Monte Sacro apartment rental - Living Room with cabinets, TV and movie cassette library
Living Room with cabinets, TV and movie cassette library
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Monte Sacro Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom & 1 full bath, fully equipped kitchen and large living room.

This lovely apartment, recently redecorated and newly furnished, is located in the desireable Monte Sacro area of Rome. Its' two balconies overlook the Aniene River and close by are several public bus lines and the Metro that run directly to the historic, shopping and financial centers of the city just 20 minutes away. Even more convenient, the new ternminal servicing the city's direct train line to and from Rome's international airport is situated one block from the apartment. Many neighborhood trattorias, bars, shops, stores and markets are also conveniently situated nearby. This is an ideal base from which one can easily explore and visit this great city and experience the Roman way of life. The bedroom consists of 2 oversized twin beds and the sofa in the living room make into 2 full-sized twin beds with full mattresses. The kitchen is fully equipped with a gas stove with 4 burners, full oven, large refrigerator, microwave oven, toaster oven and service for 6. The kitchen is unusually large for a Roman apartment and contains a table and chairs as well as all the other kitchen appliances. The bathroom is a modern bath with tub shower, cabinets, large mirror and individual wall heater. There are 2 balconies, both accessed by french doors leading from the bedroom and the living room. These balconies are large enough for table and chairs and offer additional space for privacy. The living-dining room contains a large dining table and chairs, sofa, 2 lounge chairs, large wardrobe, and cabinet with drawers. Also included is a TV with skye satellite service in which many English speaking channels can be accessed. There is a CD player, a DVD-VCR unit and a library of cassette movie tapes of both adult and children's movies. Included also is an ironing board, iron, hair dryer and security safe. An elevator services all the apartments in the building including our apartment on the 5th floor.

One of the world's great cities, Rome is a remarkable blend of the past and present. It offers the visitor an incredible wealth of art, history and culture. Here is an opportunity to immerse oneself in the life and sights of the Eternal City in comfortable, affordable surroundings. Enjoy more privacy, space and freedom and save on hotel bills while you savour the local culture.

More Details
Hide Details

Many years ago my oldest daughter married an Italian living in Rome. Since that time, my wife, Jean, and I have made an annual trip to Rome and Italy to visit her and her growing family. After some years and two growing grandchildren, it became obvious that we needed to have our own place when we came to visit. Hence, a search for a convenient and comfortable apartment for use during our visits. Luckily we found such a place in the same neighborhood where my daughter and family resided. Since that time, we have rented this apartment to tourists during the time that we are not occupying the premises. My daughter acts as our agent in Rome and is prepared to offer her services and knowledge of the city to renters if needed. We have traveled extensively throughout Italy and Europe and consider Rome to be our second home. We try to express our enthusiasm for the city and the country to our prospective renters in hopes that they too will we able to experience the incredible wealth of art, history and culture that the city offers.

John Mortarotti purchased this apartment in 1996

Besides wanting to find an apartment in the same neighborhood as my daughter's area of Rome, we wanted a place that was residential in nature, quiet, safe and if possible, family oriented. At the same time, we wanted it to be accessible to the center of Rome where one could easily explore the many wonders of the eternal city yet experience, first-hand, the Roman way of life. The apartment is a mere 20 minutes by public transportation from the very center of Rome. This transportation is very reliable, convenient and accessible. There are many amenities in close proximity to the apartment. Restaurants, Trattorias, bars, shops,street markets, supermarkets, banks, post office, department stores, pharmacies, etc, etc. that help one to enjoy Roman life to the fullest. Also, the apartment is located just one block from the new terminal servicing the city's direct rail line to and from Rome's International airport. This is one of the most desirable neighborhoods in Rome and the residents are mainly upper middle-class in stature.

48 Reviews of Property 137262 in Monte Sacro, Italy

Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 48 reviews
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
Walnut Creek, CA, U.S.A.
5

Roomy and comfortable apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
We have rented this apartment several times in the last few years. Our last visit was for 2 weeks in Dec. of 2008. The apt. is roomy, comfortable and pleasant. The views from the balconies allow you to view the river below and the city around you. We especially enjoyed shopping for fruit,veggies, meats, flowers, etc. at the nearby, daily street market. Two supermercatos( supermarkets) are also close by.
The bus system is regular and easily used to reach the center of Rome. The owner's daughter(a resident of the area) is extremely helpful. She will meet you at the train station, give you tips to enhance your stay, and answer all your questions regarding bella Roma. We have always enjoyed our visits to the area and apartment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Bill and Pam, along with several other couples and past tenants are among a group that have rented our apartment several times. We are always anxious to increase and upgrade our services and amenities to such renters since they are our best advertisement of the quality of our facilities and premises. Their satisfaction, comments and suggestions are the standards that we strive to achieve and promote in the presentation of the rental property.
Helpful votes: 25/27
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
4

Amazing Room with Decent Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The apartment was amazing. Very large for two people and very reasonably priced. It was a little far from the city center but not far from public transportation. Marilee was very friendly and helpful. She even let us get into the apartment a little early on our first day. The free internet in the room was a huge help. The only reason I don't give it 5 starts are because of some minor complaints. The other residents in the building were a little noisy at times. The hot water wasn't terribly hot so be ready for a luke warm shower.
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
5

What a wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We loved the area the apartment was located in. Close to shops, restaurants and only 15 minutes to Rome centre. The unit was very well equipped, I loved that it had a bathtub. Marilee looked after us wonderfully, even picking us up from the station and walking us to the apartment. Thank you Marilee and thank you John for the experience
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
5

Great place to stay.Quiet and convenient .

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Location was near everything you need. Grocery and open air market. Bars & resturants. Apartment was very clean, good view, and owner was extremely
helpful with maps of the neighborhood.Our trip was great.
Owner's Response: As noted, all the amenities a traveler would need or want are within a 5 minute walk from the apartment.
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
5

Very nice apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We were met at the train station and walked the several blocks to the apt. with Marilee who provided all the relevant info. The apt is in perfect condition and well represented by the available info. We had no problem accessing all of our itinerary from the public transportation available. Good local dining and shopping. Overall an excellent rental and one of the best we have stayed at.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
Davis, CA USA
5

Very comfortable, ideally located apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is our fourth stay in this apartment, which attests to our satisfaction with the apartment, its environs in Monte Sacro, and the ease with which one can use local transportation to most any place in Rome. It gives us much pleasure to stay in very comfortable accommodations, shop locally away from “touristy” areas, and participate in the daily life of a vibrant suburban community. As in the past, we were met by Marilee upon our arrival and received excellent suggestions pertaining to our visit. We hope to return again.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
NY
5

Lovely Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Thank you, John & daughter, Marilee, for the opportunity to stay in your lovely Rome apt. Marilee - you were a tremendous asset in getting me acquainted with my neighborhood, where to eat/shop/catch the bus/metro, getting my bearings & other things a renter would need to know. The apt. was fully stocked with all I could need. Everything was nice & in good condition; the whole place was well-thought-out - just as the photos showed. If/when I come to Rome again, I would definitely stay here, and have already recommended the apt. to others considering a trip to Rome. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
Apopka, FL United States
5

All the comforts of home! Loved staying in this apartment during our visit to Rome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Great apartment! This was our first trip to Europe...and I quickly realized that hotel rooms are just not as spacious in Europe as they are in the United States. This apartment was my favorite of the various accomodations that we stayed at while visiting Italy. From the very beginning...booking the apartment with John was an easy and pleasant experience. John was very personable,professional and explained everything well. The apartment is wonderful! It is clean, tastefully decorated and very SPACIOUS! I really enjoyed coming home to an APARTMENT after a day full of sight seeing....instead of being cooped up in a small hotel room. The apartment is well stocked with everything that you could possibly need...all the comforts and conveniences of being in a home! The internet connection was great....and the shower had plenty of hot water and great pressure. Marilee, John's daughter met us at the train station when we arrived in Rome and walked us over to the apartment. She was very warm and welcoming, and explained to us how to get around via public transportation and answered all of our questions. The apartment is conveniently located to various bus stops as well as the metro stop. We did not have any trouble getting around the city as Marilee had done such a wonderful job explaining the transportation options available to us. (I would recommend taking the metro over the bus whenever possible. The metro was faster and less crowded)
The apartment is in a neighborhood outside of the "tourist" areas...but very conenient to get to and from the city. I enjoyed staying amongst the "real romans" and going to the local businesses and restaurants. The local merchants were welcoming and very helpful. We were able to save quite a bit of money by staying in the apartment as we were able to purchase items at the grocery store instead of eating out all of the time. We actually found takeout from the local pizzeria was very inexpensive...we enjoyed great food...and we didn't have to cook! :)
I would definitely choose to stay in this apartment again if we are fortunate enough to be able to return to Rome in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
Denver, CO
5

Ron and Lil - Denver

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The apartment is nicely appointed and the floor plan makes the use of one bathroom no problem at all. Marilee, the local landlady was most cordial and informative. I do not so much recommend the local busses because of crowding, but the "B-1" metro line is only a ten minute walk from the appartment and is very efficient for going to Rome center. We were completely satisfied with the apartment (not so much the weather while we were there). I certaily would return to this vacation rental without hesitation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
North Haven, CT
5

Monte Sacro residence

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed at the Monte Sacro residence for six nights in December 2012. The place is clean, well-preserved, and within an easy connection from Rome’s Fiumicino International airport. There are some excellent restaurants and groceries stores within just a few minutes walking. We would definitely recommend the apartment to budget-minded travelers as well as those who would not mind using public transportation to get to downtown Rome and its vicinity; it takes about 30-40 minutes to reach the center of the city either by bus or by subway. Also, without stating the obvious, the apartment is in an apartment building, and with that come occasional noises at night, or neighbors getting to go about their business at five or six in the morning. Overall, we liked the residence and would highly recommend it to others planning their visit to Rome.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6