Chilmark house rental - House with deck in back
House with deck in back
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Chilmark House Rental Photos and Description
- 4 BR, 3 BA, Sleeps 10.

This spacious, comfortable, well-equipped home is located in a quiet neighborhood off North Road in Chilmark. It features 3 acres of woods and fields with landscaped gardens and a large, sunny deck. The house offers two master bedrooms, making it ideal for two families. The downstairs master bedroom includes an alcove with bunk beds. Upstairs is a second master bedroom with a bathroom with a Jacuzzi and a private entrance. All four bedrooms are spacious, bright and sunny. Downstairs is a very large family room with TV area and a full-size pool table. Upstairs is a large living/dining room with cathedral ceiling and fire place, opening onto a well-equipped kitchen and deck. The house has all new furnishings and equipment. Three full baths and 2 outdoor showers. The home is within walking distance (c.1mile) to Great Rock Bight Beach. Two miles to Menemsha and a short drive to Lucy Vincent Beach.

4 Reviews of Property 136112 in Chilmark, Massachusetts

Spacious, Sunny, Private Chilmark Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Spacious, Sunny, Private Chilmark Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136112
781 962-8686
Chilmark Martha's Vineyard
5

A rare find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed at this lovely home during the first week of July. The owners were great to work with. The house was much better than we expected. It was really amazing. It was comfortable, elegant and very interesting. The setting was serene and beautiful. The house was down a dirt road from a farmstand (…where we bought the most delish fresh greens. I wish we tried the fresh chicken and eggs.) The yard was very nicely landscaped. The back deck was perfectly situated….some sun and some shade almost constantly. Inside the house each room was furnished very nicely and quite comfortable. There were many unique and interesting touches within the house yet comfortable and fun to relax and entertain in. Also I was surprised how well equipped the house was. I brought many things that were already plentiful there. There were loads of sheets, towels, beach towels and chairs. There was a laundry too! The kitchen was very well equipped. There were 2 outdoor showers that were amazing after a day at the beach! The surrounding area was beautiful. We went to beaches, sunsets at Menemsha, walked some of the trails, saw the cliffs at Gay Head, into/out of Edgartown, Oak Bluffs and Vineyard Haven often. This house had many special features: a book with load of suggestions of what to do and where to eat, a nice collection of books, many family games, tv, and a pool table, the list goes on. I highly recommend this place. It is one of those rare finds I wish I found sooner!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious, Sunny, Private Chilmark Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136112
781 962-8686
Chilmark Martha's Vineyard
New Jersey
5

Magical up-island week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We had a storybook Vineyard vacation in this Chilmark property. It's location is terrific- central to everything you want to do up island, while offering complete privacy. The photos don't show the outstanding flower gardens bursting with Queen if the Meadow, hybiscus, coral bells, butterfly bushes, a wisteria-covered arbor over the entrance. The sunny deck was our home for grilling, sunning, dining, reading, and birdwatching. Birdfeeders attract cardinals, nuthatches, chickadees, etc., and a family of refrained hawks lives nearby- we heard them calling. Inside, the house is spacious and breezy. We kept the windows open- air is so cool and fresh, and we woke every morning to birds chattering. We didn't miss an opportunity for an outdoor shower (there is one on each side of the house) every time we came back from the beach. The boys loved the pool table, and we loved the great selection of novels and suggestions for restaurants, beaches, hikes, etc. We had so many wonderful adventures based on these recommendations- Lucy Vincent beach; a beautiful walk (we went on mountain bikes) to Great Rock Bight where we saw ospreys and comerants fishing; sunset at Aquinnah (wow); afternoon in menemsha (the Bite has some fabulous fried scallops); the Great Illumination and dinner on the sparkling terrace of Sweet life cafe in Oak Bluffs; sunrise at Squibnocket beach; kayaking across Menemsha pond; delicious dinner at Beach Plum Inn; and our favorite, Long Point reserve. Saturday morning 'the Flea', as in market, on North road- lots of talented artists. Loved riding my bike to the farmstand at the end of the dirt road for flowers and fresh eggs in the morning. In short, fantastic place, very nice and helpful owners. What a privilege.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious, Sunny, Private Chilmark Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136112
781 962-8686
Chilmark Martha's Vineyard
greensboro, north carolina
5

summer 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
beautiful home, lots of room, well-equipped kitchen, plenty of showers. location was ideal for taking hikes and for quick drives into menemsha, chilmark and gay head. really enjoyed the back yard, outdoor eating area and gardens. very efficient fans (vornado) in most rooms. card tables for extra seating and doing puzzles much appreciated. i would suggest just paying for the trash removal as it was a hassle and the rules were vague. (we made 2 runs that week). great that the beach towels and several chairs were included. extra linens would be a help when trying to get out by 10 am! we loved our vacation and would definitely not hesitate to lease this property again. we were a party of 3 families with 2 teens each. the kids had plenty to do and the adults never felt crowded by the large group. thanks!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We appreciate dc's suggestions and we plan to provide trash service in the future and will stock additional linens.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious, Sunny, Private Chilmark Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p136112
781 962-8686
Chilmark Martha's Vineyard
5

Fabulous House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I've stayed here twice in recent summers and it is by far the best, most comfortable house I have experienced on the Vineyard. The rooms are large, light, airy and extremely comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped for serious cooking if one is so inclined. The yard is large and private and very quiet. An easy ride to the beach and farm produce, eggs and chicken available at the beginning of the road into the property.

A PERFECT VACATION SITE! Hope to return here in the future we were all thrilled.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway