Watercolor house rental - Main Four Bedroom house with detached carriage house behind
Main Four Bedroom house with detached carriage house behind
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps15
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Watercolor House Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, Sleeps 14-15

Welcome to the 'BOAT HOUSE'! This luxury five bedroom home and carriage house is ideally located in phase I of the WATERCOLOR RESORT - 2 BLOCK'S FROM THE OCEAN, WATERCOLOR BEACH CLUB, TOWN CENTER SHOPPING, EATERIES, and the BAIT HOUSE MARINA. Additionally, all the best that HISTORIC SEASIDE Village has to offer is within a five minute walk.

Your accommodation INCLUDES access to the exclusive ocean front WATERCOLOR BEACH CLUB. The two story beachside grill overlooks a large sunning deck and pool ... just one of the FOUR RESORT POOLS from which to choose during your stay.

Our PERSONAL CONCEIRGE will greet you upon check -in to answer questions and assist with arrangements for special interests.

Nostalgic sea vessels inspired the seafarer décor of this spacious home. Features include 10' ceilings throughout, wide pine stained floors, granite counters, stainless steel appliances, travertine marble floored bathrooms, walk -in closets and abundant outdoor rooms. A twin bedroom (with trundles) on the main floor doubles as a sun filled second gathering room. The open family room, dining area and kitchen that spans the entire length of the first floor offer ample seating for family and friends to share meals together. Enjoy outdoor dinning as three sets of double doors lead directly from the kitchen to an expansive screened porch and enjoy picnicking on the large deck between the main and guest house.

Upstairs, TWO KING SUITES easily access a large screened porch - fully equipped for an ongoing 'PING- PONG' challenge. All upstairs bedrooms have private baths. Kids will delightfully drift off to sleep in the custom built 'ROW BOAT' bunk. The downstairs twin bedroom has dual access to the mainfloor full bath.

Off street parking is available both in front and behind the house which includes one covered space.

Detached stairs behind the main house lead to the large sunning deck of the Carriage house. This ONE BEDROOM CARRIAGE HOUSE offers a PRIVATE BEDROOM, FULL BATH, DEN and FULL KITCHEN (DISHWASHER, COOKTOP, CONVECTION OVEN, and FULL FRIG.), all with the same luxury details as the main house. King bed can be sperated for twins with advanced notice.

The WaterColor resort offers miles of walking and biking trails that meander across bridges and through the naturally preserved sea pines. Should you tire from the beach, drop a line from the fishing dock and take in the serenity of beautiful Western Lake within an easy stroll through meticulously groomed botanical gardens.

** FOR 'INDESCRIBABLE' OCEAN FRONT ACCOMMODATIONS PLEASE CONSIDER OUR THREE BEDROOM CONDO WITH BREATHTAKING VIEWS IN THE SISTER COMMUNITY OF WATERSOUND -just 5 miles east. VRBO #40985

Keywords: Luxury Beach House

More Details
Hide Details

We invite you to create wonderful memories......

Scott Murphy purchased this house in 2000

WaterColor is voted one of the best family vacation destinations in the USA by Travel and Leisure magazine.

Unique custom built boat beds

14 Reviews of Property 136571 in Watercolor, Florida

Watercolor 'Boathouse' Ph 1 746 Western Lk Dr 5 BR 5 BA
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 14 reviews
business
Watercolor 'Boathouse' Ph 1 746 Western Lk Dr 5 BR 5 BA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136571vb
770-309-1329
Watercolor South Walton
Southeast
3

Not what Expected

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This rental was our 4th in the area of Seaside, Rosemary Beach and Watercolor. It was clean and adequately maintained. However, for the investment in a Christmas vacation, for the extended family,
It was sub standard. Kitchen equipment, pots and pans either did not exist or were in terrible shape. Only 2 kitchen dish towels and one pot holder which we finally found in the carriage house kitchen. We did call concierge. Instead of delivering more basic kitchen equipment as promised the next day, I received voicemails about the problem. With very poor cell service, Christmas day, we gave up. The
Week we stayed was very cold. We found one extra blanket. The towels and wash cloths were in
Such bad shape they should have been a sacrificial offering in a bonfire. Last, the Watercolor Resort
Did not consider us to be members for their fitness Equipment. They required us to pay, which we were
Not willing to do as this was expressed as a part of the original package. The house is conveniently located for Seaside and Watercolor. That is the best I can offer.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We appreciate you advising us that the kitchen and linens were not properly stocked in our home and that the concerige service failed to adequately satisfy those concerns. Please refer to your original rental contract and note that paid fees for use of the Watercolor fitness center were never offered.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Watercolor 'Boathouse' Ph 1 746 Western Lk Dr 5 BR 5 BA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136571vb
770-309-1329
Watercolor South Walton
Atlanta, GA
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I have stayed in Watercolor a lot and this is a great house. The location is excellent to walk to Seaside and the Watercolor Beach Club. Very clean and well maintained. Everything in working order. I would highly recommend this property.
My only complaint is the somewhat slow response of the "Concierge" service Swantree. We had to call several times when we were missing dish towels and oven mits for the kitchen. We also found someone else's personal property on premises, called them, and they never showed up (as promised) to collect it.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We appreciate your feedback on Swantree's service.
business
Watercolor 'Boathouse' Ph 1 746 Western Lk Dr 5 BR 5 BA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136571vb
770-309-1329
Watercolor South Walton
Atlanta
5

Spring break 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Our family stayed at Boathouse for our 2012 Spring break. My 79 yr old mother was able to enjoy some peace and quiet with her own personal space in the carriage house over the garage. We also had plenty of space (in addition to our family of 4) for our friend and her daughter and still had a bedroom to spare! The kids thoroughly enjoyed the the boat shaped bunk beds. We couldn't believe how easy it was to skip out the back door to the shops at Seaside Beach!! The house was beautiful and clean, the beds were comfortable and the ping pong table made for some fun nights! We really enjoyed our week and will come back again soon!!!! We highly recommend the house.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Watercolor 'Boathouse' Ph 1 746 Western Lk Dr 5 BR 5 BA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136571vb
770-309-1329
Watercolor South Walton
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

We loved Boathouse!

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Scott, hi...just wanted to thank you for providing such a great spot! We loved the Boathouse. Smiles, TS
business
Watercolor 'Boathouse' Ph 1 746 Western Lk Dr 5 BR 5 BA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136571vb
770-309-1329
Watercolor South Walton
Panama City, Fl.
4

boathouse

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We enjoyed staying at the house. We owned a house on Western Lake and rented it for 3 years. Some staples that we supplied for our renters were, garbage bags, paper towels,napkins,laundry detergent, dishwashing liquid, dishwasher cleaner, foil and ziplocks. So when we arrived at your house, I was disappointed that there were none of these items left in the house. Also the toaster didn't work, which I read in other reviews from your previous renters. I know you said they could have called Swantree and one would be delivered but no one wants to do that. We had a Cuisinart toaster in our house and never had a problem. The windowsills in the master bedroom had a ton of dust on them and there were stains on the matress pad in the smaller master bedroom. These are just a few things that as a previous owner I would have liked to have known, hope you do too. You have a great house in the perfect location. We wouldn't stay anywhere other than Western Lake Drive!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: We depend upon our guests to point out anything which would make their stay more enjoyable . We have encouraged our housekeepers to give attention to the standards in cleaning our home. You should have been supplied with the initial sample conveniences of dishwashing soap, paper towels, soap, shampoo and laundry detergent as well as a useful toaster. Our concierge service is contracted as a convenient point of contact to personally address any of your needs and we do encourage our guests to give them an opportunity to provide you their services.
business
Watercolor 'Boathouse' Ph 1 746 Western Lk Dr 5 BR 5 BA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136571vb
770-309-1329
Watercolor South Walton
Kentucky
5

Lovely!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We just returned from a week in the Boathouse and are already looking at our calendars for next year. We vacationed with our extended family and our party of 6 adults and 4 children had room to spare. With the carriage house, we had king suites for each couple. The 3 youngest boys all loved the bunk room (and had to rotate turns for the top bunk). We made use of the beautiful kitchen and dining room, including a birthday dinner for one of the kids. We especially appreciated the close proximity to the beach and to Seaside as well as the bicycles that were provided. We had several friends staying in Destin for the same week and we invited them to visit us there. They were very impressed and are interested in renting in the future.

The only suggestion I have would be wheelchair accessibility for the outside. My teenage son is able to maneuver a couple of stairs with some assistance but a small ramp at one entrance would open your wonderful home to even more families. The spacious downstairs bedroom and bathroom with walk in shower are already easily accessible.

Thank you so much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review - we look forward to having you back real soon.
business
Watercolor 'Boathouse' Ph 1 746 Western Lk Dr 5 BR 5 BA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136571vb
770-309-1329
Watercolor South Walton
Kentucky
5

Perfect Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The home was perfect for our family and was very nice. The location allowed easy access to all of Watercolor and to Seaside (there is a crossover to Seaside right behind the house). By having the carriage house made into a King bed, we had 3 king suites plus the two rooms for the kids (twin room and bunk room). We never wanted for space or bathroom access. Having the bikes provided with the house was great and biking around Watercolor and Seaside, along with the beach, turned out to be a favorite part of the trip. The owner and concierge were all easy to work with. We are already planning our next trip back to Watercolor.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!
business
Watercolor 'Boathouse' Ph 1 746 Western Lk Dr 5 BR 5 BA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136571vb
770-309-1329
Watercolor South Walton
Houston,TX
3

A Bit Tired

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I have stayed in Seaside, Rosemary Beach and Watercolor off and on for one week stays for about 15 years. This is the first time where I was disappointed in the property. I learned one lesson. This property is not owned by someone that actually stays in the house from tme to time. It is an investment property. I do not believe the owner stays here. Because of that there is not the attention to deatil one would expect if the owner had to stay here. All of the appliances are dated. The main room's TV is small and old even though other rooms have flat screens. The toaster does not work. The linens are very worn. For the money I would look elsewhere. The overall layout is not amenable to large families either even though there are plenty of good sized bedrooms. The downstaris sitting room is small relative to the house, The downstairs screened in porch is filled with a dining table which is nice to have but allows for no one to sit and relax. The front porch, not screened in, is small also. There are only two chairs. The upstairs porch which could be used for gatherings has no furniture, only a ping pong table. And one final note, for about $5000-$6000 a week one would expect that the owner could provide at least soap for the bathrooms. That is an extra so be prepared to go to the store when you first get there and buy soap and shampoo.

THe best thing about the house is that it is very conveniently located.
Owner's Response: We certainly appreciate any feedback from our guests and use that information to make the rental experience of our future guests more enjoyable. We do stay in the property regularly and have stayed on top of every maintenance issue. We have replaced the sofa slip covers and most of the bedspreads this year. We have replaced all the TV's in the house with flat panel TV’s EXCEPT the family room which has a 32" TV which best fits the armoire it is in. Our choice was to remove or replace the armoire to fit a slightly larger flat panel - did not make sense with the way the room was configured to make any change but we will take this suggestion for a larger TV and see what we can do. Sorry the toaster did not work - we go through 3-4 a year - a quick call to management would have you another one in no time. I do apologize for the linens –the beginning of this season marked the switch to a linen pool system by our management company. This will keep all the linens fresh and tired linens retired replaced immediately. Implementation has begun and we are promised all houses will be replenished by the first full week of June. Believe me, we have been on the management company to allow us to replace the linens or roll out the system.

Sometimes as an owner you can't win - we had received numerous requests for more outdoor dining so we added two more teak tables and chairs. The interior is perfect for large groups particularly in the kitchen and dining areas where most other house lack enough space for everyone to eat. The appliances are not dated - the house is only 7-8 years old. You can see by the photos they are all newer stainless steel appliances and as a matter of fact - we have had to replace the dishwasher and microwave in the past year so they are basically new.

As a side note - this guest arrived unexpectantly a day early and was furious with us that we could not get them in the house as we had another guest. All the paperwork and emails between us confirmed that it was THEIR error and we did find them another house for the night. The house keepers may have rushed to get the house ready the next morning and may have missed putting out soap/shampoo which we always supply.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Watercolor 'Boathouse' Ph 1 746 Western Lk Dr 5 BR 5 BA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136571vb
770-309-1329
Watercolor South Walton
Midwest
5

Fabulous!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This house was perfect for our family vacation ... all 14 of us. Our age range was under 1 to 65+ and everyone had a great time. Pleanty of space for together or alone time. It's an easy walk to beaches, pools, restaurants and shops. Definately on our list for a return stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We look forward to having you as our guest again next year!
business
Watercolor 'Boathouse' Ph 1 746 Western Lk Dr 5 BR 5 BA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136571vb
770-309-1329
Watercolor South Walton
Atlanta
5

Highly recommend it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Staying at the Boat House was a wonderful experience for my family and we will definitely want to stay there again! The house is in very good condition and offers a perfect floor plan for large groups. It's also very conveniently located. The owners and their management team are helpful and responsive and work to make sure that you have everything you need. We were very very happy with our choice to stay there!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We look forward to having you as our guest again next year!