Sandusky cottage rental - Side by Side Cottages on the River
Side by Side Cottages on the River
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Sandusky Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2-4 bedrooms 2-4 sleep sofas, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 6-12

Cute 2 bedroom 1 bathroom Vintage Cottage with newly remodeled add on cottage for larger groups located on the beautiful Sandusky River minutes from Sandusky Bay and 30 minutes from Cedar Point in Sandusky, OH. Enjoy a view of the river from the sun-room or the dock. Need more room? ASK ME ABOUT OUR OTHER PROPERTIES ADVERTISED ON HOMEAWAY.COM.

Bring your boat, fishing gear, water skis, water equipment, and binoculars. The unit is fully furnished and air conditioned. A playground for kids is one block away. A beautiful new dock is available for docking and fishing.

Pickerel Creek and Blue Heron Reserve close by. One half hour from Cedar Point and the Port Clinton or Sandusky ferry boats to the Islands. Boating, water skiing, tubing, biking on site. Bikes and grills provided onsite. On site laundry available.

Wildlife areas surround the cottage where many ducks, egrets, eagles, etc. can be found in great abundance. Fall brings good deer and duck hunting in this unique area

Rural Setting: Ideal fishing for interested fishermen is the spring walleye run on the Sandusky River in Fremont. For walleye anglers, the Sandusky River in downtown Fremont offers plenty of action. Shore anglers can access the river easily at Swartzlander Park in downtown Fremont. Shoreline anglers can also fish the bay at Pickerel Creek Wildlife Area, Willow Point Wildlife Area, and upstream the action begins earlier with Memory Marina and Riverfront Marina providing boating access to the river where these transitional fish can be found. Huge catches of Walleye are taken from the river in downtown Fremont. The best success on spring walleye usually occurs in the deep pools that line the Sandusky River between the State Street and Miles Newton Bridges in Fremont. The run usually peaks in early April, but fishing stays good throughout the month with White Bass fishing following the Walleye run through June. A variety of pan fish can be easily caught throughout the year.

Great Birding Hot Spot Area : Birding opportunities are numerous throughout this area because of the proximity of the river, bay & lake. Closeby areas include the Magee Marsh & Ottawa wildlife area, Castalia and the Resthaven area, Blue Heron Reserve, and Pickeral Creek not to mention the many ponds and tributaries on site or nearby. Eagles, Herons, Egrets and songbirds can be observed right from the cottage.

Memory Marina is located ΒΌ of a mile from the cottage. You can put our boat in at this location and dock in front of the cottage. Memory Marina also operates a little store with many tasty and useful items for your convenience.

The Pond Builders & Chateau Tableau Winery: Take a beautiful country drive to a stately farm and visit The Pond Builders near Burgoon, OH. Stroll around the ponds, sit in the gazebos and watch the fish. A local winery is also located in this area and is a great place for testing news wines and checking out the beautiful store, evening music, and local countryside.

The Hayes Home and museum, Fremont's National Treasurer, offers outdoor concerts on the veranda the 2nd and 4th Wednesday of each month during the summer. Hayes was the 19th president of the United States. The home at Speigel Grove sits on a large hill and is surrounded by beautiful old trees many of which were planted when the Hayes family occupied the home. A Civil War enactment held each fall at Spiegel Grove.

More Details
Hide Details

17 Reviews of Property 137381 in Sandusky, Ohio

Water Front Cute Cottage/Cedar Point/Lake Erie nearby fishing,boating,birding
average rating of 4.647059 based on 17 reviews
business
Water Front Cute Cottage/Cedar Point/Lake Erie nearby fishing,boating,birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137381
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
5

Had a fantastic time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
A great getaway if you have a limited budget for a family. Was clean and had a lot of activities for the kids. (Gave bikes and a Paddle boat) Close to all. Cedar Point and Downtown and food shopping.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review and I am so sorry to be responding in an untimely manner. Your comments ended up in spam. Thanks again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Water Front Cute Cottage/Cedar Point/Lake Erie nearby fishing,boating,birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137381
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
Berwyn, IL
5

Wonderful Week Away from it All

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had two houses and comfortably fit all 10 of our mostly adult group. (the youngest was 12). It was a perfect place to get away from everything. The shower is a bit small in the cottage but worked without too many issues. The add on has a larger shower and is a bit more open concept in the common areas. Both places were very clean and well equipped. I personally loved that we had very little cell service as it forced us to actually talk vs working or being on our gadgets. We were close to Cedar Point and to the Jet Express to Put in Bay. Frank and Linda were great to us. Frank even brought over some movies to watch since we never even considered evening entertainment. The fishing looked great and sitting out on the deck talking to the neighbors was a pleasant way to spend an hour or so every day. I would suggest bringing lots of bug spray, the mosquitos were pretty nasty, we tried using the milder spray but quickly moved to deep woods. We will be using these cottages again when we next plan a trip to the Cedar Point area. Great area, good pricing and wonderful owners.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Water Front Cute Cottage/Cedar Point/Lake Erie nearby fishing,boating,birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137381
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
4

Property was clean and good customer services.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Great place, I would recommend this place to all my family members. Enjoyed all the area very lovely and not to far from the theme park. the property care take there on our arrival which was nice of him.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Water Front Cute Cottage/Cedar Point/Lake Erie nearby fishing,boating,birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137381
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
5

It was nice and very accommodated.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Had very good fun. It is very spacious and had everything in the house.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Water Front Cute Cottage/Cedar Point/Lake Erie nearby fishing,boating,birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137381
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
5

Great Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is the second year in a row that we have stayed here. This year was even better than the first. Linda made everything so easy and Frank was such a big help with anything that we needed. If you are looking for an affordable option to a hotel, this is the way to go. Don't think that it is too far from the local attractions, you are less than 30 minutes away from Sandusky and Port Clinton, there is a Walmart ten minutes away and a bunch of good restaurants also. Memory Marina is less than a mile from the cottages and they charged me $25 to launch my boat and store my trailer for a week. We fully expect to return here again next year.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Water Front Cute Cottage/Cedar Point/Lake Erie nearby fishing,boating,birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137381
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
Pataskala Ohio
5

Wonderful Cottage By the Water

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Great little cottage by the water. Nice and clean. Great vacation spot to fish and close to all attractions:Cedar Point,Marblehead,Kelly's Island and Put In Bay. Had a great time fishing off the dock. We caught catfish and perch. Visited Kelly's Island by ferry and had a great time. There are other cottages beside this one that the owner has if you have a larger group. Frank was wonderful. He gave info on the area. We would stay again. We would recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a good clean cottage.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Water Front Cute Cottage/Cedar Point/Lake Erie nearby fishing,boating,birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137381
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
4

Quaint Cottage -- PERFECT for our needs!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
From the moment we inquired about this property, Linda was 'on top of it!' We were in search of a rental to accommodate our daschund while we visited Cedar Point. Linda stated it was no problem to have him come with us.

Upon arriving on 8-2-11, we found this cottage very quiet and enjoyed the views of the river. We ventured into Fremont to look around and ended up at Frickers, a favorite restaurant of ours when we lived in Ohio.

My husband did some fishing and caught only a couple, a bass and a catfish....it had rained so the fish didn't seem to be biting.

We spent two consecutive days at Cedar Point, so this property was an excellent way to come back to a peaceful, relaxing atmosphere!! It was quiet and the others renting, were very friendly.

Frank was very helpful and informative of the area. We appreciated his assistance.

As it was a humid time, we had the air conditioner on the entire time. It got quite cool in the cottage, so we wished there were more blankets as some of us liked to be a bit warmer than others! THAT would be my only suggestion.

The shower was a bit small but served its purpose after a long day at the park. For anyone thinking this property is too far away (approximately 20 miles) from Cedar Point, it's NOT!! It was enough time to wind down and get back to quiet and relaxation.

I would definitely rent this property again, as it was clean, appropriate for our needs and the owners are so accommodating. Thank you very much for a nice stay.

The DeLisle Family
Saginaw, MI
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we are so glad you enjoyed your vacation and the cottage. If you can come back, please let us know if you need extra blankets or bedding because we do have extras and our care taker is usually onsite to handle requests. Wish we could make the shower a little bigger, but this vintage cottage is a 1940's/1950's cottage and things were built on a smaller scale back then. It is our little slice of heaven and away from the hustle and bustle. We enjoy it there and are glad to share it with others. Thanks again.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Water Front Cute Cottage/Cedar Point/Lake Erie nearby fishing,boating,birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137381
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
Beavercreek, Ohio
5

The perfect retreat for us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This cozy cottage was just perfect for us. We could be lazy and sit along the river's edge in front of our cottage, watching fantastic birdlife and boating, or head to any number of places for dinner (we loved Margaritaville) or a day at Marblehead and its quaint town, or head to the islands, or Cedar Point, and much more, all within easy driving time. Linda and Steve provided so much information about the surrounding areas and made our stay a real delight. We can't wait to go back! Victoria and John
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review, and we were delighted to have you as guests too. We enjoy this unique area of Ohio and are so pleased when our guests can enjoy it as much as we do. We try to make it a home away from home, and thank you again for taking the time to do a review for us.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Water Front Cute Cottage/Cedar Point/Lake Erie nearby fishing,boating,birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137381
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
Virginia
5

review of cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Cottage was small but clean and comfortable. Linda was extremely friendly and excellent to work with. It was nice to be able to walk across the street to fish off the dock. The catfish are big and plentiful as well. Overall, great experience. Would definitly rent again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Water Front Cute Cottage/Cedar Point/Lake Erie nearby fishing,boating,birding
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137381
+1 4194220030
Sandusky Ohio
Coralville, IA, Midwest, USA
4

Birding Adventure

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Four adults stayed in this cottage for five nights in May 2010 so we could be a part of the Biggest Week in American Birding at Magee Marsh, Black-swamp Bird Observatory and Ottawa NWR. We found the cottage comfortable and a nice place to return to after a long day on the boardwalk. Linda was a jewel to work with in securing this lodging. It took us about 45 min. to get to the birding places, but was not and quite when we got home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for our first birding review. We are so glad you were happy with the cottage and I hope you enjoyed some of the wild life ponds and reserves in and around this area as well as Magee Marsh. This is a good place to view eagles, egrets, and herons right from the cottage. I just wish the weather had cooperated for the Biggest Week in American Birding this year. Birders are great people to work with and hopefully you can come back again.
Helpful votes: 1/2