards popping, holes in the deck that are not covered, deck furniture broken. Soffits missing & with holes to allow unwanted access. Outside doors that won't close. Steep & unsafe steps in multiple places. I could go on, but I think I've gotten my point across. The week was certainly not a total loss. There are some things that remain that make the experience tolerable, but I can't help think that with a little TLC, the vacation house would draw rave reviews instead of the one I've written. Hopefully, my assessment will allow any future renters to know what they will encounter if they choose to rent for a time, at least until all future renters realize that their money can be spent more wisely in another updated, clean facility.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: I’m sad and a little confused to read this review. This is a comfortable, lived-in house for families and pets and doesn't pretend to be anything else. However, there are no unsafe steps; no doors to the outside that don’t close (!); the furniture is not “thread-bare;” there are no clogged pipes in either bathroom; and the photographs are current. I have no idea what the ashes and the charcoal grill reference means. My cleaners are careful and thorough, but in this case (as the comment notes) the renters arrived before check-in time and chased them away. I’m sorry that they didn't have a nice time, but I’m also very sorry that they made no attempt to contact me with concerns. I now know that there is some broken deck furniture, which I could have replaced in about two hours if I had been told; instead, I read about it here and unfortunately the renters after them found broken furniture, too. The fact that they didn't want to report this makes their interest in warning future renters seem a little insincere. As for not being a good value, I research the local market carefully every year and my rates are always competitive. If this group had contacted me to complain about the price, I would have asked them to let me know if they could find a house of this size in a similar location that allows pets for less money. I would have been happy to refund the difference.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137403
+011 8025981753
South Hero Lake Champlain Islands
5

Wish We Were Still There!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We stayed with our 4 teenage children and 2 dogs at this beautiful, inviting home for a week surrounding Memorial Day. There had been record high water levels on Lake Champlain, and while we witnessed some homes under water on our approach to the island , this home was high enough and dry as a bone.

The purpose of our trip was to attend a family wedding on Grand Isle and this home was the perfect location and within 10 minutes of the wedding events. We also combined the trip with day visits to NH & VT to see colleges with our 2 younger children. We even drove for a day trip to Canada for the heck of it (only 26 miles away), but spent more time at the border crossing, returning to the US, than we did visiting Canada.

The house is well equipped, spacious and inviting. Sleeping in the master bedroom, with floor to ceiling windows on 2 sides, overlooking the lake, was like sleeping in a tree-house - I had the most rest in recent memory. The window treatments were also interesting - insulated, room-darkening quilted rolling shades, so for those who prefer a shaded room, you could adjust them accordingly.

We brought our own linens and towels and there was a washer/dryer which we used which worked well. I wish the dishwasher we have at home worked as well as the one in this home. The house has a lived-in feeling to it, which we prefer, especially having pets and teenagers. All the appliances we used worked well. We enjoyed some great meals there!

We invited over 10-12 family members, who were also in the area for the wedding, for a post-wedding cook-out and the home was the perfect venue for hosting such a gathering. Everyone felt relaxed and at home and there were plenty of conversation areas where people could gather, either on the deck, the lawn overlooking the scenic lake, the living room, kitchen, or recreation room with the pool table, As a matter of fact, some guests mentioned that the visit to this home was the highlight of their weekend.

Over the years we have rented many vacation homes in NH and VT and include this as one of the best. The owner left a nice hand-written note for us upon arrival, with several phone numbers to reach her, in case of emergency, as well as print outs of local attractions and weather forecasts. We never needed to call her.

Our only regret was never using the kayaks, due to the weather conditions, but that we will save for a return visit. Looking forward to another nap on the hammock!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137403
+011 8025981753
South Hero Lake Champlain Islands
Palm beach county FL
5

I have gone back again and again!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
When I need a mental break, I think back to the days of lounging on the deck, the dock, watching the clouds and sunsets over the lake. We have reunions there, and the house is plenty big for everyone. It is spacious and comfy . There is a great butcher block island in the kitchen with stools where people gather. I get hypnotized just watching the sail boats on Lake Champlain while the sun is setting. Just a short way up the road there is a charming car/pedestrian ferry ride over the lake to New York; the walking and biking are great.
The house is on South Hero island, only a short drive from the airport, but it's like going to another world. It is a great place to drive around, with farms and amazing views of the lake. Wonderful local grocery (with local produce and baked goods. yum) and gas station. It's a place where you can really get a feeling of being "someplace else", a taste of Old Vermont. (ask about the castles all over the island!) You can go to Burlington for dinner and have a pleasant ride home over the wide causeway to the island.
The house is open and airy, with old beams and huge glass. It's comfortable, has a big dining table and comfortable beds. There is a pool table and lots of spaces for kids to play. The dogs love it too!!!
I definitely recommend this place, I plan to go back again, wish I were there now.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137403
+011 8025981753
South Hero Lake Champlain Islands
Lee, NH USA
5

A wonderful family get away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We have rented this home three consecutive summers as a family vacation with two young adult children. We have explored many other homes in the area, so we know what we like. The pool table and open concept living area offers relaxed time together, but at the same time provides private areas such as the TV room, bedrooms, or the hammock for more solitary time. The waterfront provides a variety of recreation that, for my family, includes kayaking, windsurfing, and swimming. The home is in very close proximity to culturally active Burlington, and is close to a Burlington bicycle path. The owner is very friendly and responsive in all dealing, and we have had nothing but positive interactions.I am grateful to have discovered such a wonderful family vacation spot that we look forward to each year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137403
+011 8025981753
South Hero Lake Champlain Islands
Buckley, Flintshire, United Kingdom
3

the views saved the day !

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
The house is exactly as the pictures show. the location is very good but... it is so so tired. The bedlinen is thin and worn, the patterns having faded in places. The towels were freshly laundered but bore the stains of heavy past use, beyond repair. There was congealed soap in the master bathroom from previous use. No kettle. half of the windows were stuck open, in October this is not good. They did not close without a lot of effort - not to be opened again easily. The timber frame of the home is very roughly hewn meaning we often got spinters. The whole house was very very dusty, I spent 3 hrs dusting on the first day, and removed several years dust from every single lampshade. I could go on... but it is a shame. This place could be great.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: I’m so sorry to hear of a bad experience renting our home. Although cleaners are there before every stay, it’s clear that this time the job was poorly done (if at all), which I find inexcusable. Others should be assured that I can be there within hour of a phone call to address any issue personally. If I had known about this situation I would have responded immediately—but I also understand that it’s sometimes a hassle to call, wait for someone to come, etc., when you expect to arrive without these problems. We do replace linens that have outlived their usefulness often, but obviously we missed some this round. Most important, the windows took a particular beating during the season this year and are all being replaced right now. I know that doesn’t make this renter's experience any better, and I sincerely apologize for hosting a less-than-ideal vacation.
Helpful votes: 13/14
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137403
+011 8025981753
South Hero Lake Champlain Islands
Arlington, MA
4

Beautiful home!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This is a lovely home. My family & I spent a wonderfully relaxing week here. The sun sets are beautiful, the yard is large, the hammock is lovely. The open floor plan and many many windows makes the space feel even larger. The large tub was a great treat. There are many "vintage" board games to play, which we all enjoyed. Best of all, it was very quiet so that you could hear the wind and water. I would absolutely recommend for a family vacation!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137403
+011 8025981753
South Hero Lake Champlain Islands
Worcester, MA
4

Location Location Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
If you are looking for a beautiful plot of land on the lake, with great views, peace and quiet, and R&R, all the while being close to locales of interest, then I highly recommend this property. If you value luxurious and modern amenities above all, you may be slightly disappointed as it is a little bit rustic in some aspects. However I believe potential renters would still be satisfied if they rented this property regardless of what they value most in a vacation. We had a great time and found this vacation to be very relaxing, which is hard to do sometimes. This was definitely one of the few vacations we've had in recent years when we were NOT ready to come home when it was sadly over. Thank you again to the homeowners for very nice time had by all.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3