Murphy cabin rental - Cabin outside
Cabin outside
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Murphy Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Spectacular Views River Access 5-Star Amenities 2BR 2BA Sleeps 5

Spectacular long range mountain views from every window and wrap-around porch.

Relax and enjoy the 5-star amenities of this Highland Creek Cabin. This beautiful all wood interior and exterior cabin is close to town, a golf course, and the folk school in the upscale Highland Creek subdivision. It is also only 13 minutes away from the new Harrah's Casino, opening in 2014. Enjoy the best nature has to offer, including tubing and fishing. Superbly decorated mountain cabin and semi handicapped accessible. Walk in shower has grab bar and a built in seat. Only three shallow steps from entry to wrap around porch and all on one level. Large master bedroom with desk area and large private bath. Open floor plan with high ceilings and a beautiful setting for entertaining.

The cabin features with it's large open floor plan, a good size fully equipped kitchen, dining area and great room with a stone gas log fireplace to the ceiling peak. It has Wi-Fi internet. The split bedroom plan provides a large master suite, with a king-size bed and full bath. The guest bedroom, at the other end of the cabin, is a versatile room with a black bear tapestry and leather coach that can be converted into a comfortable queen size sofa bed. The room also features a flat screen TV, a board game cabinet with lots of games and a table with chairs. The walk-in closet also has a roll-a-way bed in it. The cabin sleeps 5 people.

There is a lovely fire pit area with seating on the property.

Activities (on site or nearby): The cabin is conveniently located to some of the best outdoor adventures in the country. It is just a short scenic drive to The Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the Cherokee Indian Reservation and Casino, the Great Smoky Mountains Train Adventures, Zip Lining at Andrews,Water Rafting, Gatlinburg, Dollywood and the historic Biltmore Estate.

Located just 10 minutes from the historic town of Murphy and 10 minutes from the world famous John C. Campbell Folk School, featuring many activities, craft booths and demonstrations and a variety of music on two stages and lots of great food.

Average temperatures, Spring night 40, day 70, Summer night 64, day 78, Fall night 40, day 68, Winter night 20, day 40.

Location: Murphy, Smoky Mountains, North Carolina, USA (Less than two hours from Atlanta, Ashville & Chattanooga!) It is a quaint Smoky Mountain community ideally located in history rich tri-state area.

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 135096 in Murphy, North Carolina

Spectacular Views River Access 5-Star Amenities 2BR 2BA Sleeps 5
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Spectacular Views River Access 5-Star Amenities 2BR 2BA Sleeps 5
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135096
352 860-1188
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Cleveland, TN.
5

Pure Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Haven in the Hills is beautifully appointed with every possible detail attended to. We needed or wanted for nothing in this gorgeous cabin. You couldn't ask for more by way of a comfortable and elegantly decorated cabin. So much love and pride from owners who care about beauty and comfort in their mountain home shows inside and out. The views are fantastic from the deck to sit back an just relax and enjoy. Judy is without a doubt the kindest and most caring owner I have had the pleasure of getting to know. From e-mails and talking to her on the phone she truly cares about the people who have the pleasure of sharing their home away from home. We can't wait to return to Haven in the Hills for another relaxing getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Views River Access 5-Star Amenities 2BR 2BA Sleeps 5
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135096
352 860-1188
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Windsor, Ontario Canada
5

Marvelous Misty Mountain Mornings!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The only problem with reviewing Haven in the Hills is that, if everyone finds out how wonderful it is, it'll be booked solid for the next two years straight and we won't be able to return!

Haven in the Hills is the most comfortable, clean, and pleasant place we have ever stayed. The amenities are first class. The kitchen is well organized and well supplied. The master bedroom has an extremely comfortable king size bed. The walk-in shower in the en suite bath could easily fit two. The living room is spacious and attractive. There are several large windows and glass doors in the front of the cabin. You can view the lovely Smoky Mountains without ever leaving the house - but why would you want to? The wrap-around front porch with its numerous rocking chairs is a perfect place for reading, bird watching, deer-spotting (there's a lovely doe who hangs out at the bottom of the yard), and mountain gazing. Early in the crisp autumn mornings, the clouds settle down over the valley in a soft, moist blanket that's a perfect accompaniment to a morning cup of tea, and by the time you're ready to go out, drift away leaving nothing but blue skies and soft breezes.

We spent several afternoons hiking near the John C. Campbell Folk School, which is open to visitors and is a fascinating treasure from one end to the other. The studios in Brasstown are engrossing. Be sure to visit Gallery 26 in Murphy - and bring a biscuit for Milo! Don't miss the great trail rides at Chunky Gal Stables in Hayesville, which has a dozen different mountain trails and a barn full of beautiful horses. After riding, have lunch at the Best Lil Corner, an old-fashioned soda joint with great burgers and malts. If you're looking for dinner, skip all the usual dreary fast food on the outskirts of Murphy and head over to ShoeBooties, Murphy's, or Doyles. Or skip the restaurant scene entirely and have your steak and baked potatoes at Haven in the Hills - the ambiance is fantastic, and you don't need to tip your waiter!
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing your experience at our Special Place Haven In The Hills!

We are headed there for the month of November and will have fun decorating it for our Christmas Season Guests!

Please come and visit Haven In The Hills again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Views River Access 5-Star Amenities 2BR 2BA Sleeps 5
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135096
352 860-1188
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

Just Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We loved our stay at Haven in the Hills. The cabin had everything we needed and was very clean and well maintained. It was home away from home. We were in Murphy for a family birthday party and had with us our 2 grown kids with their wives and child, we had plenty room. After a full day it was heaven to come to the cottage and sit on the porch and rest. The directions provided were very accurate. Do not trust Suri! While there we took walks and visited the John C Campbell Folk School.
I would highly recommend Haven in the Hills! Thank you Judy!!!
business
Spectacular Views River Access 5-Star Amenities 2BR 2BA Sleeps 5
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135096
352 860-1188
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Deltona Fl
5

Haven in the Hills is Heaven in the Hills

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We arrived to a wonderful cabin home surrounded by the beauty of mother natures autumn season!! We spent 10 days in refreshing cooler weather than where we came from in Florida. We have stayed in many cabins in Murphy over the years and this one filled the bill for everything we wanted and needed.We loved the openness of the floor plan and all the amenities that Judy had provided in this very special mountain home. It was well maintained and spotlessly clean. We visited several festivals in NC and Ga..We returned to our favorite restaurants in Murphy and Blairsville and of course the flea markets and shops. Judy was so accomodating on the phone about our rental time and even made sure we arrived there okay. We loved Haven in the Hills and would return there again without any hesitation!!
Thanks again for sharing your mt. home with us!
Sandi ,Ed and Benny
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Views River Access 5-Star Amenities 2BR 2BA Sleeps 5
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135096
352 860-1188
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Florida
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We were very impressed with this cabin, it was the best place we rented and we have been to this area 10 times. The inside of this cabin was very beautiful and had plenty of room. The master bedroom and bath was huge, and the views were spectacular. We would recommend this cabin to anyone who happens to get the chance to stay there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Views River Access 5-Star Amenities 2BR 2BA Sleeps 5
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135096
352 860-1188
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Palm Coast, FL.
5

There Is No Closer Place To Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I am really at a loss for words when attempting to describe this place. It is truly the finest mountain home we have ever rented and we've been renting places in the mountains for over 30 years. The views are outstanding. I have never sat in one place as long as I sat on the front porch of this gorgeous place, watching deer, racoons, and other wildlife. I have photographs to last a lifetime. It is furnished to a "T" with every comfort you can imagine. The owners have not skimped in furnishing this luxury home, and their excellent taste shows in the decor. Beautiful. Beautiful. Beautiful. Peaceful. Peaceful. Peaceful. And I cannot say enough about the owner, a real princess of a person, one who makes every effort to enhance your stay, and a lady who is justifiably proud of what I consider to be the most beautiful, comfortable mountain cabin in North Carolina.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Views River Access 5-Star Amenities 2BR 2BA Sleeps 5
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135096
352 860-1188
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Tampa, FL
5

It really is a Haven... in the hills

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My family of 5 had the pleasure of staying in Haven in the Hills for 4 nights, just before Christmas 2011. We were more than pleased with the cleanliness and location of the cabin. The decore was warm and made you feel right at home, and the view was absolutely amazing! The clean mountain air made for a great reason to enjoy coffee each morning and a glass of wine each evening on the front porch. Easy to find, yet far enough away that you feel like you are away from it all. I highly recommend this special place and will definitely will return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Views River Access 5-Star Amenities 2BR 2BA Sleeps 5
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135096
352 860-1188
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
San Antonio, Texas
5

A Cabin Home for Thanksgiving

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My wife and sister and I stayed at this wonderful, homey cabin over Thanksgiving week. It was all as described on VRBO. The owner's had been in the week before and decorated it for Christmas. Lights came on by timer during the evening. It was wonderful. Very cozy with everything furnished. We loved the area. Lots to do and several great restaurants in Murphy. Took a day trip to Gatlinburg for an Arts and Crafts show but bought all our presents there in Murphy and at the FolkArt School is nearby Brasstown. Great place that we would recommend to anyone wanting a get-away in the mountains.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Views River Access 5-Star Amenities 2BR 2BA Sleeps 5
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135096
352 860-1188
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Miami, Florida
5

Amazing House & Location!

Amazing House & Location!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We cannot describe the beauty of the place, the cabin is beautiful, everything is there, is like your house in the mountains, you don't need anything, super well organize, you got extras of everything. We couldn't ask for more!. Me and family spend a great time, the weather was awesome! plus we saw 2 little deers in front of the house. Definitely a place to go every year!!! We love it!
Thanks Judy and Dan!
Barbieri's Family, Miami Florida September 2011
Owner's Response: Thank you to Max and family! We love sharing our special place with guests. Since this is not just a rental, but our future retirement home, we have put a lot into it and made it especially beautiful and very comfortable. We keep it well stocked and like our guests to feel like part of our family. All they have to bring is their personal items and everything they could possibly need is there. Many of our guests make it a special place to return to and also share with family and friends. Our guest family continues to grow year after year. Dan and Judy
business
Spectacular Views River Access 5-Star Amenities 2BR 2BA Sleeps 5
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135096
352 860-1188
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
South Central MS
5

Heaven in the Hills

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Judy, Thank you for sharing your lovely home with others who also enjoy the mountains, Murphy and the surrounding area. We spent a full week in November and had a great time. The three of us on the trip (a friend, my sister and I (all retired)) enjoyed the house very much.

Your description and pictures let us know what to expect. I also appreciate your personal contact, attention to detail and answering all questions. We have visited Murphy before and found your location simply great to do all things we planned.

Hope to be able to visit again soon.

Jean
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway