Caroga Lake house rental - Sunset Point
Sunset Point
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Caroga Lake House Rental Photos and Description
3 BR, 2 Full BA, Sleeps 8.

Leave your cell phones at home and enjoy a quiet, relaxing week on crystal clear Pecks Lake located in the foothills of the Adirondacks. Wake-up to the call of the Loons; quietly paddle our 3 kayaks along the shore as the sun rises; prepare your meals in our completely modern kitchen as the kids play pool upstairs or swim in the lake; great bass fishing; old fashioned candy store in the marina or entertain on the large wrap around deck. End your day lakeside on the “Sunset” deck or telling stories by our cozy, stone fireplace in the family room. No jet skis on this Lake. It is truly a week in paradise with your family. Local attractions 1 hour away include Thoroughbred Racing in Saratoga in August; Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY; 3 local golf courses; horseback riding, Animal Farm\Petting Zoo; Blue Berry Farm; Craft Fairs; Antiquing, etc.

Property is located on Sunset Point on beautiful and private Peck's Lake and includes a large private dock on 350 feet of exclusive waterfront. Sunset Point is available by the week or month during June, July and August and weekends during the spring, fall and winter. Wonderful hiking, biking, and snowmobile trails right outside the door and the lake is famous for its fishing. Come and enjoy!

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 135637 in Caroga Lake, New York

Beautiful ''Sunset Point'' Waterfront Home
average rating of 4.6 based on 15 reviews
business
Beautiful ''Sunset Point'' Waterfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135637
518 893-7291
Caroga Lake Adirondacks
Tarrytown
5

Great house, great scenery

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2007
  • Stayed: Feb 2007
We had a great time in the house. It has a lot of atmosphere, it is ideal for kids and the house is beautifully located at the border of the lake.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Beautiful ''Sunset Point'' Waterfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135637
518 893-7291
Caroga Lake Adirondacks
rochester,NY
5

FABULOUS LAKE HOUSE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our group of kids,parents, and grandparents stayed over the Labor Day weekend. We arrived to warm, fresh baked cookies on the counter and a welcome note from the owner. The house was immaculate and wonderfully appointed with comfy couches and chairs, all with stunning views of the lake. It is a very spacious home, with room for all of us to enjoy meals together, yet have our own private places to relax. The kitchen is very well stocked and has a lot of the little things you might forget to bring (dish soap, condiments, etc). The bedrooms are spacious and cozy, 2 of them looking directly out onto the lake for your morning coffee. The deck is outstanding, with areas for separate groups to have lunch or read, or take a nap on the chaise lounges. The lower deck and dock on the lake are additional areas for people to have some private time and enjoy the lake. The lake is super clean, and all of us enjoyed the kayak and canoe outings. The sunset was STUNNING! We enjoyed s'mores over the fire pit and long evenings playing cards in the enclosed porch after dark. There are neighbors on both sides, but the house is set apart from them with wooded areas, and it really feels like you are all by yourselves on a beautiful, peaceful lake. I can't say enough about the owner, Roberta, either. She was very easy to communicate with, and even mailed back an item we left at the house. I can't wait to come back here next year!!
business
Beautiful ''Sunset Point'' Waterfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135637
518 893-7291
Caroga Lake Adirondacks
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The property is lovely, right on the lake but very private. The dock and decks are real features. Roberta was excellent, very accommodating and knowledgable. This property is "away from it all" but is a short 10 minute ride to everything you might need. We really enjoyed our visit and look forward to coming back again.
business
Beautiful ''Sunset Point'' Waterfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135637
518 893-7291
Caroga Lake Adirondacks
4

Rest and relaxation assured!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Roberta was a great communicator from the first enquiry. Any questions were answered in full and she clearly wants her guests to have the best possible experience at Sunset Point. The house was spotlessly clean with everything you could possibly want or need for a holiday away from it all. The lake is beautiful - so quiet and peaceful and the plot is totally private. The only people we saw were on the water. The canoe and kayaks were great, we also loved the fire pit after watching the sunset from the dock. When we were there the weather was mixed but we took advantage of the pool table, the great selection of games and the tv coverage of the Olympics! We took a trip to Saratoga and Lake George but it should be noted that Sunset Point is very much off the tourist route and away from it all. It was great for having good quality family time and was just what we needed before the onslaught of a few days in New York City. Thank you Roberta!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review! I'm so glad your family had a nice time.

It is definitely true that the property is not in a major tourist corridor. The lake is on Rte 29A and is the first lake you come to when you enter the Adirondack Park from its most southern entry point. If you are looking for roller coasters and water parks this is probably not the house for you. But if you're looking for a pristine Adirondack setting, you won't find a nicer, more convenient spot anywhere in the Adirondack Park. It's so private, you'd think you were in the heart of the park instead of only 20 minutes off the Thruway. You have to see it to believe how beautiful the spot is.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful ''Sunset Point'' Waterfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135637
518 893-7291
Caroga Lake Adirondacks
5

Quiet, restful, beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The website pictures of Sunset Point are nice, but they really don't do justice to the quality of this vacation home. It's a wonderful place--quiet, restful, beautiful. Because it sits on a point of land jutting into the lake, it has more privacy than surrounding properties. The tall pines and other trees create a breezy shelter that kept us cool even with otherwise hot weather. Inside the house, we enjoyed spotlessly clean and well-furnished accommodations (including the pool table on the second floor). Best of all was Roberta's prompt and thorough attention to our questions and concerns. She really made us feel at home. We would certainly go back to Sunset Point in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful ''Sunset Point'' Waterfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135637
518 893-7291
Caroga Lake Adirondacks
5

Very private location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This house is clean and spacious in a private setting. We went on our first family vacation in years- 6 adults and two retrievers. We had all the space we needed and more. When on the property around the house, and on one of two decks or dock, there is virtually no evidence of neighbors (there is only one whose house can be seen when first entering the long private driveway). We took full advantage of the grill, spent hours jumping in the water off the dock, used the canoe and kayaks, and read books in the living room as we enjoyed the breeze off the water. The dogs had a great time too. We walked and jogged on the road and saw just a few cars and a couple early morning walkers during a holiday week, so it is very peaceful and quiet. We visited the Amish area nearby and ate fresh, homemade baked goods and jams all week. The area is loaded with lakes and hiking trails and a few local restaurants are not too far of a ride. Roberta was quick to respond to any questions, taking the time to give us detailed info on local farmstands and where to get fishing licenses. We have been to other NY and VT lakes, but with all this peace and serenity only 3.5 hrs from the NYC metro area, we will certainly be back!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the nice review. I'm delighted you had such a nice and look forward to your family returning.
business
Beautiful ''Sunset Point'' Waterfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135637
518 893-7291
Caroga Lake Adirondacks
5

Try to imagine the perfect place for a vaction...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Roberta really helped us out at the last minute (less than 24 hours notice) as our previous booking had been literally cancelled at the last minute. Communication was swift, helpful and meaningful. We come from the UK and were not at all familiar with this part of New York state but Roberta and Gary were just absolutely fantastic, giving us local recommendations and tips and a very warm welcome. Everything about the house was perfect, the location, the facilities, the view...we were at the house in mid september and it was still plenty warm enough to swim in the lake. Plus we took serious advantage of the kayaks and canoe. We've told all our friends and we'd come back in a flash. Overall, one the best trips i've had upstate and in no small part down to the house and the wonderful owners. Thank you again for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. I'm so glad you and your friends had such a nice time. The fall is so beautiful in the Adirondacks. I'm happy you got to share our jewel in the Adirondacks!
business
Beautiful ''Sunset Point'' Waterfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135637
518 893-7291
Caroga Lake Adirondacks
maryland
4

4th of July blast

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
we had agreat time at Sunset Point. And the name is perfect! Come see for yourself. We finally had a chance to get away and relax. Visit with family in the area and just enjoyed the house. It is rustic , but very comfortable. My only suggestion would be in the Summer to bring fans. It was very hot at night. The local stores are close and there are several places to eat, but we mostly stayed at home. The house is well equiped for cooking and BBQ. I would suggets don't bring any food until you get there unless you have certain diet restrictions because you can get pretty much anything you want. We eat mostly organic and did not have a problem. The water is AWESOME!!! We used the kayaks and canoe every day. Smores in the fire pit at night. even though it was almost 100 degrees. We had a mix of ages stay with us throughout the week and everyone had a great time. Roberta has done a great job keeping the camp feel and making you at home. I did bring my selection of movies, but we were so busy that we only watched one. I fibnally read a whole book...it only took me 2 days with early morning coffee and afternoon flaoting in the water.The pool table was great fun. I had no idea so many in the family were such sharks! We hope to go back again soon and have more family and ALONE time there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad the reviewer enjoyed Sunset Point. Thanks so much for the nice review. In the future though, if you need anything please call me. I want you to be comfortable and would happily run you up a couple of fans. There is usally a nice breeze at the lake and at the high altitude the temperature is usually pleasant. But we did have an unusually hot and humid spell this summer. Again, please just contact me if you need anything.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful ''Sunset Point'' Waterfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135637
518 893-7291
Caroga Lake Adirondacks
New Hyde Park, NY
5

Serenity at Last

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
This was one of the most memorable vacations ever. I spent a week there with my family and we had such a great time. Canoeing and kayaking in the morning with the loons was unforgetable and the fishing was excellent. This home is well equiped and situated on probably the best point of the lake. The sunsets were spectacular. The kitchen is stocked with just about every utensil or tool you can possibly use. The home is very clean and well maintained. It is truly a gem. The owner, Roberta, was so kind and helpful and went out of her way to provide us with information about activities and attractions in the area. However, once you arrive you do not want to leave. I can't wait to return to it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful ''Sunset Point'' Waterfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135637
518 893-7291
Caroga Lake Adirondacks
New Jersey
5

Wonderful Adirondack Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
I have stayed at Sunset Point many, many times. Having grown up nearby, I love to return to the beauty of the Adirondacks and Peck's Lake. It is a wonderful vacation spot - for all ages! The property makes a great playground for the kids, and the sunsets on the lake couldn't be more romantic. The house has all the amenities you could want, and waking up to the sounds of the loons is priceless, as they say. And we caught a HUGE bass last summer! Great for swimming in a pristine lake, sunning on the dock, BBQs, camp fires under the stars, quiet and peaceful, great local hiking.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3