Ouray cabin rental - View from the cabin's deck of Canyon Creek Cascade
View from the cabin's deck of Canyon Creek Cascade
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 6 nights
 

Ouray Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 4 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

This cabin is only 4 miles from Ouray, but sits secluded in a beautiful, forested canyon. Canyon Creek and the Canyon Creek Cascades are on the property.

Beautiful views from every room. Comfortably furnished with new leather couches, and 2 new memory foam queen-size beds. Large deck extends from kitchen area for enjoying the mountain and waterfall views. This home is a non-smoking, no-pet, property.

Keywords: Cabin, mountain views, river, scenic, wooded, secluded, private

Our family has grown up in Colorado, skiing, hiking, biking, and enjoying the outdoors.

Michael Gebhard purchased this cabin in 2005

This canyon property has to be one of the most beautiful places in Colorado. We feel like we are in a wilderness location, but with the comforts of a cabin.

We love to snowshoe and backcountry ski in the winter, and hike and mountain bike in the summer and fall.

7 Reviews of Property 135450 in Ouray, Colorado

Secluded Cabin at 9000' on Canyon Creek Cascade
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Secluded Cabin at 9000' on Canyon Creek Cascade
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135450vb
(970) 640-9797
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Houston, TX
5

Exactly what we were looking for.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My friends and I booked this cabin as a "home base" for all our off-roading plans in the Ouray area. It is in a great location for that. You are already part of the way down the path heading to several passes (Imogene Pass, Governor's Basin, Yankee Boy Basin). Let me start by saying, you cannot overstate the amazing views surrounding the cabin. Everybody really enjoyed it and we are talking about coming back next year for some more off-roading.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Cabin at 9000' on Canyon Creek Cascade
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135450vb
(970) 640-9797
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
5

The perfect place to get away.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I've been around the word. I've stayed in some nice places with great views (ie see one of the seven wonders of the world from my bedroom window) but I was not expecting such a great experience from The Cabin. I knew it fit our party size and it was away from all of the business of town but wow. . . The first hour of all us getting out of the cars and wandering around was filled with "wow", "awesome", "amazing", etc.

Let me say again, we really loved the experience of staying. The experience with the owners was exceptional as well. They were very pleasant, professional and easy to work with. This is my first VRBO rental and first from this owner. I am very comfortable using both in the future.

The cabin is not a palace and nothing was gilded. There a butler there to greet us. (we didn't expect that) That said, everything seemed to be in good condition and well kept. We found it to be very, very well stocked with just about everything you might need to spend a week. I was expecting to find one token pan, three knives, 1 fork, etc. On the contrary, the kitchen was as ready to go as my own.

With a full bath downstairs and a half bath up, a living room and "den" area, and bed rooms on both floors--it worked fine for our extended family. Note: though there are four different bed rooms the back upstairs bedroom is not totally private from the front upstairs bedroom and bathroom. This wasn't a problem with us. We didn't really care because we all really got up at the same time and are family. It was well worth the amazing view from the upstairs balcony and view we enjoyed. We went to sleep with the windows open listening to the sounds of our private stream and cascades. Our alarm clock was laying in bed, looking out up at the mountains and waiting to see the sun light up the peak of the western summit.

Once get off the road onto the private driveway (by private I mean, dozens of Jeeps may pass it coming up the road and never know there is cabin nestled away). The experience is truly like you are in your private forest with private cabin, private mountains, private river and private waterfalls. It was nice to be just 15 minutes from town (less than four miles but go slow on the gravel road) and it was great to head the other way up to the mines, Yankee Boy Basin, and Mt. Sneffels (there are limits on how far you can get without a 4x4 but you don't need a Jeep to get to trails and a lot of fun). Oh yeah, we climbed Sneffels!!!!
Have fun!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Cabin at 9000' on Canyon Creek Cascade
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135450vb
(970) 640-9797
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Murphy, TX, USA
5

Wonderful vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Plenty of room for 6 adults, 2 children, 1 infant. Quiet and relaxing. Driveway is steep but no problem for F250. Great base for jeeping, Imogene road and Yankee Boy basin are further up Camp Bird road. Definitely is on our 'do again' list.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Cabin at 9000' on Canyon Creek Cascade
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135450vb
(970) 640-9797
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Boulder, CO
5

Cozy cabin in breathtaking setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
As the previous reviewers have stated, the pictures of the surroundings do not do this place justice. The cabin is older but well cared for and definitely the best deal in the area. Our party of nine adults was perfectly comfortable: there was enough bedding and seating to accommodate everyone and we never felt crowded at all.

A few tidbits:

The incoming road has some decent exposure (you have to drive around a sheer cliff face). If you have extreme problems with exposure/heights, your best bet is to stay in town.

The driveway may not be suitable for passenger cars (we left our passenger cars at the entrance to the driveway).

The road past the cabin (leading to outdoor activities) is also heavily exposed and becomes more treacherous for passenger cars, although we did see passenger cars a good deal farther up the road.

Verizon cell service seemed to work ok, AT&T not at all.

Stating the obvious, but for a large party, hot water may end up being an issue if everyone is trying to shower one after the other.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Secluded Cabin at 9000' on Canyon Creek Cascade
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135450vb
(970) 640-9797
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Keller, Texas
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
This cabin is fabulous! Indescribable views, combined with a spacious, clean and physically beautiful property make for the perfect mountain get-away. The owner is very gracious and responsive. The driveway is fairly steep down to the cabin and unpaved; however four-wheeled drive is not necessary. From toiletries, to kitchen supplies, to bedding, to games, this cabin is well stocked; all you have to bring is your own food and you're set for a great vacation.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Cabin at 9000' on Canyon Creek Cascade
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135450vb
(970) 640-9797
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Lombard, Illinois
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Absolutely spectacular! No photo's can do it justice. We had an amazing vacation here in June of 2009. Close enough to town for convenience, but just far enough away for a true mountain experience. Gentle roar of the waterfall (cascade) on the property put us to sleep with ease every night. Super comfortable mattresses (Tempur-Pedic style), top notch leather sofas and over-sized chair for the days you just want to sit around and enjoy the view or the fireplace. Also it was very clean and well maintained, which was very important to us! Yankee Boy and Imogene Pass just up the road, which are the best of the best in the area for sights and Jeeping. Everything else is SW CO is easy to get to from here. Consider yourself lucky if you get a week at this cabin. I'm sure it'll fill early and stay full! We liked it so much we might come back in Fall (if we can get a reservation). Owners are really easy going and super easy to deal with. Thanks so much Jim for your helpful advice and the priviledge of sharing your wonderful property!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Secluded Cabin at 9000' on Canyon Creek Cascade
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135450vb
(970) 640-9797
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Wichita, Kansas
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
This is a spectacular cabin! We have stayed in cabins all over Colorado, and this was by far our favorite becuase of it's location and views. The views in the photos are real, not photo-shopped! Very gracious hosts and a well stocked cabin.