Wilmington cabin rental - Black Brook Lodge (entrance and porch)
Black Brook Lodge (entrance and porch)
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Wilmington Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

A beautiful riverfront log cabin set in an idyllic area of the Adirondack Park. The cabin, made of hand-hewn cedar logs, is located in the hamlet of Black Brook minutes from Taylor Pond, Silver Lake and Union Falls Pond. This ideal spot offers easy access to Lake Placid, Wilmington and Whiteface, as well as Saranac Lake and Lake Champlain. For day trippers, Montreal is only 90 minutes away (bring passport!) There is great hiking, biking, skiing, swimming, canoeing, golfing and fishing all within minutes. The lodge sits on over 8 acres of land and includes a secluded, wooded path to a private stretch of river with over 550 of frontage and excellent fly fishing. The river run on the property is completely private, and you can fall asleep on the deck listening to the swift current of the south branch of the Saranac. The cabin was built with gourmet cook in mind: commercial appliances, farmhouse sink, Italian tile counter-top, hood vent and custom lighting. The home has an open floor plan with two bedrooms and a full bath on one end and a master suite with master bath on the other. Master bath has a double sink, a Jacuzzi claw foot tub, and a water closet. Stone fireplace in great room. Ceiling fans throughout. 52' foot covered porch in front of house overlooking flower garden and ideal for watching sunsets. 52' deck in back overlooking Ellis and Tolman Mountains (great for sunrise, exposure south and east). Beautiful path to river where boulders for sunbathing, wading pools and excellent trout fishing await you. Bird-watchers paradise. Nature library (including guidebooks and field guides). Come north for solitude, serenity, and stargazing. This is Adirondack living at its finest, a home for the outdoor enthusiast with all the amenities.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 135867 in Wilmington, New York

Black Brook Lodge -- Luxury Riverfront Log Cabin in High Peaks
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Black Brook Lodge -- Luxury Riverfront Log Cabin in High Peaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135867vb
Wilmington Whiteface Mountain
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
5

Our Ironman Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Thank you for a wonderful stay at your beautiful cabin. Your photos don't convey how beautiful the cabin is! My family and I were able to have a relaxing vacation. Just one of the great things about the cabin is that it is fully stocked with entertainment items/dishes/excellent pots and pans, etc. It made packing easier! Thank you for all the recommended spots to visit. I will recommend this location to anyone I know travelling in the area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Black Brook Lodge -- Luxury Riverfront Log Cabin in High Peaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135867vb
Wilmington Whiteface Mountain
Clarence Center, NY
5

Wonderful Place To Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family spent a full week at the lodge in early July and loved the entire stay. The cabin was as described with a gourmet kitchen, satellite TV, plenty of space (including sleeping arrangements for 4 children +), clean, well maintained, nicely decorated, etc. With 4 kids, it's nice to have a real working kitchen in order to prepare real meals instead of "vacation take out". Oh, and the three full baths were perfect for our big family. You can stay the whole time at the lodge and enjoy the peaceful grounds and the beautiful Saranac River on the property (which is completely isolated from the any roads, houses, or people) or you can easily drive to many attractions in the area. We rented canoes on the Ausable river, rafted down the Ausable Chasm, spent a day in Lake Placid, hiked trails and climbed mountains, spent time at a nearby beach, took a day trip to Montreal (very easy 1 1/2 hr drive), took the ferry over to Burlington Vermont, fished some of the best fly fishing rivers around, and plenty of other stuff. All of this was within a very reasonable distance from the cabin. Roads & towns in the area are very easy to drive and understand. The cabin is in the perfect place if you are interested in the activities in the “high peaks” region. The owners were wonderful to deal with and the process is very straightforward. This was one of our best vacations and we will be back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Black Brook Lodge -- Luxury Riverfront Log Cabin in High Peaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135867vb
Wilmington Whiteface Mountain
Massachusetts
5

Fantastic place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
What a fantastic place to stay. The cabin was the perfect size. Incredible kitchen to cook in which is certainly not the case with 99% of the rentals out there. The open living, dining and kitchen area was the perfect size to relax together. The basement was spacious and perfect for our 1 and 2 year old to get their wiggle out. They also LOVED the 50 plus foot covered front porch. They spent hours running back and forth out there. Which was good cause we had rain almost everyday! That made the comfort of the house even more important as we spent a little more time there than exploring.
The walk down to the river was nice and easy and certainly a great spot to sit and relax on the rocks. A beautiful and peaceful spot.
Everything was in perfect order and we would definitely reccomend this place to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay. Good distance between Plattsburgh and Lake Placid with plenty to see and do in between.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Black Brook Lodge -- Luxury Riverfront Log Cabin in High Peaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135867vb
Wilmington Whiteface Mountain
East Hampton, NY
5

A Perfect Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
We spent a long weekend at Black Brook Lodge in late March and never wanted to leave! The cabin is so inviting and cozy. I always worry when staying in someone else's home that it might be too full of personal effects or decorated in a style that isn't so appealing to one's own taste but BBL is so clean and lovely and tastefully decorated it combines the best aspects of a cozy home experience (for example the great array of guidebooks, cookbooks, DVDs, and board games) with a hotel experience. Highlights include the goregous bath tubs, chef's quality kitchen appliances, fireplace and trail to river. Oh and basement ping pong table! Close to Lake Placid etc. but was really nice not to be right in the thick of it. You get to be 20-30 minutes from a big town and all sorts of restaurants but you can still feel like you are in the middle of the woods without a person around. We can't wait to come back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Black Brook Lodge -- Luxury Riverfront Log Cabin in High Peaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135867vb
Wilmington Whiteface Mountain
Maplewood, NJ
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
We had the pleasure of staying at the house during the last wintry weekend of the season. It was beautiful and close to skiing at Whiteface. We have stayed at several other rental houses but never one so nicely appointed in every room of the home, from the terrific kitchen to the great selection of DVD's. It really felt like a well-cared for home. Our kids are already asking when we can return.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Black Brook Lodge -- Luxury Riverfront Log Cabin in High Peaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135867vb
Wilmington Whiteface Mountain
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
What a fantastic get away in the Adirondecks. It was a perfect way to relax and recharge. The house is nestled away from the road surrounded by beautiful gardens and trees, which provide plenty of privacy. The layout is nice with bedrooms on opposite sides and the kitchen/great room in the middle. The house was nicely appointed and very comfortable. The best part was the gourmet kitchen. Everything we needed to cook incredible meals was there. We used the Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer several times as well as the food processor. The cooking utensils, accessories and pots and pans made cooking easy and enjoyable because the were of sufficient quality to cook on. The stove and ovens were awesome! Also, we were able to explore the area by taking advantage of the hiking recommendations provided in the welcome package. We imagined how nice it would be to spend a ski holiday at the cabin during the winter. Overall, had a wonderful time and the owner was extremely helpful and provided excellent suggestions.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Black Brook Lodge -- Luxury Riverfront Log Cabin in High Peaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135867vb
Wilmington Whiteface Mountain
Brooklyn, New York
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
A terrific place to rent! We highly recommend the house and its location. For those of you who enjoy cooking on vacation, the kitchen is extremely well-equipped - the knives are indeed sharp and the pans are heavy! Even the fussiest gourmet cook will be very happy to cook here. There is plenty to do nearby - Silver Lake Mtn and Baker Mtn are good options for a family hike, and the nature trails at Paul Smith's are not too far. And yes, your kids will appreciate the satellite TV and the ping-pong table on those rainy days!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Black Brook Lodge -- Luxury Riverfront Log Cabin in High Peaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135867vb
Wilmington Whiteface Mountain
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We just spent a week at Black Brook and had a great
time! The gourmet kitchen was amazing! We BBQ'd
several nights and had a fire in the fireplace almost
every night. It was so beautiful up there that we
weren't ready to leave. Our kids played ping pong
and spent hours hunched over the puzzle. Lots of
things to do! We went to Lake Placid, Montreal,
High Fall Gorge as well as hiking and fishing. We
definitely would stay at Black Brook Lodge again!
Nancy
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Black Brook Lodge -- Luxury Riverfront Log Cabin in High Peaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135867vb
Wilmington Whiteface Mountain
Clarence, NY
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
8/5/2008: Black Brook Lodge will be remembered as the setting for one of our favorite vacations. We arrived in a downpour and spent a week dodging raindrops. Didn't matter. Our days were filled with mountain hikes, fishing, reading, and skipping rocks down by the river. We canoed, picnicked, swam in local watering holes, explored the gift shops and cafes in nearby Lake Placid and Plattsburgh, cooked & baked up a storm in the lodge's fabulous kitchen. The owners of Black Brook Lodge have considered and supplied their guests with every amenity and comfort. The lodge is impeccable, clean, and furnished for comfort and relaxation. We spent hours on the outdoor decks; watching butterflies and birds, listening to the river, and staring up at the spectacular evening sky. I spent a whole afternoon copying recipes from a variety of cookbooks while my husband and kids rifled through the lodge's guidebooks that include treatises on everything from bird-watching to cloud gazing. Our week ended way too quickly, but with a promise to return.

M T DiVencenzo, Clarence, New York
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Black Brook Lodge -- Luxury Riverfront Log Cabin in High Peaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135867vb
Wilmington Whiteface Mountain
Croton-on-Hudson, NY
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
We spent a week at the house at the end of August. The beds were very comfortable, the kitchen was great and the views of the night sky were awesome! We will definitely be making another visit to this house.
Helpful votes: 1/1