Lincolnville barn rental - Early Roses at the Windjammer Barn
Early Roses at the Windjammer Barn
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Lincolnville Barn Rental Photos and Description
- 2 BR, 1.5 BA, Sleeps 4-6.

Coming to Maine? Want a picturesque setting on the Mid coast? Want a great room with a view of Penobscot Bay? Want sleeping space for 6? Want a kitchen with a six burner stove top and a convection oven? Want a washer and dryer? Want to be close to a beach? Want books, satellite TV, wireless access and two floors to settle in? We have it all in a rustic barn built in the 1970s but looking like the 1870s. In Spring and Summer walk the property, view the gardens, feed the birds and head easily to any site on the Midcoast. In Winter local skiing, cross country and downhill available. Winter and summer hikes, great food and quiet towns make for a relaxing time. But act quickly because early inquries and bookings are now staring to arrive. Now is the time to plan for a week or more in Maine. The Windjammer Barn is one half mile south of Lincolnville Beach and the Isleboro Ferry Landing on US Route 1and 5 miles north of Camden. Come stay with us for the best vacation ever!

The Barn, built in the 1970s, was constructed to capture the charm of old Maine structures and provide magnificent views of Penobscot Bay and the scenic island of Isleboro. This Barn unit features a great room with large windows facing the Bay and allowing views of the sunrises over the island. Located only five miles from Camden and twelve miles from Belfast, the Barn offers easy access to all of the Mid-Coast area.

The central unit of the Windjammer Barn has many features—wide pine floors, large glass windows, book shelves, a wood stove and full heating system and new furniture. The barn has a great room fully equipped with TV/VCR/DVD, and plenty of books and board games. The kitchen offers all modern conveniences including Gaggenau convection oven, six burner stove top, dishwasher, microwave, coffeemaker, and full dish and tableware sets. The first floor also contains a full bath with a walk-in shower and a separate space for the washer and dryer.

The great room contains a kitchen table and chairs, comfortable chairs, and a queen sleep sofa, a day bed and several comfortable chairs. Upstairs, there are two bedrooms, the larger with a queen size bed and the other with two twin size beds. There is a half bath on the upper floor. The Windjammer Barn sleeps 4 - 6 people comfortably. Bed and bath linen provided. Sorry, no smoking indoors

The outside provides seven acres of meadow, apple trees, chairs for relaxing and a pond often inhabited by ducks, Canadian geese and local water fowl and an occasional moose. The outdoor area also has a charcoal grill, and a table and chairs for outside dining. A walking path down to and around the pond may be used. A short walk away are four restaurants, the Lincolnville Beach, a great bakery, wine and sandwich shop and shops with local Maine crafts.

If you prefer to drive, the towns of Camden, Rockport, Rockland and Belfast are all within 20 minutes. State Parks, hiking trails, chances to take a whale watch, a schooner ride or a Puffin tour or simply to sit and view the harbors of what many consider the most beautiful portion of Maine’s coast are all available to you.

In the evening, cook a meal on the outdoor grill, or walk to the beach and walk along the rocky Maine shore, have a seafood meal at one of the many local restaurants. Next door is one of Maine’s many antique shops and art galleries dot the road from Camden to Belfast.

Maine's Mid-Coast is the kind of genuine Maine experience you've always imagined. It includes a wealth of picturesque harbors, rugged peninsulas and majestic lighthouses of breathtaking scenic beauty. Local whale, wildlife, and puffin tours offer the chance to observe nature up close from the water as do kayak and canoe rental facilities and many public boat ramps. The area is rich in history, art galleries, antique shops, and local crafts. Plan to visit the islands that nestle in scenic Penobscot Bay. You'll find it all here; rich history, spectacular scenery, abundant wildlife, and friendly people.

Keywords: Barn

More Details
Hide Details

Bev and I have lived in Maine for 28 years. Our children were born and raised here and we are committed to 'the way life should be.' We garden, hike, kayak and enjoy the sea food that is so much a part of the Maine coast. Our 7 acres are a part of a 25-30 acre open area, one of the few this fine on the midcoast. We are eager to share this wonderful spot with our guests.

Don Trites purchased this barn in 2005

When we were looking for a home on the coast, we wanted to find a location with a picture perfect rental location as well. And we found just that. Our home, a cape situated on the property, was built on Isleboro and transported to the site more than 100 years ago across the ice of the Bay. It has been expanded many times and now includes a game and toy room that is available to our guests. Because we live here, we can provide support to our guests and make sure that each vacation is 'just right.' Of course, when the Windjammer is not rented, we can also host our own gatherings of friends and family. The location, the view, the charm and the wildlife all made this the perfect spot for us -- and for you!

Mid-coast Maine is simply spectacular. Driving in any direction one finds antiques, restaurants, art, hiking trails, ship tours, just about anything relating to the ocean. The best features, of course, are the views of the special Maine coast and the wild life that abounds. Whatever time of year one comes to Maine, there's always too much to see and do.

26 Reviews of Property 135175 in Lincolnville, Maine

7 Acres and a Penobscot Bay view Camden area
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 26 reviews
business
7 Acres and a Penobscot Bay view Camden area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135175
+1 2072363547
Lincolnville MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Bridgewater, VA
5

Vacation Bliss

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Imagine curling up on a nice, big, soft, cozy sofa looking out a HUGE picture window watching the big white puffy clouds floating across the bright blue sky over Penobscot Bay where all shapes and sizes of boats and ships ply the waters.
Select a book from the extensive library, watch the birds and wildlife around the pond, or work on your favorite project or hobby in the comfort of the expansive Great Room.
You'll find all the comforts of home in the unique quaint setting yet convenient to restaurants: "cheap and cheerful" to elegant dining to fast food or take out. Prefer to cook at home?? there are plenty of cooking utensils and nearby farmer's markets, produce stands, lobster outlets, groceries whatever you could need or want.
Just a short drive (or walk) north is Lincolnville Beach with lovely Camden Harbor a few miles south. There are concerts, lectures,book reviews, wineries, antiqueing, shopping, hiking, boating, storytelling,: endless possibilities.
We were there in the summer, but I can just imagine the wonders of autumn, winter, or spring in the Lovely Windjammer Barn where your hosts are friendly and full of information and suggestions to make your vacation personal and memorable.
We spent August 2008 there and loved it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: When people enjoy both the Barn and the area, what could be better? Come see us and see both!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
7 Acres and a Penobscot Bay view Camden area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135175
+1 2072363547
Lincolnville MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

The Windjammer Adventure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Great owners, great property. Great place to re-charge the batteries. Great get away from the big city noise, clutter and traffic. Fresh air. Totally equipped household. Plenty of seafood stores, supermarkets and restaurants. Oh by the way............................my dogs "Buddy" and "Darla" gave it a "5 bone rating".
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
7 Acres and a Penobscot Bay view Camden area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135175
+1 2072363547
Lincolnville MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

"Windjammer Barn Delight"

"Windjammer Barn Delight"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our stay at the "Windjammer Barn" was exquisite. Fully equipped kitchen, comfy master bedroom and lots of open spaces for our dogs to play outside. The owner was friendly and accommodating. We would recommend this lovely vacation hideaway to anyone. The quiet was a welcoming change for us.
business
7 Acres and a Penobscot Bay view Camden area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135175
+1 2072363547
Lincolnville MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
4

Sanctuary on Penobscot Bay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Finding a doggie-friendly place to stay that is peaceful and pleasant is not always an easy task. Don and Bev, at Windjammer Barn, have managed to make that task much easier, and are perfect hosts. The Barn is convenient to all that mid-coast Maine has to offer (which is a lot!). It is in a beautiful setting of gardens, greenspace, and water views, with paths for dog- walking. The accommodations are homey and comfortable, and provide everything a family might need on vacation, including well-stocked shelves with games and a variety of reading material for those occasional rainy days. This is our second year coming here, and we have already booked for next fall! p.s., our dog loves it here too!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
7 Acres and a Penobscot Bay view Camden area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135175
+1 2072363547
Lincolnville MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Nova Scotia, Canada
5

peaceful retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
This is a calm and private retreat with water views and everything you might need for a bit of peaceful rest and relaxation. At the same time, if you would like more activity, it is very conveniently located, near all the attractions and outdoor activities that bring people to the mid coast of Maine.
Don and Bev are wonderful hosts, delightful people, and full of good tips and information to help you get the most from your stay in this beautiful area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
7 Acres and a Penobscot Bay view Camden area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135175
+1 2072363547
Lincolnville MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

From UK

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
This was our first visit to Maine and part of the reason why we loved it was this barn
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
7 Acres and a Penobscot Bay view Camden area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135175
+1 2072363547
Lincolnville MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Amazing view

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Thank you for your hospitality to us, our two boys and Caribou. The view from the Ban is amazing! Thanks for helping us with rainy day activities for our two boys.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
7 Acres and a Penobscot Bay view Camden area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135175
+1 2072363547
Lincolnville MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Terrific!

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Your property, barn, gardens, house and geese stocked pond are all terrific! We love the 18" pine planks floor boards, the aged rough wood trim, the thick green grass outside and the expansive space on the inside.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
7 Acres and a Penobscot Bay view Camden area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135175
+1 2072363547
Lincolnville MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Stumbled on your place

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We are happy to have stumbled upon your place on-line. What a wonderful place to stay . . . only matched by your hospitality.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
7 Acres and a Penobscot Bay view Camden area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135175
+1 2072363547
Lincolnville MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Great for all 5

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Thanks so much for a wonderful week in Maine. The Barn is wonderful & so comfortable for us all. We really enjoyed the big room. Thank you so much for your hospitality & especially the lobster lesson.
Helpful votes: 1/1