Rio Grande apartment rental - Living & Dining Room
Living & Dining Room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Rio Grande Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1st floor beach front unit, Sleeps 6

Looking for an alternative to expensive hotels next to the Wyndham Rio Mar Beach Resort? Here is the perfect alternative for you, your friends, and/or your family. Located adjacent and within walking distance of the prestigious Wyndham Rio Mar Beach Resort, this condo is 50 steps from a 2 mile long sandy and calm beach. This is a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom condo fully air conditioned with fully equipped luxurious kitchen, dining/living room, balcony. Recently remodeled kitchen and new furniture. You can enjoy dining in one of the nine exclusive restaurants, playing golf or gambling within the Rio Mar Resort which is also accessible via the main entrance in a 3 minute car drive. Relax overlooking El Yunque Tropical Rain forest from your own balcony or just walk a short distance to the beach or to the condo's pool. Condo comes with beach toys, chairs, coolers and even kid's bicycles. It is located on the ground level with a gorgeous lawn to sit and relax. No stairs to haul your luggage!

18 Reviews of Property 136252 in Rio Grande, Puerto Rico

Lovely and Truly Beach Front Condo Unit
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
business
Lovely and Truly Beach Front Condo Unit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136252
+1 7873971334
Rio Grande Puerto Rico
Boston, Massachusetts
5

Wonderful beachfront property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
We stayed in this property over Christmas 2009. The location is ~45 minute drive from San Juan airport, away from Old city but very close to El Yunque and Luquillo (with beach and kiosks), also not far from Farjardo where one of the biobays and ferry service to Vieques Islands are. The owner Cristian waited for our arrival at the property and showed us around the rooms and various controls (for AC, TV, retractable awning, etc.). The unit is clean and tastefully decorated, with more linens than we could ever use during the entire stay, and the kitchen is equipped with plenty of pots, pans, and utensils. There are many nice touches, including detailed guidelines written by Cristian (containing local grocery, pharmacy, restaurant information and emergency phone number and hospital), many useful booklets about local attractions, toys for young children, fresh flowers, and a huge tropical fruit basket. The unit opens to a large grass section which extends to the beach. The beach is nice and has very few people (no lifeguard) and one could walk to the beach of adjacent Westin Rio Mar resort.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this place. While we booked for 6 days, our stay took another unexpected twist after 4 days, when a water main pipe outside the building ruptured, which led to a decreased water pressure in the unit. Since it was over the holiday period, repair actions were slow. The owner closely monitored the situation and called the condo association and local water company while we were out visiting places. Seeing the issue would take a while to resolve, Cristian graciously offered to place us in the nearby Westin resort and reimbursed the cost including parking and taxes. So we spent the last two days at the resort, which has nice amenities such as pools and restaurants. In short, we felt we had the best of two different types of vacation lodgings, though I do prefer the home feeling of Cristian's condo and the ability to cook a home meal and wash dirty laundry.

Overall, we can't say enough good things about this property and more importantly the owner. I'd lvoe to recommend this place to anyone.

Two side notes, the AC is a bit loud so one would rather sleep with the ceiling fan on. And the second bedroom is quite a bit smaller than the main one, which would make sharing by two families tricky.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review!!!! We stride to make our guest's experience as memorable and comfortable as possible. Due to the many holidays around your stay, the water pipe issue was resolved by trhe water company just the day of your programmed departure.We certainly enjoyed having you at our place. We thank you for the opportunity and hope you can become repeat customers at our home. Hasta pronto!!!!!!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Lovely and Truly Beach Front Condo Unit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136252
+1 7873971334
Rio Grande Puerto Rico
5

Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My family loved this beach rental. It was easy to find and we immediately felt at home. It was so nice to be steps away from the beach and to have home cooked meals every night. We loved using the free Netflix account during the afternoon when our little one was sleeping. The vacation was so relaxing and we miss the place already!
business
Lovely and Truly Beach Front Condo Unit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136252
+1 7873971334
Rio Grande Puerto Rico
4

Honest review: The great, the good, and the OK

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We got back from our stay last week. I traveled with my husband, 6-year-old son and 3-year-old daughter. Cristian was extremely helpful and accommodating. He was unable to meet us (be aware that half the security guards speak no English) but left a warm and detailed note, along with fruit and bottled waters.

There's no one “playground” but play areas. Right by our building was a climbing structure and an airplane-shaped climber/seesaw. The swings near the pool were nice but seesaws there were VERY dangerous/high for kids under 10. Pool itself was great—kid area is completely shaded, and water there is 2 feet deep… plenty for my preschoolers to actually swim through. Then there is a built-in bench along the main pool, plus a fountain they can play around.

The condo was clean and well equipped. We loved the kioscos in Luquillo and had most meals there—check TripAdvisor for the top-rated restaurants in Luquillo and you’ll know which kiosks to hit! Also try the bakery/breakfast place behind the big Wyndham sign, as another review recommended. It’s not fancy, but the food is amazing—they make toast from homemade bread, mmmm.
Also, there’s digital cable in the den (we left it on Disney Jr or Nick Jr for the kids the whole time; both in English). Bonus: digital cable in the master bedroom! Kids room had two scooters (bikes mentioned in other reviews, but I never found them), a skateboard, and lots of balls, bats, etc.

Here are the not-so-good parts that surprised me:
-The beach has more trash on it than I had expected and LOTS of dried seaweed on the sand.
- TWO neighboring condos were being renovated. My kids' naps were difficult (bless their noisy A/C!) and ours impossible! Nights were quiet though.
- Ants in the kitchen and baths; we lost a lot of (sealed!) food to them. Cristian was apologetic and offered to send an exterminator.
- There was some deferred maintenance on the condo:
• Bathrooms dated and worn out, with broken light bulbs
• Storm door that adjoins front door falls apart at the slightest touch, and the handle is dangling and held barely in place by tape
• Back sliding door has no handle and you have to open and close it with a screw that sticks out about an inch, where the handle should be.
• Dishwasher door is missing a spring, so when you open it, it slams to the floor heavily and the drawers nearly fall out.
• No working broom to sweep all the sand that gets on the floors.

Still good overall—I'd stay there again.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review on my property. Your feedback is always positive for us to improve the quality of service and comfort to our guests. First of all, in five years of renting my property this is the first time we have ever received a review of less than 5 stars. All of our previous guest have had only great things to say about our place and we even have a steady group of repeat guest that have stayed with us on four or five different occasions . That being said, we have taken note of all minor aspects of this review that need improvement and taken care of those within our control.

The door on the dishwasher has already been repaired (it broke just a few days prior to this guest's arrival and there was no time to have it fixed between rentals); the ants have been taken care of by our exterminator who visits the property regularly; bulbs were replaced on the bathrooms (there were spare ones on the property and the guest was notified of their availability and location); bathrooms are operable, clean and well kept; and there have always been brooms and mops available to clean up (even a battery operated broom is provided and available all times).

However there are other aspects of this review that we have no control over. First the remodeling of nearby units is being done according to condo rules, during business hours Monday to Friday and should be finished within this month; the debris and seaweed on the beach was caused by torrential rains that happened just a few days prior to this guests arrival that caused major runoff from a nearby river. However as you can see form the pictures, the beach is regularly clean. Even during the summer months all condos nearby including ours try to keep the beach as clean as nature would allow. Remember that our property is within a residential beach complex and not a full scale and service resort hotel.

Notwithstanding your comments, we are glad you had a great time and we can have you back in the future at our place.

Cristian
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely and Truly Beach Front Condo Unit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136252
+1 7873971334
Rio Grande Puerto Rico
5

Excellent Getaway Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our whole stay in this condo was very pleasant. The unit is on the ground level which makes it very accessible to the beach and the patio area. There is plenty of room for a family and all the amenities were great.
You can actually hear and see the ocean from the patio area. The beach is clean and felt very private. The complex is patrolled regularly so we felt safe and concentrated on having a good time. We definitely plan to come back next year.
Owner's Response: Thanks!! Hope to see you soon. I am glad you enjoyed our home.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely and Truly Beach Front Condo Unit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136252
+1 7873971334
Rio Grande Puerto Rico
5

Just like home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This place was exactly as it was described! It was truly a "home" away from our home. We didn't need a thing as everything we could have possibly thought of was there for us to use. We enjoyed ocean views from right outside the back door! Absolutely gorgeous! This property was close to El Yunque which is a must see! Also nearby, and on the same road as El Yunque, was a fabulous restaurant: Barbakoa. We loved the friendly staff, atmosphere and the food was fantastic! Best smoked turkey we've ever had! We would definitely recommend this vacation rental in Rio Grande!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review!!!! Hope to see you soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely and Truly Beach Front Condo Unit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136252
+1 7873971334
Rio Grande Puerto Rico
5

wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This condo (and the owner!) are amazing. It is more beautiful than the photos depict, and it is stocked with body surf boards, a surf board, beach chairs, a cooler, a kid's mask, snorkel, and fins (we left a set of kid's goggles too), paddles and balls, bikes, board games, novels for adults in English, etc., etc., a fully stocked kitchen with more gadgets, serving dishes, pots and pans than I have at home. The owner also has soap, detergent for the full size washer/dryer, dishsoap, dishwasher soap, sponges, broom, dishcloths, etc., everything you need to make it your home away from home. I did not expect it to be so completely stocked with everything I needed and much more. While there is salt and pepper, you will need to buy anything else you need including paper foil, baggies, margarine/butter, mayonnaise, ketchup, coffee, etc.

It is located in the building closest to the beach on the building's end (away from the beach), but you can see the ocean from the kitchen and definitely from the patio. The building itself is comprised of some 5 condos on each floor, so the beach is VERY close. The beach (which has many permanent cement tables and benches) is just steps away from the condo. It was perfect for us.

My husband is in a wheelchair, so having a ground floor unit with accessible parking and beach access were a must. This condo met our needs perfectly; we will definitely be back. There is a hammock outside, lounge chairs, a table with chairs for eating breakfast (watch the aggressive birds that will jump onto the table and eat your food if you step away), a propane grill.

The new grocery store called Ralph's in Rio Grande, about 6 minutes on Hwy 3 towards San Juan, is perfect. They carry many local products and products that Americans will recognize. Prices are fair; produce is quite fresh; it's very clean.

The condo complex has a guard who circulates regularly throughout the complex checking on guests, but there is no life guard. We locked the condo doors everytime we left (even for just a moment) but felt safe always. The waves are relatively small (my 12 and 13 year olds had no problems at all); it is the calmest beach in Luquillo, on the protected side. The sand and beach are clean, with no trash or debris, you can safely walk barefoot. Not too many shells, but lots of sand dollars (live ones) in the ocean about 8 feet from the shoreline.

Thanks, Cristian, for helping us; our vacation was incredible.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lovely and Truly Beach Front Condo Unit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136252
+1 7873971334
Rio Grande Puerto Rico
5

Great Location, Great Beach, and Very Clean!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The condo and grounds are immaculent. There was a fruit basket sitting on the bar when we arrived. The pics are exactly what the place looks like. It had everything that one would ever need away from home. The patio in the evenings was a perfect place to relax, enjoy your favorite beverage, and listen to the waves. There were six of us that stayed there; three adults which included an 84 yr old, two college students, and a high school student. It was a little small, but we managed just fine. The grounds are very clean, and no need to worry about security. Security was always doing checks around the grounds.

Cristian was always available when we called to ask questions about places to go for groceries and general ideas and suggestions. We found Ralph's to be our favorite place for groceries.

There is lots to do in the area. The kids enjoyed riding ATVs at Hacienda Carabali near the rainforest. We highly suggest using Kayaking Puerto Rico for excursions. We did the Aquafari Culebra Island excursion with them. They were very organized and very friendly. Our college students went with another excursion company for the Bio Bay but were not impressed with that company as they were with Kayaking PR. We spent a day at El Yunque Rain Forest. We walked up to Mt. Britton which is an incline the entire way. It is classified as a moderate walk. It was tough going up, but was not bad walking down. We spent a day & in Old San Juan and went to the fort and ate dinner at Cafe Puerto Rico which sits across from Christopher Columbus statue. Food was delicious; waiter was awesome.

Driving in the area was not too bad. Hwy 3 is pretty busy road and backs up badly on Sundays and rush hour. We are used to traffic. Just allow yourself some time. I think most people will have not have a problem driving there. A navigation system was helpful. We bought ours from home with us.

We will definitely be back again.

Matt & Karen
NRH, TX
Owner's Response: Matt and Family: Thanks for the great review. I am always so glad when my guests are completely satisfied with the whole Puerto Rico experience and specially with our home away from home. Again I thank you for all the compliments and hope you can repeat your stay in our home.
Regards

Cristian
business
Lovely and Truly Beach Front Condo Unit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136252
+1 7873971334
Rio Grande Puerto Rico
5

Perfect Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The rental was even more than we expected. It had a welcoming feeling to it. The property was clean and very well maintained. Christian was absolutely great, when ever we had a question he was just a phone call away. We enjoyed the beach that was just several hundred feet away, especially at night when you could hear the waves break onto the beach.
To eat we recommend Don Pepe's Restaurant, it is on route 3 west. The coconut rice with skirt steak is to die for. We also enjoyed the island of Culebra (Flamenco Beach), a must for anyone to visit. The beach is exactly what you would see in all those TV commercials. You can bring your own beach chairs or rent them for $10. They also have kiosks with plenty of food to buy. Make sure you arrive early to the ferry (about 7:00am) the tickets sell out fast and you will miss out on the best part of your vacation. We can't wait to return to Rio Grande. Christian thank you for the great service.
See you soon,

Daniel and Elizabeth
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review and tips for our guests. I certainly hope that we can welcome you back in our place in the future. Gracias!!!!
business
Lovely and Truly Beach Front Condo Unit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136252
+1 7873971334
Rio Grande Puerto Rico
5

Fabulous Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My family of three just cam back from a wonderful vacation to Puerto Rico - made even more enjoyable by this comfortable and welcoming home at El Yunque Mar. The apartment was clean and packed with all sorts of excellent amenities from all sorts of beach gear to toys/games that kept our 5 year old son happy & occupied. Bonus points for having a stunning (and mostly empty) beach only yards away from the back patio. While we traveled daily to enjoy the different sites of Puerto Rico, it was always wonderful to come back to the apartment, as it felt like home for the week of our trip.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. We are glad you had a great time with your family and hope to see you back in our home soon! Cristian
business
Lovely and Truly Beach Front Condo Unit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136252
+1 7873971334
Rio Grande Puerto Rico
5

Great Place--Great Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
The condo is just as it appears in the photos--modern, nicely decorated and clean The washing machine and dishwasher were nice extras as was the wi-fi. The bed was quite comfortable but we did notice there was a pretty noisy a/c condenser outside the window of the second bedroom, so if you have kids who are sensitive to noise this could be a problem. ??The only other negative for us was the lack of screens, but to be honest we spent virtually all our time outside anyway.
The beach and the location are the best things about the place. The photos we have of the beach could go in a magazene and the waves were not too rough. And you are right down the mountain from El Yunque! All together--we loved it! Can't wait to come back!
Helpful votes: 1/1