Southwest Harbor cottage rental - Harbors End Cottage
Harbors End Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Southwest Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 1.5 BA, 2 story home, 2 double beds, sleeps 4

We welcome you to the beauty and splendor of Mt. Desert Island at Harbors End Cottage. The cottage is located in scenic Southwest Harbor on the 'Quiet Side' of the Island directly across the street from the harbor. This delightful, sunny 920 sq. feet, spotless 2 story, 2 bedroom, 2 bath house was renovated in 2006 while retaining it's original cottage charm. The cottage is less than a mile from town and within walking distance of restaurants, shops, art galleries, bicycle and kayak rentals. It is a short drive to many of the local sites and activities - Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor, Bass Harbor Lighthouse, Seal Cove, Pretty Marsh, Tremont and the Swan's Island Ferry.

Harbors End Cottage is equipped with all the amenities you need: 2 brand new pillow top full-size beds, pillows, premium linens, towels, washer/dryer, iron, large bath downstairs with shower, small bathroom upstairs with tub. The fully working kitchen includes a microwave, electric stove and oven, full size refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, and gas barbecue grill and all the cooking accessories needed for any meal.

Payment: We take checks and paypal and credit cards through 'BOOK IT NOW' on the website. When we receive your deposit check, we will block off the dates requested (although if you call or email and confirm a certain week, we will keep it open even before check is received); balance is due, under most circumstances, 30 days prior to arrival date. Rentals are Saturday to Saturday. Check in 3:00 pm Saturday, Check out 11:00 a.m. Saturday.

Regular rules of the house: All linens and towels are provided and they are of good quality. Please ensure that the cottage is left in the same condition you found it or a $75 maid service fee will be paid out of your deposit. We expect all linens to be washed and dried and left folded on the bed. Towels can be washed and left in the utility room or put back on the shelf. A standard $35 clean out fee is separate from the rental fee. Deposits will be returned as soon as we are advised by the local manager that the cottage is in good shape. Please, accidents happen and if something is broken, please let us know immediately.

Additionally: No one under the age of 21 is allowed to rent without a parent on the premises. Although we want everyone to enjoy themselves, everyone sleeps with windows open in the summer and loud music or parties after a sensible time are not appreciated. We have a local manager who will be stopping by as well as kind and helpful neighbors who we respect and vice versa.

We hope you enjoy yourselves and come back again.

More Details
Hide Details

We came to Southwest Harbor on vacation in 1992 for the first time. Both of us have family originally from Maine so we had the state in our blood. We started coming back again and again and 2 years later, we saw this cottage for sale. No one was around to show it to us, so we just looked in the windows, poked around and shrugged our shoulders and flew back home. A friend of ours went to look at it for us and took some photos and we bought it, sight unseen. It was a very humble house and needed much TLC. Keith is an interior designer and cabinetmaker and I am a good apprentice, but we had our work cut out. In a matter of a few weeks, we turned Harbors End Cottage into this perfect destination that our guests call home away from home.

Judy or Keith Briggs purchased this cottage in 1994

Located in Southwest Harbor and just a few minutes walk into town. It is ideally located on the best part of the Island, in our opinion. We love being able to take a walk for dinner and walk back, no parking problems, no worries about driving. The restaurants and shops in town keep getting better and better. The hiking is superb and the lakes and ponds that are close by have great kayaking and swimming. We have an excellent supermarket, gourmet shop and wine shop, all located in town.

23 Reviews of Property 135133 in Southwest Harbor, Maine

HARBORS END COTTAGE - CHARMING SOUTHWEST HARBOR COTTAGE
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 23 reviews
business
HARBORS END COTTAGE - CHARMING SOUTHWEST HARBOR COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135133
305 975-4408
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Kitty Hawk
5

A Wonderful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
A very comfortable home with wonderful beds and a central location for exploring Mt. Desert Island without being in the midst of the crowds. Excellent restaurants are close by, and you will enjoy a restful experience. My wife and I highly recommend this house and location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: thank you. that's exactly what we want to hear!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
HARBORS END COTTAGE - CHARMING SOUTHWEST HARBOR COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135133
305 975-4408
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

A perfect cottage with thoughtful details!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The place to call home while visiting. Comfortable accommodations and everything needed to make your stay easy. Walking distance to fantastic eating and close to so many beautiful sights. The pictures are very accurate and the layout and furnishings are lovely. We enjoyed every minute of our trip and are grateful to Keith and Judy for opening up their beautiful home to us for our anniversary. I have already recommended staying here to multiple friends. A great way to say hello to this special part of Maine.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
HARBORS END COTTAGE - CHARMING SOUTHWEST HARBOR COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135133
305 975-4408
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Fantastic trip and cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had an amazing trip to Southwest Harbor and staying at Harbors End Cottage made it even better! First, the cottage has a fantastic location. It is only a five minute walk to the center of town which is very convenient for visiting the shops, grabbing a cup of coffee, or a bite to eat. Second, the cottage has everything you would need to make the stay enjoyable. Besides all of the essential household items, the owners do a fantastic job providing suggestions of activities to help make the trip a memorable one. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip back to Southwest Harbor. For food in Desert Island - get the blueberry and banana pancakes at Eat A Pita, the ice cream at Quietside cafe, Mache Bistro in Bar Harbour is a great meal if you are in the mood for something fancy, and the freshly steamed lobsters at Thurston's is a must. If you are into hiking, some of the great ones we loved in Acadia are Dorr Mountain, Acadia Mountain, and the photography ranger-led tour. Great cottage and great town to visit!!!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
HARBORS END COTTAGE - CHARMING SOUTHWEST HARBOR COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135133
305 975-4408
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Charming cottage in good location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is a very charming, clean cottage that was comfortable for me and my two children. The location is great, particularly for those guests who like to walk to restaurants, bakeries, and groceries (like us). It is on the main road that runs through town, so you hear traffic, but is just across from the Marina where you can watch boats and is just a short distance to the small town of the "quiet side" of the island. We enjoy Southwest Harbor where there are fewer people. There is a store in town called "Under the Dogwood" where you can buy live lobster for your dinners, and the cottage comes equipped with the lobster pot for steaming! The kitchen has at least one of just about everything you might need, except a blender (I only noticed because I normally blend juice every morning) and a muffin tin. But, the joy of a cottage is to live more simply!

The owners are very helpful with recommendations and are excellent with communications. We would love to book again when we go back to one of our favorite summer places.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
HARBORS END COTTAGE - CHARMING SOUTHWEST HARBOR COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135133
305 975-4408
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Connecticut
5

Cute house in great location to explore Acadia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful time during our stay at Harbors End Cottage last week. The house was clean when we arrived and very well equipped with everything that we might need. We have rented several houses over the years and never had one that was so well thought out with everything that a vacationing family might need. The house is small, but comfortable and our family thoroughly enjoyed its location close to downtown Southwest Harbor and an easy drive to Acadia's sites and trails. We were very happy to have chosen Southwest Harbor over the busy Bar Harbor area and cooked most of our meals in the house after busy days of hiking and swimming in the park. Judy was a pleasure to work with to book the home, and very easy to communicate with by email.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
HARBORS END COTTAGE - CHARMING SOUTHWEST HARBOR COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135133
305 975-4408
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Thanks for sharing your cottage

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a lovely time in Southwest Harbor and your cottage was so comfortable that after a whole day exploring the island, we were happy to come "home". Thanks again!
business
HARBORS END COTTAGE - CHARMING SOUTHWEST HARBOR COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135133
305 975-4408
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wonderful stay in Southwest Harbor/Acadia

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2002
Thank you for sharing your Harbors End cottage with us. We had a wonderful time on Acadia exploring numerous trails, biking on the Carriage Roads, ferrying to the Cranberry Islands, driving the Loop Road and eating (including JayDubs, Thurstons, Little Notch Bakery and the grocery store next door where we bought fresh fish a couple of nights). And the weather was perfect. Overcast in the morning and sunny and balmy in the afternoon. This was a vacation we will never forget. Thank you again.

p.s. From one rock collector to another, nice rocks. The cottage was very tastefully decorated. Much appreciated.
business
HARBORS END COTTAGE - CHARMING SOUTHWEST HARBOR COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135133
305 975-4408
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Michigan
5

Cozy and Close

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Cozy, clean and quiet (even though you are on the main street leading into Southwest Harbor, you never hear the traffic) Easy walking distance to the village of Southwest Harbor which has everything you will need. Close to all the offerings of the National Park and the southwest "quiet" side of the island. Owners were pleasant to work with and made sure that everything was provided for our stay. Only negative--I have a 48 inch flat screen TV at home so the TV there wasn't very big so I just pulled my chair closer! Yes, we would stay there again.

When there, walk down to Sea Biscuit Cafe. Best breakfast and lunch around!! Family owned and the nicest people you'll meet.. When you burn out on lobster and sea food, the best BBQ on the island is the Atlantic Brewery Company, several miles outside of Bar Harbor. In the middle of no where but well worth the drive !
business
HARBORS END COTTAGE - CHARMING SOUTHWEST HARBOR COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135133
305 975-4408
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Thanks for letting us stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We've had the most fantastic week here in the summer sunshine and then the autumn chill....A beautiful, well equipped cottage, just perfect for the 5 of us and so homey to come back to after a day out exploring MDI.
business
HARBORS END COTTAGE - CHARMING SOUTHWEST HARBOR COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135133
305 975-4408
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

We had an excellent time...

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Loved this cozy quaint house with all its beautiful pictures of Maine. Also, I found all the hooks in the house to be perfectly placed....thanks for sharing your wonderful cottage. Would love to come back.

P.S. we loved the beds!
Helpful votes: 1/1